SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Certegypayroll check cashing

Review updated:

I cash my payroll check at Wal-Mart every two weeks. I went to cash my recent check and the customer service representative gave me this paper that said I should call this number. When I called it said that I was not denied of any derogatory marks but as a preventative measure and that this was relayed to the merchant. I went back in to Wal-Mart and tried to cash it again, I got the same response and a piece of paper with the same number. If it had not been for my fiancee's bank I would not have been able to cash my check. The was I was treated infuriated me and I feel that if Wal-mart is going to do business with Certegy then they need to know more about the company and reasons why checks are denied for no reason. I have recently found out that I was not the only person with an issue and found out that alot more people around the U.S. have issues with Certegy. There has to be an easier way to protect companies and not embarass customers.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Br
      Mar 30, 2007
    Certegy - unjustified check refusal
    United States

    My wife and I have been subjected to check refusal at four stores recently: Lowes, Kmart, Hibberts Sports, and online at Amazon.com. This is vary embarrassing, as we know we have the funds in our account! A call to the # printed on the back of one of the refused checks was pointless, as they would not give us a reason for their actions. This borders on defamation of character, and I feel there should be a class action suit generated! Our experience is by no means unique, if what I read on the "net" is any indication. Lawyers, start your engines!

    0 Votes
  • No
      Mar 30, 2007

    I have had the same thing happen to me with Certegy...

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Apr 30, 2007

    Per the Fair and Accurate Credit Act you have a right to request a copy of your free annual file report from these ###. I found a page on Certegy’s Parent company’s website that might interest you. Click on:

    http://www.fidelityinfoservices.com/FNFIS/Regulations.htm

    Everyone should request this to see what information if any they have on file.

    FRED

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      May 11, 2007
    Certegy - response from federal trade commission!
    United States

    We ALL need to be sending complaints to the FTC! The more they hear from us, the more they will be inclined to look into the situation Certegy is causing.

    Re: FTC Ref. No. [protected]

    Thank you for recent correspondence. The Federal Trade Commission acts in the public interest to stop business practices that violate the laws it enforces. Letters from consumers and businesses are very important to the work of the Commission.

    They are often the first indication of a problem in the marketplace and may provide the initial evidence to begin an investigation. The Commission does not resolve individual complaints. The Commission can, however, act when it sees a pattern of possible violations developing.

    The information you have provided will be recorded in our complaint retention system. This computerized system enables us to identify questionable business practices that are generating numerous complaints and may be in violation of the law.

    Thank you for providing information that may be used to develop or support Commission enforcement initiatives.

    Sincerely yours,

    Consumer Response Center

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      May 24, 2007

    I think your beef is with Certegy and not the stores themselves. You really need to talk with your bank, maybe they could help you figure out what the problem is? I think you should try switching from checks to Debit cards - they are just like writing a check, and much easier and cheaper (you wouldn't have to buy any more checks).

    The defamation of character.. sorry, don't think you have a case there. I am a PT Kmart employee (full-time college student) and whenever a customer's check is declined, I always try it 3 times (to make sure it wasn't my own error) and then if it does not go through, very quietly inform them, and tell them to just call the # on the back of the check and they will give you a reason. I never try to make a customer feel embarrassed or put them on the spot, but sometimes, if there is another customer in line behind them, they can't help but overhear it.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Jul 19, 2007

    I had a similar incident with Certegy, both on my own and with a client. I posted it on my blog awhile back, and I'll provide the link if you're interested. I'd like to see these guys get shut-out of the check verifications business completely!
    My post about them is located at:
    http://carolinaregion.blogspot.com/2017/12/bestbuy-maybe-not-certegy-should-be.html

    0 Votes
  • To
      Jul 19, 2007

    I had a similar incident with Certegy, both on my own and with a client. I posted it on my blog awhile back, and I'll provide the link if you're interested. I'd like to see these guys get shut-out of the check verifications business completely!
    My post about them is located at:
    http://carolinaregion.blogspot.com/2017/12/bestbuy-maybe-not-certegy-should-be.html

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Sep 20, 2007

    I am with you all the way!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Nov 25, 2007
    Certegy - declined checks!
    Certegy
    Florida
    United States

    It is time to grab this bull by the horns. After reviewing this complaint line, I now realize I have had an experience as have MANY OTHERS. Took it to the next level and filed complaint with better business bureau. They have a easy web site and would like to see everyone with these declined wrongly check issues to file complaint. Lets take back our finances.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Dec 07, 2007
    Certegy - check fraudulently paid
    Certegy
    135 Hunter Lane
    Holts Summit
    Missouri
    United States
    Phone: [protected]
    www.certegy.com

    Certegy Check Services has paid an unauthorized check to GoDaddy Software that was opened due to fraud that was committed upon my personal bank account as well as used for opening fraud accounts online. I do want to make a complaint to the FTC and the BBB of Florida. If Certegy does not comply and restore my file I will pursue charges as well as turn them into the Attorney General.

