The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Chase Credit Card / late mail and late fees

1 Wilmington, DE, United States Review updated:

I have been a Chase credit card holder for a number of years, and for 99% of that time there was never a problem. Suddenly in October of '07 I was hit with a late fee. I contacted Chase and was able to have this fee removed. Great! I then went searching for the cause of this trouble and found that I hadn't recieved my October '07 statement. I have a filing system, where, all monthly bills are kept in separate files, with notations as to when and how paid, check numbers and verification numbers or payment reciepts, and keep them for a minimum of 2 years. I figured that it must have been a postal error, or perhaps my wife misplaced the statement. (this would be the first time since I've known her) Then, after 3 months of things running smoothly, I recieved another statement with a late fee added. The payment for the month of February '08 had not been made. I checked again in my files and found thaat the statement for February was also missing. I contacted Chase again, but this time was unable to persuade the customer service agent to remove the late fee. I accepted this and decided I would transfer the balance to my local bank card and eliminate the possibility of a recurrence. I went on, 3/18/08, to my local financial institution and arranged for a transfer and consolidation from Chase. Several days later I recieved a notice stating that a check had been cut on 3/20/08, and that it had been sent. Then, I recieved another shock. I expected to recieve another statement from Chase for interest on the previous balance that had been carried into the month of March. Surprise of surprises, there was another late fee. According to the customer service representative to whom I spoke, the payment had arrived and been processed one day after it was due. Incredible as it sounds, it took a full week for the payment to get from Boston to Wilmington Delaware, when it takes four days for it to reach them when I place it in my rural mailbox.(this is shown as being accurate by the dates on my checking account statements) This is the box that stands at the end of my driveway, with the little flag on the side for notifying my local carrier I have mail to go, and which he occasionally ignores. Chase is a very large financial institution, and has a responsibility to its own clients and shareholders, but when suspicion becomes epidemic for me I must move on. I no longer trust Chase, and can no longer deal with their intransigence. I hope many others of you decide also to sever ties and move your accounts closer to home. As for me, I will take all the colorful metaphors about Chase, that are racing through my brain and try to turn them to a positive outcome. Goodbye Chase. I, personally, hope that you fair poorly.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ke
      18th of Jul, 2008
    +1 Votes

    The chase bank credit card service is horrible. My suggestion is leave if as soon as possible if you are using one, or never try to do any business with Chase Bank at all!!

  • Ug
      28th of Aug, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I just cancelled a $20, 000 credit limit Chase card due to the same compaint. They would not waive the fees unjustly charged (I always make full payment to avoid interest charges) claiming that it took 8 days to reach them from the same city! At $39 per late fee and if you have at least 1 million customers, do the math =$39, 000, 000.00 per month income for Chase.

  • Jw
      14th of Sep, 2008
    +1 Votes

    Unfortunately, I'm not a bit surprised by this customer's complaint, which is no doubt representative of millions of other customer experiences. You see, I recently worked for Chase on contract as a systems integrator on their automated customer service program. While on the job, I learned that Chase employees refer to their customers who keep their account balances to a minimum and who always pay on time, as "deadbeats". Later, at a banking conference, I attended a presentation in which an attorney who worked in the banking marketplace spoke of the "new business model" in the credit card industry. The underlying demographic is primarily comprised of college kids and low income customers who are highly likely to rack up late fees and high finance charges by habitually not paying on time.
    Afterward, in a personal conversation with that attorney, I learned that Chase is one of those companies that is most efficient at running the new model, which means that it does whatever it can to earn its profits by pumping up and then collecting late fees and finance charges from the population segment that is least able to pay them! Needless to say, I decided right then and there to immediately mitigate future risk by canceling MY Chase credit card account.

