SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Certegy Check Servicesdeclined checks!

Review updated:

Click on the link to see the full complaint

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sh
      Aug 10, 2007

    I also am a victim of Certegy. I was declined by 2 different retailers in the past 3 weeks. The first was a local shoe store ( Shoe Carnival) I was given a small piece of paper with a code 2 on it. I called them and a lady told me my information with them was incomplete and I would have to fill out an application to be able to write checks that use their service. I told her no way I was going to jump through hoops to write a check to anyone. I was so embarrassed when I walked out of there paper in hand. Today I tried to write a check at Walgreens. I have been writing checks at this store since they opened 4 years ago. Never had a problem until today. I was furious by now since this was the 2nd time this has happened. I talked to a VERY rude man. He told me that code 11 meant that checks have been written with similar characteristics to mine that were fraudulent. I asked him what that had to do with my checks. He said that my checks could have some of the same numbers in the routing number, account number, the check number or even my signature. I told him that was very lame and he was going to have to do better than that. I said so if I write another check with a different check number then they will accept it right? He got angry and said that is not what he said. I told him that by his reasons then 8 out of every 10 checks would be declined. I told him this was totally unacceptable and to come up with something better than that or I would have to contact our attorney. He said well good luck with any attorney. I asked to speak to someone over him and was left on hold for over 15 minutes.

    The manager of Walgreens was not any better and looked at me like I was a thief. He said he would have to demand another form of payment I told him nope that he just lost a very good customer. My check was only for 86 bucks.
    If there is a lawsuit or any e mails that need to be sent to anyone person please let me know I am there.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Aug 14, 2007

    I agree, a class action suit should be filed against Certegy. I don't know why the Federal Trade Commission isn't looking in to the practices of this company. The Federal Gov't wants consumers to spend money, but they allow a company like Certegy to stop consumers from spending when they have money in the bank.

    I was making on two separate occasions purchases from Verizon Wireless and CompUSA for the company I work for which no doubt has money in the bank. Wrote a check to Verizon Wireless and CompUSA (maximum $3,000) and was declined by Certegy. The retailers using the Certegy Company do not realize how much it hurts them with repeat business when a customer has been embarrassed or humiliated for no reason. Why would they want to return after that. How can a company have so much power to restrict consumers from making purchases when they have the money in the bank thats what gets me.

    0 Votes
  • Ec
      Aug 14, 2007

    My 90-year old mother has been writing checks at the local Acme supermarket (now owned by Albertson's) since I was a tot--say, 45 years or so. She has no trouble writing checks anywhere else, but now since Acme started using Certegy her checks are being rejected at least 50% of the time. It's terribly embarrassing for her; she's very proud of never having bounced a check in her life, and doesn't have a credit card. There are always ample funds in her account. Supposedly they "elevated" her record today; we'll see what happens.

    As she told them at Acme, she doesn't have to shop there. She can walk into her other supermarket and write a check any time.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Aug 16, 2007

    Certegy class action filed:

    Girard Gibbs LLP Announces Class Action Lawsuit Against Certegy

    The law firm of Girard Gibbs LLP (www.girardgibbs.com) has filed a class action complaint on behalf of approximately 8.5 million consumers nationwide whose financial and personal data was stolen by an employee of Certegy Check Services, Inc. and Fidelity National Information Services, Inc (NYSE:FIS) and released to unauthorized third parties. The complaint alleges that a senior database administrator misappropriated the confidential information of millions of consumers and then sold the data to direct marketing firms and data brokers who may have resold it to others.

    "Certegy and FIS had a duty to safeguard the confidential data of consumers from any breach, including that of their employees. Once the internal breach became known, it should have been communicated to the public in a timely and adequate manner," said Eric Gibbs, one of the attorneys for the plaintiff. "The failure by these companies to make the internal data breach immediately known exposed consumers to direct marketing campaigns and the risk of unauthorized use of their bank accounts and identity theft."

    The case was brought by a Los Angeles, California resident who, prior to the public announcement by Certegy and FIS of the data breach, started noticing an influx of direct marketing and promotional offers as well as phone calls to his home. After subsequently receiving a letter from Certegy informing him that his personal data may have been compromised by one of its employees, the plaintiff engaged a credit monitoring service.

