SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Cash4Gold / deceptive advertising!

1701 Blount Rd, Pompano Beach, FL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 800-241-1811

We decided to use Cash4Gold after reading the great references cited on their website. We were going to sell our jewelry on craigslist.com but thought this sounded like a more effective way to maximize our profits. WHAT A JOKE! I finally received my check after weeks and weeks of waiting with no word and no confirmation that they even received my jewelry -- I feared it was gone for good. It might as well be lost! For a 14K gold bracelet that I was offered $75, $85, and $90 for on craigslist I received a whopping $4.73! I felt instantly sick and feared the worst.

For some small diamonds that they took our of a ring they paid me $0.21. Yes, that is twenty-one cents. Add in a 14k ring and pair of earrings and my total windfall was $7.51. I feel like I've been sucker punched and just hope someone reads this and saves themself the time, energy and agony of going through this process.

This is a scam people. I don't how they got Forbes and the BBB to endorse them -- perhaps they did a few good deals at first to get the recognition but now they are nothing but thieves.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ja
      May 07, 2008

    SERIOUSLY! What a [censored]ing SCAM! I sent one ounce of silver to see what they would pay (going rate is about $17/ounce) and I got a check for $1.90! To get my silver back, I have to pay a $15 shipping fee what a bunch of [censored]bags! I hope those ### get shut down.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      May 10, 2008

    I ALSO WAS SCREWED OVER BY THIS ### ### COMPANY ! I MAILED OFF OVER 7, 00 DOLLARS IN GOLD AND DIAMONDS ! AFTER TWO WEEKS OF HEARING NOTHING FROM THE COMPANY I FINALLY CALLED THEM, AND OF CORSE "THEY DIDNT RECEIVE IT" WICH I ALREADY KNOW IS ### ! TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT AFTER A MONTH AND TRYING TO GET ANSWERS FROM ABOUT 7 DIFFERENT PEOPLE FROM THE COMPANY I WAS FINALLY MAILED A CHECK FOR 100.00 DOLLARS ! BECAUSE THIS IS THE MOST YOUR PACKAGE IS INSURED FOR ! DO NOT USE THEM !!! YOUR BETTER OFF SELLING ON EBAY OR CRAIGSLIST ! PLEASE SPREAD THE WORD AROUND ABOUT THIS ### COMPANY !

    0 Votes
  • Em
      May 15, 2008

    Thats what makes horseracing. I have used the three times as a test the first and real expensive goods the 2nd and 3rd time. I new how much gold was there and was offred mor then my jeweler. The only problem is it takes us mail longer then you think to get there. I used the fast pay option and had my money within 48 hours of them sighining for my check. Bye the way they must have diffrent prices based on volume cause I got $9.00 for my silver.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Jun 03, 2008

    All of these television promotions are scams. You can make millions with your invention if you use OUR invention consulting service - JUST pay us $8, 000 in fees. Put your valuables in an enevelope and send them to us - we'll send you a check in a few short weeks - FOR PENNIES ON THE DOLLAR.

    There are con-artists out there who lay awake at night thinking up new ways to screw John Q. Public. Anytime you hand over your money or valuables to someone else, YOU ARE AT THEIR MERCY - AND THEY GIVE ANY MERCY. Once it is in their pocket, you'll NEVER get it back.

    This Cash4Gold scheme asks you to give them your blind trust and that they will give you the most amount of money for your old jewelry.

    I can only suggest that anyone desirous of selling their gold go to a reputable jewelery store and ask them their opinion of the items worth. But NEVER put your items into an envelope and mail them off. The first step in creating the con is to get the 'mark' to trust them. Next comes the allure and the promise of money. Finally comes the swindle in the form of a token check repaying the sender (mark) a few pennies on the dollar. It's a SCAM - plain and simple.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 11, 2008

    thank you for this website, i was going to send cash4gold my gold and after reading these complaints, forget it. i felt somewhat ill at ease when they advertised just to send it in blindly. does'nt seem very secure me.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jun 14, 2008

    was, I fool when I saw it on TV I thought it was a good idea because they said to send any jewelry in and get a good deal while that was not true because I got a check today for .29 cents and I am going to send it back and they can stick it where it counts.They are a scam and I dont think they should get away with it. There should be something somebody can do.

