SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

DermaCExtracting money from my credit card without my permission

Review updated:

Purchased cheap introductory offer of DermaC and Eye cream at £2.95 each on 13May 2015 ---- money was extracted from my Credit card for £87.47 on 27 May 2015 for no apparent reason .My provider Barclays Bank is now dealing with the mattere3ae

Dr
Jun 04, 2015
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ke
      Apr 24, 2015

    Sent for free sample of DermaC face cream with credit card got free sample now money being taken out my bank with out my permission

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Apr 27, 2015

    Same for me. Sent for sample £2.95...It arrived with no information other than a dispatch note...Now the best part of £200 has disappeared from my credit card and no way of retrieving it. Unable to contact anyone so I've had to block them from my account.
    Sue, Hampshire

    +2 Votes
  • An
      May 09, 2015

    The same thing has happened to me. I am so annoyed with this, i am hoping that my bank helps me resolve this situation. Cant believe that these online companies can get away with these scams!!!
    DO NOT BUY DERMA C!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sw
      May 13, 2015

    Same thing happened to me and now I had to cancel my credit card and dispute the current charges made by DERMA C. This is a scam and they continue to change corporate names with no address to respond. what a hoax.

    -3 Votes
  • Ma
      May 21, 2015

    I have an M & S credit card who have today informed me that although my card with them was cancelled they would continue to may the monthly £89. 74 although my card is cancelled so be warned the credit card company has to cancel the subscription with DermaC currently using the name of Facecare. I cannot understand how a credit card company can make payments on a cancelled card. M & S have now cancelled my subscription but be aware and speak to you credit card company.

    -1 Votes
  • Be
      May 21, 2015

    It's not a scam. You have to read the terms and conditions before signing up, and in those terms it'll tell you that the "free" trial will automatically sign you up for the auto-ship membership unless you cancel during the trial period. Shady, yes, because they know lazy people don't actually read the terms before giving out their card information. But a scam? No.

    0 Votes
  • An
      May 23, 2015

    I sought advice and it appears that companies such as the company selling DermaC continuously change trade names. However customers have legal protection against any company puttting in a term which is smaller and/or lighter print than the other wording making it difficult to easily see. All terms should be highly visible and easily seen. It is well known than very few consumers search every word. It appears that companies such as selling DermaC think that this type of print covers them to take monthly subscriptions. However consumers now have legal protection against businesses using such small print under The Unfair Terms in Consumer Contracts Regulations 1999. The credit card compny is contacting Dermac to refund the unauthorised money under the definition of Unfair Contract in accordance with the Finance Conduct Authority.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      May 26, 2015

    Angie23, it looks like the Unfair Terms in Consumer Contracts Regulations 1999 only applies in the UK. In the US there is actually no legal requirement for a website to have Terms and Conditions, however these types of companies always do, as a way to protect themselves against chargebacks. Usually they have a box you will have to check stating you agree to the terms and conditions, with the words "terms and conditions" being hyperlinks which will take you to the actual T&C page to review. Some though actually have a blurb explaining the terms of the trial underneath the box, rather than a hyperlink.

    I have heard of a push to make it a requirement for terms to be posted clearly and near the submit button, similar to the requirements you have in the UK. Until then, it looks like you guys have more consumer protections than those in the US.

    +1 Votes
  • Ka
      Jun 04, 2015

    I responded to an advert on the internet for Derma C Vitamin C Face Serum and Rejuvius eye cream both costing £2.95p for this introductory offer. The money was taken on 29th April 2015. On the 13th May my debit card was used by this company and money totalling £177.46p was extracted from my credit card. No paperwork was received with samples. Also, no mention of being charged a recurring monthly charge on website. There is also no contact details of company on site. I have informed my bank and the Council Trading Standards department. I have been advised to contact the Fraud Department, Police to advise them of this scam.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
      Jun 09, 2015

    Almost made a blunder last night, when I saw this product on the website. Got to the credit card details box and read the bottom of the page first. Saw the terms and conditions and backed off, in time not to submit any card details. Glad of that. Deleted, as I thought, all my personal details, name address etc. Today, at 1307 pm, an e-mail arrived from JAMES at Dermac C, telling me that I was only a few steps away to completing my order. They had packaged my goods and would like to send them to me, but my credit card details had failed and to try again. Did I ever. Sent JAMES at Dermac C a return e-mail, informing him of my thoughts on his terms and conditions and poor souls that do not check them. An absolute SCAM. WATCHDOG should take this one on board their program.

