SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Chase Bank / closed my account without notice

CA, United States Review updated:

Click on the link to see the full complaint

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • In
      Aug 22, 2009

    I had an account with Chase and it lasted about one month. If you have a problem, you might get one nice person but the next one will be ratty as ever.

    They don't do "disputes" with payday loans so if you have had problems with those places, you're out of luck.

    My advice is, if you have Chase, get the hell out of there.

    They closed my account and that's one less headache.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Sep 18, 2009
    Chase - Needs to be put out of business
    Chase
    United States

    I have been a customer of Chase for about 2 years, even though that isnt that long i have had countless of problems with them. I have a credit card and i made several payments within one month and they decided to take upon themselves to lower my credit limit for no reason. My available credit also changed, I paid far more money then it shows on my availability. So my question is where did my money go? I am very upset with chase they need to be put out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Ob
      Oct 06, 2009

    I HAD A CREDIT CARD WITH WAMU FOR YEARS. NEVER USED IT UNTIL LAST YEAR. HAD CREDIT LIMIT LOWERED IN THE MIDDLE OF BALANCE PLACING ME OVER THE LIMIT. UNABLE TO PAY OFF AT THE TIME. PLACED IT IN CREDIT PROTECTION IN OCTOBER 2008 WHEN HUSBAND GOT LAID OFF, AND CHASE OBTAINED ACCT AND CLOSED MY ACCT. I HAVE TRIED RESOLUTION WITH SEVERAL ASSOCIATES, AND HAVE HAD NO LUCK. I HAVE NOT PAID ON THIS FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. WHATS THE POINT??? I WILL NEVER GET ABOVE WATER. I HAVE TRIED TALKING WITH THEM AND EVEN HAD AN ASSOCIATE OFFER FOR ME TO PAY A SETTLEMENT OVER 4 MONTHS FOR A REDUCED AMOUNT. I AGREED TO THIS AND HE WANTED AN IMMEDIATE PMT STATING THEY WOULD SEND A WRTTEN AGREEMENT . I AGREED TO PAY FIRST PMT ON FRIDAY (THIS WAS MONDAY). I CALLED B/C I NEVER RECIEVED AGREEMENT IN WRITING, AND WAS TOLD IT WAS NEVER APPROVED!!! THEY CALL ME EVERYDAY 6-8 TIMES MON-SUN. I CAN'T UNDERSTAND ANYTHING THEYRE SAYING AND HAVE FINALLY STARTED NOT ANSWERING PHONE. I ADMIT I OWE A PORTION, BUT NOT ALL OF THE CHARGES THEY HAVE ADDED. I AM LOOKING FOR A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FOR THE UNETHICAL PRACTICES. I FEEL I HAVE BEEN DOUBLE CHARGED: TAKE MY BAILOUT MONEY AND THEN DOUBLE CHARGE ME!!! (BY THE WAY I SAID THIS TO 2 DIFFERENT ASSOCIATES AND WAS HUNG UP ON!!!)

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Oct 08, 2009

    Hi. When i read your complaint before writing mine, I realized that it would be exactly what I would want to write myself. Everything that you experienced with their costumer service seemed in detail alike to what happen in my case. I've been trying to resolve this problem for over two months. I am more than ready to get some help from my lawyer. My only question is: How did you end up resolving yours?

    0 Votes
  • Un
      Oct 14, 2009
    Chase Bank - Ripped Off
    Chase Bank
    United States

    I was ripped off using my Chase debit card by a fraudulent merchant and Chase bank would do nothing to help me. I did everything that I could think of to try to keep this vendor from taking additional unsolicited funds from my account. At every step, Chase thwarted all of my attempts to stop the fraud from occuring. This has been an ongoing problem for over 3 months now. They credited my account twice, only to take the funds back. I have been told lie after lie by this company, even though I submitted all of the evidence that I possessed to convince them, they still sided with the merchant. This financial institution was given billions of dollars of bailout money by the federal government, so their arrogance is unparalleled towards their so called " customers". When and if I rectify this problem, I will never bank with them again. Anyone starting a class action lawsuit, please let me know. It is very sad in these hard economic times to be stolen from not once, but twice.