  • Br
      19th of Sep, 2008
    +1 Votes

    Chase is the worst. I signed up for the paperless billing option - you know to save paper and to "do the right thing". First statement comes via e-mail notification just fine. Then about 6 weeks pass and I realize I never received another statement. I log into my online account and there is a $39 late fee. They never e-mailed me to tell me I had a new statement. I figured this was a technical glitch and surely they would give me the 39 bucks back and I would just go back to paper statements. Nope. They refused, refused, refused. Supervisor was no help. Nobody was any help there. Their CSRs are the worst I have ever dealt with. Canceled the account "on the spot" after arguing forever with them. My wife and I always pay off balances every month. During a conversation with one of the reps, she told me wife, "ma'am you know we don't make any money off of you anyhow because you don't carry a balance over". Yup, she said that. So my wife says, "sure, but you get a small percent from merchant fees regardless of whether we carry a balance." What the hell? That should make no difference to what happened here. Us 'deadbeats' that pay off every month get screwed due to a technical glitch on their end. They also said we could talk to the technical support department.

    And yes, I check my spam folder all the time as well and they never, ever sent that statement.

    Oh, and I filed a formal complaint today with Wisconsin's Consumer Protection Agency. We need to stand up to this bull...

  • Kr
      25th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    HAHA, YOU GUYS ARE THE IDIOTS THE PEOPLE ARE ROLLING THEIR EYES AT WITH EVERY EXCUSE KNOWN TO MAN AS TO WHY YOU GOT CHARGED A FEE, OR WHY YOUR APR WENT UP, OR I DIDNT GET MY E-MAIL, HELL YOUR ALL ADULTS, START ACTING LIKE IT. DONT SIGN THE DOTTED LINE FOR A CREDIT CARD IF YOUR NOT PREPARED TO HANDLE THE NEGATIVE THAT COME WITH IT, I DONT FEEL SORRY FOR ANY OF YOU. USE CASH NOT CARDS, DONT LIVE BEYOND YOUR MEANS LIKE COUNTLESS OTHER PEOPLE, LAST TIME I CHECKED IT WAS CHASES MONEY THAT YOU WHERE BORROWING, REMEMBER ITS A LOAN, NOT U R MONEY. BTW WHEN U CLOSED OUT U R "22, 000" DOLLAR CREDIT LINE, IT WAS CHASES' NOT U RS! YOU PEOPLE ARE STUPID!

  • Jo
      24th of Oct, 2008
    +1 Votes

    Gotta love the attention-whores who need to write in all caps! Get off of Chase's lap and face the real world loser!

    I was a loyal card member since 2003 and have always paid my bill in full and on time. On 10/24/08 at 7:03 pm, I spoke with "Adam Rawlings" a supposed supervisor at Chase regarding a late fee of 39.00 that was assessed to my account in error. I never received a bill in September and when I received my October bill, I was assessed a late fee and finance charges. Since I have an immaculate track record with Chase, I was floored that I never received the bill. When I called "Adam Rawlings" he told me that there was nothing that he could do to help and that I should have paid the bill (which I never received) despite my diligent payment history. He was not interested in customer service, simply reaping whatever fees he could from me. I told him that no other credit card company would treat customers that way and he closed my account. When I called back to speak with another manager (Adam told me that he was the only one), I spoke with "Amber Harty" who gave me an address to write to because she said that she couldn't help me. She told me that she could reopen the account but that she would not adjust the late fee.

    The people who work in customer service at Chase are morally deprived individuals who are brainwashed to treat decent human beings poorly. Is it really worth the 5 bucks you make an hour?

  • Br
      3rd of Nov, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I was 5 days late in paying $600 on a Chase Card. I have never been late before. I called "customer service" and they refused to waive the $39 late fee. I told them that I am terminating my banking relationship with Chase. They said ok. I will no longer do business with Chase. They are arrogant and greedy

  • Jo
      29th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    pay your d@mn bills on time

  • Be
      26th of Mar, 2009
    +1 Votes

    We all should call the Chase Credit Card phone line and just stay on the line with the Customer Service Reps. See the reps can not release a call unless a customer is attacking them personally or using bad langauge. Since I am an Operations Manager of Customer Service in a Service Company I know it is against their policy to release calls. I say tie up the lines until they waive the fees or lower the APR rates they have jacked up. I too am a old WAMU Credit Card Customer unhappy with Chase. They have also charged me a late fee of $39.00. Even though I posted a payment on 3/13/2009 at wamucards.com and my payment was not due until 3/17/2009. Yes you seen that right I was able to get on wamucards.com after 3/9/2009 even though the switch over had already taken place. However Chase will not admit that this could have happen. They will not waive the fee unless I have a confirmation number proving I tried to pay. The problem is, which is my fault to some degree, I did not print off the confirmation number. I did the payment on my laptop and the printer driver was not loaded. I did not worry at the time because normaly an email gets sent confirming my payment. I always save this confirmation email. What do you know I did not get the email because I should have never been able to go to Wamucasrds.com and make payment. It makes sense why I did not get an email nor the payment taken out of my account since the payment was posted to an old site, that I did not know at the time was not suppose to be working. I have explained this to two Supervisors and one fincial department rep and they will not waive the $39.00 fee. I even asked to speak to the Suprevisor's Operation Manager and he stated they don't have one. I asked to speak to his manager and he said his manager only handles Administrative work. Since when did a customer concern become a non Administrative duty. I even asked for a name and address I can write to and I get the bull crap PO Box address. Lets just say I am not done. I will get to the bottom of this matter for not only my sack but hopefully for others also.

  • Ju
      29th of Apr, 2009
    +1 Votes

    Add me to the list! Paid my balance in full ($41.84) on 04/02/2009 via website. Showed ZERO balance! Stored it like I do all my other online bills and joyfully went on my way. Decided to use the card on 04/21/2009 for motorcycle repairs until payday and charged $463.00, my limit was $500. Went on their site this morning to make a $300 dollar payment and found that I was over the limit by $9 dollars! After posting my payment, I went on to see that they had assessed a ONE DOLLAR, yes I said $1.00 finance charge on 04/03/2009 and then tried to tell me that they sent me an electronic statement showing that the $1.00 was due on 04/28/2009. First of all, the $41.84 was due on 04/28/2009; so if I paid IN FULL and had a ZERO balance, where did the damn dollar come from? Second, they charged me a $39.00 late fee! Called them immediately to have this fixed as any good company would do and after 3 ###s and 30 minutes, I hung up so angry I was literally sick! I have always made my payments and never been late! I was treated like I was worse than a dog and was actually told there was no other supervisors their today. Was given the name of Mr. Jamie Diamond at 2500 Westfield Drive, Elgin, Ill. 60124 as the name and address of the CEO which is probably bogus but I'm writing him anyway. I asked them if all of my future business and my friends/families future business was worth $39 to them and I guess it was because they refused to reverse the bogus charge. We all have choices in this world and I chose to terminate my account with them and never do any business with a Chase company again. Maybe President Obama can deal with them in the future but I will not! I ended the call with Senior Supervisor Martin somebody who snottily said, "have a nice day, " and I told him when he laid his head down to go to sleep tonight, I hope he remembers all the food he's taken off peoples table today and has a good nights rest! We may be nobodies, but without customers they have no job!
    I'm still furious!!! I feel violated!!!

  • Ss
      6th of May, 2009
    +1 Votes

    OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I am sooooooooooooooooooo MAD! I just got off the phone with a stupid ### from Chevey Chase bank ( in the Philipines) and was told that their 39.00 late charge can not be reversed as it was not their fault that they keep changing the due date of my payment. I have never been late, ever! The first person I called was sooooo rude to me that she first told me there were no supervisors, and then when I insisted, she just said ok and left me on hold for ten minutes until I hung up. When I called back the "supervisor" Rex Bontuyan told me he wasn't going to help me, as it was my responsibility to check everday when my payments were due! I never had problems like this with WAMU cards! I hate chase and will be canceling my card asap! PLEASE DO NOT USE CHASE! THEY ARE MONEY GRUBBING, DISHONEST individuals!

