SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Classmates.combilling

1
M Review updated:

I would like to cancel my subscription to Classmates.com and can't find out how. It is not very good when you call the number you are given and can't talk to a person.

Responses

  •   Nov 05, 2008

    For the 3rd time this year Classmates.com has made a $15.00 charge to my credit card. I'm forced then to call the credit company and stay on the line for long periods, speaking to several people just to get them to mail me the forms to contest the charge. Then I have to take the time to fill out the form and pay the postage to send it back only to wait over a month to get the charge off my credit card. This SCAM organization possibly feels that most folks wont take that much time and effort over such a charge, BUT I WILL.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Nov 05, 2008

    They took my money and then DID NOT upgrade my membership!

    0 Votes
  • D
      Nov 27, 2008

    I just had the same problem with Classmates.com. I signed up for a 3 month membership last year. I even tried to cancel the 3 month membership because the site SUCKS! Now, after 12 months they charge my credit card for a 1 year membership. Of course, they refuse to cancel it and refund the charge. I have removed my CC info from their site and disputed the charge with the credit card company. What a shady company!

    0 Votes
  • D
      Dec 07, 2008

    I signed up for a 3 month membership. At the end of the 3 months, they signed me up for another membership. We exchanged some emails, but it boils down to this. They say I agreed to let them auto renew the membership and they are not going to return the money. We should begin urging Congress to stop this deceptive practice. Classmates.com could have included anything in their fine print, but the spirit of the agreement was a one-time 3 month deal and nothing else. Reputable companies like GoDaddy.com advises you numerous times that a membership is going to be auto-renewed and give you many opportunites to opt out. There should be a law making prior notification a mandatory practice.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jan 07, 2009

    Classmates.com after years of constantly barraging my email with spam, finally coerced me to become a “gold" member for a price of $9.95. I made the payment and kept the credit card on file believing, as stated in my “Account Info" that I would be charged $9.95 the successive years. However, after one year membership they charged me for $39 without my approval, then when I went back to investigate my “account" settings, the monetary amount for membership had been changed to reflect their theft for the amount stolen from my account. When I inquired via their customer service, they stated it was under my membership services contract I agreed by submitting payment in the first place. I was blindsided by this since indeed the statement within membership services had changed. Hopefully my bank will stop payment.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jan 13, 2009

    I never signed up for automatic renewal on classmates.com, yet without warning, they hit my credit card with a renewal charge. I keep a close eye on my credit cards and therefore have caught the charge early. I have contacted my credit card company regarding a fraudulent charge and dispute. I will post again with the results.

    +1 Votes
  • N
      Feb 05, 2009

    Beware! This company has deceptive practices including 'teaser' email to those with the free membership to convince them that long lost friends are wanting to get in touch - but you can't access the information unless you join and become a 'Gold' member. When you join, you find that the 'friends' are not even remotely known to you, but they cover their tracks by being cleverly vague.

    When I was taken in by their deceptive advertising... and joined. I realized it was a totally lame & useless website and kicked myself for falling for the advertising. Whatever.

    Recently, I went to balance my checkbook on line - and found that they had automatically stolen 39 bucks from my debit account. They said they couldn't refund it.

    Long story short - I've contacted my bank. I've filed a complaint with the BBB (over 500 complaints and the BBB still gives them AAA rating? give me a break), Consumer Affairs is next.

    This company should be sued for deceptive practices. They change the contract after you have signed up and they can say you had a choice to opt out - but it didn't exist when I signed up. It's such a lame site that most people abandon going to it, so they are unaware that Classmates changed the contract. They do not email you to let you know of any potential charges. I believe they bank on the fact that most people don't want to deal with the hassle of getting their 39 bucks back... (that's a lot of money for all the people they screw over).

    Hello? Any attorneys out there? Meanwhile- Get the word out! Steer Clear of Classmates.com! Tell everyone to pass it on.

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Apr 01, 2009

    I have attempted to ‘cancel’ this service twice. The first time was last fall when I went to my online account to change settings so I no longer received numerous emails. I was no longer using the membership and it was due to expire in 2009. I noted that my account was set to automatically renew, which I was unaware of. I changed this to manual, even though the card on file expired in December 2008. Because I made this change, I did not change my email options alone. I have no documentation regarding this, as it was done online at their website.

    I saw the charge on my card’s February 2009 statement and went online to classmates.com again. My account was still set to automatically renew. I changed this again and I sent the cancellation request included in the attachment. I did this using the email form in the classmates.com help section, as instructed.

    The page linking to the email form displayed a notice that I could terminate by contacting Member Care Services or by ceasing to use the site. Either way, my account would continue through until the next billings period (two years) with no refunds, as per the agreement. I disagreed with such and agreement and note this in my cancellation request. My account is still active as of this morning (04/01/09).

    Additionally, according to the email ‘acknowledging’ my cancellation request, unless I personally change the automatic renewal, I will continue to be charged even though I have canceled my membership. It is unreasonable and unethical business practice to refuse to refund 23 months of a 24-month renewal membership charge, particularly when the renewal charge should not have occurred in the first place. And it is unreasonable and unethical business practice to continue to bill a customer because of a vendor-imposed automatic renewal after the consumer has changed it to manual, and after a consumer has cancelled a membership.

    This ‘agreement’ is undoubtedly deceptive and unethical. Parts of it are intentionally buried in fine print and not included in the section a reasonable person would expect to find it. References to not refunding unused memberships is NOT located in Section 8: Termination/Cancellation of the Terms of Agreement, but under another section titled Additional Terms, subtitled Subscription Services and Automatic Renewal.

    I have several issues here: 1) I previously changed the automatic renewal to manual but my account apparently never made this change; 2) Classmates.com charged against an expired card: 3) Classmates.com is deceptive about renewals and cancellations; 4) The only effective way to cancel a membership is to request cancellation THEN change the automatic renewal billing.

    A web search using specific terms ‘complaint “classmates.com”’ returns 32, 100 hits and includes numerous complaints filed with Consumer Affairs, BBB and other official organizations. Nearly all of these are regarding unauthorized billing practices. I certainly will be filing my own complaints regarding this company.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Apr 09, 2009

    I subscribed to this online service 2 years ago. I did not want to re-subscribe, but they took the money out of my bank account. I called the company to complain, and they basically said tough, its our money now, but we won't take any more out. DUH.. well thanks! I got no where with their customer service department.

    The company maintains no fax or telephone number on their website. Hard to find their number.

    I want my money back!!

    0 Votes
  • L
      May 11, 2009

    Classmates.com automatically charged my credit card without my authorization for membership fees, then refused to refund the money after I'd alerted them to the mistake. They had changed the Terms of Service (which is a contract) since my initial membership to an automatic charge of my card at the end of my membership and told me they could change their TOS anytime they wanted. Classmates.com refused to cancel my membership unless I logged into the site and requested the cancellation online. THEN they informed me that by logging on, I had agreed to the new Terms of Service and had forfeited my membership fee by doing so!!! I complained to the company via snail mail, email and phone calls without success. I had to resolve the issue via my credit card company by disputing the charge and providing copies of my complaints to Classmates.com. The credit card company refunded my money. My next step would've been the Better Business Bureau. READ THE TOS OF ALL ONLINE SERVICES PRIOR TO LOGGING IN EACH TIME! Companies can (and do) change them often and without notice to you!

    0 Votes
  • G
      May 26, 2009

    I have been charged 2 times after I canceled. I did
    everything they told me to do. I was billed in March
    on one credit card. Then again in May on another
    credit card. I've been e-mailing and calling for over
    2 months. They keep saying they cant' refund
    any of my money.

    I did not renew my membership what can I do?

    0 Votes
  • C
      Jun 15, 2009

    I tried to cancel on line and was told I had to wait till the next billing Now I call and the answering machine says they are too busy to answer calls so go online instead.

    0 Votes
  • P
      Jun 17, 2009

    I NEVER GAVE YOU PERMISSUON TO CHARGE MY CREDIT MONTHLY, IT SEEMS TO BE A MONYHLY THINGS WITH YOU, IT SEEMS TO ME THAT YOU ARE A BUNCH OF CROOJS THAT HAVE EO BE STOPED.I HAVE CALLED MY BANK AND TOLD THEM NOT TO PAY YOU.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jun 19, 2009

    I have cancelled classmates.com several times and then they hit my account again in February of this year and I cancelled (again) and now last month they did it again. i have called the phone number for Classmates as listed on my bank statement twice and they don't give you the option to talk to anyone-hitting O for operator hangs you up completely. I am in the process of closing the bank account but if they charge me again it will put it in the red-the bank tells me they can't block it from their end I have to cancel it from mine. I can't even get into my so called Classmates account because I don't remember the password(didn't need to-didn't have an account) and I have asked to have it emailed to me and that hasn't happened either. twenty million junk mailers can send stuff to my account but not Classmates? come on.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jun 20, 2009

    I got charged $59.00 on 5/30/09. What is this for ?
    [protected]@comcast.net

    0 Votes
  • A
      Jul 10, 2009

    A year ago my wife used our debit card to purchase Classmates.com gold membership, was a 3 month special for $15. She canceled the account a couple weeks after she purchased the membership, so when the 3 months was up we didn't get charged. We got billed by Classmates.com yesterday for $39 exactly 1 year after the original account was bought, even though the account was canceled. We tried calling [protected] which conviniently is on a 24/7 message that says their number is being repaired. So no way to contact them by phone, so I sent an e-mail and got the following reply:

    Thank you for your reply.


