SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies / puppies multiple breeds

1 Sutton, MA, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

Denise M Ronayne, aka Denise M Lavoie, aka Dee, aka DeeDee, is a breeder who operates her kennel of many breeds in Sutton, Massachusetts She lists her kennel at 34 Merriam Lane in Sutton, MA but the tax assessor does not have a property listed there. Her home is at 38 Merriam Lane with an additional 7 acre lot at 32 Merriam Lane.

Please review the attached images that go with this complaint. Screen shots of each website and her kennel license are attached in case they are deleted.
She claims on her websites that she offers "puppies by hand the old fashioned way and not in a kennel facility, but rather in our home on our country estate located in Sutton, Massachusetts!" It is the same information on each site, puppies raised by hand, not in a kennel and allowed to frolick around her expansive country estate with fresh air and loads of love. On her yorkie, shih tzu and dachshund sites she makes the claim that she is a decorator by trade and designed the house with them in mind: "Being a decorator by trade, our home has been designed with our (INSERT BREED HERE) in mind!" On every page she claims that each breed is the "heart of the home". She has several breeds and all breeds have different websites, phone numbers and email addresses:

American GoldenDoodle - http://www.americangoldendoodle.com - [protected]
Castle and Cottages Cavaliers - http://www.castleandcottagecavaliers.com - [protected]
Country Home Yorkies - http://countryhomeyorkies.com - [protected]
Country Home Shih Tzu - http://countryhomeshihtzu.com - [protected]
Country Home Doxies - http://www.countryhomedoxies.com - [protected]
Country Home Maltese:
http://www.dogbreederdirectory.com/breeders/Sutton+MA/1/ - Maltese Puppies - [protected]
http://www.puppyfind.com/view_listing/?list_id=vi62hs12f1 - Adult Maltese for Placement - [protected]

She posted an ad for a Maltese for $695 on PuppyFind.Com. She claims in this ad that she can no longer keep her four year old boy named "Armani" because she is moving. The same phone number in that ad also connects to ads for Maltese puppies in Sutton, MA under "DeeDee"

Though she claims she is not a kennel on her websites, she is in fact a kennel and has been in Sutton, MA for many years. She is allowed 25 adult dogs on her kennel license but this apparently does not include puppies whose number is unlimited as long as they are under the age of 6 months:
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:9k4hxk9sMxQJ:suttonma.org/Pages/SuttonMA_ZBAMin/2008minutes/6-5-08.doc+&cd=4&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us

The Microsoft imagery of her home shows a lot of small buildings in the back of the property and one has to wonder what the heck they are. There is an image of that attached to this complaint too.

There is a Yorkie website who has posted complaints about her back to 2006:
http://www.yorkies.com/Denise.html

There are conflicting ads and information online, positive ones she has apparently paid for. The magazines and organizations that allowed these ads to run should be notified. I am not sure who else to notify because clearly there is something very strange going on with all of this. Unfortunately more needs to be looked into because this entire situation and the way she represents herself is misleading to say the very least. It would great if DeeDee could provide an explanation for all of this.

Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies
Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies
Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies
Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies
Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies
Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies
Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies
Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies
Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies
Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies
Castle &, Cottage Country Home Puppies

La
Jul 11, 2017
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ka
      Aug 15, 2017

    I adopted a cavalier puppy from her who has serious emotional and physical problems. Denise is a con artist and either breeding ill dogs or a distributor for puppy mills.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Apr 12, 2018

    @Kay Dee I too adopted a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel nearly 3 years ago from her. Winston is the sweetest little guy imaginable a d I do not regret for one minute that he has become part of our family. Having said that, I must say that he has some unfortunate neurological issues which we try to control through diet (No grains) and medication (daily Prozac).

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
      Dec 21, 2017

    She even has BBB profile. I am assuming there are few regulations because she is getting away with misrepresenting herself. Apparently it is ok to lie on your website to get people in, and lie when people come to look at the dogs. What proof is there? She schedules an appointment, places a few of the breed she is selling in her home to make it appear as if she is telling the truth. It must be legal to lie, as long as she is selling the breed she advertises. If they are sick, well, it's not illegal to sell a sick or abused dog from a puppy mill. If she's gotten away with it for this long...Someone should expose her on a television news show.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Feb 17, 2019

    @Janetmaltese BBB is useless, it is like Yelp where you get a better grade if you pay for their "services"... Can't go by that. My mother in law bought two screwed up shih tzu's from this lady. One that is 5 pounds at 3 yrs old, and one that is ferocious and cannot be around any people or other animals. Both have had numerous medical issues. I TOLD her not to buy a damn dog and adopt!!! Awful!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jun 11, 2019

    @Tia Chandler I'm a member of Mass Coalition to End Puppymills. We're looking into this breeder/ mill. Can you please send me a pm?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jun 11, 2019

    @Tia Chandler Please email me. I'm a member of Mass Coalition to End Puppymills. We're looking into Denise
    [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Feb 28, 2018

    She is a puppy broker. Orders her those pups in large quantities from mills out of new york and pensylvania they are shipped in by a trailer truck that doesn't provide heat, ac, fresh food or water during shipment-many pups don't even make it off that truck. Those barns behind her house are used to house an obscene amount of pups, not one of those dogs will ever frolics in her grass or live in the house with her. You can't see or hear those dogs stored in the barns- no windows & sound proof. Buyers don't know what they've got themselves into until it's too late, ALL local vets will tell you NOT to buy an animal from that woman. Unfortunately most people don't see or talk to a vet until after a purchase is made and tragedy strikes. She hires teenagers with no veterinary training to "care" for those pups. She lets those dogs die if they require any vet expenses prior to being sold. Her websites and ads are extremely convincing just like her, thats how she stays in business.

    +1 Votes
  • Co
      Aug 16, 2018

    @bewarepuppybroker Do you have proof that she is importing still? Please contact me ASAP, I’m with an animal welfare group looking into this matter. My email is cderochea.[protected]@gmail.com

    +2 Votes
  • Ch
      Aug 16, 2018

    @bewarepuppybroker We need your assistance. We are hearing she's importing pups..do you have proof? I'm a member of Mass Coalition to End Puppymills. We assisted in closing Elite Puppies in Webster MA and Laughlin Kennel in Oxford MA. Please contact me at [protected]@gmail.com...or Courtney Derochea at CDerochea.[protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Kw
      Jun 28, 2018

    I cannot believe this woman is still in business! I am devastated reading this. I got my Mia (Yorkie) from her 7 years ago and have spent thousands of dollars on her throughout her life because of bad breeding. When I brought her home she was so ill, I called Denise and she wanted to take her back and give me a healthy one is what she said. But I knew if I did that Mia would have been euthanized! I could not do that to my poor puppy. I nursed her night and day and was at the vet several times a week so she could get help breathing. To this day Mia has all kinds of medical issues and is on medication daily for the rest of her life. Something has to be done to stop this woman! I cannot believe the courts have let this go on!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
      Jul 10, 2018

    @KWMia I am so sorry to hear about your experience with Denise. I was also 'duped' by her website and smooth talk.
    There were a number of red flags that silently circled in my head but as the puppies were brought into the room, I lost focus of my concerns.
    I ended up getting a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel puppy which I now know I payed far too much for. However, he is a dear little guy. So far, I have had to deal with 2 different strains of parasites as well as some aggressive behavior. The behavior is getting better quickly as I believe that he now feels safe with me. If this is the extent of his issues then I will be forever grateful. When I watch my puppy, Rudy, running happily about my yard, I think to myself that I have a rescue dog. Best of luck with your Mia.

    -1 Votes
  • Kf
      Jul 10, 2018

    @Edith Anger Thank you for contacting me. I purchased two puppies from two puppies from Denise. She bring dogs in separately and knows how to pull those heartstrings. Both my puppies were sick the smallest on was the sickest. On pick up day she had to put her in a breathing chamber before we left as I was told it was a last treatment because she was small and was not eating well. When I went into her kitchen I saw so many signs of a backyard breeder that I recognized after leaving there and reading more about it. I ended calling her back days later because Mia did not want to eat and was still having trouble breathing. She wanted to me to bring her back and give me another healthier Yorkie. I refused. I was fortunate that the vet was right down the street from me and I was at home all day and nursed her to be able to live. She has had so many health issues but because I have been able to stay on top of them all she is going to be 9 this month and is my little princess. She will be on medicine for life but does have a quality of life thank goodness. I recently connected with another woman who in fact maybe related to my Mia and suffers many of the same issues. I am appalled that she is still in business. I wish there was something we can do. She runs a cash business too which should be a tax fraud investigation! Thank you for your email, I hope you beautiful baby gives you as much love as mine does me. I do believe we saved them!
    I am so afraid of those that are not as fortunate.
    Kathy

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Aug 16, 2018

    @Edith Anger Im with Mass Coalition to End Puppymills. My email address is [protected]@gmail.com
    Please reach out. We need customers assistance. Thank you

    +2 Votes
  • Ch
      Aug 16, 2018

    @KWMia Please contact me. I'm a member of Mass Coalition to End Puppymills. We want to help. My email address is [protected]@gmail.com

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Aug 16, 2018

    Please contact Mass Coalition to End Puppymills. We can assist.

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Nov 01, 2018

    I adopted a 4 month old King Charles Cavalier from Denise in Oct. 2017. A week after bringing him home, I noticed worms crawling in his poop. Week after week he kept having intense diarrhea. On one occasion I had to overnight him in the hospital on a Saturday only to pick him up and pay a $1, 800 medical bill. After months and months of having to stay up all night with him to continually take him out, I finally found a dog food that he is able to eat. It is a very expensive dog food that is grain free and made for dogs with extremely sensitive stomachs. I have no doubt that was due to his poor living conditions prior to his adoption. Unfortunately I was only able to piece together red flags only after reading into reviews that were very similar to mine.

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Jun 11, 2019

    @Andrew J.. I'm a member of Mass Coalition to End Puppymills. We're looking into this breeder/mill. Can you please send me a pm? We shut down Laughlin kennel in Oxford and Elite Puppies in Webster

    0 Votes

Post your comment