SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

CenturyLinklate fees

1
T Review updated:

CenturyLink would hold my automatic payment post date until after payment was due to collect a $5.00 late fee every other month. I contacted them several times about it, but they would do nothing about it. I made an extra payment to get ahead (they already charge a month in advance) and changed the payment date so they would receive it three weeks early. I pay a set amount automatically every month. They still charged me a $5.00 late fee when I owed 50 cents at billing time! I had already upped my payment to prevent that from happening the following month, but they will do ANYTHING to apply a $5.00 late fee on my bill. How can you have a late fee on a service you have not even received?

Responses

  • C
      Nov 22, 2010

    TotallyRippedOff,

    My name is Joey and I'm with CenturyLink. I'm sorry to read about the trouble you're having with our company. We would be happy to look into your issue to see what we can do to help. Just email us at [protected]@CenturyLink.com with your name, account information and reference your post here on Complaintsboard.com. Thanks.

    Joey H
    CenturyLink Customer Outreach
    [protected]@CenturyLink.com

    0 Votes
  • C
      Mar 03, 2012

    Dear Totally ripped off,

    Make no mistake Centurylink is a criminal organization that systematically extorts money from it customers. I have a very similar problem and they said "talk to the fcc" which I come to find is not who to contact. They say this to misdirect and otherwise scare people into inaction. I have spoken at length with them and found they carefully craft answers so that no verbiage can be used in a negative way. However some of us kwno how to parse their words and are bringing the truth of light to the forefront.

    Plainly put, the only people who think Centurylink billing practices are fine, are people that don't actually look at their bill.

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Mar 03, 2012

    Not sure what is going on with the crazy text. I will try to re-post below. The words are there but it add some extra it seems...

    Make no mistake Century-link is a criminal organization that systematically extorts money from it customers. I have a similar problem and they said talk to the FCC which I come to find is not who to contact. They say this to misdirect and otherwise scare people into inaction. I have spoken at length with them and found they carefully craft answers so that no verbiage can be used in a negative way. However some of us know how to parse their words and are bringing the truth of light to the forefront. Plainly put, the only people who think Century-link billing practices are fine, are people that don't actually look at their bill.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Mar 20, 2012

    I totaly agree. This company straight out lies to your face .When i asked them how much the bill would be for the month it was double what they quoted me?. We also wanted to add the tv service so they sent dish network to are house.. I ended up getting a bill from dishnetwork and century link for the same tv service/. So i asked them and i couldnt believe what i heard?. They told me they dont use dish network so i asked them how did they show up to my house and install the motem they centurylink sent me in the mail'. They didnt know what to say?. Each service person you get has a different lie to tell you!. I cant believe this company can get away with this..

    0 Votes
  • B
      Sep 19, 2017

    @Scott77 Amen, there outta be a law!

    0 Votes
  • B
      Jan 26, 2013

    Re:the late fee... accounts that ARE current in their payments... But the $5.00 fee gets billed... Two things come to mind that causes this. Example: you have phone & Internet... And let's say the total to pay is $80.00.(50=phone & 30=Internet)... MOST states have or had rules that resemble this... Lets say of that $80 total... You send a payment of $78.50 (leaving a balance unpaid $2.50)...that payment you sent is applied to the TELEPHONE service FIRST. (each state has different rules on the late payment fee associated with the "dial tone"... But regulations that go back years... Are guided to keep the dial tone ON whenever possible...(good stuff!)... but this remaining $2.50 automatically defaulted as "a balance owing -internet charges".-thus billing the late fee $5.00 on the next bill. (((( FYI... IF that same $2.50 was past du for dial tone... There would not be ANY late charge on the next bill). ... 2nd cause: using same bill 80$, and let's say you OVER PAY this month.($100.00)... so the extra $20 automatically sits on the account credits... FOR DIALTONE. - and tho this is hard to explain... That 20$ credit does carry over to the next months statement... BUT- from an accounting standpoint... too often...the dial tone -vs- Internet "gets out of balance" ... Tho YOU HAVE PAID IN FULL by that 2nd month... Dialtone has a credit balance & Internet "thinks" ya owe $20 dollars still... And on the third month... Your bill shows you PAID in FULL -& on time...BUT ... YOU SEE A $5 late fee for Internet charges. ***** This didn't happen too often, cuz most customers that pay their bills late... Are used to seeing Late fees from all their creditors... And have mentioned the small fee when payed the phone late was ok... Compared to other bill fees when they pay late... The Fee of $5.00 is a surprise to see the first time I paid late... The people I spoke addressed the fee... And now We know I have a fee when payed late. ****but... These two examples are unfortunate examples... Espesially the 2nd... When I have paid my account in FULL... Why would the companies computer show a TOTAL zero balance... BUT have a credit on my phone... And show I am UNPAID/late on INTERNET? The company needs to fix that problem... I KNOW IT CAUSES a LOT of customer dissatisfaction... Especially when the reps do not have training to fix it... Maybe 3 percent of the employees recognize & know to fix it... Or they make you wait for another Person in hopes they fix it... But you are right... Many people don't call ...(this was about the post by "totallyrippedoffWashington"

    0 Votes
  • B
      Jan 26, 2013

    http://www.katu.com/news/problemsolver/Check-those-bills-mistakes-like-this-may-be-lurking-182483551.html

    0 Votes
  • U
      Sep 08, 2017

    If one is late with their CenturyLink bill payment, how much is the late fee supposed to be?

    0 Votes
  • B
      Sep 19, 2017

    If you have more than one "entity" meaning examples(local phone, long distance, internet, DirecTV, cell, etc etc);... It is most likely caused by THEIR billing system. Being out of balance. They were supposed to fixed that problem many years ago...l but people still get late fees, suspended service (with reconnect fees). ..l.am a retiree... I know for a fact they do many things wrong. This is just a small sample.

    0 Votes
  • U
      Sep 19, 2017

    @Billsbillsbills The only service I get from CenturyLink is their internet and if I am late they would charge me a $16 late fee. I have never seen anyone's late fee that high, so I wanted to know if this is the late fee everyone else pays or if it's just me.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment