SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Clairol Nice'n Easy Foam / unpredicatable results

United States Review updated:

Careful the new foam is unpredictable & clairol does not stand behind their product! In fact i doubt that they even tested the product sufficiently before bringing it to market. I have been coloring my hair for years and years using a competitor's product and have never had any problems. This morning i used nice'n easy foam 5rb (Medium reddish brown) and after 22 minutes my hair was pitch black! I called the customer service line and the only solution that they offered was to strip the color from my hair and then re - color with another nice'n easy product. When i told the rep that i was afraid to use 2 more processes on recently colored hair (I figure this would damange my hair and even perhaps make it fall out of my head!!) - he told me that perhaps i should go to a hair salon to have it done - at my expense of cause! I find it amazing that even in these tough economic times a company with a consumer name an repretation of clairol would basically tell their unsuspecting customers that even though (Through no fault of the customer) their product worked in a awful and unexpected manner - the customer is on their own. Clairol will not do one thing to rectify the situation that they caused.

61
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Da
      Mar 02, 2011

    I was reading through this site and came across your post regarding your experience using the new Nice ‘n Easy Color Blend Foam. I’m truly sorry you’re so disappointed in your color result after using the Medium Reddish Brown (5RB) and understand your feelings, especially being a color expert for so many years. I also feel terribly about the experience you described when you called 1-800-CLAIROL for help. Although I understand why you feel the way you do, I would like you to know that we do stand behind our products and the experience and results our consumers receive are our top priority. We’d like to help you but would ask you to call our Supervisory Team number, so we can ensure you receive the service you deserve. You may reach us at 1-800-291-7170. If we are away from our desks, would you please leave a message with the best time to call you between the hours of 9am-6pm EST, and either I or my supervisor will call you back. Thank you so much.

    0 Votes
  • Dm
      May 11, 2011

    I had the EXACT SAME experience!!! I chose Foam 5A, Med Ash brown and had it on about 15 min when it looked REALLY dark and joked to my husband about being a blackette instead of brunette when he got home. I figured it would wash out so I waited the whole 25 min. I now have pitch BLACK hair. I look Goth! Cust svc told me the SAME thing...wait until it lightens up or have the color stripped out by a professional. I see there is a recall on 2 Clairol products. I think this foam needs recall too. Something is really wrong with it. I've colored my hair for 10 years using the same basic color. Sometimes the color is a little darker brown than I'd prefer depending on how long I leave it on, but at least it's always brown. The foam made my hair BLACK. Customer service was no help...they just want to send me a coupon! How does that make me able to go out in public? I have to work tomorrow and will probably wear a baseball cap for the next 6 weeks. BAD PRODUCT. I'll never buy that again..

    0 Votes
  • Da
      May 11, 2011

    I’m truly sorry your experience with the Color Blend Foam has been so upsetting and that you’re also so disappointed in the response you received when you contacted our customer service. We do care and want to try to help turn this experience around for you. You mentioned that you were planning to call our Supervisory Team. If you haven’t already done so, we urge you to please call us at 1-800-291-7170. It’s possible that when you call, we might be away from our desks. If this is the case and you receive our voice mail, please leave us a message with your name and number and the best time to call you between 9am-6pm ET. We’ll call you back as soon as possible. Thank you so much, and again I apologize.

    0 Votes
  • Im
      Jun 02, 2011

    So I used the foam last week and it says 100% gray coverage. It didn't cover ANY of the gray. I emailed them after doing my hair and it says they will contact you in 3-5 business days. Well they never did. I won't purchase Clairol again and I have used them for yrs.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jun 02, 2011

    Hi. I just read your complaint recently posted about the Nice 'n Easy Color Blend Foam, and I'd like to offer my sincerest apology for your experience. I'm so sorry this product didn't cover your grays as you expected but also want to apologize that you haven't received the response from our customer service department that you were promised. We do truly care and want to reach out to you. I ask you to please call our Supervisory Team at 1-800-291-7170 and leave us a message with the best time to call you, if you receive our voice mail. We will return your call as soon as we can. Thank you so much.

    +1 Votes
  • Lu
      Jun 03, 2011

    I died my hair medium ash blonde... now its closer to a very dark brown... big difference...

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Jun 03, 2011

    can I used that same number to complain if I'm from the UK? I'm a part time model and I have a shoot this weekend, advertised as a blonde. and now I'm a brunet. I can't believe this has happened.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jun 03, 2011

    Hi Lucyhelen - I'm sorry that you've experienced an issue with the Nice 'n Easy Color Blend Foam resulting in a shade much darker than you expected. We do truly care and want to help. The number posted above is for the US and CA;, however, I urge you to please call our UK consultants at 0800 181 184. These lines are open Mon-Fri, from 9am-5pm. They'll look forward to hearing from you soon to offer you help. Thanks so much, and I apologize once again.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Oct 24, 2011

    I have the same problem with 5A Medium Ash Brown Color Blend Foam on Oct 12, 2011. Clairol's customer rep to me to strip my hair with Born Blond original (hair will turn pumpkin), then use Light Ash Brown. This all seems like some sick Halloween joke!! She also took my name + address to mail me a 'Clairol coupon', that was 2 weeks ago, did the black haired witches of Halloween misplace it!! This product should be taken off the market.

    -1 Votes
  • La
      Nov 13, 2011

    I have been using nice n easy medium blonde for a long time and decided to try the new foam because it looked less time consuming. BIG MISTAKE my hair is now orange and I am totally devastated and at a loss as to what to do about it. Its obvious that this company do not thoroughly test new products its either that or all their testers are colour blind. I will be warning all my friends and colleagues to steer clear of this product. By looking at the comments on here its not even worth contacting the company to complain because they are not interesred.

    0 Votes
  • Nj
      Nov 17, 2011

    I too tried the Foam 5A, Med Ash brown and my hair turned out black! I usually use the Nice n'easy 18a natural medium neutral brown, and figured this was the closest in the foam. It was nowhere close! I used the foam to touch up my roots and now I am stripey!

    0 Votes
  • In
      Nov 27, 2011

    I purchased 6G Light Golden Brown, it is now black. I called the 800 that Dawn from Clairol left on this site, will see what happens. I think they should call it Color Surprise, just my suggestion. I'm not going to color or strip my hair since I have very thin fine hair and not telling what could happen. Just will walk around with this color for the next 6 - 8 weeks. I also don't know what they could do to make me feel better. I like their regular Nice'n Easy hair color, just not sure if I will purchase even that after what happened. We will see.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
      Feb 02, 2012

    I had the same problem as the others who used 5A Medium Ash Brown. My hair is now black and I can't find any way to get it back to my natural color without spending a lot of time and money. I am so disgusted with this product. It is not what they advertise. It is messier than any other brand and the color is awful. I will tell everyone I know never to buy this product. I've read so many reviews since I made the mistake of coloring my hair with this product. Does anyone read these reviews and do anything about this? Why do they keep selling this?

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Feb 14, 2012

    Purchased Nice and Easy medium golden brown foam end of November, 2011. End of December, 2011 hair loss becomes quite noticeable. Contacted Clariol customer service beginning of February.2012. The lady I spoke with said she was having trouble entering the information on the computer because she had never had to do this before. Leading me to feel that I was the only call she ever had that had a problem with one of your products.

    0 Votes
  •   Feb 14, 2012

    I didn't have any problem with the color, but I found it to be messy to work with and I had a burning sensation on my scalp that lasted for several minutes that wouldn't have been noticed during the strand test, as you don't test on the scalp. The instructions said to work it in like shampoo, which most color brands advise you not to do. I wouldn't recommend the product in its present formula.

    0 Votes
  • He
      Jul 17, 2012
    Clairol-Nice'and Easy Color Foam - Bad Solution-Ruined Hair
    Clairol
    Minnesota
    United States

    Already written

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Aug 03, 2012

    this product ( the 5RB medium reddish brown) color is OFF !! hair comes out WAY too dark---- they do need to recall it...my med brown/redish hair turn almost black ! I hated it- washed it 3x with dishwashing liquid- still was too dark- i then bought that hair stripping product -which made my ROOTS look like the color of HAY !! terrible---- then i re-colored using just a root touch-up... it actually worked great ... could not believe how many times i washed it as this was done all in one day... !! but NEVER AGAIN with this product...don't they test this?? PS: STAINS EVERYTHING...PRODUCT IS ridiculous...

    0 Votes
  • He
      Aug 03, 2012

    When using a new product you should ALWAYS do a strand test first...never just do your whole head in case there is some reaction to the new chemicals...

    -1 Votes
  • Vi
      Jan 24, 2017

    On the 20th of January I dyed my hair like any other time with the same nice and easy product witch has burnt my face now I am fuming with the out come and if this does not get resolved I will be taking it future with my picture evidence and I also have the box ect

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Jul 11, 2019

    I always use your product, the permanent one though, but the last year I tried to grow out my natural hair colour – which is salt en pepper now.
    So being bored with the colour I decided to use the Nice and easy- below product. 83 Black

    It has been now a month and a week and the colour is now growing out? I did use a too dark colour, but I was not worried, because out of experience I know that it does not last long and soon I will have my colour back,
    It clearly states on your product it last for 24 days? Now I am back to square 1, previously when I used the demi permanent 1 after 2 weeks it has faded already.

    After everything that I went through to get my natural colour back – I used a product of yours that is clearly packed in the wrong package!

    0 Votes

Post your comment