  • Ju
      6th of May, 2009
    +1 Votes

    Just an update on this horrible company. I had myself removed as an authorized signer from my husbands account the same day my incident happened. I informed them that I did not want their business name to show on my credit report and that I had cut up my card! I told them they would never again have the opportunity to rape me of $39.00 and I hoped their business went straight down the toilet. Today, my husband got a letter in the mail informing him that I had been removed BY THEM from his account and that he should confiscate my credit card and any checks I might have access too! Unbelievable!! I have went online and changed his statement options to paper and wish them good luck in getting the rest of their money because I am the one who pays the bills!!! Maybe they should try to figure out where their bread is buttered before they treat people like [censored]!!! I hope Chase is the first to fall head first in the toilet when the credit card companies start to crumble! Maybe they might hire some Americans instead of outsourcing our phone calls to another country!

  • Li
      25th of Jul, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I opened a Chase credit card with zero percent and made a two purchases, the day my first e-statement arrived, I set up automatic payment for the minimum balance due on the due date, to my surprise, Chase doesn't have record of this being set up, so they charged me a $39 late fee, $40 in finance charges and removed the zero percent. After three inbox notes, I was told to contact them in 6 months, at that time, they may adjust my interest rate. I have, hopefully, a credit score in the 800, have never dealt with a bank like Chase. I will be paying off the full balance this week and running quickly away from Chase Bank. Please do not open a Chase credit card, keep looking for another company

  • C4
      4th of Sep, 2009
    +1 Votes

    HORRIBLE BANK AND CUSTOMER SERVICE! I too got robbed on the 39.00 overlimit fee caused by their tacking on interest prior to the monthly payment due date. To hell with Chase and their business model.

  • C4
      4th of Sep, 2009
    0 Votes

    And btw, the schmuck you write your complaint to in regards to the 39.00 fee's is:

    Mr. Kenny Hanick
    P.O. Box 182918
    Oh1-0554
    Westerville, OH 43081

    Who supposedly is the ONLY person who can do anything about anything for this company. So far he has not responded to a letter I sent him 2 weeks ago in regards to the 39.00 BS. Charge. I am going to inform every human I come in contact with what a horrible bank Chase is when it comes to their Credit Cards.

  • Re
      29th of Jan, 2010
    0 Votes

    I am furious after having just gotten off the phone with a rude customer service rep and his equally rude supervisor, Stephanie. Like many of the other posts, I have been a loyal customer for 6 years. I have NEVER missed a payment or been late. Up to now, I have also had pretty decent customer service. My January bill never came, and with the holidays I guess I never stopped to think about it. I am the kind of person that pays a bill the day after I get it. And files each bill by month, in it's own folder.

    When I called to explain this, they kept repeating that regardless of if a customer never receives a statement, they are responsible for the payment. I totally understand this-BUT 6 YEARS of no late payments and that fact that the statement probably got lost in the mail (or they never sent it) doesn't warrant waiving one fee???!!! I have a much lower interest rate with my other card, but had wanted to keep this one just for the length of time I have had it-better credit score and whatnot. I will be canceling this one and transfering the balance.

    Anyone ever had any luck with this kind of thing? I am so frustrated... who thinks to pay a bill when they never get a statement?

  • Jo
      18th of Mar, 2010
    +1 Votes

    DO NOT do business with chase they are a bunch of crooks. They did the same thing to me. I got the credit card for my amazon orders so I could get a better credit rating big mistake. I sent the payment at the first of the month when I got the statement and still occurred late fees as they sat on my check. After 3 times of this I refused to pay the fee and now have 500 dollars in interest and fees on the account based on a 25 dollar late fee.

Post your comment