    +2 Votes
  • Ra
      Jun 11, 2015

    Bought a product for £2.95 and received the product. Today found £89.78 taken out of my account without permission. Have not received any other products to date.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
      Jun 16, 2015

    I too was taken in by the 'free trial' advertisement. I have informed the bank, stopped any future transactions and managed to contact the company today.
    This is the tel no. that I obtained [protected] although a uk no. there is a delay on the line so it is obviously not uk based.
    The company calls itself Nutra Global and the registered address is 3 Talbot Road as shown above.
    I demanded to return the items and stated that a refund was expected. I was issued with return numbers and asked to post to:
    Based Capital Ltd. P.O.Box 7583, Milton Keynes, MK11 9HD. Obviously sent by registered post. Upon receipt a refund will be initiated! I hope!
    Interestingly the company Based Capitals registered address is also 3 Talbot Road, along with quite a few other companies.
    I should have known better, if it sounds too good to be true then it probably is!! Good Luck.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Jun 18, 2015

    I too have been taken in .On the 5th may I paid 2.95 dermac and 2.95 for Rejuvius eye cream .I then had a parcel arrive on the same day that I saw my credit card bill .Sure enough on the bill were three payments for £ 87.67, £89.78 and £89.78.I rang the company who told me that I had entered into the subscription.They have said they will refund half the costs of the last two payments but would not give me a full refund. I am now going to contact my credit card company to see where I stand. Nowhere on the site did it state the cost of the cream and I do not remember seeing anything about 14 days cooling period it was certainty well hidden..

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Jul 01, 2015

    Exactly the same happened to me! My credit card company is able to help monitor my card and decline and requests from this merchant- luckily I spotted it in time and whilst the first transaction was pending. Does anyone have a contact number for this company? Unsurprisingly the current one is not working... This is certainly more than shady. I will be reporting the merchant to trading standards but if anyone could give me a contact to unsubscribe then that would be great! thanks!

    -1 Votes
  • Tr
      Jul 01, 2015

    Absolutely disgusted the way this company/ companies are robbing people. I got the link on Facebook and stupidly ordered the trial at 2.95 each for DermaC and Lumara. When it arrived I realised I had made a mistake, I was suspicious and did not use the products knowing I would be sending them back. Delayed because of personal circumstances. I then saw a payment out I didn't recognise and then the next day another payment both over £80. Immediately contacted bank fraud team. Yes...this scam company are trying to get you with the small print. They cannot take any further payments. I contacted the company +44 [protected] or +[protected] sounded like a call centre am now returning both products, tracking post and hope...hope I get my money refunded and unsubscribe from these horrible people that call themselves a business, they are thieves and I am a fool to have fallen for it.

    -1 Votes
  • Tr
      Jul 01, 2015

    I managed to contact this scam company +44 [protected] +44 [protected] on one of theses numbers. It sounds like a call centre. I am now returning both products DermaC and Lumara I knew when they arrived I had made a mistake. Didn't send back immediately, busy life... So had the creams for 2 week. Then money going out of my account 2 payments for over £80 contacted bank to try and stop, too late but assure me can not do it again. I have now sent back creams today recorded and tracked for a refund and cancellation. I will inform later if this works. Hope that helps Hayles

    -2 Votes
  • Ha
      Jul 01, 2015

    Thank you Treo. That's great. I look forward to hearing how you get on. Most honorable merchants would allow you to visibly opt for a direct debit payment and have this included as a question when you sign up. In my opinion, any merchant that goes out of their way to lure customers with a "too good to be true" deal and then attempt to hide direct debits and financial information in the fine text of terms and conditions with the hope that this will go unseen ( clearly from the responses it does), allowing them to take money from innocent people are fraudsters in my book. Derma C knew exactly what they were doing and did this believing they were in compliance with the law whilst robbing people of hard earned money. Shady indeed. Fraud at it's best. I look forward to writing to trading standards. Good luck! :-)

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jul 03, 2015

    I went through every one of their cancellation protocols. Returned empty boxes within the given time, via recorded delivery. Then contacted them to confirm they had received and that cancellation was complete etc. Was reassured that all was cancelled and money was then taken from my account a month later. Theiving ###. Bank have refunded and blocked them so hopefully this will be the end of it.

