The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Curtis Auto Sales, Inc. / Sale of Unsafe Used Vehicle

1 7550 W. Washington StreetIndianapolis, IN, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 317-247-1366

I purchased a 2000 Oldsmobile Alero from Dan Wing of Curtis Auto Sales, Inc. on Thursday, February 19, 2009 for $6, 995. I put a $1, 500 deposit on the vehicle. I did not actually take delivery of the vehicle until Friday, February 20, 2009 because of mechanical problems that were supposed to be fixed. The vehicle came with a warranty for one month or 1, 000 miles.
After test driving the vehicle, I noticed some issues. I informed Mr. Wing as well as the Curtis Auto Sales mechanic of these issues and they assured me that they would be fixed prior to delivery of the vehicle. The problems that were supposed to be fixed prior to me taking possession of the vehicle on Friday are as follows:

• Power Steering makes whining noise
• Malfunctioning Turn Signals
• Malfunctioning Hazard Lights
• Exhaust system is loose/dragging
• Suspension/wheel bearing makes grinding noise
• Brakes grinding
• Low tire pressure
• Power Mirrors are not functioning
• Inside Dome light is disconnected from headliner which exposes wires
• Leather is worn and disconnected from dash board
• Doors squeak when opening

After driving the vehicle off of the Curtis Auto Sales lot, I noticed that the mechanical and cosmetic problems still existed. I tried to return the vehicle to Curtis Auto Sales on two occasions; Saturday, February 21, 2009 and Monday, February 23, 2009, due to failure to repair the mechanical problems. Dan Wing told me that I could return the car but that my deposit would not be refunded, I would have to pay the rest of the contract, and that Curtis Auto Sales does not provide a return policy. This information was not disclosed to me verbally or in writing when I signed the contract on February 19, 2009. Curtis Auto Sales also does not display any signs that make this clear to buying customers.

The purpose of leaving the vehicle after purchase was so Curtis Auto Sales would repair it to a safe driving condition upon delivery to me. I understand that the warranty only covers certain items however; upon purchasing the vehicle, Curtis Auto Sales promised repairs to me. Otherwise, I would not have left the vehicle on the Curtis Auto Sales lot after purchase.

The only repair that Curtis Auto Sales made to the vehicle was fixing the tire pressure, which is why I want to return the car. No invoice was provided for these repairs during my first attempt to return the vehicle on Saturday, February 21, 2009. I asked the Curtis Auto Sales mechanic for an invoice and I was told that I could not receive one until Monday, February 23, 2009. Even after my request for an invoice of repairs and parts, I did not receive an invoice until it was demanded on Monday when I tried to take the vehicle back for the second time. It took more than 10 minutes for the mechanic to provide me with an invoice of the repairs, which I have reason to believe was falsified. Attached is a copy of the invoice. I find it hard to believe that they were able to fix all the problems with the vehicle in 2.4 hours, especially in light of the fact that these problems still existed after I took possession of the vehicle. I gave Curtis Auto Sales the opportunity to deliver a safe vehicle to me and they failed. As a result, February 23, 2008 during my attempt to return the vehicle in rush hour traffic, I was almost involved in an accident trying to change lanes with a malfunctioning turn signal. My safeties, as well as the safety of my unborn child have been put in danger as a result of this vehicle.

Curtis Auto Sales has not complied with the terms of the warranty. I cannot afford to pay for the vehicle and make the repairs that were supposed to be fixed prior to me taking possession of the vehicle.

Cc: Better Business Bureau
Curtis Auto Sales, Inc.
Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ro
      18th of Dec, 2011
    0 Votes

    Curtis Auto Sales / Lisa Burris I worked there for a few months, then I saw how they treated customers. I left their employment as I did not want to be associated with this company. They claim to fix vehicle for their customers, but they don't do the complete job on the repairs. Lisa Burris claims to be the owner, when in fact her dad Robert Curtis is the owner. Lisa throws temper tantrums with the employees (until she gets her way) and with customers she tries to intimidate them into contracts and purchases. If you need to buy a car at a buy here/pay here, this is not the place. Run as fast as you can to any other buy here/ pay here dealer, but Curtis Auto is not the place to get a car.

  • Mi
      3rd of Jun, 2016
    0 Votes

    I purchased a suv from them in January, and the moment I drove it away it didn't ride right and was all over the road. Between multiple phone calls made to them & taking it up to them for repairs. It still was not right. I don't believe they made any repairs, because I'm sure all of the "claimed" work they did could be completed in such a short time frame. Due to unforeseen financial circumstances (a separation) I got behind on the payment. One day while at work downtown, they went into the parking garage and swiped it, leaving me stranded after work. Lastnight my soon to be ex came by, because he found the key fob and said he had seen the vehicle back on the lot for sale ( but mind you, before he told me this, I received a letter from them saying they had already sold it and I had to pay the difference) hmm he meant to hit the panick button, but instead hit the remote start...I'll be damned, it fired up. Sold already hmm ?? Crooks & liars. If I can save others, please don't purchase from them. I'm contacting everyone I can, because they are not going to get away for trying to bilk double the amount!

  • Co
      19th of Aug, 2017
    0 Votes

    Curtis Auto Sales are total rip offs. They have janky vehicle's and treat their customers like crap. Needless to say they don't care about situations that may occur. I was behind one payment and made arrangements. These sneaky [censor] still came and got my car. Here it is a thousand years later and they are trying to get money for a car they repossessed and resold. Stay away from these crooks.

Post your comment