    Certegy is a very disreputable company that sells your info as well as paying and making unauthorized charges.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Mar 12, 2008
    Certegy - no reason!
    Certegy
    Wilmington
    Delaware
    United States

    Why was our personal checks declined at both Bed, Bath & Beyond and Target when we had over $9000 in the account? We will not shop at either of these stores again until someone can provide us with a valid explanation and formal apology. Judging from the other similar complaints, many retailers will lose a lot of business by using Certegy.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Aug 20, 2008
    Certegy - bad company
    Certegy
    United States

    I wrote a check to Dick's Sporting Good in June and the check not only cleared my account once, but cleared twice in the same day. When I noticed it while reconciling my bank statement, the bank corrected one of the checks. Two weeks later I got a letter from Certegy saying I owed them the money, plus $30. They said I had to have the bank send a statement and verification to resolve the issue. When I went to the bank the next day, I found out the check cleared again (3rd time). The bank sent the fax immediately to Certegy and then I was told by them that it could take up to two weeks because they receive so many faxes each day (doesn't that tell a business they must have a problem.) It has been another month, and there is still no resolution. I can't write checks on my account because of Certegy, and I can't resolve the issue with them because they always give me another answer as to why it isn't resolved. The latest response "it is under review" and that's been two weeks. If any CEO of a major company is reading these complaints, I would strongly encourage you to remember, "a business is known by the company it keeps" and you are ALL getting a bad reputation because of Certegy.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
      Jan 09, 2009
    Certegy - appalling practice
    Texas
    United States

    I recently attempted make a purchase at Macy's writing a check for $286.00. To my utter surprise, check was declined. I asked the clerk to run it again, which she did and my check was declined a second time. I asked her to call to find out what the problem was. After holding forever, a Certegy representative told her I needed to call an 800 number and that my check was declined as a "code 2". I called the 800 number an received an automated response stating that my check was declined because it did not fit their check writing patterns and it was security measure to prevent identity theft and fraud. The message further stated that the check was not declined due to any negative information in my file and that information was passed on to the merchant...blew my mind. Naturally, I wanted to speak to a "live" person. When I did finally get someone on the phone, I was told that there was nothing they could do to override their system. So I asked I am going to be declined the next time a write a check that uses Certegy and she replied that she couldn't guarantee that I wouldn't be. The practice this company uses that may decline a perfectly good check is arbitrary and egregious. The represenative admitted as much, very flippantly.

    I had to endure an embarrassing moment having a check declined for no good reason. I ultimately used my check card and completed the purchase with no problem. I later bought something else in the store and wrote a check just to see what would happen and the check was accepted without a hitch. I am assuming that the amount of the check was the issue. However, even if I never write checks, when I decide I want to I should be able to for whatever amount I need to, especially as a consumer who has never had any returned check issues. I probably won't be shopping at Macy's anytime in the near future. Perhaps I won't have to since 11 of their stores nationwide are shutting down for poor sales performance.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Jan 17, 2009

    I have been cashing my check at Wal-Mart for 3 years until today. Wal-Mart stated that I had to call the number on the printout to find out the reason. I received an automated service and gave the information to them. Then I finally spoke to a real person who stated that I would have to go to a place the does not use their system to cash my payroll check.

    After much embarrassment in the store line, I finally left. While looking for the Certegy web site I found the site that cotained all the complaints against this company. What is Wal-Mart thinking for doing business with a company like this. Evedently Wal-Mart does not need the business of consumers or they would have checked this company out thoroughly.

    Certegy is a joke company and I can't believe Wal-Mart has contracted with them.

