The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Countrywide Draperies And Blinds / Scam

1 288 Glenwood AveBloomfield, NJ, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 973-489-1019

On May 2, 2008 Mitchell Poller, a representative from both Countrywide Draperies & Blinds of Bloomfield, NJ and American Draperies and Blinds of West Orange, NJ came to my house in Cedar Grove, New Jersey. He wrote up a work order/invoice for one wooden blind and three roman shades. On this same day, May 2, 2008, I gave Mitchell a deposit check for $1, 300.

On August 30, 2008 Mitchell Poller installed my one wooden blind. The wooden blinds that I received cost $208.65, therefore I am due a refund of $1, 091.35 for the undelivered roman shades. While installing my blinds Mr. Poller said I should be receiving a refund check soon. As of today, May 16, 2009 (almost a year later) I have NOT received my three roman shades or a refund check. I was informed that I would have these three roman shades installed in my house by June 15, 2008.

Also from June 15, 2008 until this moment I have been given every excuse in the book to why I do not have the shades, from the wrong fabric was ordered to the shades were made going the wrong way. Starting on June 15, 2008 when I started calling the store at least once a week I spoke to a Patricia Reilly and once in awhile I would speak to Mitchell directly. Patricia Reilly would always be nice and tell me Mitchell was at a job site and would get back and she did not know what the hold up was.

I have since dug deep into reports about this company and have found that Mitchell Poller and Patricia Reilly have been running this "good cop, bad cop" scam for years. They have moved their company 4 times. They had a store in Montclair, East Rutherford, West Orange and now Bloomfield. They have also changed the name of the company numerous times - Countrywide Draperies & Blinds, Remnants to Go, American Draperies & Blinds, and Interior Designs of America.

On February 20, 2009 I filed a complaint with Bloomfield Township against Mitchell Poller and Patricia Reilly. On March 11, 2009 Mitchell appeared in court (without Patricia Reilly) and pleaded not guilty and the judge ordered mediation. On April 15, Mr. Poller and Ms. Reilly and I appeared for mediation. The original complaint I had was they owed me a refund of $1, 091.35 ($1, 300 deposit minus the $206.65 wooden blinds received). When the mediator asked for our stories, I went first, then when it was Mr. Poller's time he said he agreed with everything I said – that he did not give me my three roman shades and yes I did give a deposit. So the mediator asked how we were going to resolve this issue. We negotiated that Mr. Poller and Ms. Reilly were to give me $941.35 plus my fabric that would have been used to make the blinds. Mr. Poller and Ms. Reilly were to have both the check and fabric to me by Thursday, May 7, 2009.

On May 7, 2009 I did not receive either the check or the fabric. The mediator informed me that if this negotiated deal was not met by Mr. Poller and Ms. Reilly that the deal would be null and void and they would owe me my full $1, 091.35. On Wednesday, May 13, 2009 I went back to court and asked the judge to re-open the case against Mr. Poller and Ms. Reilly. We are all to show up to court again on June 2, 2009. I am not sure what is to happen, what the courts can actually do, but I am asking that both Mr. Poller and Ms. Reilly be put in jail as this is theft.

Back in 2007 Mr. Poller and Ms. Reilly did this to a woman in East Rutherford a Ms. Vinci Governali, who also filed a theft report with the police dept and after some local coverage she received her money back. They have also done this to other people, Kessical Furichard of East Rutherford and Al Flejzor of Wallington, who at the time of the story had still not received their stolen money. These two despicable people, Mitchell Poller and Patricia Reilly, will keep doing this to people until someone stops them.

I have spent hours in courts and hours worrying about my stolen money. Someone needs to stop these horrendous people from continuing on preying on other innocent people.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Rw
      24th of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    i am so sorry you have to be going thru that but as for me iam a member of prepaidlegal services and for 26.00 a month i have a law firm to pretect my rights in a situation like that so i wouldnt have to waste so much time and hours and im pretty sure this situation would have been resolved for you if you had a law firm fighting ya battle for you

  • La
      24th of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    I was afraid to get a law firm involved as I figured the fees would add up more than my $1100 settlement. are you saying I can get a pre-paid legal service to do this for me for $26 a month? What is the name of them?

  • Gr
      24th of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    i hope you get your refund...

  • Rw
      25th of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    thats the thinking of alot of us about lawyers because we dont want to get a lawyer that cost more than the problem so thats what the membership is for because alot of that could have been handled thru a series of letters and phone calls from ya providing law firm for ya state so if you like i can email you the site and my email is rwj19731@yahoo.com and heres the membership number its a 15minute recording 1-616-712-1058

  • Ti
      27th of Oct, 2010
    0 Votes

    he is a crook

  • Ma
      8th of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes

    DO NOT GET SCAMMED BY THIS COMPANY!!! These people are completely rude and obnoxious!!! I was fortunate enough to take my business elsewhere, at HALF the cost!!!

  • Jo
      16th of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes

    dealt with this company many times. I have always been satisfied.

  • Jo
      16th of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes

    I know who Laura Szymanski is . She is a very unhappy with her husband and cheats on him. Laura needs to have a child to feel like a real women. This women is a contractors nightmare and needs to get a life. Laura get some Help

  • Mi
      31st of Jul, 2014
    +1 Votes

    Please visit our new Yelp Page and leave us some reviews! http://www.yelp.com/biz/drapery-and-blind-company-lyndhurst

Post your comment