    Certegy and FIS merged in January of 2006. Certegy provides check-verification services to major U.S. retailers such as Wal-Mart, Sears, Bed Bath&Beyond and Amazon.com. Due to the nature of the services provided by Certegy and FIS, and their undisclosed role in financial transactions, consumers do not choose to use the services of these companies but rather are forced to do so.

    The complaint alleges that Certegy and FIS failed to implement and maintain adequate security measures to protect consumers' confidential financial and personal information. Their failure to properly monitor and supervise their employee subjected consumers to risk of data theft and other fraudulent actions.

    The class action lawsuit was filed in federal district court for the Central District of California on August 14, 2007. It asserts claims of negligence, invasion of privacy and breach of implied contract.

    Girard Gibbs LLP is one of the nation's leading firms in prosecuting class actions and other lawsuits involving consumer fraud. For more information about this case, please contact Girard Gibbs LLP toll-free at [protected] or through our website www.girardgibbs.com.

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Aug 18, 2007

    August 18, 2008 Today my husband and I went to the local Home Depot to purchase a few items for a job he is doing. We wrote a check for a $166.08. The customer my husband was working for was going to pay us back right away for the amount and we figured a check was the best way to go. Well, I guess we were wrong! Our check was declined! On the cash register it said they used Scan, I was not given an 800 # but called Scan when I got home. Scan had nothing, didn't see anything that would hold up our check so I called Home Depot and asked what company they were using for their check services. I was given an 800 # and called and found out if was Certegy. The recording says they have nothing to tell us other than they have information from a third party regarding our situation and can not elaborate more than that. My husband and I have had bad credit in the past but have worked very hard to get it cleaned up. I have not written a check in a long time and the first time I do I am declined. This was very embarrassing!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Aug 23, 2007

    On Tuesday August 21, 2007, I went to purchase a gift card for $100.00 at Sears Department store in Moreno Valley, California. When I presented the cashier with the check, she informed me that it needed to be cleared. After giving the cashier the information needed; i.e. driver’s license number, date of birth, etc… my check was denied. When I ask why, she informed me that it was not Sears but Certegy Checking Agency who did not accept my check. I was given the check back with a number to call for further information. When I called, the representative informed me that they only had one check transaction on their files for $42 dollars and some cents and that the amount which I just wrote was too large and they suspect fraud to which I appreciated their concern. However, because my bank would not give out information on my account, they could not verify that I had ample amount of monies in my account to cover, my check was denied. The representative assure me that according to their records, I have not had any cancellations and am in good standing. The representative advised me to upgrade my status to "gold" by filling out an information slip. However, they assured me that this may not rectify the situation. It was also suggested that I use another method of payment to complete the transaction. I informed the representative that I prefer to use checking which will enable me to keep better records. I have used this type of transactions in the past and have had no problems. I informed the representative that I will be making another transaction the next day of the same measure. On Wednesday August 22, 2007 I went to Sears Department Store in Riverside, California to purchase the gift card for $100.00. Needless to say, the same thing took place as did when I attempted to purchase a gift card in Moreno Valley, California. I contacted Certegy Checking Agency the second time and spook to a supervisor; Mrs. Carry. She, as the representative did the day before, informed me that they suspect fraud and also because of the amount difference according to their records, was too great. She, like the representative, suggested that I “upgrade”. I informed Mrs. Carry that I have not filled out any information in the past with Certegy and I do not understand why I need to “upgrade” when this may not even take care of the situation.

    I appreciate Certegy Checking Agency looking out for their merchants as well as for the consumer, however, I do not understand why do I need a history of check writing with consistent amounts of monies in order to be approved? In addition, why does Certegy Checking Agency continues to deny my check when all the information checks out; i.e. driver’s license number, date of birth, etc…In addition, why a I not able to speak to a representative when a cashier calls to verify that I am who I am?