    Unfortunately, our records do not reflect a previous cancellation associated with your membership. On your renewal date, which was Jul 7, 2009, your Gold membership renewed for another term because you were still enrolled in the automatic renewal program at that time.

    Please be assured that your membership is no longer enrolled in the automatic renewal program and you will not be charged again. Your Gold membership will expire and revert to FREE status on Jul 7, 2010. After your membership reverts to free status, you’ll still be listed on Classmates and receive email notifications about your account activity.

    We make efforts to ensure our members understand the terms of the membership they are purchasing by providing information about the automatic renewal program directly on the credit card payment page, right above the “Submit Payment” button. On the same page, it states that payment for a Gold membership is non-refundable.

    The automatic renewal program and no refund policy are also explained in the Classmates Terms of Service, which you agreed to when you clicked the "Submit Payment" button to finish your membership payment.

    We hope you'll take some time to explore and enjoy Classmates.com and get the most out of your Gold member benefits. We're constantly updating the site to make it more valuable to you and more fun to use.

    Thank you for your cooperation and patience. If you have any further questions or concerns, please reply directly to this email and we will be happy to assist you.

    Sincerely,

    Classmates.com


    Venita


    The account was canceled and of course they say they have no record of it. If it wasn't canceled then why not bill us after the 3 month special was over? I want to make sure I can inform as many people as I can about Classmates.com crooked billing practices.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Jul 10, 2009

    If you have this problem here is what I have done. They are completly out of hand trying to talk to, I called my bank and canceled my card and filed a dispute for that transaction. They forwarded the dispute on to my credit card company and they are now investigating the case. After they are finished they will be crediting my card back the $39.

    0 Votes
  • F
      Jul 13, 2009

    This is anna Sue wise, I did not ask you to reup me on class mates and you charges to my account $39.00 and I wish you you put in back in my account.I can not afford this at the moment.So please put the mony back in my account. Thank you Anna Sue Wise. I will keep a check on this.

    0 Votes
  • N
      Jul 13, 2009

    Charged my account without approval. This casused my account to bounce. Then while trying to resolve it they keep hanging up. This makes me very angry.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jul 15, 2009

    I have been charged for 39.00 on my credit card and did not order. Please credit my account.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 21, 2009

    classmates.com, Please cancel my membership as of July 21, 2009. Donald Bordych, Previous e-mail address "[protected]@hotmail.com", New address is "[protected]@comcast.net" Thank You

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 21, 2009

    Cancel my Membership, Thank You. Donald Bordych

    0 Votes
  • B
      Jul 22, 2009

    I was charged $15.00 for a classmates.com gold subscription on my debit card without my permission or knowledge. I want a full refund along with the permanent cancellation of my subscription.

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 22, 2009

    I was charged an unauthorized $17.00 on my debit bank card on July 17, 2009. I cancelled my membership mounths ago and this charge must have been a mistake. I would like a full refund on my account and for you all to check my cancelation and re cancel it if needed. i have been trying to call [protected] for 3 days and was unable to get through. Please be prompt against fixing this matter.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 22, 2009

    CANCEL MY MEMBERSHIP, THANK YOU DAVE HUSS

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jul 30, 2009

    I called the 800 number 2 days after i jined classmates and was told it was cancelled.. now they are taking 39.00 out of my account every month. I called the number and just was told to go to this site. I want out of this classmates.com group... and i dont want my money taken anymore does any body know how to stop the unathorized withdrawls?
    [protected]@gmail.com

    +1 Votes
  • A
      Jul 30, 2009

    An unauthorized payment to Classmates.com showed up on my checking account also. I looked in my archived emails and had one from almost 3 years ago confirming cancellation and saying that no more charges would be billed. Not sure what kicked off this most recent activity, but it is most unwelcome. By calling the number referenced on my bank statement for Classmates.com, I was referred to classmates.com/billing, which got me to this complaint page. So, I called my bank to have the charges reversed and they took my complaint. They have begun an investigation within their electronic claims division. Good luck to us all!