    0 Votes
  • Et
      Jul 01, 2008

    YES THEY ARE A SCAM AND A BIG FRAUD.

    The check they are issuing are FAKE! And I got one of those fake checks that they sent for my jewelry.

    I have also filed a complaint on this board about the FAKE CHECK they sent me, so if you happen to be holding any check that Cash4Gold had sent you, PLEASE KEEP IT AS PROOF, call the bank written in the check and verify the check. If they confirm that it is, then please also file a REPORT to the FTC, FBI, BBB, & USPS.

    THIS COMPANY SHOULD BE TAKEN DOWN FOR OPERATING A HUGE FRAUD!

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Jul 21, 2008

    I, too, sent them my 18K wedding band and an antique sterling silver herringbone necklace. First, like many of the others, they kept claiming they hadn't received it after 3 weeks, then once I got pretty testy they admitted they did have my package and would be issuing a check within 24 hours. I received the check on July 19, 2008 for $5.62, claiming my ring was 12K and the necklace was only worth $0.09. You have 10 days from the date of the check to return it and receive back your items, guess what, the check was dated 7/11/08!!! This gave me only 2 days to return their stupid check! So I emailed them and told them I was "officially" notifying them I would be returning their check and wanted my things back. I received a response that they would pull my items and return them as soon as they received their check.
    WHAT A RIP OFF- THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING WE AS CONSUMERS CAN DO TO STOP THESE MISLEADING ADVERTISEMENTS!!!
    PLEASE, PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE...GO TO A REPUTABLE JEWELER OR APPRAISER. DON'T GET CAUGHT BY THIS "TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE" ADVERTISEMENT.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 23, 2008

    I hate to say this, but I could have told you all this a long time ago. I first saw their commercial on TV several months back and it made me sick just watching the "testimonial" actors do their performing. With the price of gold the way it is, they have a perfect setup for themselves. They know that the fiat money, which is what we have today, is truly worthless (it's not real money, gold is) that if they can get people to turn in their gold, silver, platinum, precious jewels, etc. then they can make a killing by melting the gold down to gold bars themselves then turn right around and sell it for high, high, and ever growing higher prices. The price of gold, silver, and precious metals is going higher and still higher. Please, for your futures sake, never, never turn your real gold and silver into something as worthless as paper currency. We as a nation went off the gold standard back in Pres. Nixon's day and that has messed up ever since. I say all of this to wake you up, not to judge. I hate to see anyone scammed. Yes, indeed, these OPPORTUNISTS are a SCAM!

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jul 24, 2008

    well i watched that commercial and my family and we wondered out loud who in the world would be stupid enough to send it off like that. the whole thing looked so fake and "SCAM" was practically stamped on the commercial. seriously, why would you even try it??

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Aug 18, 2008

    I have actually had very good service with this company. I sent in some silver and a necklace and recieved a check within 48 hours of their receipt and it was for MORE than i would have got selling it myself. I have also had no problems with their checks.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
      Aug 28, 2008

    These criminals need to be put out of business. They are robbing people without a gun. Good remarks are people working for them. There is nothing good to say about thiefs.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Aug 29, 2008

    I sent dental gold that included two Gold teeth and a pontic (the middle piece). It totalled .27 Troy ounces and was 14K and a local jeweler had already offered me $47 for it. Thinking it should be worth more, I sent it to Cah4Gold. Big mistake. I did promptly get a check for $7.00. That's right, that decision cost me at least $40 and maybe more. Avoid this company like the plague. They are ripoffs.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      Sep 09, 2008

    ### THE COMPANY!GIVING ME ###!### THE COMPANY!

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      Sep 09, 2008

    I HATE THE STUPIT COMPANY!THE COMPANY IS A BIG FAT WASTE OF TIME!I CAN'T BELIEVE I WASTED MY TIME WITH FREAKIN CRAP!I WISH THAT COMPANY WOULD BURN IN HELL!
    IF I EVER SEE CHEAP MONEY ### LIKE THAT AGAIN I'LL SEND A ROBOT TO BURN THAT PIECE OF CRAP!




    ITS THE SUCKIEST EVILEST BADEST COMPANY EVER!I'M NEVER GONNA WASTE TIME WITH IT
    AGAIN!

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Sep 09, 2008

    I am not here to bash on anyone, but I must wonder about poster Emily who misspelled the most simpliest of words. That alone says to me you cannot take this persons opinion seriously and anyone can take advantage of her. I was about to use them and a very good friend of mine did it a few months ago. She never advised me of it because she was embarassed. She sent her 1 1/2 carat sapphire cut 14K white gold band engagement ring. She felt the diamond district in Manhattan who is notorious for offering the lowest of prices to purchase and then sell at more than 100% was not offering a fair deal (highest offer was $900.00.) The ring cost her former fiance a little over 3500 grand because of the diamond quality and cut (G/H range) and of course the white gold. She said after close to 11 weeks of waiting she received a check for a $8.00 and change! She was in tears. She did report them to the Better Business Bureau and Consumer Affairs, but was told she had no recourse since she basically agreed to whatever there terms are the minute she sent the ring. Thank goodness she warned me and it was just to save me some heartache. I was about to send a few thousand dollars worth of jewelry. I'll stick to craigslist, ebay, and even consider the diamond district. That ring was absolutely gorgeous. I wouldn't doubt they are selling it now for more than her former fiance paid.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      Sep 13, 2008

    QUIT SENDING ME ### MONEY!I'M GONNA DESTROY THE COMPANY FOR BOTHERING ME!

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Sep 18, 2008

    I sent in 5 rings, one 14kt, 2 12 kt, 2 10 kt. I didn't research what they base their payments on, but I really figured I might get $50 for everything. Call me foolish. I did get a check quickly, but it was only for $18.00. Pretty disappointing. I would definitely visit a local jeweler if you are determined to sell, because you can decline the offer if you aren't satisfied without having to pay $15.00 to get your stuff back!

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Sep 28, 2008

    I was intrigued when I saw the commercial so I started researching. several websites appeared to be genuine consumer investigations into the company that I suspect are in fact written by the company. If it makes you feel better, I am sure you have helped others to not get scammed.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Oct 13, 2008

    I had the same problem with cashforgoldusa! They told me my offer was so low because the jewelry was gold plated. I told them I would sooner believe the belgium prince that is going to send me ten million dollars from his grandfather's mining fund if I just send him my bank account and routing number. I am normally pretty happy with my purchases online. I am not exactly the guy that falls for Viagra or Cialis emails. I do have to admit that I tried Blogging for dollars and a few other borderline scams. I will let you know how I do with Shop2Earn... Hehehe

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Oct 15, 2008

    I sent my jewelry to Cash4Gold on Saturday, Oct 4th. I called and they said they received my jewelry on Friday, Oct. 10th.(This is about right. I work for the USPS.) They told me my check would go out in Monday's mail. well, Monday was a Holiday.So I guess that means Tuesday's mail. here is a list of what I sent. 4-14K rings, 1-14K necklace, 2-10K rings, 2-10K bracelets, 1-10K pendant, 1- 24K necklace. Don't know the outcome yet, but after reading all of these comments I feel sick. I will defiinetly keep you guys posted.

    0 Votes
  • Au
      Oct 23, 2008
    Cash4Gold - What A Rip Off
    United States

    On August 20, 2008 I sent to Cash4Gold their package they sent to me, to send in my jewlery. They garenteed that I would receive a sizable check within a few days. Needless to say they never received the package.
    Now tell me with today USPostal Service HOW A PACKAGE can get lost?? Well, supposidly mine did. the tracking number they gave me is not the same as the Us Postal uses so there is no way to track my package. I sent in over $1, 000.00 worth of old and broken gold jewerly, and I received a phone call from them this morning telling me they will be sending me a check for $57.12.
    They say they guarentee all packages for up too $100.00, so they are sending me a check for $57.12. I am so furious with them I will be looking into some sort of legal action. What ever you do, DO NOT TRUST THEM WITH YOUR JEWERLY, IT IS NOTHING BUT A BIG FRAUD.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Nov 01, 2008

    Due to several reasons the information has been removed

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Nov 04, 2008

    awsum write up. i could tell a rip off from the commercials, late at nite, etc... they offered me 25 bucks 4 a ring appraised at 2300 bucks, whats that about?

    +2 Votes
  • Jo
      Nov 05, 2008

    Before you decide to do anything Cash4Gold related, read this:

    http://www.cockeyed.com/citizen/goldkit/cheat.shtml

    I sent them 3 (THREE) wedding bands, all of which had diamonds in them. I got a check back for $16.10 (sixteen dollars and a dime). Then I got the flu and was sick for some time. Sent them back their check and told them NO DEAL. I was ### out of luck. You have 10 days to return the check after you receive it or you're out of luck.

    DON'T DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE. THEY RIP YOU OFF!

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Nov 07, 2008

    I sent my gold to cash4gold on November 1, 2008. It is now November 7, 2008. I called them and of course you can not get any one or leave a messege. I went on the website and was told they did not recieve my package yet. After reading all these complaints, my hopes has been let down a great deal. I guess I will have to wait to see what dollar amount they will send me. I will keep you posted.

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Nov 07, 2008

    i worked there also the facility is a warehouse that is not well kept and the area is not a safe location either go see it yourself people eat on the same area they worked but commission worked exactly how it was phrased above people have gotten fired for not making any extra cash for the company and i have witnessed testers getting sick there also
    the best option is to go to a pawnshop and you get more or the same right away and they did admit to me that rip off websites have been bribed to remove complaints.

    +2 Votes
  • Pa
      Nov 09, 2008

    I agree with everyone 100%.Cash 4 Gold is the biggest ripoff around.I trusted them with my Sterling Silver, about a pound, and only recieved a check for $4.93.I wish I had found this site before I sent it off to them.I do wish something could be done about Cash 4 Gold.BIG RIPOFF!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Nov 10, 2008

    I've read this blog about the Cash4Gold Scam. Sad to say, but I am one of their victims. I sent them diamond jewelries worth more than $10, 000 US Dollars. On top of that, they were all from my husband, which made them more valuable. They sent me a check worth $190 US Dollars. I thought that if they were joking, it was NOT funny all all! I called the customer service hotline and complained. They said they would add $300+ US Dollars, but of course I didn't accept it. They were willing to add more, because obviously they know my jewelries are worth a lot! I sent the check back as priority mail with delivery confirmation. I checked the status on USPS.com and it says it was delivered. They should be sending my jewelries back soon, but I am worried they might change the stones (VVS DIAMONDS) or pretend they mailed them, or say it got lost in the mail. In case I don't get my stuff back, I WILL SUE THEM!!! I have all the proof I need to put them down! Is anyone here willing to help me testify against Cash 4 Gold? Please click the link beside my user name (cash4gold victim) above and send me an email.

    +3 Votes
  • Ja
      Nov 18, 2008

    I sent them a 14k gold wedding band and they sent me a check for $8.32. Gold was selling for $860/oz., so I sent their check back and requested my ring be returned. It is now nearly 3 months later, and I still have not received my property back!

    So much for the "100% satisfaction guarantee"!!

    I am contacting the U.S. Postal Inspector, the BBB, and whoever else I think might be able to shut these people down or get them to honor their agreements! This is nothing short of fraud and misrepresentation.

    (Yeah - my bad for having trusted the "Fortune 500 Gold Medal" sticker on their website, and trusting that a company that advertises nationally would be reputable.)

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Nov 19, 2008

    I mailed in my Cash4Gold and the company never received it. Thank goodness I took pictures of the jewerly I sent to them. I had to email them a notarized letter (which cost me $9) stating what was in the envelop. It is now in their Insurance Processing Claims and can take up to 30 days for a settlement. I don't know what the settlement will be, but will keep you posted. I wish I did some research on the web before I sent out my jewerly.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Nov 26, 2008

    I called that company progressive-environmental.com and got to their refining division. I got there name from this blog, so thanks. They said that they have been receiving calls from the Cash4Gold blog and can't believe that people are being cheated so bad. There are some good people out there who still have integrity. Save yourself some heartache. Call there precious metal division, deal with professionals and get a very fair return for your goods. I priced my gold items with two jewelers, a pawnshop and a local gold buyer and this progressive-environmental company beat them all by over 20%.

    It's not their main business and they use the gold buying just for cash flow; How come no one has shut down cash4gold or there other rip off company, estate buyers.com. Wake up america there are crooks out there. A pretty commercial doesn't do it.

    By the way, there number was given to me so I'm passing it forward...800-323-9785 ext 12 or progressive-environmental.com. Good luck!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
      Nov 28, 2008

    Did you all see Debroha Norville on Inside Edition? They showed what a ripoff Cash4Gold truly is. They got a F rating from the Gold Dealer Association of America. They offerered $200.00 to their seller when the jewelry was worth over $1200.00. They said they would double it to $400.00 if they would be quiet about the mistake, I guess. They called Cash4 Gold a ripoff company!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Nov 29, 2008

    Cash4gold.com is doing a valuable community service. Anyone stupid enough to send valuables to a stranger deserves to be violated. The next time they will actually use thier brain.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Nov 29, 2008

    This was my first thought when I saw these ads. They make no mention of getting insurance on these shipments so things are going to get "lost" in the mail.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Nov 30, 2008
    Cash4Gold - no money paid for my jewerly
    cash4gold
    po bx451
    wheelwright
    United States
    Phone: 606-452-2840

    on 11-19-2008, sent 3 braclets 2rope, 1 link all 10k1wed band(man)size 10, 10k scrap 1 earring, broken man;ring with small diamond setting 10k, stated 24hrs service, tracking#c4go894826, keeps stating still in transit to them. i was a fool i never sent as confirmation of delivery, the ads read so honest...as of 11-30-2008 . nothing. really needed money for grandchildren christ-mas, i live on fixed income... guess there is nothing like an OLD FOOL.

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Nov 30, 2008

    How are you people so stupid? How on gods green earth can you sit there and watch an infomercial at 2am and think its a great idea? These companies appeal to the lowest common denominators...and guess what? You are it. You people send off your gold and silver to company you saw on TV during reruns of Cheers?

    Anyway, if you would pay attention, you would see on their website that you have the option of refusing their check. And you can get your gold back. Guess what...when you refuse their offer to them via phone, they have an offer waiting for you to make you happy. Its how sales work. Call them back (for those of you that havent already cashed your pathetic check...you stupid stupid people) and tell them you are refusing their offer, they then will offer you a near market rate for your gold.

    Stop being stupid. Or continue, it makes for amusing sundays while I read your pathetic cries.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Nov 30, 2008

    i was thinking of sending them something i did not know how much it was worth but was going to take the risk but after reading this i won't.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Dec 01, 2008

    I sent in two pocket watches, a gold ring, gold cufflinks, silver chains, silver tie tacks, silver jewelry box and they sent me $4.20!!!

    They said they would turn it around fast.. it took weeks and then they would not give me an answer then they sent me this ridiculous check.

    They are a fraud. This is a scam.

    I hope no one else gets taken like I did.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Dec 04, 2008

    OMG people dont tell me this. I sent them 7 ounces of 14K gold and it took over a week for them to say online that they got it. Now gold prices have been very high until like 2 days ago so i belive they waited till the prices started going down on purpose so they wouldnt have to pay out so much. Right now gold is at $729.00 a troy ounce. I did my research before ever sending them my gold. I also looked them up on Ripp off reprts too and it was all goood not like here. I know they have to make something out of it but what...they take it all is what it seems from what im reading here. You people are scaring me. This is a refinery and thats where you go not a jewlary store to sell or a pawn shop. Its a known fact you send your scrap gold and silver and stuff like that to the refinery. For what I sent I better get more than what you people are saying or I want all my stuff back. You people need to be putting these complaints on line as well to the site Ripp Off Reports too. I was lucky to find this place. Dang Im worried now. Like I said I did major research first and from what I sound out was they are a good company but now I dont know. Ill be back if all I get is nothing. My gold is 53 % good so with gold being high because the economy is so bad people should be getting more than what you guys are saying your getting. Well see Ill be back and let you know what I got.

    0 Votes

Post your comment