    0 Votes
  • To
      Aug 25, 2007

    I've never written a bad check in my life, 40 years, and all of a sudden I'm turned down when writing a check. I was so humiliated when trying to purchase a new tire at Northern Tire & Wheel. It was a lousy $118.00. I had over a thousand dollars in the account. Certegy denied me with a code 1, "usually prior unpaid checks" Bull S___. I gave the man my debit card and of course he had his money instantly. Duh, I told you there was money in the account.
    When I finally was able to speak to a Certegy employee, I reluctly gave up information I know is wrong to share over the phone, So I could actually find out why. I was asked if I had recently closed an account. Yes, I actually changed banks and was only writing checks from the new account. Who the hell are these people who are dening checks for honest hard working people, with clean histories. I say yes file a suit, I'm in. I also suggest we each forward this web site to the companies that have denied us and let them know you will not be doing business with them as long as they are doing business with Certegy.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Sep 11, 2007

    I already wrote a complaint, but just want to make sure all of you poor souls have a proper number to reach a live person that works for Certegy. It didn't do me a lot of good, but at least she had to listen to a real live person complain about their sorry business ethics! The number for customer services is [protected]. So give em a holler.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Sep 19, 2007

    I had the same experience as is being reported here at Best Buy yesterday afternoon. I also was told by Certegy that there is no negative history in my file. They also said that they could not share why it was declined because that may help those who are fraudulent check writers beat the "system". I have never been so humiliated in a store before. I too was offered to becoome a "VIP" member. Since when do we need to fill out information so that our checks can be accepted? What happened to past history determinng future results? I would be understanding if there was negative information as all merchants need to protect themselves, but to randomly refuse good customers due to a mysterious set of criteria is bad business practice. I will never shop in a Best Buy store again. I have also called their complaint line and was treated as if they did not care if they lost my business. I suggest that everyone with similar situations boycott the merchants who use certegy and send letters to the merchants explaining how they lost your business. Real numbers is the only way to get their attention.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Sep 20, 2007

    I attempted to pay by check at a Big Lots and was told by the cashier my check could not be accepted and when I asked why she just gave me a card for a company called Certegy Check Services in Tampa Florida. If you call the # they give you only get an automated message, and after punching many numbers randomly I finally got an agent named Prentice who asked me for all my routing and account #"s on the check and then informed me that I had written a check 2 days prior on the account to Home Depot (true) so this check was denied because it was over $500.00. I asked him to check the account balance and he said he couldn't so I asked why he needed my account number then, and he said it was company policy. He did not authorize the check so I paid by Discover Card, but this company needs a better method other than ... you wrote a check 2 days ago!!!!

    0 Votes
  • De
      Sep 21, 2007

    How many of you live in California?

    I had the same problem with Certegy at an Orchard Supply Hardware store. The big problem I have is that the store gave Certegy my bank account information without my permission.

    I have been trying to get someone at OSH to realize what they are doing is illegal but have had no luck so far.

    Email me if you live in California and had a store send your informaiont to Certegy. I am thinking about a lawsuit to stop this type of behavior.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Sep 26, 2007

    I am all for a lawsuit against Certegy. I have been using Wal-mart to cash checks and purchase merchandise. On September 21, 2007, I decided to use the new check cashing center located in Wal-mart, only to be asked several embarrassing question. The end result??... total embarrassment in front of several people in the store!!..The clerk has the audacity to hand you an 800 number to call, and once you do, they aren't able to give you a straightforward answer as to why the check was declined in the first place. If these businesses don't wake up, they are going to lose lots of money, and if they continue to use this lousy company then they should lose money. Better research of the company they decide to use will result in better revenue...

    0 Votes
  • Ci
      Oct 02, 2007

    I have had two recent "run-ins" with Certegy Check Services". On both occasions, there was more than sufficient funds in the account. The main office of our bank called Staples in Holland, Michigan to ask why my check had been declined. Apparently it's policy and he could not over-ride the decision. The second experience was at TJ Maxx. On both occasions I called Certegy Check Services, worked my way through the endless prompts and finally spoke with a customer service representative...only to be read a very canned response. After voicing my humiliation and frustration, the only reason they could give me was that I don't frequent these retailers enough to have an established history. Isn't it sad that now I won't be returning at all. I have requested a written explanation for both incidences. The first being August 30, 2007...I'm still waiting. I find it very perplexing that businesses are apparently so busy that they don't mind Certegy turning away customers, prior to completing their transactions.

    +1 Votes
  • Ci
      Oct 02, 2007

    Humiliation and frustration...I could go on forever! I would like a list of every company that utilizes this "service". Do they not visit sites like this?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Oct 15, 2007
    Certegy Check Services - Money order denied
    United States

    I sent an employee to Six States to buy an item. My company check was declined. Called their 800 number and the automated response was pretty much nothing was wrong with my account. What a bunch of crap, after reading all the complaints about this company, someone should decline their business. They can FOAD, I've been on hold for over 20 minutes. This is how they handle calls? Nice company / they s*ck.

    Very poor service!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Oct 19, 2007

    I am going through the same thing with this company right now. I wrote a check at Marshalls, a company I have written checks to repeatedly in the past. I have no history of bouncing checks whatsoever, but on this one occasion, Paypal accidentally transferred funds from my checking instead of my savings account, so that check got returned. I realized this right away, and things got corrected. I had Marshalls redeposit the check and it cleared my account immediately, and the return fee was waived. I thought this was a closed chapter. This happened the week of September 16, 2007.

    About three weeks later, I wrote a check to Michaels, another store I frequently do business with (I am a teacher) I have written checks to this store many, many times, and am a very regular customer. I was declined. They tried it again, I was again declined. They gave me the number to Certegy, and I called them and was told they do not know why I was declined, that they have nothing in their records about me. So we tried again, still declined.

    I ended up walking out and am now too embarrassed to go back.

    A day or two later, about the 8th of October, I received a bill from Certegy for the amount of the returned Marshalls check and a 25.00 service fee tacked on. I have since called them repeatedly to inform them that this has been paid, sent them the proof on my bank's letterhead from my bank manager, and still, this morning when I attempted to write a check at yet another store I frequently do business with, I was declined. I called Certegy and demanded to speak to a manager, and was told that they still needed me to pay the 25.00 fee, even though Marshalls was paid directly by my bank to theirs, and waived the 25.00, and Certegy was never even needed to collect the debt. If I do not pay the 25.00, I will be red flagged forever.

    I would go and pay this right now, but I am afraid it won't make a difference, and no one will direct me to a manager who will put it in writing that I will have my check writing privileges restored as soon as I pay them this 25.00.. which I do not feel I owe, but will pay if it gets things restored. I have thousands of dollars in my account,and a reputation to consider here. I do not know what to do next, and am seriously thinking of getting an attorney.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Oct 26, 2007
    Certegy - Refusal of good check
    Certegy
    United States
    www.certegy.com

    I went to Limited Too today. My $114 check was refused. The Certegy rep said "you wrote a $126 check earlier today, and Certegy doesn't have enough information on your check history, so your check is being refused." I was horrified that a company could decide whether or not I can spend my hard earned money. I am searching now for a list of companies who use Certegy so I know who to boycott.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Oct 30, 2007
    Certegy - Life takes money- Not VISA!
    United States

    Was declined 2 checks because of large amounts. ($800 & $1100) I Had $10000.00 in bank. When I called they had my Birthdate wrong and no past history for me and were mad because i wouldnt sign up for their 'Gold' Service. Like I want to put out MORE personal information. When I asked about the info that was stolen from their former employees and used for identity theft-- I was told to use a Visa card and not checks. I did not and do not want to use Visa. It is my money and I will spend it how I want to! It makes me mad that these buisness' that use this service decide how I pay and use my own money!

    0 Votes
  • Sd
      Nov 02, 2007

    A lot of people don't quite clearly understand how Certegy works. When a company uses Certegy, the check is out of their hands. If it is denied we are ONLY supposed to give you a little card with the reason code circled. If we don't have a reason code then we give you a different card. We are not allowed to tell you the reason the check is declined because we ARE NOT DEFINITE as to why. When could say "your check was declined because your I.D. doesn't meet the state's established guidelines for a valid ID" however then you would argue about how the ID is real. WE ARE NOT ALLOWED TO ARGUE. The card avoids frustration and further delay and embarrassment.

    The way Certegy determines whether or not to accept or decline the check is based on your check writing history. Little things like multiple checks in a day, writing a check for over the amount to get cash back, differentiating DL info.

    When you want to cash a check:
    1st. Don't complain...its a service that does not even have to exist.
    2nd. If the company that owns the check doesn't pay for the check once its deposited, that company's checks declined in the future.
    3rd. Your ID must match the information on the check PERIOD, if you change addresses the you must take the appropriate action at you DMV.
    4th. Don't get mad at the employee, in every sense of the phrase, "we know just as much as you do". It is not our own check we are cashing, nor is it our job to obtain information as to why it was not accepted. It IS our job to help you contact Certegy by giving you their number. We cannot explain Certegy to you, we are not Certegy employees, and quite frankly not all employees like Certegy.

    So, please I ENCOURAGE YOU , the next time your check is not accepted call Certegy and ask them about it, not us. They are jerks on the phone sometime, but the more specific information you give about the situation(ie. how much the order was for, how much the check was for, what was entered into the register(if avail.), date of transaction, have you written previously accepted checks, ect). Please don't blame your unfortunate event on the employee.

    -1 Votes
  • Da
      Nov 03, 2007

    Been reading your stories on line. You're right...embarrasing, frustrating and very scary that someone might have invaded your bank account. My story took a little different twist. 10:00 am today -wrote a check for $20.40 at Toys-R-Us. Came back declined. Clerk gave me the receipt and said I could call these people (Certegy) or talk to the manager. Spoke to the manager. He tried to run the check with the same result. Couldn't tell me why, but suggested I speak to my bank or Certegy. Went straight to the Bank. To my relief, I still had the thousands in my checking account I thought I had. I have credit scores in the 850s. And I pride myself on keeping an immaculate credit record. My banker and I called the 800 number. After asking many questions that I know I should not give out over the phone including my drivers license number, he asked if I knew a person whom I had never heard of. Supposedly she reported to them that I had sent her a bogus check. Then, he rechecked all my information including my driver's license number. He said I think I know what's wrong and put me on hold. He came back on the line 10 minutes later apoligizing for any inconvenience they caused me today but it appeared the Certgey employee who entered the data from the bogus check had transposed some numbers on the person's drivers license, and that mistaken transposition now matched my driver's license. He said he was in the process of correcting the error, but it would take three business days, and they would be sending me a letter when it was corrected. In the meantime, I'm afraid to write a check for fear it may be rejected too. Fortunately, my banker told me I could use my debit card. Then it dawned on me...that's what Certegy is helping these companies do; force us all to use debit cards so they can get their money faster. And they're leaving a lot of innocent victims in thier wake. I am going to write to the President of Toys R Us, Renz Nichols, the President of Certegy, Lee A. Kennedy, the President & CEO of Fidelity National Information Services (FIS) which is the parent company of Certegy, the Attorneys General of Florida (where Certegy and FIS are located), and my home state where the transaction today took place, the Federal Trade Commission which regulates consumer reporting agencies, and my Congressman. I don't know, maybe someone will listen.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Nov 05, 2007

    Three months ago my check was denied while I was at Best Buy purchasing a flat screen monitor. There was over $1000.00 was in my account. I couldn't get any help from the store manager except a phone number to call. I was embarrassed as was my wife and the poor girl waiting on us.

    Best Buys loss $259.00, Wal-Marts gain $239.00, since we went there and bought it, guess what my check went right thru!!!
    Last weekend I was at Target purchasing a new PS2 game, Guitar Hero 3 for my kids, and again this company denies my check again!!! Again, plenty of cash in the account, Targets loss $89.00, Radio Shacks gain, $89.00. I have had this account for over ten years and it is always been in great shape.

    There needs to be a Class Action Suit brought against this company. The only worst then this company is the stores that uses them. So lets not only get a suit going against them, but lets also boycott the stores that use them!

    As for Len, on another posting, that said "if you had money in your account why not just use your debit card", all I have to say is that I have a checking account because if I want to write a check I have earned the right to write a check whenever I want to and i shouldn't be put in a negative catagory because I don't write many checks! I bet Len wouldn't stand for a negative credit rating if he didn't deserve it! Wake up Len, and smell the coffee... this is the same thing, and this company is just simply WRONG!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
      Nov 11, 2007
    Certegy - Checks declined
    United States
    www.certegy.com

    I went to Kmart last night and had two checks from two separate accounts declined. Both accounts had sufficient funds to cover the transaction and I absolutely do not have a history of writing bad checks. At Kmart I felt embarrassed to have two checks denied. I had a credit card and cash to pay for the items, but after having two checks declined for completely unknown reasons I did not want to hand over any other method of payment to have it declined too. I felt judged as a liar and cheat by the store. After calling Certegy they gave no real reason for why my checks were denied and upgraded me to VIP. Whatever that means. I'm scared to write anymore checks around town because I don't want to waste anymore time selecting items, standing in line and then having my checks denied for no reason. Certegy has labeled me a cheat in my community. I do not plan on shopping at Kmart any time soon.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Nov 11, 2007

    I had a similar problem, I went to purchase some video games for my 14 year old son at a GAME STOP who now use Certegy, and my check was denied I was so embarrassed and felt so pathetic having to explain to my son what had happened, even though 2 hrs earlier I wrote a check at SHAWS for groceries and they also use Certegy and it was approved! what the heck is with this company? The kicker is these businesses that use Certegy know nothing about the company They just say um you can try calling this number I dont know what to tell you, NICE CUSTOMER SERVICE! By the way if you do actually get a customer service rep. they cant even tell you why it was denied they say I dont seem to be able to find a problem...

    0 Votes
  • We
      Nov 21, 2007

    I went into ToysRUs today, doing some Christmas shopping. I have over $3000 in the bank, yet my check of $131.72 was denied by Certegy! I, like all the others, got a piece of paper with a number to call. I got out of a very long line, truly embarrassed, and stood there as a manager was called over to take my purchase off the cashier's register and to make sure it was ok to hold my buggy until I could go to the credit union and get cash to pay for my items. I called the number and it was all automated. I got nowhere quickly. I did not go back to get my items merely because of the horrible traffic and the fact that my credit union was 30 minutes on the other side of town! I would have been at least a couple of hours wasted just to get my daughter a Dora TV!! I looked up Certegy online and found this post. I have tried calling a couple of other numbers I found online and haven't got anywhere yet. I have no idea why they denied my check.

    Whatever happens, I will not give them any more of my personal information. I have been with this new credit union for about 8 months, since I moved here. About 6 months ago I got a letter from Certegy saying that they wanted to inform me that they had an incident where one of their employees stole peoples information and sold it. And that they didn't want me to worry because they were working with authorities to get to the bottom of this, but that my name was on their list of stolen information and I was being given a free credit check to make sure someone isn't using my identity!!! Do not worry they said!!! Lucky for me, nothing has come up derogatory on my credit as of yet and my bank account that the information was related to, had been closed for a few months prior.

    After all of this mess they have put me through, I will be on the lookout for stores that use certegy, and I will no longer shop with them at all. I will also be letting these stores know that I wont give them my money and the reason why. They should know who they are making their customers deal with!

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Nov 21, 2007

    On 11/20/07 I also had the unfortunate and unresponsive encounter with Certegy! Attempting to cash a state unemployment insurance check it also was declined for reason: 2 at east side Wallmart in sioux falls SD where I do most of my shopping due to fact I don't have a checking account at this time and I was able to cash my check there for a small fee. The customer service rep was not helpful and uninformed he just raised his hands and said sorry, can't help you and handed me a piece of paper that stated,We cannot cash this check ect... I then called the number on it and could not get past the promt asking for my phone number. I strongly feel that Wallmart needs to get involved and FIX this problem not only for Wallmart but for those who shop and SPEND there MONEY at Wallmart if they had an employee costing them profits would they not terminate that relationship why not terminate Certegy!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Nov 25, 2007

    We all have had the same problems. went to better business bureau and filed a complaint. would advise all to do so. This business gone to far.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Nov 25, 2007

    I recently had a run-in with Certegy. I've been getting over a chronic illness and my credit had not be perfect. For the past 4 months however, everything had been going good. I was doing some extra work and had received a check for about $90 dollars in the mail on Saturday. I worked that day so I did not cash my check then. I had someone gain access to my banking account and made unauthorized withdrawals. Needless to say I am a bit paranoid about identity theft. So anyway, walmart is open on Sunday and I went to cash my payroll check, I have cashed payroll checks there before no problem. Today however, I was denied, I was given a little card and just got the automated runaround, I thought someone had gotten my personal information and was writing bogus checks, I was almost in tears. Then I decided to educate myself and found this website. I feel much better about everything and will watch where I shop at from now on.

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Nov 29, 2007
    Certegy - Checks refused for no good reason!
    Certegy
    Green Bay
    Wisconsin
    United States

    I've had two checks refused recently from Office Max and Target. Both places couldn't give me an explanation, only gave me Certegy's info to call to find out why. I have contacted Certegy, because I have always had enough money to cover the checks and I have good credit, they ended up sending me a form to fill out that looks like a credit application. It asks for yearly income, SS#'s, etc. all information I don't feel comfortable or necessary to release to this company. I have checked with my Credit Union that the checks were written from and they have received similar complaints and questions from other customers wondering why their checks are being denied from this company. They didn't have an answer for me either.

    I understand places verifying money in an account, but they seem to have known that there was money to cover the checks, but still denied them. They seemed to be telling me that it was to protect me from fraud, They are the ones asking me for confidential information, not my bank or the stores. They could have asked for ID, if that's what they needed to verify. It doesn't seem to make any sense. I have never had this problem before and twice in the past two weeks I have been embarrassed standing in the checkout line because my checks are being denied for no good reason. I have submitted complaints to the Better Business Bureau and to the Federal Trade Commission in hopes to be able to change this company's procedures.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Dec 06, 2007

    Certegy caused a check I wrote to Dick's Sporting Goods to bu turned down. There was plenty of money in the account, and Certegy said it was all due to the computer algorithm they use.

    Well, I will not set foot in a Dick's Sporting Goods store again!

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Dec 06, 2007

    There was money taking off my phone and i didnt hit yes on my cellphone and i think thats bad. When i called to get it fix where it wont come off my phone a man named henry said i gave promess for it to be pay each month for $9.99 a month. So im not happy about it think if your go to run a company like that you need the own of the phones give a pass code.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Dec 08, 2007

    I totally understand the attitudes of these people as today my husband and I had this happen to us at a Home Depot store. We pride ourselves on the excellent credit history that we have and then to have a check denied for such a small amount plus not be able to get a straight answer as to why!! Yes, we paid cash for the items as we happened to have really needed most of them and could not find them elsewhere. After reading some of the reasons others were denied, I agree that I will not shop at any store that uses a service that humiliates hard working and honest customers. Yes, businesses need to be protected but they also need to have a better system that works with honest people not against them. If banks and credit unions do not want people using checks then I feel that they will stop making them available and not all of us like debit cards, etc. I wonder if anyone at Certegy really ever listens and/or reads any of the issues that are mentioned. I doubt it!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Dec 10, 2007

    My Wife and I where shopping at Marshalls the other night for Christmas gifts and my wife asked me how do you want me to pay for this and I told her to write a check out of her Checking/Savings $1600 balance, the check was for $200. Marshalls lady gets on the phone wait, wait and wait some more only to hear I am Sorry your check is no good. The lady gives my wife a card and says that we can call them to find out why. By this time I am cussing a storm and the my wife is still smiling (go figure). I ended up having to use my check card out of my account that only had a few hundred in it. I plan on calling this Nuisance Company that has No Value in my book!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Dec 14, 2007
    Certegy Check Services - Wrongly Denied Check
    Certegy
    Florida
    United States

    I just went to Albertsons to purchase 4 $100 visa gift cards for my kids for X-mas. I don't like to carry that much cash so I wrote a check and it was declined by Certegy. I called the number and they said there was no negative information that it was just a "precautionary measure" - who are they trying to protect?? It should be a simple matter of is the money available yes or no and have any bad checks been written yes or no. This crap about artificial intelligence is b.s. All the clerk has to do is check ID to prevent fraud. I write checks bigger than that all the time and there was over $3000 in my checking account at the time. I looked them up on the internet and found about their employee selling names to fraudulent marketing companies - but no info about how to submit a complaint. With all the people who have been inconvenienced and humiliated, there really should be a lawsuit - anyone know a good lawyer??

