SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Carbonite.com / didn't work & didn't refund

1 TX, United States Review updated:

Date: Sat 2011 Jul 23
I have had the same problem since I tried to sign up with the service...they had no trouble charging me:

July 09, 2010: 8:56:12 PM CDT Order confirmation and special thank you
(07/12/2010 Debit - Deposit Product EFT VISA R[censored] 07/10CRB*CARBONITE BACKUP877-6654466, MA $54.95


I live in a recreational park that hosts free wifi. I do not have massive movie, picture or music files. I can only figure the variable signal strength seems to be a problem with their system. But, wherever the problem lies, I could not get any resolution or Carbonite to accept that there was no resolution and just refund my money.

As such, my files were never backed up, this is the circuitous route my dealings with this company have taken...

From: MaryMac <[protected]@gmail.com>
Subject: Fwd: I have deleted your program (using your delete function)
and tried to reinstall, ... [Incident: [protected]]
Date: July 27, 2010 1:49:56 PM CDT
To: jeffrey.[protected]@carbonite.com
Jeffrey Robison, VP - Customer Care & Operations -
jeffrey.[protected]@carbonite.com
Fwd email...
===============+=============
Begin forwarded message:

From: MaryMac <[protected]@gmail.com>
Date: July 27, 2010 1:47:59 PM CDT
To: "Carbonite Mac Support" <[protected]@mailnj.custhelp.com>
Subject: Re: I have deleted your program (using your delete function)
and tried to reinstall, ... [Incident: [protected]]
Tried to work with your chat...
after 3 people, still didn't get help! (see attached)
Maybe you could "call" me?
xxx-xxx-xxxx

From: Carbonite Mac Support <[protected]@carbonite.com>
Subject: I have deleted your program (using your delete function) and tried to reinstall, ... [Incident: [protected]]
Date: July 26, 2010 2:23:55 PM CDT
To: Mary Mac
Reply-To: Carbonite Mac Support <[protected]@mailnj.custhelp.com>
Response (Gabriel K.)
Hello Mary and thank you for contacting Carbonite Customer Support.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.
We have reviewed your account and it shows that your computer could not contact our servers since 7/23/2010. It indicates that there might be something else on your computer which may have blocked Carbonite. In order to free up Carbonite and to resume the backup, you will need to 'manually' remove. Carbonite. As you have already removed using the automatic function, we request you to please contact us on chat. We will access your computer in order to solve this problem for you on your computer itself. For that, please click on http://carbonite.custhelp.com/app/chat/chat_landing/email/[email protected]/first_name/Mary/last_name/McIntosh/subject/Restore/cat/30/partner/carbonite. We have a program called Bomgar that can enable us to access your computer and resolve the issue for you. It's a small program that you download temporarily so that we can see what you are seeing and are able to better assist you. Our chat support is available 24 x 7.
Using the offer code KIM provides 2 bonus months instead of a discount on price. But your account shows that you have not entered the offer code while purchasing the subscription. You must enter the offer codes while purchasing for the bonus months to be added automatically. However, we have added 2 months to your subscription and now it will expire on 09/22/2011 instead of 07/22/2011. To verify that, please login at www.carbonite.com/manage and click on My Protected Computers tab.
Please let us know if you need additional assistance.
Sincerely,
Gabriel K.
Carbonite Customer Support
www.carbonite.com
Back it up. Get it back.
Important Message: If you have recently restored your Carbonite backup to a Windows 7 or Windows Vista computer, please take a moment to verify your backup settings. Visit http://carbonite.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id//2654 for instructions.
For the latest news, tips, and discussions about Carbonite, visit our blog at www.carbonite.com/blog.
A note from our Vice President of Customer Care & Operations: Thank you for writing to us at Carbonite. We take our relationship with you, our customer, very seriously and value your feedback, comments, and ideas. If you have any feedback about your latest interaction with our Customer Care team or about Carbonite in general, please let me know. My contact information is Jeffrey Robison, VP - Customer Care & Operations - jeffrey.[protected]@carbonite.com. Thank you, Jeff

 Customer (Mary McIntosh)
This is cc of emails through your customer service link...
Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:49:30AM To: http://carbonite.custhelp.com/app/ask I have deleted your program (using your delete function) and tried to reinstall, but every time I try to go to your site I get, "Server is too busy". This is beyond ridiculous. I sent the files you requested, I followed up
with an email several days later, and I have still not heard a word from you. Kommando recommends you and (supposedly) offers a discount. There are quite a few other sites that offer a discount of $49.46 1yr, yet I was billed $54.95???? Is her subscribers getting a discount? Please!!! Either get this fixed now, with appropriate credits, or refund my account.
Attach Documents:
1. July 09, 2010 8:56:12 PM CDT Order confirmation and special thank you.rtf (30K)
2. 07/21/2010 03:37 PM re_
mlm-macbookCarboniteBackupOne-Year CX-00932...[Incident_ [protected]].rtf (1.3K) Thanks for submitting your question. Use this reference number for follow up: #[protected]

Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:49:30AM To: http://carbonite.custhelp.com/app/ask Customer (Mary McIntosh)
07/26/2010 11:48 AM
I have deleted your program (using your delete function) and tried to reinstall, but every time I try to go to your site I get, "Server is too busy". This is beyond ridiculous. I sent the files you requested, I followed up with an email several days later, and I have still not heard a word from you. Kommando recommends you and (supposedly) offers a discount. There are several other sites that offer a discount, yet I was billed $54.95????
Either this gets fixed now, with appropriate credits, or refund my account.Attach

Documents: 1. July 09, 2010 8:56:12 PM CDT Order confirmation and special thank you.rtf (30K)
2. 07/21/2010 03:37 PM re_mlm-macbookCarboniteBackupOne-Year CX-00932...[Incident_ [protected]].rtf (1.3K) Thanks for submitting your question. Use this reference number for follow up: #[protected]
Question Reference #[protected]
Operating System Level 1: Mac
Category Level 1: Subscriptions and Billing
Date Created: 07/26/2010 11:48 AM
[---001:004658:58027---]

Carbonite 7/27/10 1:07pm
Gabriel K. requested I "chat" [Incident: [protected]]
Ashley M.: Hi, my name is Ashley M.. How may I help you?
Ashley M.: Hi Mary
Mary McIntosh: Hi Ashley... Gabriel K. requested I "chat" ... [Incident: [protected]]
Ashley M.: Mary, you are using Mac. Hence let me transfer your chat to Mac department.
Mary McIntosh: k.
Ashley M.: Sure.
Ashley M. has disconnected.
Ralph R.: Hi, my name is Ralph R.. How may I help you?
Mary McIntosh: Hi Ralph Gabriel K. requested I "chat"   [Incident: [protected]]
Ralph R.: Okay
Ralph R.: Please let me know the issue you are experiencing with Carbonite.
Mary McIntosh: We have reviewed your account and it shows that your computer could not contact our servers since 7/23/2010. It indicates that there might be something else on your computer which may have blocked Carbonite. In order to free up Carbonite and to resume the backup, you will need to 'manually' remove. Carbonite. As you have already removed using the automatic function, we request you to please contact us on chat. We will access your computer in order to solve this problem for you on your computer itself. For that, please click on  http://carbonite.custhelp.com/app/chat/chat_landing/email/[email protected]/first_name/Mary/last_name/McIntosh/subject/Restore/cat/30/partner/carbonite. We have a program called Bomgar that can enable us to access your computer and resolve the issue for you. It's a small program that you download temporarily so that we can see what you are seeing and are able to better assist you. Our chat support is available 24 x 7.
Mary McIntosh: Orig request:
Mary McIntosh: Customer (Mary McIntosh)΋/21/2010 09:58 AM
re: mlm-macbook Carbonite Online Backup One-Year Subscription CX-[protected]
I have had this subscription for a couple of weeks and it still has not progressed even to half of my computer's data. I admit I have a LOT of pictures; but this is getting silly. I unchecked the setting for "low-priority" and it didn't appear to make a difference in the speed. So, what am I doing wrong that is making the initial backup soooo slow. I live in a recreation area, where I utilize their free wifi through Time Warner. Is this a problem? If so, how can I mitigate? I like this idea, but am worried about the amount of time it takes to upload.
Ralph R.: Please allow me a moment.
Mary McIntosh: stiil there?
Ralph R.: Mary, I have reviewed your account and our records indicate that your computer has not contacted our servers since 7/23/2010. We would request you to please try to uninstall and then reinstall Carbonite.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Mary McIntosh: message 3:
Mary McIntosh: Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:49:30AM

To:  http://carbonite.custhelp.com/app/ask
I have deleted your program (using your delete function) and tried to reinstall, but every time I try to go to your site I get, "Server is too busy". This is beyond ridiculous. I sent the files you requested, I followed up with an email several days later, and I have still not heard a word from you.
Mary McIntosh: What about... "We have a program called Bomgar that can enable us to access your computer and resolve the issue for you. It's a small program that you download temporarily so that we can see what you are seeing and are able to better assist you."
Mary McIntosh: Are you able to read previous emails back & forth?
Ralph R.: Mary, I sincerely apologize however I am not Mac specific. If you wish I can transfer this chat to any Mac specific rep who will assist you to resolve this issue.
Mary McIntosh: I was just sent to a Mac "rep" by previous person????????!!!
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Mary McIntosh: Hello?
Ralph R.: Please allow me a moment. 1:29:16pm
Communication with Ralph R. has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
You will be requeued in approximately 120 seconds. 1:31:28 pm
Sheldon P.: Hi, my name is Sheldon P.. How may I help you?
Sheldon P.: Hi, my name is Sheldon P.. How may I help you?
Ralph R. has left the chat.
Mary McIntosh: Do I have t retype everything? 1:32:36pm
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed. 1:33:43pm
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed. 1:34:25PM
Mary McIntosh: hello?
Connection resumed. 1:34:54
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds. 1:35:33
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds. 1:36:05
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Mary McIntosh: What is with all discon
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds. 1:38:38
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Mary McIntosh: Sheldon???????
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds. 1:41:45
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Connection resumed.
Mary McIntosh: Going to disconnect…. I guess!
Communication with the RightNow Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.
Disconnection in 240 seconds.


On Jul 27, 2010 after receiving the email below, I tried to AGAIN let their program install and upload my files. It failed. I called “customer support and was told I had to use to online system. After just being beyond dealing with them anymore, I gave up.

Then today (Jul 23rd, 2011), out of the blue, I get the following email...

From: Carbonite Customer Care <[protected]@clickemail.carbonite.com>
Subject: Billing Notice - Credit Card on file has expired
Date: July 23, 2011 8:40:23 AM CDT
To: Mary McIntosh <[protected]@gmail.com>
Reply-To: [protected]@clickemail.carbonite.com

Updated payment info needed to continue your backup service

Credit Card on file has expired
Dear Mary,
Your Carbonite Online Backup subscription for mlm-macbook is scheduled to automatically renew in 60 days. However, our records indicate that your credit card, ending in 3943, has expired (or will expire before the scheduled renewal date).
To ensure that your backup service continues uninterrupted, please take a moment and update your payment information.


Updating your information is quick and easy. Please don't delay.

If you have any questions about updating your payment information, please contact Customer Support.

Sincerely,
The Carbonite Team

So, one more time I tried the ‘customer service’ phone number and was told to go to the link to ‘cancel’ my service so that my credit card would not be charged again. He could not understand that it is my old debit card on file which won’t let them charge AND that this is not the point. You cannot cancel what you never had!

Then he tells me that after he reviewed my account, “it shows that several contacts were made about the failure to back up any information, but a request to refund was never completed. We have set steps for processing a cancellation and refund that is to be done within the first ninety days of service.” ...

Me: “So, you are telling me that this was not done after my conversations with the techs who stated that ‘varying bandwidth’ interferes with transmission and causes the service to time-out.”
(Howard): “A request for cancellation and refund must follow the set steps and this was not done.”
Me: “I don’t understand. Are you saying this was not completed by your tech, or this is my fault for not doing your steps?”
(Howard): “To complete a cancellation and request a refund, three steps must be done. The first step... [went through all three steps].”
Me: “So this _is_ my fault despite trying to work with the techs & relying on what they said?”
(Howard): “This is not what my voice is saying.”
Me: “Is there someone else I can talk to?”
(Howard): “I am the customer service representative.”
Me: “May I speak to someone in the states?”
(Howard): “The United States?”
Me: “Yes.”
(Howard): “No, there is no one in the United States.”
Me: “Look, what address and name do I use to file a complaint”
(Howard): “You can file a complaint at carbonate.com/
Me: “You have no physical address for written correspondence?”
(Howard): “Can I help you in any other way, today?”
Me: “I guess not, huh?”

I give up. Let them try to charge an expired card.
~Mary.

More Carbonite.com Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Bl
      Sep 02, 2009
    Carbonite.com - No customer support
    Carbonite.com
    United States

    After paying for the backup service, my computer crashed.

    I followed directions to retrieve my lost files, but nothing was restored.

    I sent several emails to Carbonite explaining the problem.

    After waiting two weeks for their reply I sent another email complaining about the service. I am still waiting for a reply from their so-called customer support.

    0 Votes
  • Up
      May 21, 2011

    Need my backup files restored as of 5/12/2011. After I had to take my HP pc back to factory settings, I lost my files.
    Wasn't concerned as I believed Carbonite would restore them. HA, HA, and HA! Have wasted hours with tech support
    to enable me to restore them to 5/12/2011 which is before the reset of my computer. Yesterday a tech asked for control
    of my computer to reset them. Trying to submit the necessary info, I kept getting the empty outlines of some program for
    a grand total of 145 that had to be deleted. As I worked deleting them, the call was cut off.

    For two days I talked with various techs with no rememdy. Yesterday one kept telling me I had no account when he kept
    entering the wrong ID after asking me to repeat it which I did phonetically three times. He kept hearing an "i" instead of
    the correct "a". Finally he listened and found the account, but was no help when he did find it. Sent an email this am with
    no response yet, but hopefully one will come. Have some restored folders, but they are empty.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
      Jun 20, 2011
    Carbonite.com - Carbonite is fine if you only have a minimal amount of data to backup
    Carbonite.com
    United States
    carbonite.com

    Carbonite is fine if you only have a minimal amount of data to backup. If you are a person trying to backup like a Terabyte well forget it! As soon as your trial period ends whatever you have yet to backup is going to start backup up at a ridiculously slow pace because they throttle your upload speed way down right after your trial ends. (ironically that's right after they hit you with there NON-REFUNDABLE fee.)

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Sep 11, 2012

    I'd say the problem is that this is NOT Carbonite. Look at the address:

    Carbonite [protected]@clickemail.carbonite.com

    Genuine Carbonite would have a Carbonite email, not "clickemail.carbonite.com"

    Go to Carbonite and look at some of the contact addresses.

    0 Votes

Post your comment