    0 Votes
  • B
      Jul 31, 2009

    Same thing happened to me. They will not refund me and my membership is good for another 3 more months. At that time if I have to I will cancel credit card in order to remove myself from this company. I am on manuel for billing and they are not supposed to do anymore automatic billing. so we shall see.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Aug 04, 2009

    when i applied for the gold membership, it did not tell me they took $34.00 off my card, i want it back on my freakin card asap!!! i will also cancel this account if you dont do so.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Aug 06, 2009

    I did not authorize any more than a 1 time billing. I didn't even have internet for 1 month and got billed anyway. I expect the money back in my account and will do no other business. Cancel my account and refund my money. Maureen Cooler

    0 Votes
  • L
      Aug 06, 2009

    I did not renew my account but charges for renewal were on my credit card.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Aug 06, 2009

    I have tried for over a week to get on to Classmate I have event tried to reset my password.

    The last time I was on I changed my first name from Margaret Renaldo Horyza to Peggy Renaldo Horyza since I was never known as Margaret in High school since that date I have not been able to sign on the classmates.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Sep 08, 2009

    I only authorized a one time charge to my credit card. My statement this month has another charge on it. I want my money back and cancel my membership because if you can charge me without telling me then I do not trust your company. Barbara Martin

    0 Votes
  • K
      Sep 09, 2009

    Unauthorized $39.00 charge to my debit card Please stop transaction

    0 Votes
  • J
      Sep 11, 2009

    WWW.MYLIFE.COM...WWW.REUNION.COM ...WWW.MYLIFE.COM

    I am an attorney researching the business practices of WWW.MYLIFE.COM, WWW.REUNION.COM and WWW.MYLIFE.COM . I am interested in their practices as it relates to the unauthorized SCRAPING OF EMAIL ADDRESS BOOKS.


    Pending my review, consideration of legal action shall be evaluated. I located your complaint from a google search of all those complaining about reunion.com and my life.com . Any information you may provide would be helpful so as for me to understand the issues, but response should not be considered as developing an attorney-client relationship. I merely need to obtain information.

    Here's a few questions:
    1) Did you join the dating portion of these sites and have any issues and concerns?

    2) were you enticed to visit any of these websites after an email came to you, appearing like it was from a friend, inviting you to join?

    3) do you feel the terms of service and privacy policy noted on the site explained what exactly they were going to do to your email addresses?

    4) Were your email address contacts emailed an invitation to join after receiving an invitation which claimed you sent them the invite?

    5) how has your involvement damaged your reputation or any finacial losses?

    6) Were you contacted by any other companies associated with any of these sites claiming that you had joined their site also, being sent marketing info from companies, ASKING FOR YOUR TELEPHONE NUMBER, OR RECEIVING MONTHLY CHARGES TO YOUR TELEPHONE BILL?

    So as to support my interest and qualify my identity, I would refer you to a few of my recent cases I filed, so that you can confirm that I do represent individuals in internet privacy matters. Google my recent cases:

    lane v facebook,
    valentine v nebuad
    simon v adzilla
    slater v tagged.com

    Once you locate these cases, review the atorneys noted, and then confirm I have the same email as the attorney noted on the lawsuit:

    "Attorney Joseph H Malley
    [protected]@gmail.com"

    Please feel free to contact me in confidence to discuss any issues. As noted at this point I am merely researching and discussing complaints to determine if there is any allegations of merit.
    Thanks
    Attorney Joe Malley
    1045 N ZANG BLVD
    Dallas, Texas
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    email me back at: [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • T
      Sep 12, 2009

    I want to discontinue my classmates subscription, but dont know how! I tried calling but no answer.

    0 Votes
  • E
      Sep 14, 2009

    I LESLIE GOLAS HAD SUBMITTED MY ACCOUNT TO BE CANCELED ON AUGUST 13, 2009 AND ON SEPTEMBER 14, 2009 I HAD 15.00 DOLLARS REMOVED FROM MY CHECKING ACCOUNT VISA 3641 LAST FOUR DIGETS I WOULD LIKE IT PUT BACK IN MY ACCOUNT THANK YOU I WILL BE GIVING YOU MY CANCELLED NUMBERS #[protected] THANK YOU LESLIE GOLAS

    0 Votes
  • E
      Sep 14, 2009

    I CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT ON AUGUST 13, 2009 AND ON SEPTEMBER 15, 2009 I LOOKED AT MY CHECKING ACCOUNT AND 15.00 DOLLARS WAS REMOVED PLEASE REIMBURSE THE 15.00 DOLLARS BACK TO MY ACCOUNT LESLIE GOLAS

    0 Votes
  • A
      Sep 16, 2009

    I would like to cancel my membership to Classmates. I called and was told I could come to this website. But I see no way to cancel. Please advise. Audrey B. Wrenn

    0 Votes
  • S
      Sep 17, 2009

    notify the FTC

    0 Votes

Post your comment