    0 Votes
  • Mt
      Mar 19, 2009
    Certegy - denied my check
    Champs
    Phoenix
    Arizona
    United States

    I wrote a check at Champs Sporting Goods in the amount of $248.00. It was declined with a Code 2 - not sufficient information on the check. My name, address, phone #, bank account #, bank routing # are all printed on the check, so that is BS. The clerk at Champs was very curt and rude and didn't want to give me the name of the company (Certegy) who denied my check. I kept pushing and told him it was law that he had to provide me the name of the company who denied my check. I will be calling Champs in the morning and giving them an earful. I have spent ALOT of money in the past there and was embarassed to say the least. I will not go back to Champs.

    0 Votes
  • Sq
      Sep 28, 2009

    I totally agree. Certegy's profiling is flawed to say the least. Perhaps reduced sales will pursuade merchants to find a better solution than Certegy.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Nov 29, 2009
    Certegy - refused to take my check
    Target
    Florissant
    Missouri
    United States

    I have never had a problem writing checks...ANYWHERE!! I spent over 3 hours shopping at the Target Store in Florissant, Mo., this evening. My total was over $200. Since my debt card was in my bag and I didn't feel like digging for it, I wrote a check; they refused to take my check! I asked the cashier to run it again, and the same thing happened. I have more than enough in my checking account to cover that check; and had I wanted to could have gone to dig for my debt card or gone home and gotten the credit card; but if they won't accept a perfectly good check, they don't need any of my business! They asked if I had any other way to pay and I told the checker they could keep their stuff and that I wouldn't be back...and I won't. I have been shopping at Target for years, nearly 30, but they have lost a customer!

    0 Votes
  • O0
      Dec 08, 2009
    Certegy - disapproved check
    Certegy
    Newp
    Rhode Island
    United States

    Purchasing shoes at a Rockport outlet store, where I've shopped and purchased for several years. Check for $100 even was disapproved, even though there was plenty of money in the checking account. After fighting with the automated system at the number one must call, I got a human being, who apologized, acknowledged that the bank account was sufficient, but refused to approve the check. "It was out of parameters" was the explanation; this was not helpful. She said they would "send me a form to complete, to 'upgrade' me so it would not happen again." I have to say that I'm skeptical about giving these people any more information about me than they already have.

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Jun 18, 2010
    Certegy - denied check cashing
    Walmart
    Batesburg
    South Carolina
    United States

    Unforunately some people work during the day and can't cash their check until they get off. I called my local walmart (20 miles away) and asked them if they could cash a payroll check for me and they said sure (AFTER 10). So being that I was broke, hungry, tired, and in need of some cash I drove the 20 miles to cash my check at walmart. The cashier put my check through and I put in my social in atleast 3 times( why?). Are they doing credit checks on people cashing checks or what? I was denied cashing my check by some good for nothing company called certegy...WHY!! I worked hard for that money and GAS is not cheap. For me to drive there and be denied was the tipping point and I felt like breaking the damn machine. I work for a company that employs over 26, 000 people and for some reason walmart of Batesburg will not cash my check, but my co-worker cashes his every week at walmart in Newberry SC...WHY!!!? To top it off they gave me a little piece of paper with a number on it for me to call and ask why. I nicely bald it up and threw it in the parking lot. I love walmart but that certegy mess has to stop. Walmart is losing money because of this company not cashing hard working citizens checks, GOOD CHECKS!!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Jul 30, 2010
    Certegy - cashing a check
    Sherlyn Enderlein person
    1218 south 8th
    Lincoln
    Nebraska
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    I cashed 2 little $5.00 checks which wal-mart kept 6 dollars of it the checks were from the health dept to get my meds with then when i went to cash my social security check it was declined go figure then they proceded to tell me for 2 reasons you guys wouldn t cash it hummmm whats up with this? Sherlyn Enderlein
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Jul 31, 2010

    The check i have is a ssi check and this web site don t give me the reason why they didn t cash it as far as im concerned this place is useless

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Sep 18, 2010
    Certegy - inability to provide check approval
    Jewel/Osco
    Saint Charles
    Illinois
    United States

    I was just at Jewel and tried to cash check #2626 for $29.35 (9/18). I was told they could not cash the check because Certegy would not approve it. When I called Certegy I was told tha I had a returned check. I don't know ehen it was returned or for how much. I can return the amount owed, but I also want to make sure that you have my current account and bank information. Would someone please call em and let me know what if going on, because I did not know that you were still holding a check opf mine.

    Thank you,
    MarlaHecht
    1356 W. Main St. Apt 101
    St. Charles, IL 60174
    [protected]@comcast.net
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sj
      Mar 09, 2011
    Certegy - unjustified declined check
    Certegy
    United States

    Help Stop Certegy Abuse - File a report with the Federal Trade Commission at [protected]

    I wrote a check that was also declined by Certegy when there were more than sufficient funds to cover it. My story is nearly the same as you will read over and over again on this site. I have never written a bad check and have spotless credit. After much research it seems to me that the best recourse I have found is to file a complaint with the FTC (Federal Trade Commission) Their phone number is [protected]-FTC-HELP). I was told if they get enough complaints, one of their attorneys will be assigned to open an investigation. So, it is VERY IMPORTANT that EVERYONE who has been unfairly declined my Certegy file a complaint with the FTC. The agent I spoke with was very nice and the process was fairly quick and simple. I think it is the best way to reign in an out of control Certegy.

    PLEASE take a few minutes to make the call to the FTC and report what Certegy has done to you. Do you know that approximately 8.5 million people had their personal information stolen and sold by a Certegy employee? Do you know what the victims received as compensation for having to change all their bank accounts, credit cards and drivers licenses? Three years of free credit reports. My 82 year old mother was one of them. Please think long and hard before you call Certegys and give them all you personal information. They need to be stopped. If you have been unjustly declined by Certegy, PLEASEEEE, report the incident to the FTC at [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ce
      Apr 18, 2011

    i had the same experience. Not only is it frustrating it's horrible...There must be something we can do about it?? Anybody know a way...

    0 Votes
  • St
      Apr 23, 2011

    I just recently tried to cash my bonus check at my local kroger which i have done for quite a while. Today I found out they went with certegy and would not cash my check. I called certegy and all they could tell me is that they can not cash it cause they feel something is weird in this transaction. Im sorry but who are they to tell me that I cant cash my check from my damn employer. No I have to drive 40 mins to my bank.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
      Jun 23, 2011
    Certegy - denied transaction
    Certegy
    Knoxville
    Tennessee
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    Where to start. First - AVOID ANY RETAILER USING CERTEGY!!! I started using Murpay several months ago. It is a way to get a lower gas price at Murphy Oil locations by using there pay system and I can pay for my childrens gas with out having to hand them their own credit cards. It involves making payments directly from your checking account instead of a credit or debit card. It sounded simple. You set up an account and link it to your checking account. When you go to buy gas you text there system and they text back a code to enter at the pump. It all worked great for 3 weeks then one day my transaction was denied. Murpay tells me to call Certegy. Same story, they cant tell me why the transaction was refused, just it didn't fit their "risk model". It had worked fine for 3 weeks, account has at least a five figure balance all of the time, never had a bounced check and has daily activity. I pressed this issue for 3 weeks while I was denied a transaction verification everyday (stupid me). Finally 3 weeks ago after a long talk with a certegy supervisor that wasn't at an Indian call center (as everyone had been up to that point) it started working again. Worked again fine for 3 weeks then again yesterday quit working again. Once again the transaction didn't fit the "risk model" It worked the next day then 2 hours later when filling up a different car it didn't work. Without anyone being able to tell you why these transaction are being denied especially on an established checking account that has NEVER had any problem is absolutely crazy. Any retailer using certegy has to absolutely have their head up their a**, they are losing business!!! If you work for Certegy you should get your resume up to date, if they use those in India.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Nov 23, 2012
    Certegy - refusal of check
    tjmaxx
    3192 linden rd
    Flint
    Michigan
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    On Nov 21, 2017, I went to tjmaxx to pick-up a lay-a-way. I wrote out my check for $69.76. The clerk put the check through and told me there was a problem. she then left and went up to the front of the store. I waited over 20 minutes, as the line behind me continued to grow. The phone rings and the new trainee answered, turned to me and asked my birth date. I told him, and he relayed the info. The customers behind were getting upset and giving me disgusted looks. Finally the first clerk returned and sid my check had been denied! I told her that was impossible, and that i had never had a problem with my checks, and if she looked at the original receipt she would see I had wrote a check out when the lay-a-way was put in!! She said she sa sorry. I toldher to watch this. I then pulled out my debit card for the same checking acct, used it and it was accepted. I asked why was a debit from the same acct accepted but the check denied. She replied, they could only go with the decision from"CERTEGY". Certegy caused myto endure 30 minutes of embarrasment for no reason!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment