The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Comcast.com / lied about service area to sell equipment

1 United States Review updated:

Here is the conversation, live chat below. I was told it was no problem to set up service and got strung along so far before being told they can't give us service in our building that I cannot return the modem and am told they are at no fault for this?







Controls for Assisted Support



Yes No







Live Chat

Connected Status: Analyst Br is here and your issue status is: working

Problem: Hi there, we have been trying to get activated for over 2 months now but our building is 'not on the grid', i have spoken to someone but no one gets back to us and I bought the modem over 2 months ago (for the deal). help me out here?

End Session



user Sh_ has entered room





Sh(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:18:38 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Hi there, we have been trying to get activated for over 2 months now but our building is 'not on the grid', i have spoken to someone but no one gets back to us and I bought the modem over 2 months ago (for the deal). hel me out here?





analyst Wa has entered room





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:18:42 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Hello Sh_, Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support. My name is Wa. Please give me one moment to review your information.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:18:56 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Hi there Wa





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:19:04 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Hello, Sh. How may I help you today?





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:19:32 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Are you trying to order Comcast services?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:19:42 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



well, we got the modem after I chatted with someone a couple months ago, wanted to take advantage of the special ya'll were offering





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:20:18 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so we have the modem, I have all these rebate forms, but comcast can't turn it on in my building even though the sales guy I talked to said it would be no problem





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:20:28 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



(we found this out after we got the modem)





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:20:38 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so, do we have to move to get service or what?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:20:52 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



talked to someone else who said he would get it taken care of, no email, nothing





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:21:07 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so how do I return this modem and count myself out the shipping both ways?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:21:34 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I bet I can't get the rebate now, and how about that deal we were promised? I have a 110$ paperweight right now, lol





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:21:49 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I just looked up your address in our system, and it showed for 'in seattle', "THIS IS AN MDU NOT SERVICED BY COMCAST" .





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:22:29 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



right on, the guy I talked to before I went and spent al lthis money told me NP





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:22:33 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



but now it is





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:22:41 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



This most likely means that your apartment building has some sort of exclusive agreement with another internet, TV, or phone provider, and that they have not provided Comcast with permission to run our wiring to the building.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:22:58 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and the next one said he would get someone to put our building 'on the grid' and now it is not





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:23:38 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Well, you would need to talk to your landlord about that. Currently, we do not offer service to the building at all, but we do offer service in 524 BOYLSTON AVE E .





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:23:38 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



ah, we have several services here, I had qwest and they had to get 'on the grid' whatever that is but it only took them a week





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:23:57 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



um, no, I want out since we were ..I will put this nicely...misinformed





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:24:09 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I want to get our money back for this modem and just forget about it





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:25:33 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Well, where did you order the modem from?





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:25:42 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



If it was online, which specific web site?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:25:51 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



um...that is a good question, the guy gave me a link off your website





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:25:56 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



let me go check the email





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:27:19 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



ok, got the box and it says comcast corp. broadbandoffers.com





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:27:57 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



shipped on december 14th, man this has turned into a nightmare





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:28:20 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



why would that salesguy lie to us? I am really concerned about that





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:28:26 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



not just one, but TWO





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:28:36 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Okay, broadbandoffers.com is a web site run by a third-party reseller, Leapfrog Online. The "free modem", "free router", and rebate offers listed on their site are offered through Leapfrog directly, and not through Comcast.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:29:21 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so you are telling me that comcast screwed us over and we cannot do anything about it???





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:29:28 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



If you have questions about returning the equipment they sent you, you will need to contact Leapfrog directly. Their contact information should be listed on Broadbandoffers.com or Comcastoffers.com , or I may be able to look it up for you.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:29:55 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



NO NO NO this was a camcst salesperson who got me INTO this





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:30:10 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



how about could you pass me over to a supervisor?





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:30:39 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Comcast did not send you a modem and/or router. Leapfrog Online did. The "free modem" or "free router" after rebate offer, is an offer that Leapfrog Online offers, and that is not available directly from Comcast.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:31:05 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



the salesperson linked me to it and lied about us being able to have service





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:31:25 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I had to put my addy in to chat to you so he KNEW that this was impossible yet pushed it anyways





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:32:05 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



The email from Broadbandoffers indicates that you placed the order through Leapfrog's site. The contact number for Leapfrog online is [protected] .





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:32:09 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



let me talk to a supervisor





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:32:32 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so what if we did it was because of a COMCAST employee who said we could get SERVICE





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:32:57 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



this is wrong on so many levels and you know it, I worked your job before and know you are tied but there is someone who can help





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:33:05 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so give me a supervisor, please





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:33:43 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



at least they can get whatever affiliate to understand this was comcasts fault and 'misunderstanding' that has caused us to own a modem we do not need





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:33:52 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I'm checking to see if a supervisor is available over chat.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:34:06 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and can't use and I looked it up on ebay I would be lucky to get 20-30$ out of my 110$ investment into hades





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:34:10 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



thank you





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:34:53 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



When did you place the order?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:35:02 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



this was december





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:35:21 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



probably around the 10-12 since the ship date was the 14th





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:35:43 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and I have chatted back and forth and you are the FIRST one who has told me no way can we get service





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:36:05 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I mean, seriously, why would I even order that modem if I was not told it was good





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:36:22 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



do you have 100$ to pay for something you do not need?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:36:35 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



especially prior to Christmas??





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:36:41 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



In December 2009, Leapfrog had the following offer: $100 Gift card and free modem after rebate when purchased through Leapfrog.





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:37:16 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Leapfrog owns the following sites: www.Broadbandoffers.com, comcastoffers.com, comcastdoubleplay.com, comcastcableoffers.com





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:37:19 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and that is only AFTER you have service PAID for





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:37:25 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



you have to give them the reciept





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:37:43 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



or they do not give the discount, that is a typical deal between the affiliate and the company





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:37:54 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



the company cannot give me service yet told me they could





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:37:58 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



now I can;t get the rebate





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:38:08 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and have a usless brand new modem





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:38:18 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



If they sent you the modem, then you would have purchased the modem from them, and you would need to contact Leapfrog is you want to return the modem.





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:38:45 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



The modem can be used with any cable internet provider, if you move to a serviceable address.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:38:47 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



get me a supervisor





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:39:07 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I can't stand this anymore, you say the same thing but you KNOW comcast can help me here one way or the other





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:39:31 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



they ARE YOUR AFFILIATE not mine, and the deal is because you get COMCAST service and I was sent there by someone on THIS SAME CHAT





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:39:38 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



would you like me to forward the emails?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:39:46 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so I have to MOVE





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:40:00 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



give me a break, do you understand how ridiculous that is





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:40:16 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



MOVE to use a modem because of one of COMCASTS sales people?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:40:45 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



how bout you send them over, they need to bring a truck, and pack our stuff...oh, and find us a place at this rate, location with our balcony that takes cats





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:41:09 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



oh, they need to pay our deposit as well. Sure, I will move to use a modem, on those conditions





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:42:20 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Hm, and in that first email it says this: In the event that Comcast needs to re-submit your order, all rebates offered exclusively on ComcastOffers.com will still be honored, provided redemption rules are followed.





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:42:27 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I am still checking with my supervisor, Sh. However, if you purchased the modem through Leapfrog Online, you will need to contact Leapfrog Online if you wish to return the modem. Their phone number is [protected] , and their email address is support@broadbandoffers.com .





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:42:44 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I need comcasts help in order to get that done and you know it





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:43:00 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I can call and email them till the zombies are here and they will send me BACK to comcast





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:43:10 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Again, that email message would have been sent by Leapfrog Onlline. The site ComcastOffers.com is owned by Leapfrog Online.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:43:17 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so we can do something now or I will have to go back and forth and back and forth





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:43:37 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



From: comcastorders@customerservicesite.com <comcastorders@customerservicesite.com>

Date: Wed, Dec 9, 2009 at 4:25 PM

Subject: Comcast Digital Cable Service Order Confirmation

To: (withheld)





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:43:41 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



COMCAST





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:43:45 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



not 'leapfrog





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:44:14 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



that is the ORDER confirmation





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:44:21 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



it had to go through ya'll first





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:44:48 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



So, you're saying that you already contacted Leapfrog Online, using the contact information provided above, informed them that you live at a non-serviceable address, and that you needed to return the modem, and that they referred you to us?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:45:33 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I CAN'T CONTACT them first, I need someone who can verify that we were told we COULD get service and can't due to the NEGLIGENCE of a salesperson gone sell happy





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:45:46 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



otherwise they will (virtually) laugh and tell me no go





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:46:00 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



THIS HAS BEEN ALMOST 3 months for gods sake





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:46:13 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and we JUST now are being told, move or it won't work?





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:46:25 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I can't verify that you were told that you can get service, because you cannot get service, and there's no such account.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:46:56 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



why would I get the modem if I was not told it was going to be fine.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:47:19 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so, where is that supervisor?





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:47:31 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I was just saying that the modem that you have, will work with any cable internet provider. I was not telling you to move, but I was saying that if you did move, you would likely be able to use this modem at your new residence, even if it is serviced by a different cable provider.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:48:04 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I was promised to be able to get COMCAST service at OUR address





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:48:05 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Leapfrog Online sent you the modem. I do not know why they sent you the modem, if you live at a non-serviceable address.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:48:37 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



hm, could it be because some sell crazed salesperson with the morals of a badger told me it was fine at THIS address?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:48:41 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I don't NEED this





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:49:02 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I consulted with my supervisor, and he says that, since you bought the modem from Leapfrog, you would need to contact Leapfrog to return the modem.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:49:02 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



then the next one told us they would email us to let us know when they got activation in our building?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:49:22 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



You people are being ridiculous.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:49:37 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and I will, especially since I have saved this entire conversation





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:49:46 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



oh, and bet you it will be posted all over the web





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:50:04 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I used to work for 'Something' media...talk about some social networking





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:50:18 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



plan on having some nice posted public relations.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:50:27 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



thanks for NOT helping or even caring





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:50:54 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and find that commission based jerk off and let him know just what he accomplished.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:52:19 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



oh, and BTW it does say we are guaranteed so what about that





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:52:34 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I do care, Sh, and I would like to assist you with this, but you purchased the modem from Leapfrog Online. If you wish to return the modem, you need to contact Leapfrog Online, who you purchased the modem from.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:52:52 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



BLAH. I purchased it THROUGH A LINK one of YOU gave me





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:52:56 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so that MATTERS





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:53:22 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so now NO ONE takes the blame for this and we are screwed





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:53:54 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



this is the worst CS I have ever had and if I used to pull this double speak I would have been fired so fast it isn't even funny





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:54:03 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



If you purchased it through a web site that was not owned by Comcast (such as Leapfrog's Comcastoffers.com or Broadbandoffers.com site), then your sales contract from the modem is between you and the owners of that web site.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:54:16 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



could you say that agin? I mean...are you a robot or what?





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:54:22 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



You will need to contact the people you purchased the modem from, if you wish to request a refund.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:54:28 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



it is YOUR friggin affiliate and I get no help.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:54:36 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



YOU all set up the deal with them





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:54:39 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and sent me to it





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:54:55 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



send me a friggin email explaining that we can't get service here





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:55:15 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



then between this saved convo (and the one original, I always save them) then MAYBE we can get a refund





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:55:39 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



It is a third-party company, independent from Comcast. Leapfrog was offering the free modem, not Comcast, and you purchased the modem from Leapfrog, not from Comcast. If you wish to return the modem, you need to contact Leapfrog.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:55:39 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I do sort of wonder how many people out there have had this occur and just take it...bet I can get something interseting going





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:55:48 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



like in the class action department





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:56:06 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



having these chats corroborates that we got led by the nose BY COMCAST





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:56:28 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



just mine and a bunch of people with useless deals could be rather fun, don't you think?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:57:13 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



let's see 'comcast authorized dealer' https://secure.broadbandoffers.com/comcast/wirelessmodem/?synorderid=2002223074&source=email





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:57:26 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



but yet comcast gives no help





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:58:40 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Let's look at the Terms and Conditions of the offer advertised by Broadbandoffers.com:





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:58:42 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



"Broadbandoffers.com sells cable modems to consumers who order Comcast High-Speed Internet residential service online at select authorized retailers of Comcast High-Speed Internet. The modem offer is brought to you by Broadbandoffers.com and is not available directly from Comcast."





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:59:17 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Also, "Once you place your order for the modem, it is processed immediately, therefore, it cannot be canceled - refunds or exchanges are only available upon the accepted return of the item by Broadbandoffers.com. "





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:59:18 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



25$ restocking





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:59:31 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



IF they took it back





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:59:48 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



this has been 3 months and we were TOLD we would get service





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 16:59:53 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



THIS is ALL comcast





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 19:59:57 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



That's between you and Broadbandoffers.com . You agreed to the terms of sale, when you placed your order through their web site.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:00:07 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



no, this was BECAUSE of comcast





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:00:17 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



why THE heck would we GET it to begin WITH





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:00:33 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I seriously just have money to toss out the window





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:00:35 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



sure





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:00:52 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



this is BS and we got took





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 20:01:52 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



No, Sh, this is because you placed an order through Broadbandoffers.com , and they shipped you their modem that you purchased from them, according to their terms and conditions, and now that you find out you're not serviceable, you want to return the modem and avoid their restocking fee.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:02:17 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



of course their stuff all says that they are not responsible either (I just read their 'return policy') so isn't that mighty convenient





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:02:26 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



COMCAST SENT ME THERE





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 20:02:43 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



This is entirely between you and Broadbandoffers.com , and I already provided you with the contact information, where you can reach Broadbandoffers.com directly.





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:02:50 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



AFTER TELLING ME that as soon as we got it AT OUR ADRESS then we GET service, no problem





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:02:58 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so this STARTED with comcast





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:03:17 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



no, this is between me and COMCAST promising us service at this adress





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:05:09 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



you know, once upon a time I did your job. Seriously. And this is a big mistake, I have had many people try the card I pulled on you, but on me. When someone actually has a case and a reason there is generally some sort of help given because the ORIGINAL company (COMCAST) is the reason this whole charade of crap occurred to begin with





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 20:05:18 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Okay, a supervisor has become available. Did you still wish to speak to a supervisor regarding this issue?





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:05:23 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



refusing to accept that is not good. Not good at all,





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:05:26 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Yes I do





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 20:05:48 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



One moment please while I transfer you to a supervisor, Sh.





Wa(Fri Mar 05 2010 20:05:54 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Please wait, while the problem is escalated to another analyst





analyst Wa has left room





analyst Br has entered room





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:07:43 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Hi there Br





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:07:51 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



you have a problem on your sales floor





Br (Fri Mar 05 2010 20:08:06 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



Hello My name is Br. I am the supervisor on duty





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:08:08 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



not the guy I just talked to, he was the first one who was honest yet his hands are tied





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:08:36 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so the first person I talked to on December 9th told me we could get service at our address





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:08:40 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



we can't





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:08:56 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I bought the modem because the guy told me we could get service





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:09:16 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so a month goes by, nothing, waiting...talk to someone else, they say our building is not 'on the grid'





Br (Fri Mar 05 2010 20:09:26 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



I am sorry this has happend. I do understrand your frusteration





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:09:30 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and that they would take care of that and email us when we could turn it on





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:10:03 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



so now, because of COMCAST salespeople I have a 110$ modem I cannot send back (it has been too long) that is brand new and unused





Br (Fri Mar 05 2010 20:10:27 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



The sales perople should have been able to see that your address us not in a servicable area





Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:10:31 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>



and I am told that this is NOT comcasts foult? I was lied to by one of YOUR salespeople and it is NOT your fault?

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:11:04 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

right, he said it was OK we went through this with qwest 2 yrs ago (they did get it fixed) and I made SURE to ask, repeatedly

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:11:59 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

I would be lucky to get 40$ out of this thing on ebay, trust me, I am a power seller and just pulled a full search
Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:12:27 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

sales happy liars are not good to have in your employ

Br (Fri Mar 05 2010 20:13:53 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

I will have this incident looked at as to why the sales force has made this error

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:13:49 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

and these chat sessions are going to look very interesting when I post the to hades and back. I use to work CSR/Tech and ALWAYS save your chats, always. It is why I never call unless there is NO other choice

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:14:40 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

yeah, but in the meantime we got screwed over and are out all this and I have to use a super slow shared connection because I was mistaken that if we were just patient that it would be FIXED

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:14:49 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

and being told I should MOVE?

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:15:18 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

I want the guy who linked me to this modem to pay my moving costs, pack my stuff and drive it. Oh, and find me as awesome a building I am in right now

Br (Fri Mar 05 2010 20:15:22 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

Have you called broadband offers at [protected] ?

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:15:30 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

must have a balcony (I bonsai) and be cat friendly

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:15:43 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

why would I call them? Have you read their return policy?

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:16:00 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

I would be lucky to get 30$ back after it all, and that is IF they took it back

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:16:16 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

this is a tech driven service and this modem is already old lol

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:16:24 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

I got lead on and lead on till TODAY

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:16:37 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

that we would be able to hook up to Comcast

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:16:49 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

not once, not just once..but TWICE

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:17:11 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

and being patient has lost us the chance to get back anything worthwhile

Br (Fri Mar 05 2010 20:17:21 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

Since this transaction took place through them, they need to be the people to call.

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:17:46 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

Um, this transaction took place because your salesperson linked me to them and told me WE WOULD GET SERVICE HERE

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:18:01 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

then after being told our building wasn't on the grid and it would be fixed

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:18:06 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

we waited more

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:18:14 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

this is the fault of COMCAST

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:18:31 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

I can talk to them all day long and they will laugh at me for being an idiot

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:18:47 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

and then IF they took it back, WE pay shipping and a 25$ restocking fee

Br (Fri Mar 05 2010 20:18:53 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

If i were in your situation I would call them and explain the exact situation to them

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:19:10 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

and something else as well because it is not activated

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:19:15 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

NO you don't get it

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:19:23 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

COMCAST did this and WE get screwed?

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:19:43 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>
oh, and we pay by the minute for our phone service and you want ME to waste my time because of YOUR people?

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:20:13 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

you have got to be kidding me, when I did this for a living I never pushed blame off just to get rid of someone

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:20:27 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

they got their commision and we get a 110$ paperweight

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:20:36 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

I want that jerks commission

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:21:12 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

<ctrl> C is my friend right now

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:21:35 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

<ctrl> V and wordpad is even better

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:22:17 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

3 months we get led around until it is too late to do anything and then we just get shoved off

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:22:31 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

I mean, who is doing the training out there? Gordon Ramsay?

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:22:45 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

give us your money and go the heck away. nice.

Br (Fri Mar 05 2010 20:24:19 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

I do apologise for the mis-information but you need to be speaking to the people who sold you the Modem. They can be reached at 1[protected] or by email at support@broadbandoffers.com.

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:24:27 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

YOU SENT ME THERE

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:24:32 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

so the problem STARTS there

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:24:35 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

period

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:25:03 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

If you had not LIED to me over and over I could have sent it back in DECEMBER and spent 20$ for nothing

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:25:30 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

or...even better, told me we couldn't get service to BEGIN with so I went, thanks, and went to check another service

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:25:49 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

Siously wonder how many this has been done to

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:26:30 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

how many does it take to start a class action. Hm. TEN people or more and this convo is going all over the web smile And the first one I had that said my address in the convo and said it was fine.

Br (Fri Mar 05 2010 20:26:33 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

At this point I have provided you with a solution to your situation. I have nothing more I can offer other that an apology for the misinformation.

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:26:45 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

nice comparisons I do believe

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:27:02 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

or are your salespeople now not 'actually' comcast

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:27:39 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

nice, thanks for that last statement. Taking blame but not doing anything.

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:27:47 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

nice sinker, for your company

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:28:14 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

thanks for making sure I will NOT lose this battle no matter how big this company is with that big smile

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:29:12 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

adios, and btw, the job market out here really sucks, just remember that later. There is always a way to do the right thing and just jerking people around then admitting it really does not work for anyone

Br (Fri Mar 05 2010 20:37:46 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

Again I do apologise for the Misinformation. I am sure broadbandoffers.com will be able to assist you with this. Is there any other questions i can answer for you today.

Shn_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:38:15 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

no, they can't, and you know it. Read their policy.

Sh_(Fri Mar 05 2010 17:39:00 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time))>

this conversation will be posted all over the place and I am sure I will find others with the same problem. It is not he first time this has happened in one form or another.

User Feedback

Did this chat session solve your Problem?

Yes No Cancel

©2010 Comcast

Damage Resulting = We are out 110$ and have had 3 months of having to share an extremely slow connection with a friend in our building. I can't write (this is our passive income!!) because I can't load pictures. It takes 3 minutes just to load an email! And all the time I have spent asking, waiting, being lied to is ridiculous. I need to spread this far and wide and see how many other people they have done this to. It is a multi-level scam between them and 'affiliates' so none of them have to take the blame and they can sell you shoddy equipment you just can't use. Now I am going to go list this modem on Ebay and hope I can get at least 30$ of our money back...

Contact me = Y

Kp
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Gi
      12th of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes
    Comcast.com - Poor customer service
    Comcast.com
    United States

    Extremely poor customer service. I went to return the quipment at their location and found lines going out of the door. There were only three reps out of seven windows, working at a pace that would make the snail win by huge margins. Then one of them went off somewhere leaving only two. Took me almost an hour just to retun the equipment. Will never do business with them again

  • Da
      4th of Oct, 2014
    0 Votes
    Comcast.com - Poor customer service
    Comcast
    United States
    comcast.com

    It's as if my time has no value in their eyes. They fail to keep appointments, make me miss work to wait around all day, keep me on hold for 20+minutes and pretty much make it impossible to cancel service.

Post your comment