    +1 Votes
  • Eg
      Nov 13, 2009

    I filed with the State Attorney General's office but did not think about this. Thanks - I'll file with them as well.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
      Nov 21, 2009

    Chase thinks it's got creditors by the balls! What I don't think they realize is that members of the House and Senate have accounts withe them also and are hearing from their constituents. Chase made bad business decision after bad business decision and like others were deemed to big to fail.

    After a battle with Citi over Providian, Chase execs were seething with greed. The anticipation of all that revenue they'd be getting. Not sure if they failed to realize or just didn't care but, a lot of Providian's business was from people with bad credit. Huge mistake now. What looked like a great deal turned out to be a costly mistake and they are making their best customers pay for it!

    Chase sucks!

    0 Votes
  • Kw
      Nov 22, 2009
    Chase - irresponsible, poor administration and customer service
    chase
    United States

    Four supervisors in seven months are irresp0nsive for Chase promotional rewards. The usage for credit is clearly printed on the statement and noted on the account. However, six representatives said that they did not see it. Supervisors and manager did not return phone calls as they said they would and you requested them to call back. Even you have all the supervisors names and dates you spoke to in these seven months. They are irresponsible, refusing to perform their duty in seven months regardless much irritation and frustration. They do not provide your their extensions or numbers that you can reach them again. Furiously that manager is not responsible, not communicating with customers after four supervisors.

    Chase sent consumers promotional letters and hand-outs are not accountable and unreliable.

    0 Votes
  • Un
      Nov 25, 2009

    Unfortunate to you, yes but absolutely normal when dealing with any bank. Lets get some complaints in here that are actually abnormal. That was your own fault for not having fund in your account and writing checks anyway.

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Nov 28, 2009
    Chase - Bad Service
    Chase
    Los Angeles
    California
    United States

    I Hate Chase. I'm a customer of theirs through inheritence. I was a happy Wamu Customer. But ever since they became chase all they do is nickle and dime you. I share everyones pain. All they care about s getting as much money as possible, they don't care if they lose loyal customers. I tryed to get a $39 returned payment check reversed and all they did was tell me it was my fault. They do nothing to prevent it like tell you theres something wrong with the transaction, The account was linked to my checking with plenty of funds, and they have the nerve to tell me I forgot a number in the account number, the account links automatically! I had nothing to type. I know the fee isn't much, but what effects me is that no one cares. Banks don't want to help people anymore, they just want to get as much money as possible in as little time as possible. I have multiple accounts with them, which will be colsed by the end of the week. I'm going to shop for a bank that actually cares about about people. I know the objective is to make a profit, but 70-80% of customers are repeat customers, if they lose one of two loyal customer, they lose a lot more through word of mouth. The horrible thing is they will do nothing for you, no help whatsoever, I cannot believe what my back has become. In the good old wamu days they would waive overdraft fees, and tryed to help you at least a little bit. Now! Its better luck next time. Too bad for you. I don't care. I just hope my new bank does not screw me over like they do. Down with Chase! Let them Die! They don't deserve our loyalty. We a all good people who are imperfect. It is obvious that chase doesn't care what kind of customers they have, as long as they get there money.

    0 Votes
  • We
      Dec 10, 2009
    Chase Bank - Inability to keep online debits current
    Chase Bank
    700 Market
    San Francisco
    California
    United States
    Chase.com

    I am a disabled senior. Since Chase Bank has taken over Washington Mutual. I have had many difficulties with my online checking account. Chase Bank sometimes takes more than a week to list debits. The debits are frequently listed under an inaccurate dates. Often the late debit listings are the ones of most monetary value. I have emails from vendors verifying exact dates of charges. This has caused my online checking account to be just about useless as to how much money I have in my account. This has resulted in two months of heavy overdraft fees. The only solution is to withdraw most of my deposits except for just a few scheduled payments. This is what I will do in the future.