    +1 Votes
  • Co
      Jul 03, 2015

    I too purchased a free sample of vitamin c face serum for the p&p price of £2.95. Since then 2 x £89.78p has been withdrawn from my bank without my authorization or knowledge. I never had any contact details before finding this page, there was no small print and I had no idea I was subscribing to anything until my bank told me so. My bank isn't being very helpful. I am so pleased to have found this page and hope to be able to contact the 'fraudulent' Nutra Global also. Good luck everybody.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Jul 03, 2015

    This is awful. I truly am shocked by how many people have been conned by this merchant and yet it is still in operation! I did call this number and I am told that my account with them is cancelled but I also asked for an email confirming this which to date has never been received - I doubt it ever will, Having read through some of these comments I was left with no option but to cancel my credit card to avoid any future payments being attempted. My credit card company is dealing with the amount already taken but this is certainly not how any reputable company would do business. I am still intending to report this to trading standards along as Katherine has done.- Well done Katherine :-) Unfortunately this looks like a big scam indeed...

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Jul 03, 2015

    My elderly mother has also had two amounts of money taken from her bank the first she had to allow but the bank have refunded the second lot. The sneaky company changed their name to get the second lot through as the bank had said had it been in exactly the same name they would have picked it up and returned it immediately. Awful to think that once they have your card details they can just keep taking money without even sending you the items !! especially to a pensioner living on only pennies each month.

    0 Votes
  • Un
      Jul 04, 2015

    I fully agree with all the other peoples views. This company are absolutely appalling. I have tried to cancel my account with them but although I was assured this would be done, I still have no confirmation email. Something should be done about this organisation. I wonder how many other unsuspecting people have been caught out by their underhand methods.

    0 Votes
  • Up
      Jul 04, 2015

    I also got a free sample via facebook and then tried to cancel this product by phoning and emails the phone number was a voice message and not to these people i have been charged twice for these bottles after trying to cancel. I have even tried to contact facebook about this matter with no success.
    As I have very poor vision I could not read any small print that might have been on advert
    I feel terrible as I dont have much money as i cant see to work so what money I do have is for food not for people to steal off me
    I dont know what to do next and am really upset by all this

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jul 05, 2015

    Another payment taken on 2 July after the bank had blocked!!! They change their name on the debit to bypass blocking. Have now cancelled my card so at least it is finished. I managed to contact their customer service and demanded to know why 2 unauthorised payments had been taken. They said it was a computer glitch!!!and because I had followed their procedures and cancelled correctly they would give me a full and immediate refund. ...I'm not holding my breath. This company is a complete scam. I informed them that if the refund didn't appear by tomorrow am, I would be contacting the police as I regard this as theft.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jul 05, 2015

    I would recommend to anyone still suffering from these theiving b $&&^%@$ cancel the card you originally paid with. Most bank etc will get a new card to you in a couple of days. Once the card is cancelled they will be unable to take your money no matter how much they try. Peace x

    0 Votes
  • Ak
      Jul 06, 2015

    I requested a sample of drema c and flawless and paid the 2.95 each on my debit card on 17th May. On the 1st of July I received the two bottles again and On the 2nd July they have taken two payments of £89.78 and £87.67 from my account. I rang them and was fobbed off with some legal jargon. I have told them to cancel my account and refund my money. They refused and then two minutes later he said I could have a 50% refund if I wanted. I told them this is a con and I am taking them to Trading Standards and notifying the TV programme Watch Dog. It is a scam and a con.

    0 Votes
  • He
      Jul 07, 2015

    All you have to do is call the company

    0 Votes
  • He
      Jul 07, 2015

    ITS NOT A SCAM YOU GUYS ARE LIARS! Its not the company fault that you can not read the Terms and Conditions which are CLEARLY DISPLAYED!!!