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Dec 14, 2007

    I have had the same situation. I just went to Albertsons to purchase 4 $100 visa gift cards for my kids for X-mas. I don't like to carry that much cash so I wrote a check and it was declined by Certegy. I called the number and they said there was no negative information that it was just a "precautionary measure" - who are they trying to protect?? It should be a simple matter of is the money available yes or no and have any bad checks been written yes or no. This crap about artificial intelligence is b.s. All the clerk has to do is check ID to prevent fraud. I write checks bigger than that all the time and there was over $3000 in my checking account at the time. I looked them up on the internet and found about their employee selling names to fraudulent marketing companies - but no info about how to submit a complaint. With all the people who have been inconvenienced and humiliated, there really should be a lawsuit - anyone know a good lawyer??

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Dec 19, 2007

    Certegy has caused checks of mine to be declined at my local Home Depot (Hagerstown, MD) recently. Up until now, I have had no problem writing checks for $300, $400, $500. Tonight however, Home Depot 's Certegy check services declined my check FOR NO REASON.

    The person on the phone at Certegy [protected]) just told me that their computer "analyzes" check writing patterns and examines each case individually.

    This is really a load of crap. As I read this, I can see that I'm not alone. What can we do about this?!

    0 Votes
  • An
      Dec 19, 2007

    This is Christmas time and have spent more then $400.00 at Macy's. Today I wanted to buy $200.00 worth of gift certificates, and my check was declined. Needless to say, I will never go back to Macy's again. However, I do want to know why my check was declined. I have never bounced a check in my life and my credit is excellent. What do I need to do to get a credit report from you to understand this embarassing situation.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Dec 22, 2007

    I was just turned down at Harbor Freight for a $64.89 check when my bank balence is well over $2,000. And people wonder why people get shot. I hope El Queada uses this company as their 2nd target to blow up - might as well be of some benefit to this country. I hope someone is doing a class action against this company and I can find out how to join in. I hope you ### rot in Hell where you belong!!! Do you get the impression I'm pissed off - you bet I am.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Dec 26, 2007

    My parents all of a sudden started having checks declined by Certegy Check Services. It has happened four times in less than two weeks at Home Depot, Best Buy, Kmart and Sears. We tried calling Certegy and got the run around the first two times. The third time I spoke to a supervisor but who could not tell us why this was happening, told us it was rare and said they had been authorizing checks previously. This is just wrong. State attorney generals need to be notified... we are going to! If a bank denies you a loan, checking account, etc they have to tell you exactly what the problem is so how can Certegy do this. Please everyone contact the businesses using this company and file complaints! They think they are immune to the little guy but lots of little guys add up to quite a force. Maybe we need to boycott the stores using this company until something is done!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Dec 26, 2007

    My parents are having the same problem all of a sudden with this company. We've tried to call them and get the run around. After reading these complaints, we are going to our bank, the BBB and the state attorney general about this. They are supposed to be sending out a letter about this and so we will submit that to them also. My parents have great credit, never written a bad check and have had the same account for 30 years! I've read on this board of other elderly people having the sam problem. They offered to send out the VIP stuff but I'm not letting my parents send that information to them!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Dec 29, 2007

    On 12/17 My pay check arrived at home in mail like it has for the last 4 yrs , I often take my check to Wal*mart most of the time Pine City MN other times one of the other 3 walmart stores near my home (hahaha all 32 to 40 miles away) I work for a group home firm that has been in business for 13 yrs ,Certegy declined my payroll check, I was furious, I know of no valid reason for Certegy to refuse this check,its not possible for me to have any bad checks out there because I do not have any paper checks. My bank acct is used for automatic payments only, and my bank has horrid hours like every other bank in many rural areas. My employer operates 11 homes in the Pine city area , These homes spend thousands every month writting checks some of which are at walmart for household and grocery items every month , Our residents spend money via checking accounts there too . I was told to contact my employer , my employer responded, There still have no valid reason for Certegy to have refused the payroll check. I seriously doubt any one with any kind of authority at Wal mart even bothers to deal with this kind of complaint , Today 12 /29 My check came , I will find out if its the same thing again. If Walmart cannot fix this Its going to cost them a customer and ANY other business I find that trades with Certegy

    0 Votes

Post your comment