    0 Votes
  • I0
      Dec 11, 2009

    Everyone out there who has been taken advantage of by Chase Bank, please post YOUR story on my new blog: "http://beenchased.blogspot.com". Together we can prevent other people from being taken advantage of, especially in this down economy.

    Thanks so much for sharing!

    0 Votes
  • Jl
      Dec 13, 2009

    Check out mibelle member. Appears she has consulted an attorney in Florida about an class-action suit about their fees

    0 Votes
  • Ly
      Jan 13, 2010

    Our experiences with Chase Bank are very similar to many of those expressed. We have found the company at all levels to be unresponsive and rude. Chase employees have stated it is Bank policy to ignore written customer communications. The apparent intention is to force customers to rely on their automated telephone information system. This adds complexity and further problems.

    The employees one speaks to will not provide extension numbers, full names, company ID numbers. And every call begins with a new person or contact. In anonymity, there is protection -- for the employee, not the customer! Employees also state they are under orders to pursue collection -- not customer service. Further, they are to spend limited time (usually less than 2 minutes) on each customer file prior to talking to the customer.

    The result is almost preordained - files get screwed up, the employees have no interest and may be penalized for trying to correct errors in their records and the customer has no other recourse. Letters to Dimon, the CEO, generally are not answered. The letters one does receive after repeated complaint appear to be form responses sent by non-existent persons - sent not for the purpose of resolving the matter but to paper the file to protect the Bank's incompetence.

    Sadly, the consumer protections from the federal government are largely non-existent. Written complaints to the FDIC, the Comptroller of the Currency and others are useless. These oganizations simply forward one's letters to Chase Bank for action and reply. Letters to the state are equally non-starters as Chase is a national bank and not supervised by the state.

    Now, the bottom line! Chase Bank, as most people know, borrows its money at 0 - 1/4 of one percent interest from the fed (taxpayer money), factors it by 40 and loans it back to the American taxpayer at rates up to 35% on credit cards. What a deal! And now Chase Bank is preparing to give hundreds of millions, if not billions, in bonuses to its' executives.

    This is our experience after 16 communications with Chase (copies to others), any number of letters to federal agencies and so on. It began with two lost mortgage payments which were not lost. Chase had processed one payment; the second being held in suspension as it was reportedly a "short pay" . No proof was produced; nor did it agree with our Quickbooks records. Meanwhile, endless harassment.

    It is sad that our federal government and elected representatives are so "in bed" with the large financial institutions that credibility with the American people has been lost. Usary is now the rule, if not law, of the land.

    Why does the fed ONLY loan to the big banks, like Chase, and not member-owned credit unions. Why can't/shouldn't the FED issue credit cards and make the billions of interest charges thereby reducing the Federal deficit. And why shouldn't the employess in the FDIC and Comptroller of the Currency, now doing little more than forwarding mail, be terminated, thereby reducing the deficit. Or put to work actually supervising these banks

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 21, 2010
    Chase Bank - manipulating checking system
    Chase Bank
    United States

    They have been postioning there posting from largest debit to smallest so that they can charge you the overdraft fee's many times over. They charged over 300 dollars in two sittings. They do this to capitalize in fee's. They charged me 33 dollars for a 1 dollar debit. I called customer service and said there hands are tied. I hope they get sued by the government or class action and then go under. I can't stand Chase they are a bunch of Crooks. Wamu treated there customers well.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Jan 21, 2010
    Chase Bank - over draf protection
    New Jersey
    United States

    chase bank is giving me a such hard time for a over draf protection, they are trying to charge me $10 they didn't return it.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Jan 22, 2010

    If you don't spend money you don't have, you don't need overdraft protection.

    -1 Votes
  • Ti
      Jan 22, 2010

    So, stop stealing money from the bank by spending more than is in your account. Then you won't have overdraft fees. Of course, they could just charge you and put you in jail, maybe you'd like that better.