    0 Votes
  • He
      Jul 07, 2015

    All you guys have to do is read the Terms and Conditions before you buy something and call the company and they will work with you, it is not the companies fault that you did NOT read the Terms and Conditions, which are recognizedby Visa and MasterCard

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jul 07, 2015

    I have spent the last week totally absorbed with this scam after 2 payments taken out my bank account, same story as everyone else. I persisted with calls emails, tracked the parcel to a housing estate after its return... Think that may have helped because I was able to tell them I could see the exact house this scam was working from via Google earth!!! Never expected money back, but told them fraud squad on the case, it's back in my bank... Shocked and happy that I have my money back, so please keep at it, I followed their so called rules, by returning the products with a barcode from Royal Mail, yes it costs a few pound more, but worth it to get these scums... Wishing you all the best of luck, play hard xxxxx

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Jul 08, 2015

    Dear Hero1234, Unfortunately, even if that were true then how do you explain the numerous phone calls to the call centers to cancel the orders which we are assured are cancelled and then further payments are taken month after month. Not one person has successfully been able to cancel their order. Cancellation emails are promised and never seen. Payments are taken but not approved. The only options on this forum have been to cancel cards. I am sorry, but I think most people would agree this company is fraudulent. and does not stick to its own terms and conditions for cancellation.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jul 08, 2015

    I've been oblivious of any small print on the original advert for a free trial and that has ultimately cost me £89.54 so far. If anyone has a website and or email address from which they have managed to obtain some redress I'd be grateful if you would share it here.

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
      Jul 08, 2015

    Just rang UK [protected] quoting my original order number and they appeared to agree to cancel my account and any further payments and agreed to confirm this in an email (which I've not yet received). I do intend to cancel my credit card also to be sure they can't take any more payments. VERY BIG/EXPENSIVE LESSON LEARNT!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jul 08, 2015

    As I said before I had followed all of the requirements to cancel, called and got returns numbers, returned all packing via recorded delivery and then phoned to confirm they had received and was reassured all was fine and my account was closed. Regardless, a further 2 payments were taken. Finally managed to speak to someone on the [protected] number and demanded a refund and said I was reporting it to the police as I regarded this as theft. I have now had a refund and also cancelled the card that was being debited. So yes you can get your money back but you've got to be prepared to fight for it. Good luck

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jul 08, 2015

    I agree julie c you have to be firm and threaten them, knowledge is always powerful, don't be beaten and fight this ### xxxx

    +1 Votes
  • Gl
      Jul 13, 2015

    Didn't get original introductory offer so the company are in breach of contract. They have now taken £252.52. From my account. I have sent two letters to the company, with no response. Bank are unwilling to complete a charges back. I don't even have a company name. Informed trading standards but don't hold up much hope. Contracting watchdog, please do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Jul 14, 2015

    Hi Glenn, I am sorry to hear that. You are not alone. The phone number is +[protected] if that helps but I wouldn't expect much.I think the address is 3 Talbot Road MK40 9HD, Bedford. I believe they are trading under various names - BrightDerm being one of a few. Good luck!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Jul 21, 2015

    Tried to phone them 4 times but numbers does not exsist, e mailed them and cancelled but they still took money from my bank. Need them to cancel them.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
      Jul 21, 2015

    I have also experienced this, the products have continued to turn up without any paperwork, I had no idea I was paying for it until realised they were taking the money from my credit card. I have now asked the CC company to block any future payments and report this to the fraud section to try and retrieve my money as having no joy in trying to locate these people. I do not recall seeing anyway when applying for the 'free sample' about products then being sent and charged for.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Jul 22, 2015

    Sadly I have also, just been a victim of this mal-practice. As with everyone else I read the advert that came up and thought what the heck, 2 x £2.95 I can afford to try it our. The got the shock of my life when the credit card bill arrived. It took me a few days to get round to querying it and yesterday I telephoned them on [protected], I agree that it did sound like a call centre. I queried why they had charged me over £170 for these two products and was told it was in the Terms and Conditions and I should have read them. I was then informed that there was the next shipment ready for dispatch and would be with me shortly, At which stage I hit the roof. I was then offered a 50% reduction on this issue which I refused and told them to recredit my card and cancel the shipment, which they said they could not do as it had already gone. After some very ' raised' words the chap on the phone went to talk to someone and it was agreed that they would recredit me with the money but that I could keep the goods as a 'goodwill gesture'. I have contacted the credit card company who have agreed to keep an eye out for any further transactions and will then dispute them for me. I will also be contacting WatchDog. It is most certainly a con. The damn stuff doesn't even do any good!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment