The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Dependable Locks Inc. / Fraud and cheating!

1 United States Review updated:

I left my key inside my apartment when I went to the laundry room and locked myself out last night Aug. 1, 2007. I called Dependable Locks Inc. here in Alameda around 9pm and said they will send someone to be there at 45mins.The woman I talked to the phone told me that it will cost me $39 for the show call & $15 for every lock to be opened. I agree for the said price she told me.

They called back at 9:46 and said would come within 15-20 mins but came at 10:18pm. They charge me for $39 for the show call & $110 for opening my locked door. A total of $149. I asked the man they send regarding the price.I told him that was not the price she told me when I called.And he said it was $15 and above for opening a locked door. I have no choice, I need to get inside because I have an appointment with my physical therapy at 8am the next day and It was already late at night. And I'm new here in alameda.

I called them last night after the man left & complained for the over charging & they told me to call the customer service at 8am the next day. I called them today complained of over charging. And I told them when i called was $15 for every locked door to be open. She said that they they are charging according to the tools that being used and asked me what tools he used. I said that he used 2 little long metals. She even told me the cost of the tools as $5 each. And it took him approx. 5mins to open the door. She told me that it doesn't matter how long it takes to open the door & told me again that they are charging according to the tools used and service. And that I should pay the $40 for the show call and cancel the work order if I didn't agree with the price.

If they told me the first time I called and that it would cost like that. I will not hire their service.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ke
      13th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes
    Dependable Locks - Fraud and cheating!
    United States

    I don't even know exactly what company to blame for this. I called some "Emergency Locksmith" company in the U.S. I guess (because they didn't know where Menlo Park is) and they sent a guy out from Dependable Locks. Derone (I think East Indian from his accent) was a young-looking guy. I thought maybe he would be kind to me in my situation.

    First, I called and they said that it would cost me $39 just for the guy to come and then depending on how long or hard it was to unlock, there would be an additional amount. That would begin at $15. I had seen a locksmith get into my car and it takes literally seconds. So, I trusted that it would be no more than $55 or $60. So, he showed up and right off the bat quoted me at $39 plus $85! I said I can't pay that much. Then to be nice (right!), he said "o.k. I will do it for just the $85." I still feel ripped off. The labor took seconds and not difficult. It I had the tools, I could have easily done it myself. I would not trust this company. These guys are making a percentage commission and they will rip you off!

  • Le
      22nd of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    Kay Robinson: BBB ReportWednesday, August 22, 2007Kay Robinson: BBB ReportPosted on Sunday, July 22, 2007Email This Print This BBB Warns About Locksmith Scams. Kay RobinsonYou may have been a victim and not even known it. The Better Business Bureau is warning consumers to beware of untrustworthy locksmith companies that are ripping off consumers across the country.

    Victim complaints to the BBB reveal that several locksmith companies, all using similar methods, are significantly overcharging consumers, charging consumers for unnecessary services, using intimidation tactics and failing to give refunds or respond to consumer complaints.

    Ironically, these companies operate under names such as "Dependable Lock-smith" but in reality they exploit the vulnerable situation of consumers who are locked out of their house or car. We've found that some locksmiths have made taking advantage of consumers' misfortune part of their business model.

    Complaints about locksmith services to the 114 BBBs serving the United States increased almost 75 percent from 2005 to 2006, and have continued to come in steadily during the first half of this year.

    The BBB has identified Dependable Locksmith - which operates under more than a dozen different names - - as a particularly disreputable locksmith. This company poses as a local locksmith in cities across the country and advertises in the yellow pages using local phone numbers and fake local addresses. Consumers might think they're dealing with a local locksmith, but their phone call is actually connected to a call center located in the Bronx borough of New York City.

    Consumers are quoted a reasonable price over the phone but when the locksmith arrives - typically in an unmarked vehicle - he demands significantly more money than originally quoted, often only accepting cash. A complaint about Dependable Locksmith, which was operating under the name "Superb Solutions," alleges the company quoted fees of $39 and $84 for separate jobs, but the bill ended up at $471. It included add-on fees, such as a $65 breaking-in fee and a $58 fee to uninstall old locks.

    Another complainant reported that the locksmith sent to let her into her car demanded she pay twice the price quoted over the phone. The locksmith offered to drive her to an ATM to get cash. The victim, feeling unsafe, refused.

    The victim was ultimately forced to write a check made out personally to the locksmith as he would not let her into her car until she did so. She canceled payment on the check the next morning, but eventually filed a police report after the locksmith harassed her with continuous phone calls about payment.

    The BBB has also heard many complaints from victims who say they were charged for unnecessary services. For example, complainants suspect locksmiths sent over by Dependable Locksmiths of pretending they couldn't simply pick the lock so that they could charge more and install all new locks in homes.

    Some of Dependable Locksmith's aliases include Superb Solutions, Locksmith 24 Hour, Inc., USA Total Security, Priceline Locksmith and S.O.S. Locksmith.
    Two other locksmith contractors fleecing consumers are Basad Inc. - which operates under more than 50 names nationwide, such as A-1 Locksmith Service, A-1 24 Hour Locksmith, A-1 Lock & Key Locksmith and AAA Locksmith 24 Hour - and Liberty Locksmith.

    Similar to Dependable Locksmith, they pose as local locksmiths and run full-page Yellow Pages ads with multiple phone and address listings. The phone numbers appear to be local, but connect to national call centers such as Liberty's in New York City, while the addresses end up belonging to other established businesses in the local area, or are simply non-existent.

    Like others, Liberty Locksmith and Basad Inc. use common cons such as quoting one price over the phone but charging significantly more at the site.
    These companies are very good at posing as trustworthy locksmiths. Before you find yourself in the unfortunate position of being locked out of your car or house, do your research and find a truly dependable locksmith in your area. Ask around and always check with the BBB first to find reputable businesses.

    If you feel you've been taken advantage of by Dependable Locksmith, Liberty Locksmith, Basad Inc. or others, please contact the BBB to file a complaint, or do so online at www.bbb.org.

    Kay Robinson is president of the Better Business Bureau of Central East Texas, serving 19 East Texas counties. To contact the BBB in Tyler, call 903-581-5704, and in Longview, call 903-757-3611 or 800-443-0131, or visit the Web site at www.easttexas.bbb.org. The organization can be e-mailed at info@tyler.bbb.org.

  • Le
      22nd of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    BBB Warns Consumers of Nationwide Locksmith Swindle. You may have been a victim and not even know it. For Immediate Release:

    Arlington, VA – July 10, 2007 – The Better Business Bureau (BBB) today is warning consumers to beware of untrustworthy locksmith companies that are ripping off consumers across the country.

    Victim complaints to the BBB reveal that several locksmith companies, all using similar methods, are significantly overcharging consumers, charging consumers for unnecessary services, using intimidation tactics, and failing to give refunds or respond to consumer complaints.

    “Ironically, these companies operate under names like ‘Dependable Locksmith’ but in reality they exploit the vulnerable situation of consumers who are locked out of their house or car,” said Steve Cox spokesperson for the BBB System. “We’ve found that some locksmiths have made taking advantage of consumers’ misfortune part of their business model.”

    Complaints about locksmith services to the 114 BBBs serving the U.S. increased almost 75 percent from 2005 to 2006, and have continued to come in steadily during the first half of this year.

    The BBB has identified Dependable Locksmith – which operates under more than a dozen different names – as a particularly disreputable locksmith. This company poses as a local locksmith in cities across the country and advertises in the yellow pages using local phone numbers and fake local addresses. A consumer might think they’re dealing with a local locksmith but their phone call is actually connected to a call center located in the Bronx borough of New York City.

    Consumers are quoted a reasonable price over the phone but when the locksmith arrives – typically in an unmarked vehicle – he demands significantly more money than originally quoted, often only accepting cash.

    A complaint from Cleveland, OH, where Dependable Locksmith was operating under the name “Superb Solutions,” alleges the company quoted fees of $39 and $84 for separate jobs, but the bill ended up at $471, which included add-on fees such as a $65 breaking in fee and a $58 fee to uninstall old locks.

    Another complainant reported that the locksmith sent to let her into her car demanded she pay twice the price quoted over the phone. The locksmith offered to drive her to an ATM to get cash – feeling unsafe the victim refused. The victim was ultimately forced to write a check made out personally to the locksmith as he would not let her into her car until she did so. She canceled payment on the check the next morning, but eventually filed a police report after the locksmith harassed her with continuous phone calls about payment.

    The BBB has also heard many complaints from victims who say they were charged for unnecessary services. For example, complainants suspect locksmiths sent over by Dependable Locksmiths of pretending they couldn’t simply pick the lock so that they could charge more and install all new locks in homes.

    Some of Dependable Locksmith’s aliases include, Superb Solutions, Locksmith 24 Hour, Inc., USA Total Security, Priceline Locksmith, and S.O.S. Locksmith.

    Two other locksmith contractors fleecing consumers are Basad, Inc. – which operates under more than 50 names nationwide, such as A-1 Locksmith Service, A-1 24 Hour Locksmith, A-1 Lock & Key Locksmith, and AAA Locksmith 24 Hour – and Liberty Locksmith. Similar to Dependable Locksmith, they pose as local locksmiths and run full-page yellow pages ads with multiple phone and address listings. The phone numbers appear to be local, but connect to national call centers such as Liberty’s in New York City, while the addresses end up belonging to other established businesses in the local area, or are simply non-existent.

    Liberty Locksmith had been a BBB member in Tulsa, OK, but during normal BBB member validation processes, it was discovered that the addresses provided by the company were false. In June 2007, the BBB terminated the membership of Liberty Locksmith for providing false information in its membership application and providing misleading advertisements to the public.

    Like others, Liberty Locksmith and Basad, Inc. use common cons such as quoting one price over the phone, but then charging significantly more on site.

    “These companies are very good at posing as trustworthy locksmiths,” said Mr. Cox. “Before you find yourself in the unfortunate position of being locked out of your car or house, do your research and find a truly dependable locksmith in your area. Ask around and always check with the BBB first to find reputable businesses.”

    If you feel you’ve been taken advantage of by Dependable Locksmith, Liberty Locksmith, Basad. Inc., or others, please contact the BBB to file a complaint, or do so online at www.bbb.org.

    # # #
    About the BBB System

    BBB is an unbiased, non-profit entity that sets and upholds high standards for fair and honest business behavior. Businesses and charities that earn BBB membership contractually agree and adhere to the organization’s high standards of ethical business behavior. BBB provides objective advice, free business Reliability Reports and charity Wise Giving Reports, and educational information on topics affecting marketplace trust. To further promote trust, BBB also offers complaint and dispute resolution support for consumers and businesses when there is difference in viewpoints. The first BBB was founded in 1912. Today, 128 BBBs serve communities across the U.S. and Canada, evaluating and monitoring more than 3 million local and national businesses and charities. Please visit www.bbb.org for more information about the BBB System.

    # # #

    Reporters and journalists may contact Steve Cox, CBBB's Vice President, Communications, or call 703.276.0100 to request an interview or additional information. If you are a consumer who is seeking additional information, or need assistance with a complaint against a business, please contact your local BBB, visit the BBB web site (www.bbb.org) or call 703.276.0100.

    About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Trademarks | Terms & Conditions of Use | Contact Us
    © 2003 Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

  • Le
      27th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    Man sentenced for fraudulent locksmith scheme
    Article Last Updated: 09/26/2007 01:52:07 PM PDT

    An Israeli man who impersonated a San Bruno locksmith and bilked an 86-year-old homeowner, and possibly several others, for repairs was sentenced to three years' probation this morning in San Mateo County Superior Court and ordered to pay restitution to two victims.

    Moshe Mizrachi, 29, pleaded no contest Aug. 28 to charges of identity theft, for passing himself off as an employee of A-1 San Bruno Locksmith, a company police later learned had been dissolved in 2006 after the owner died, according to prosecutors.

    San Bruno police set up a sting operation after the 86-year-old woman, who locked herself out of her home and called the company, reported she had been charged $1,500 by Mizrachi and another, as-yet-unidentified man, to change a single lock.

    According to San Mateo County Chief Deputy District Attorney Steve Wagstaffe, the woman is on a fixed income and told the men she didn't have enough money to pay, so they convinced her to go to the bank.

    Minus $1,500 for the new lock on her door, the woman notified police, who learned from the widow of the company's actual owner that he had died in 2006 and the business had shut down. Police then called the company's phone number asking for a locksmith, and when Mizrachi showed up, he was arrested.

    According to Wagstaffe, there were multiple reports to a local television station from other residents complaining about being overcharged by the same locksmith company.

    After serving 92 days in county jail, Mizrachi received a three-year probationary sentence at his sentencing this morning, and was ordered to repay approximately $2,300 to two victims.

    Authorities have advised residents to always ask hired workers for formal identification and their license to do the work, and if anything seems suspicious, to call police.

  • Le
      27th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    Man sentenced for fraudulent locksmith scheme
    Article Last Updated: 09/26/2007 01:52:07 PM PDT


    An Israeli man who impersonated a San Bruno locksmith and bilked an 86-year-old homeowner, and possibly several others, for repairs was sentenced to three years' probation this morning in San Mateo County Superior Court and ordered to pay restitution to two victims.

    Moshe Mizrachi, 29, pleaded no contest Aug. 28 to charges of identity theft, for passing himself off as an employee of A-1 San Bruno Locksmith, a company police later learned had been dissolved in 2006 after the owner died, according to prosecutors.

    San Bruno police set up a sting operation after the 86-year-old woman, who locked herself out of her home and called the company, reported she had been charged $1,500 by Mizrachi and another, as-yet-unidentified man, to change a single lock.

    According to San Mateo County Chief Deputy District Attorney Steve Wagstaffe, the woman is on a fixed income and told the men she didn't have enough money to pay, so they convinced her to go to the bank.

    Minus $1,500 for the new lock on her door, the woman notified police, who learned from the widow of the company's actual owner that he had died in 2006 and the business had shut down. Police then called the company's phone number asking for a locksmith, and when Mizrachi showed up, he was arrested.

    According to Wagstaffe, there were multiple reports to a local television station from other residents complaining about being overcharged by the same locksmith company.

    serving 92 days in county jail, Mizrachi received a three-year probationary sentence at his sentencing this morning, and was ordered to repay approximately $2,300 to two victims.

    Authorities have advised residents to always ask hired workers for formal identification and their license to do the work, and if anything seems suspicious, to call police.

  • Sa
      9th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes
    Dependable Locks - Fraud and cheating!
    Canada

    Do not use Dependable Locks. They were unable to give me an estimate before arriving- they said $45 call charge- and a base $15 for the lock. My bill ended up being $215 for 30 minutes of work with a hidden $120 lock out charge. The locksmith was extremely aggressive and rude, and it was a game of highway robbery. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!

  • Ki
      10th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    again, did you or did you not sign the waiver to consent to paying for the service???? READ before you sign FOLKS.

  • Mi
      3rd of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    I had a similarly disappointing experience with Dependable Locks. I recently received a letter from them threatening "THEFT OF SERVICES" is against the law. I cancelled my payment to them when I realized they had ripped me off. Following is the letter I am sending to Dependable Lock in response to their threat to me.

    This letter is a reply to your letter to me dated 11/14/2007 which threatened “THEFT OF SERVICES” for lock replacement that was performed on 9/29/2007. Please be certain that I am fully prepared to work through the Better Business Bureau and additional legal services if necessary to ensure that I do not pay for services that were misleading and unfairly priced.

    1. I was told by Dependable Locks that a service call cost $25.00. However, my bill charged me $39.00. After disputing this with the call center, the salesperson agreed to deduct $14 because my wife validated that I had been told the service call cost $25.
    2. I was charged $208.00 for a Mortise Cylinder Kaba Ilco lock. The product number: 7165sc2-26d-ka2 – has a value of $24.00. Charging almost 18 times the value of the product is reprehensible.
    3. I selected Dependable Locks because when I spoke with the person that answered my call I was told that Dependable has brass Stanford Locks, which would match the unit in my door. The service man told me he was using a Stanford. After he left, I found the Ilco box and realized that he had installed a silver lock in a brass door. Needless to say paying $288 for a $24 lock to be installed – a lock that did not even fit with my door – is absurd.
    4. Being completely dissatisfied with the service – and having written a check not to “Dependable Locks” but to “Asaf” (according to the service man, Asaf was “the guy who was supposed to do the work.”) – I became alarmed.
    5. I called the “Toll-Free 866-429-9485 24 HOUR SERVICE” number on 9/29/07 and no one answered. I called to act on my “NOTICE OF CANCELLATION” on my invoice which states: “You the buyer, may cancel this transaction at any time prior to midnight on the third business day after the date of this transaction.” When no one answered I called the number I had initially contacted and was told that “for customer service you need to call 866-429-9485”. Again I called this number an no one answered. I called again on Monday, October 1 and Tuesday, October 2 and both times no one answered my call. So much for “24 HOUR SERVICE”.

    As a result of the above, I will not be paying for the service. This meets the cancellation terms of the invoice.

  • Ki
      9th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    Unfortantely the locksmith industry is unregulated in some states and I hate it that this happened to you. When I was in the field I always made sure the customer knew what the charges were before I headed out. I am now a stay at home mom and I always tell my friends to look any locksmith up with the BBB before they use them. You would be surprised at how many locksmiths learned how to pick locks IN JAIL. I have met some locksmiths I would not want to even know where I live! That someone doesnt have to have a background check to be a locksmith in most states sure floors me. Just to own a locksmith business requires a background check.

  • An
      29th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    Funny thing, I worked for the company and they are LIARS, CHEATERS, STEALERS. Everyone there knows and they do it anyway. I quit because I started to realize they were just screwing people over, and I didnt feel good leaving every night. But the call center is located in Clearwater, FL.. They moved from New York, probably trying to hide. In the call center, they train you to NOT give a price so the locksmith can charge whatever they want. Every single locksmith including the owner is from Israel, most of them barely speak english. A gay employee married the owners wife so she could live in the US. They never got proof that I could work in the US with a I-9, so I am sure that many of the locksmiths are here illegally. They need to be investigated and shut down.

  • Mi
      4th of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes
    Dependable Locks - Fraud and cheating!
    Dependable Locks
    295 W 231st Street
    Bronx
    New York
    United States
    Phone: 866-429-9485

    This letter serves as a complaint in regard to the services received on 2/27/2008. Yes I called Dependable Locks and asked them on the phone before them coming out if they could change the cylinders on two of my doors and explained to them what kind of keys and locks I already had. They told me yes they could do it. I took time off my job to come to my home for them to meet me and do the job, however, once they arrived they explained to me they couldn’t do it because they needed a master key from my office, I would have to get a new set of locks. I told the service guy whose name is Mathew that I couldn’t do that because all the locks would need to be uniform with the rest of the complex and I couldn’t afford that and also that wasn’t the job I asked to be done, after going back and forth he told me to tell my complex that my life was being threatened and It would be ok. Now as I’m pressed for time because I have to get back to work I said ok. No more than 5 minutes after they left I called my complex community office and told them I changed the locks and I would bring them a key, they said that I couldn’t do that, I would be violating against my lease. After finding that information out I called Mathew back on his cell phone to inform him of what happened and that he would need to get the locks back because I wouldn’t be able to use them. He told me he couldn’t do that and to call the main office, the name is on my invoice. The main office told me they couldn’t do anything either. I explained to them that I didn’t have a problem paying for the labor but I can’t use the locks. I also don’t understand the way this company operates. I’ve called to get the name of the Director and/or to speak with a Manager and the staff is telling me that there is no Manager to speak with. The number I called was (718-581-5000). Every job has a management staff.

  • Ka
      11th of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes
    Dependable Locks, Inc. - Scam and cheating!
    Dependable Locks, Inc.
    Lakewood
    Colorado
    United States
    Phone: 720-364-9180

    I called because I lost the keys to my apartment. I was quoted a price of $85.00 to get into my apartment. The locksmith arrived, and the bill suddenly went up to $124.00. I will also now need to have the lock replaced, due to the damage done to it.

  • Le
      23rd of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    Home | Check Out an Organization | File a Complaint | Go to Local BBBs | Get Tips
    News & Articles
    - Search Articles
    - Consumer/Business Tips
    - Press Releases
    - Media-Friendly Experts
    - BBB Video Series


    BBB Warns Consumers of Nationwide Locksmith Swindle
    You may have been a victim and not even know it.
    For Immediate Release

    Arlington, VA – July 10, 2007 – The Better Business Bureau (BBB) today is warning consumers to beware of untrustworthy locksmith companies that are ripping off consumers across the country.

    Victim complaints to the BBB reveal that several locksmith companies, all using similar methods, are significantly overcharging consumers, charging consumers for unnecessary services, using intimidation tactics, and failing to give refunds or respond to consumer complaints.

    “Ironically, these companies operate under names like ‘Dependable Locksmith’ but in reality they exploit the vulnerable situation of consumers who are locked out of their house or car, ” said Steve Cox spokesperson for the BBB System. “We’ve found that some locksmiths have made taking advantage of consumers’ misfortune part of their business model.”

    Complaints about locksmith services to the 114 BBBs serving the U.S. increased almost 75 percent from 2005 to 2006, and have continued to come in steadily during the first half of this year.

    The BBB has identified Dependable Locksmith – which operates under more than a dozen different names – as a particularly disreputable locksmith. This company poses as a local locksmith in cities across the country and advertises in the yellow pages using local phone numbers and fake local addresses. A consumer might think they’re dealing with a local locksmith but their phone call is actually connected to a call center located in the Bronx borough of New York City.

    Consumers are quoted a reasonable price over the phone but when the locksmith arrives – typically in an unmarked vehicle – he demands significantly more money than originally quoted, often only accepting cash.

    A complaint from Cleveland, OH, where Dependable Locksmith was operating under the name “Superb Solutions, ” alleges the company quoted fees of $39 and $84 for separate jobs, but the bill ended up at $471, which included add-on fees such as a $65 breaking in fee and a $58 fee to uninstall old locks.

    Another complainant reported that the locksmith sent to let her into her car demanded she pay twice the price quoted over the phone. The locksmith offered to drive her to an ATM to get cash – feeling unsafe the victim refused. The victim was ultimately forced to write a check made out personally to the locksmith as he would not let her into her car until she did so. She cancelled payment on the check the next morning, but eventually filed a police report after the locksmith harassed her with continuous phone calls about payment.

    The BBB has also heard many complaints from victims who say they were charged for unnecessary services. For example, complainants suspect locksmiths sent over by Dependable Locksmiths of pretending they couldn’t simply pick the lock so that they could charge more and install all new locks in homes.

    Some of Dependable Locksmith’s aliases include, Superb Solutions, Locksmith 24 Hour, Inc., USA Total Security, Priceline Locksmith, and S.O.S. Locksmith.

    Two other locksmith contractors fleecing consumers are Basad, Inc. – which operates under more than 50 names nationwide, such as A-1 Locksmith Service, A-1 24 Hour Locksmith, A-1 Lock & Key Locksmith, and AAA Locksmith 24 Hour – and Liberty Locksmith. Similar to Dependable Locksmith, they pose as local locksmiths and run full-page yellow pages ads with multiple phone and address listings. The phone numbers appear to be local, but connect to national call centers such as Liberty’s in New York City, while the addresses end up belonging to other established businesses in the local area, or are simply non-existent.

    Liberty Locksmith had been a BBB member in Tulsa, OK, but during normal BBB member validation processes, it was discovered that the addresses provided by the company were false. In June 2007, the BBB terminated the membership of Liberty Locksmith for providing false information in its membership application and providing misleading advertisements to the public.

    Like others, Liberty Locksmith and Basad, Inc. use common cons such as quoting one price over the phone, but then charging significantly more on site.

    “These companies are very good at posing as trustworthy locksmiths, ” said Mr. Cox. “Before you find yourself in the unfortunate position of being locked out of your car or house, do your research and find a truly dependable locksmith in your area. Ask around and always check with the BBB first to find reputable businesses.”

    If you feel you’ve been taken advantage of by Dependable Locksmith, Liberty Locksmith, Basad. Inc., or others, please contact the BBB to file a complaint, or do so online at www.bbb.org.

    # # #
    About the BBB System

    BBB is an unbiased, non-profit entity that sets and upholds high standards for fair and honest business behavior. Businesses and charities that earn BBB membership contractually agree and adhere to the organization’s high standards of ethical business behavior. BBB provides objective advice, free business Reliability Reports and charity Wise Giving Reports, and educational information on topics affecting marketplace trust. To further promote trust, BBB also offers complaint and dispute resolution support for consumers and businesses when there is difference in viewpoints. The first BBB was founded in 1912. Today, 128 BBBs serve communities across the U.S. and Canada, evaluating and monitoring more than 3 million local and national businesses and charities. Please visit www.bbb.org for more information about the BBB System.

    # # #

    Reporters and journalists may contact Steve Cox, CBBB's Vice President, Communications, or call 703.276.0100 to request an interview or additional information.
    If you are a consumer who is seeking additional information, or need assistance with a complaint against a business, please contact your local BBB, visit the BBB web site (www.bbb.org) or call 703.276.0100.

    About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Trademarks | Terms & Conditions of Use | Contact Us
    © 2003 Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

  • Va
      16th of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes
    Dependable Locks Inc - Fraud and cheating
    Dependable Locks Inc
    407 S. Arcturas Clearwater, Fl.
    Louisville
    Kentucky
    United States
    Phone: 502-895-4725

    I needed two dead bolts installed and I found the number to dependable locks. The locksmith came and the first thing I asked was how much is this going to cost. He showed me a paper with the prices and services that he wrote down. There were three prices listed ($39, $135 and $125). I could not read his writing describing the work to be done so I asked him what he was going to do. This is what I was told by the locksmith: $39 service fee, $125 to replace broken lock and $135 to install new lock in another door.

    After work was complete he gave me a bill of over $400. I asked him why the cost has gone up and he said that the $125 charge was per door. He did not tell me this when describing the work that he was going to do. He said that it was written on the quote sheet that was illegible. I specifically asked him about the prices because I could not read his hand writing.

    So in the end I was charged $135 to drill a hole for a dead bolt and $125 to put the lock in that hole. The company is giving me the run around.