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      Jan 23, 2010
    Chase Home Finance - Payment not accounted for
    Chase Home Finance
    United States

    I am sick and tired of dealing with Chase Home Finance. We mailed a United States Postal Service money order last March and to this date, it has never been credited to our account. Although we have faxed copies and mailed the proof of the money order been cashed by Chase, they still refuse to acknowlege they have had it and the monies are in someone's pockets. Our credit is ruined and the ability to go to a different finance company is burned because of our being 1 month late. A class action suit needs to be brought against these high rise thugs!!! I am willing to fork out some cash to burn these corrupt pigs.

    0 Votes
  • Lf
      Jan 25, 2010

    Chase has tried to increase our monthly mortgage payment (6.5%, fixed rate) by more than $800, as they are trying to charge us $900 a month for an escrow payment. So, our mortgage went from $1078/month, to over $1900/month. Isn't this illegal? Why in the world would our escrow payment be this much if our yearly taxes are under $3000/year, and homeowner's insurance is not that expensive. We have been trying to get this straightened out for the past 9 months. It is impossible to get through to a competent person (not sure if they even employee them), and when you do finally get through, they'll do something to help out for that month, at that's it. Apparently, the mortgage broker that we went through never turned the papers over to the township to turn property into homestead account, so we didn't pay correct amount of taxes for first year, however, it seems like that wouldn't be our fault, and we shouldn't have to be the 0nes to pay.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Feb 21, 2010

    I feel for you! It is as if they are purposely trying to make you default.Their service stinks too.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Mar 01, 2010
    Chase Bank - Poor Services
    Chase Bank
    Delaware
    United States

    Chase Bank disputing department refused to take the money back from Provident Funding Bank eventhough the I have proven that Provident Funding has provided a very poor quality in their services.

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Mar 02, 2010

    this is unacceptable...my bank doesn't let me poor chase a house for my granny...they say i can't find inaf credit...

    0 Votes
  • Ab
      Mar 09, 2010
    Chase Bank - I will never bank through chase again
    Chase Bank
    United States
    chase.com

    I am in the process of closing on a home. I have a chase credit card that I paid off. I called Chase customer service at the beginning of June to ask for a statement since the next one online wouldn't be until the end of June. I was sent to customer service reps that DID NOT SPEAK FLUENT ENGLISH! they did not understand what I was asking for and said that they could not help me. So I cool off and call a couple days later. SAME THING! WHY can't I get a statement or a letter of zero balance?! BUT NO! Still can not help me! So my closing date was pushed back all because of CHASE BANK and their NON-ENGLISH SPEAKING "CUSTOMER SERVICE" REPS! I will NEVER bank through chase again.

    Why should we waste our time banking with a company who sends MUCH NEEDED jobs to a foreign country to save money, all the while sacrificing quality! I will tell EVERYONE I know to AVOID CHASE BANK!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bh
      Mar 14, 2010
    Chase Bank - WORSE THAN B OF A
    CHASE BANK
    ALL
    LONG BEACH
    United States

    TAKE ADRIANA HUFFINGTON'S ADVICE AND LEAVE THESE BIG BANKS . HARD TO BELIEVE BUT CHASE IS WORSE THAN B OF A . ARROGANT, RUDE, GOUGING . PLENTY OF CREDIT UNIONS AND SMALL BANKS TO GIVE YOUR MONEY TO. THIS TO ME IS THE ONLY THING BANKS OFFER IS SERVICE AND CHASE DOESN'T EVEN OFFER THIS .

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Mar 19, 2010
    Chase Bank - Late fees on zero ballance
    United States

    I had an outstanding ballance on my Best Buy credit card through Chase. Once I received a bill for the account, my payment was already late. I used the dial-in account services provided by Chase...and chose the "Pay by Phone" option.

    The options you are provided are: pay off your statement ballance or pay another amount.

    Since I was interested in paying off my account, I chose to pay off my "last" statement ballance, not realizing this was not my actual statement ballance...which included a 36.50 late fee. I concluded the transaction, thinking I had paid off my entire ballance.

    I've never relaibly received statements from Chase...so I was quite surprised, two months later, to receive a bill for $73.00. One charge of 36.50 for the inital late fee and, of course, another charge of 36.50 for not paying the first late fee.

    After being transferred 4 times and their phone system hanging up on me twice, I finally made it back to the same supervisor (who had already hung up on me once) and he informed me he would not remove either of the fees as my account "history" showed late payments. LOL


    ### YOU CHASE BANK!

    So, I suppose I am stuck paying the 73 bucks.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Mar 21, 2010

    Folks go to
    helpwithmybank.gov
    go to file a complaint and begin at step 2. It works wonders
    This is the federal comptrollers office who got action for me
    billy

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Mar 24, 2010
    Chase - Excessive fees
    Chase Bank
    Alaska
    United States

    I was out of state and did not have all mail forwarded for 2 months and thought I had paid the balance on my card. When I returned, I had $130 in fees for $230 bill. All this in a mere 2 months. Since they do not list the details of each sale, I had to go back to Amazon to see what each charged item was. It was time-consuming to determine which transaction was what. I paid the bill in full and then few weeks later, frustrated by these fees, called to cancel the card. They told me it was already canceled! Are they allowed to cancel your card without telling the customer? I learned my lesson. I will never deal with Chase Bank again.

    I know there has to be some repercussions for not paying a bill on time, but this is a bit steep.

    0 Votes
  • Tv
      Mar 30, 2010

    I work for the credit card division of chase. I was terminated because I did what a customer wanted. The good thing was I am 60 yrs old, a combat disable vet. Chase Bank, Chase Credit Card Division uses people outside the US, and companies like Sitel who provide customer service who are not actual bank employees. But in reality not all complaints by customers is correct but chase hands usually is more dirty than clean. They sell your info to different companies who had additional fees to your credit card even when you did not want it. When they purchased credit card business from banks or companies they raise those customers interest immeadiately after the conversion is complete.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Apr 21, 2010
    Chase Bank - Cant make the customer feel like their money matters and that they are valued
    Chase Bank
    United States
    chase.com

    What's with all the fees on overdraft and all the ways you try and get more money from me. Why cant you make the customer feel like their money matters and that they are valued.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
      Apr 21, 2010

    WTF! the bank has no responsibility over you feelings it's not their job to check on you if you feel like u matter (if u have issues go talk to a psychologist)the bank's job is to keep your money safe, suck it up and if you don't like their service switch, but i bet you that there is no better bank than chase my dad is a happy customer and trust me if he even FEELS he is getting ripped of he will not stick with the bank...he is a "codo" and does not like to pay up so u won't find anything cheaper than that

    -1 Votes
  • Ph
      Apr 29, 2010
    Chase Bank - I can never get any one person that can help
    Chase Bank
    United States
    chase.com

    This department has to be fairly new or the fact is has never been used as much in these trying times. But I can never get any one person that can help. This department spends so much time doing their speel 2 verify your identity and then have no answers or solutions 2 any of your problems. This Department is Glorified cust service. This is not a department that you should have as customer service cause people are calling with answers to a sensitive time and situation.

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 29, 2010

    Would you rather they give out your information to just anyone calling up saying they're you?

    0 Votes
  • Tm
      May 04, 2010
    Chase - WORST BANK /UNNECESSARY FEES
    CHASE
    Seattle
    Washington
    United States

    Every since I turned over to CHASE, I've had the worst experience with banking. I'm so afraid to use my debit/check card because I'm scared it would occur a fee. I've never seen a bank so Shady in my whole 37years on earth. I just got hit with a fee for $12.00 dollars from my savings account. I called and talked with a Rep, and he was very short with me and told me that the Government accessed this fee on me for withdrawing from my savings account 4 times in 1 year. I was like this is my money, how could the Government charge me a fee from withdrawing from my own personal account. I have never heard of this in my life. The trophy winner for me is that they charge you a fee for viewing and transferring money from savings to checking from a non chase cash machine, this is the craziest crap I ever heard of. CHASE bank is ripping people off with all these unnecessary fees. I believe a class action should be brought up against CHASE bank.

    0 Votes
  • Kh
      May 04, 2010

    because if you want to do a lot of withdraws it has to be a checking account. The rule is no more then 4 times a MTH. On checking-You will only get fees if you use the card with unavailable funds . Funds have to be in the account and available before you can use your card. You cant float anymore. the people who own the ATM charge chase a fee because you are not their customer. All of these things are outlined in the agreement you signed so why is it a huge suprise?

    0 Votes
  • Tm
      May 04, 2010

    I have had accounts with other banks in Seattle, Washington and never experienced this before, so I was going by my past banking history. Yeah, I should have read the fine print on Shady Chase, but I didn't. I've learned from my mistakes and didn't do them anymore, but the fee I just got hit up for really pissed me off. It's my business on how much I withdraw from my checking or savings and shouldn''t be charged a fee. That's my point!
    Thanks for your input, but I'm still angry as hell.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
      May 10, 2010
    Chase Bank - Your customer services are really making sooo disappointing
    Chase Bank
    United States
    chase.com

    $1.50 is not a big deal, but your customer services are really making sooo disappointed. I got my bill last month with a fee of $1.50. I called in to wonder what it is, then I was told that it was my interested of previous month. The lady on the phone said she could adjust it so i don't have to be paid. Then she talked to me about other promotions that you have. I told her that I don't need any of those right now. She said good bye and gladly hung up. I noted on my bill November 23, 2009 that I was called and get it adjust, which i didn't have to pay.

    Today I received another bill with the fee of $1.50. I called in again to see what happen and there's a guy, so RUDE, just say that I have to pay. I wondered how come I was told that I don't have to pay, now I have to pay. He was just "it needed to be paid." If last time I called, and I was told so, I would pay right away. How come one person promise me one thing, and other make me do differently? Just because I don't accept any of your promotions, you won't adjust my bill? That's not the kind of big corperation do, which the guy was always said "we're BIG Corporation". I know and sure you have voice recorded and should have my conversation that resolve my problem of last month. When I wanted to talk to the person who helped me from last time, he doesn't seem happy and he won't transfer. What kind of BIG corporation is this? Well, at least nicely said have someone call me back or kindly help me solve the problem, rather than being so RUDE. This is probably just anonymous to you, but I just wanna make it straight. You know I would pay the full amount that I owned, but I'm not very Very Very HAPPY with your customer services at all. VERY DISAPPOINTED. I would not recommend my friends or other with Chase. I tried to find the feedback pages somewhere online, but I couldn't. I hope someone could read my complain and consider using CHase.

    0 Votes
  • Mb
      May 12, 2010
    Chase/ JPMorgan Chase / WaMu - Chase Home Finance
    Chase Home Finance
    Cincinnati
    Ohio
    United States

    Ever since Chase took over WaMu, my note payments have been misapplies/delayed/unaccounted for.
    Is there anyone out there that can provided guidance on how to resolve the accounting errors so that I can close my account with chase and move my mortage to a more respectible financial institution.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      May 19, 2010
    Chase Bank - Its unfair and unamerican
    Chase Bank
    United States
    chase.com

    Why does Chase get a government bailout for screwing up and a regular american cant get help. Its unfair and unamerican.

    These Wall Street bankers have the government in the pocket. Both Democrats and republicans. But the Republicans made this mess over the last 8 years by allowing banks to run with no regulation or oversight on investing or management.

    0 Votes
  • K7
      May 19, 2010

    We have had similar issues. Keep us updated with anything you find out, because we are about to pull our hair out!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment