SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Clarks Shoes / poor quality

Milwaukee, WI, United States Review updated:

I purchased these shoes around 10 years ago but rarely wore them . In fact they appear to be brand new. I recently wore them in the house and noticed the sole had split on the right shoe. Checking online I noticed there was a history of this problem dating back quite a few years. I sent the shoes to Clarks and they returned them stating the shoes were stored too long. Apparently their shoes are liable to decompose if not worn routinely. I asked why that wasn't specifically stated when they sell their shoes but they had no answer. . It would appear since they outsource their shoes to China problems have ( or still) occured but they unfortunately do not stand behind their product thus tarnishing a once solid company's reputation.

Dr
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • El
      Dec 11, 2008

    I've bought two pairs of Clarks shoes in the past year and the soles of both pairs wore down in a very short time. I was so surprised because all of my previous pairs held up forever. I hope Clark finds another rubber sole supplier or I will unfortunately have to find another brand.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      May 15, 2009

    I bought a pair of clarks shoes in december 2008 and it is only May 2009 and already the soles of the shoes have worn to excess. I have bought clarks shoes for years and have never had this problem before. The shoes cost 50pounds and i expected them to last for years not months . I work in a nursing home and only wear them for work as they are really comfortable but they are no good to me if the soles wear away as quickly as they have, I may as well have bought them from the market for 5 pounds they may have lasted longer.

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      May 29, 2009

    Hi i bought my son a pair of clarks shoes on saturday and by sunday the was completly scuffed at the front and worn away. I understand that kids can scuff their shoes but after 1 day they should not have been like that. And for the price u pay for the childrens shoes £28 i paid i think its disgusting they haven't even lasted 1 day whenn i asked the woman in the sho about them she said oh clarks shoes last for up to 6-8 weeks i said well his didnt even last a day and they are like that her answer to me was well it depends on the child. Am sorry but i know kids will be kids and can scuff their shoes but for that price to do that in 1 day my so does not walk around scraping his feet along the floor i wouldnt even minded if they did last as long as she said but they didnt.
    I am utterly disgusted with it and will NOT be buying again from there.

    +1 Votes
  • Dr
      Jun 04, 2009

    I am Dr. Madhawa here in Hong Kong bought Clark shoes which claimed to have "Air" effect. But after 4 months now I had worn from my home to office and just after 5 minutes of walking one shoe had dis-integrated from sole completely and I was hardly hopping on my other shoe to get in to office. But before even I reach the office lobby lift then the other shoe sole also dis-integrated and I had to carry both in my hand in to my office. This is totally embarassing sitution in Hong Kong and I wonder who should I contact. Appreciate if anybody can guide me to get my complaint heard. Thanks in advance.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Mar 25, 2010

    Hi! I have the same problem with the soles. I bought in November 2009 from Marshall's for 50 bucks and it lasted only 3 months. The soles disintegrated and the shoes became unwearable. I thought maybe it was not the authentic Clarks product. Whatever it is I won't buy Clarks again

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Aug 17, 2010

    I am so very upset about having two pair of my Clark's shoes ripping comletely apart to the point I was walking barefooted unable to keep these shoes on. This is a very bad problem to have with your shoes. I hope your company will check into this problem and fix it. I do like your shoes but I'm not sure if I will buy them again are not. I would like to hear from you.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Sep 21, 2010

    I found year ago Clarks (expensive) to be the high quality and comfort shoe. Now not so much. Every pair in my size I have bought - fits oddly or differently which makes me think they changed manufacturer and of course, for cheap.
    I am not buying another pair.
    My Skechers blast them out of the water for comfort, same price.

    0 Votes
  • St
      Sep 24, 2010

    I am from Singapore. I bought a pair of light & trendy clarks shoe in a well known shopping centre.

    After wearing it for a couple days, my feet are in pain & I am limping in pain. It used to be a very good footwear but it is now a different story. I am avoiding clarks shoes as of now.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
      Sep 29, 2010

    This is typically the email I sent to Clarks when I was still thinking they are a reputable company, it should explain everything:


    Dear Sir/ Madam,

    Although I'm so frustrated about the way the manager of your store in Slough has treated me, I decided to write to you because I believe that Clarks' reputation means definitely that you practice good customer service, and that not everyone will be as careless as she was.

    First of all, I wasn't intending to complain about your store's manager at first place, but what matters really to me is to complain about the product I bought (A black leather shoes) on the July 4th, 2010 -which is less than 2 months ago- and now it looks like any cheap quality shoes I could have bought for third it's price. What happened to the shoes is that the leather itself is now peeled and scratched making it look like a 3-year old shoes. And, honestly, this is not the quality I expect when I buy a pair of shoes from such a big name like Clarks.

    Comparably, I have another shoes that I bought from your stores a year and a half ago, and it still looks very good, and that's why I decided to get back to you. Strangely, when I decided to do so, on Saturday August 28th, 2010 (Today) the manager of your store in Slough replied to me as if I'm just a stupid person knowing not what I'm talking about (which is of course a big turn-off for me), I was talking about PEELED leather, and she was insisting that it's just about polishing and there's absolutely nothing she can do for me.

    To sum up, my point is not about her anyways, it just happened that I had to go through this as I wasn't expecting such treatment from a store manager of such a big name like yours. My point is that I would love to hear from you if there's anything you can do for me about the shoes that I bought from your store (I still have the receipt), if not, so kindly advise so and I promise to through it away and never buy from Clarks anything again.

    Looking forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

    Best Regards

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      Jun 17, 2012

    i recently took my best shoes out of the wardrobe for a wedding, went to put them on and my foot came out of the side.Returned them to the store and was told that because i hadnt warn them enough times they had rotted.I wonder if Clarks are selling goods that are not fit for their purpose

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Mar 18, 2017

    I bought a pair of expensive Clarks, and every time I wore them, I could not walk. They crippled me! I contacted Clark's Customer Service and told them maybe it was how the sole was manufactured (too spongy)- and they asked me to end them the receipt and photos. I did- and they never responded afterwards. I kept trying to wear them because i liked the style and spent a lot of money, and less than a week later the stitching started coming apart! I will never buy Clark's shoes again.
    - Poor Quality
    - Shoes Cause Knee Damage Making It So You Cannot Walk
    - Worst Customer Service Ever

    0 Votes

Post your comment