    To any out there who needs a good locksmith, stay far away from this company.

  • Ho
      30th of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes

    Yes I learned my lesson this weekend when I locked my keys in the car. My own foolish mistake that I paid 135 for. On the phone they said 35 plus 15. In their ad, it read, we can beat any price and no additional rates for weekends and nights. When the locksmith showed up he was very rude, and damaged the door frame as he used an air wedge which is the wrong techniqued to use on any kia spectra. Customer service was extremely rude and did not help us at all. We've been fighting with them all day and they've been ignoring everything we're saying.

  • Le
      8th of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes

    Right On Time Lock Smith, Right On Time Locksmith Services,
    Phone: 866-561-4539
    Fax:
    Mike - The Manager, Says You Don't Need That Information Becausr Their A Mobile Business
    Los Angeles County, San Diego County, California,
    U.S.A.

    Submitted: 7/7/2008 9:31:15 PM
    Modified: 7/7/2008 9:31:00 PM
    This lock smith sucked!
    San Diego, California


    'RIGHT ON TIME LOCKSMITH' is a Horrible locksmith company, their main office has deceptive business practices and will lie to you just to get in your door, the Manager Mike is rude and has not been able to shake his camel jokey sense of management, they sub-contract with people who aren't even licensed, insured or who are even locksmiths, this is not the first RIP-OFF this company has, so don't hire this company!

    If you do, YOU will get RIPPED-OFF!!

    One morning, my 3 year old decided to lock me out of my office. I'm a General Building Contractor and my office had all of my locksmiths numbers right on the other side of the door. I know how to install a door and hardware, I just don't know lock cylinders.

    So my wife called her mom and they found this company on the internet and ended up calling 'RIGHT ON TIME LOCKSMITH'. She wrote down the phone quote they gave her and it was $55 to unlock the door and $18 to re-key the door.

    I took off to work feeling that everything was going fine and then my wife frantically called me about an hour later saying that the man that showed up from 'RIGHT ON TIME LOCKSMITH' was gouging and scratching our door hardware in attempt to open the door! She stated he hardly speaks any english and I can barely make out what he's saying and he's starting to scare me how he's treating our door and the door hardware. She told me that he finally got the door open at the expense of my door hardware but now he couldn't even get the hardware off the door to re-key the cylinder. My wife told him to please leave our home because she felt so uncomfortable with this man in our house. On the way out the door this man said he would replace the part he damaged and we found out the company ended up charging our credit card $110 before he even showed up.

    I called this company when I got home and while I was on the phone I took off the hardware that this so called locksmith couldn't, it took me about 45 seconds to remove it. After being grilled by a very un-empathetic so called dispatcher, I ended up speaking to a guy named Mike who stated he was the manager. I asked him where their office was located and he said that he wasn't going to give me that information and they were a mobile company and that they didn't have an office.

    The rest of the conversation with this guy was a bunch of junk. I asked him, 'why did your dispatcher tell me one price on the phone and then charge another price and I got a damaged knob and didn't even get my key made?' He said, 'what do you want me to do for you?'. I said, ' I want new door hardware and a new key for that hardware!'. He said, 'I'll see what I can do'.

    About an hour later that original guy that damaged the hardware showed up and said he wanted to install a new piece of my hardware. I said, no just give me the hardware and I'll install it myself. He did, but their were no keys in the box! My wife and I said, hey where are the keys? He said, 'I am not giving those to you!' He said, 'We charged you $55 to unlock the door and $55 for a service charge, you didn't pay for the keys!'. We told this guy that he was misinformed and that we paid for the keys and that we were told a different price on the phone than he was quoting. He stood their strong and stupid and never gave us our keys and then drove off and 'RIGHT ON TIME LOCKSMITH' still charged us $110.

    Mike, the Manager of 'RIGHT ON TIME LOCKSMITH' said, 'we could take him to court if we wanted to!?'

    'RIGHT ON TIME LOCKSMITH' left me with damaged hardware that I needed to remove, a new doorknob that I had to install and no keys to open the new hardware! I then needed to remove the hardware again and personally take it to a trusted locksmith down the street - Commercial Lock & Safe 858-566-6065 or 858-586-0216 7094 Miramar Rd. #118 SD, CA 92121. They charged me only $ 22.50 to re-key the lock and gave me 2 key's.

    'RIGHT ON TIME LOCKSMITH' is a Horrible locksmith company, their main office has deceptive business practices and will lie to you just to get in your door, the Manager Mike is rude and has not been able to shake his camel jokey sense of management, they sub-contract with people who aren't even licensed, insured or who are even locksmiths, this is not the first RIP-OFF this company has, so don't hire this company!

    If you do, YOU will get RIPPED-OFF!!

    Whatever you do, Just call the next guy, it will be the best thing to do, get 3 estimates and make sure to not let 1 of the 3 be 'RIGHT ON TIME LOCKSMITH'.
    http://www.rightontimelocksmiths.com/ Their numbers are 1-866-561-4539 or 1-866-676-1455 - DO NOT CALL THEM!!!

    Don't even try to retaliate Mike or 'RIGHT ON TIME LOCKSMITH' or I'll attach the video I have of your stupid sub damaging my hardware and being a fool to my wife in my front yard with the 2 different company names on his van.

    This Locksmith Sucked!
    San Diego, California
    U.S.A.

  • Cl
      29th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    I found this out, too! I locked myself out of my house. I was told over the phone it would cost $35 for the person to arrive at my house and $15 for my door to be opened. It took the guy 1 hour to arrive at my house. Then, it took under 2 minutes for him to open my door. Somehow the price became $125 to open the door! It was a simple lock, no deadbolts or anything. He just used air pressure to open it! It would have been cheaper for me to axe the door down and buy a new one! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

  • Da
      15th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    These folks should be shut down, and quickly!

    After being broken into and burglarized, my wife and I understandably wanted a new lock on the house, as soon as possible. We called the "24 locksmith" and they came out HOURS after they were supposed to. You can imagine how vulnerable my wife felt alone and in an unlocked house (i had to travel for business).

    They quoted her $80 for the service call and nothing else. By the time they left, the service call was $170 and they charged her $125 for a basic bolt lock! I don't know how these people sleep at night- honestly.

    We want our money back and these people shut down. Is there no one who can help the MANY PEOPLE who have posted to this site?

  • Jo
      4th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes
    Dependable Locks - Fraud and cheating!
    United States

    My wife and I locked ourselves out of our new home and called Dependable Locks to get us in. The fee was $150. They offered to replace the locks for $90. I had to return to work so my wife stayed home to deal with the situation. We also asked them to look at our front door entry locks because we did not have keys to one of the dead bolts. He said he could replace it for $150. All in all, we had 4 locks replaced for a grand total of $810 which included the emgernecy stop by ($150).

    Here's where it went all wrong:
    1. I made it clear that we need the locks to match. Instead of antique bronze, he installed bright brass.
    2. The locks he did use were cheap plastic-caliber material.
    3. The locks were not installed correctly so I had to replace and tighten some screws. For $810 bucks, you would expect better service.

    We called the company to complain but it was useless. I later found out that the State of IL has suspended their license and the State is actually suing the company for fraud. Unfortunately, the State of WI does not make locksmith services be licensed but for some odd reason WI makes hair stylists, pawn shops, and masseuse professionals all have a paid license.

    Our recommendation is to NEVER do business with Dependable Locks. Poor service with very high prices. I would go to Lowes or Home Depot and install the locks yourself. Good luck.

  • Ni
      13th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    On October 13th, 2008 I arrived at my office and accidentally locked my keys in my car. Knowing that my insurance company would reimburse me for the locksmith charges I opened the yellow pages and begin to search for the best price. The first business I called quoted me at $55 and told me it would be about an hour and a half to two hours before they could get out to me. I responded by saying that I was going to make a few more phone calls to see if anyone could get out to me a little bit sooner. I saw the ad in the Yellow Pages for Dependable Locks Inc. and which clearly read "WE WILL BEAT THE BEST PRICE". I called and spoke with a very polite gentleman. I asked him how much and how long it would take. He informed me that it would be $39 and that once the technician arrived he or she would adjust the labor charge based on the amount of work that had to be done in order to open the vehicle. "How much does that generally range?" I asked. "On average it comes to around $15" the man told me. He went on to tell me that they could have someone out to me in about 30 minutes. "Great" I thought, and I gave the man my information. About a half an hour later the man arrived and took a look at my car. He filled out the paper work and then explained to me that the total cost would be $138. $39 for the service charge and $99 for the labor. I was stuck at work and I had no way of getting my spare key. I had no choice but to pay. The locksmith started working and had the car opended within a total of five minutes, no more. This is outrageous! At no point in time prior to the locksmiths arrival was I informed that the labor charges would be that high. This is not right. I feel cheated and I feel that I should be reimbursed for the outrageous cost of the labor. This is not the way people should be treated.

Post your comment