SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Capitec Bankfeedback / response

Review updated:

To whom it may concern

Please note money (r1200.00) was withdrawn from my capitec savings account on thursday 18.08.2011 at 23:27pm from lighthouse mall in umhlanga and I live in isipingo. I had queried the unauthorised transaction with capitec customer care who said they cannot do anything I need to go to the nearest capitec branch to lay a complaint no reference number was given and no other assitance was offered. I went to the prospecton branch on friday and explained to the bank teller money was stolen from my account and he said just join the queue to see a consultant. After 15 min finally the branch manager approached to ask if I have been assisted when I explained my problem he asked to sit some where else in the bank and after 10min I was seen to by a bank teller. She explained that the very same card I had was used for the unauthorised transaction so I said this must be card cloning as I have my bank card with me she then later said I dont have proof that I was at home at the time of the incident. Seriously! How do you tell your client that as if I would do this to myself! I was told the info will be faxed to head office and get a call on the progress. Still awaiting a call from the bank. I lodged a complaint on hello peter and capitec complaints dept responed saying they would contact me within a days time - its been 3 days so far with no contact what so ever from capitec

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Pf
      Aug 13, 2014

    Hello I since waited for the response regarding the Hanis (Home Affairs National Identification System) report and did you contact the investigating officer CST mathebula on case number1269/05/2014""Cell [protected], , because he agreed to help with anything regarding this case and clearing my name.Biggest concern is that I got a job and they want a Capitec bank account !since I don't have it . I'm going to loose the job this is so hard for me and I have been waiting for nearly 10 months for my name to be cleared and your forensic said it only takes 14 days, it's so heart breaking

    0 Votes
  • Ph
      Dec 21, 2015

    Capitec Bank is the worst bank ever, I had reactivated my capitec account on the last week of October 2015 and on the first week of a
    November 2015 i mistakenly transfered R500 into an incorrect number through cellphone banking, I laid a complaint there and then and I was not happy with the response or the way my incident was handled. I have laid that complaint since the first week of November 2015 now it is the 21st of December still no progress, each tie I call them to get feedback on my incident they tell me that they will escalate it the next department and only last week I was told that if I make any errors via cellphone banking it is my fault. I was never told this when reactivating the account only after the mistake has been done they tell me and gave me a print out that states such. I am fed up with this bank and I hate it with a passion. I will never advise anyone to open an account at Capitec Bank yes their rates are cheap so is their service. To date I still do not have feedback or my money. Then only recently they advised me to call that person that I had mistakenly sent my money to myself and resolve this myself.What kind of bank says that to a client. Go to FNB and you know what you pay for I would of had my money 3-5 days later. Since this incident I have changed Bakst for both my parents and close relatives. I am grateful that there are banks such as FNB in this world they make life easier.anyone can call me for this testimony Phumela [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mp
      Jan 09, 2016

    22 December 2015 around 9am, went to withdraw money from the Capitec atm and my card was swallowed by the machine, I went to the main branch to report the incident and I was told that there were transactions on my account and I didn't make those transaction. I was told they will investigate the matter and they will respond in 11 days time, the investigation lady who called me from capitec said they will reimburse my salary due to the fact that the card was used along with my pin number, I could have given the scammers my card. I am so disappointed with capitec and gutted, I even told my siblings of the incident. However I am not resting I am escalating the matter to other avenues to get my money back

    0 Votes
  • No
      May 03, 2016

    Someone named Nelisiwe Dube went to the bank and closed my account because she suspected fraud. She sent me a payment of R300 through cellphone banking and I think it reported twice on her side so she claimed I stole money from her account. Then after a while she noticed it was only one payment of R300 that went out from her account not two. When I went to the bank for them to re- open my account they told me the person who went to the bank to close my account must go back and re-open it. She went to the bank to re-open my account but they told her there is an amount of R750 that she needs to pay because her account has got too many transactions.

    Now my question is why do I have to suffer because this is not my fault I did nothing wrong on my side. This Nelisiwe even went to the police station and got an affidavit to say I did not steal her money it was a mistake on her side but still my account is frozen which I dont get why. She is refusing to pay the money that the bank said she must pay. So what should I do to get my account opened because I use that account for my blankets business. Please let me know Regards Noma [protected]

    0 Votes
  • An
      Oct 18, 2016

    I by accident transferred money into a wrong account because I had one digit wrong on the cell phone number. I immediately called Capitec Bank, got a reference number and was told the R2000 was put hold and cant be used by the account holder. After calling Capitec for 3 weeks every second day (and got a different story everytime), they told me that the account holder was contacted and did not give permission to reverse my money back to me. So then Capitec Bank released my money to this person... How in the world can they do that??!!! Just give my money to someone else??!! Its theft!! And the only answer I get is, "you made the mistake".

    0 Votes
  • Bu
      Oct 10, 2017

    Two days ago was making a purchase and my card declined, then I went to the ATM to withdraw and it still declined, I then went to the branch in Maponya mall to find out what was wrong cause I have money in the account, the consultant checked and said nothing was wrong and she said she will do another card for me which she did but now why I'm I paying for another card when my card was not lost and has not expired, or damaged. Not happy with this .

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      May 02, 2018

    I have been complaining about your ATM, especially in Rustenburg. Your ATM is offline, sometimes the is no money at your ATM.i sent several emails even I phone you, but I don't get the right persons to clarify for me why Capitec always have problems in Rustenburg & if you can count the people's banking with you at Rustenburg are too many compared to the other provisions.especially month end

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      Aug 15, 2018
    Capitec Bank - Frozen account not cleared after Court Order was submitted with detailed instruction submitted on the 27July 2018
    Mokopane
    South Africa
    Capitec.co.za

    My account was frozen due to a court order submitted on the 27 May 2018. A new court order was submitted with detailed instructions on the 27 July 2018 by Attorney's to CSS Legal. After numerous requests by myself and my Attorney's no feedback given by CSS Legal department or new court order followed by Capitec Legal

    0 Votes
  • He
      Aug 15, 2018
    Capitec Bank - Release of Forex money
    Waterfall
    South Africa

    Good Day
    My daughter deposited 100GBP into my Capitec account, dated 22 June 2018.
    I been in touch with Mechelle Coetzee. She ignore my emails i need the money in my account by COB 13th of July 2018.
    Hendrihet Pienaar
    [protected] (w)
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Aug 20, 2018
    Capitec Bank - Bad service
    Pretoria
    South Africa

    I was at capitec wonderpark next to checkers, then at the door where I'm supposed to get a ticket, then capitec guy was busy flirting with a girl not helping. Then I went through to custumer service where the guy named William help me by getting the ticket himself. The capitec services is really Bad, we not happy as customers

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Aug 20, 2018
    Capitec Bank - Merchant Card Machine
    Pretoria
    South Africa
    capitecbank.com

    I need to cancel my Merchant Card Machine as I am closing my business, but the number [protected] does not exist it seems. Trying to phone for days, call just gets dropped. Phoned the Customer Service line [protected], line gets dropped. How do I get hold of Capitec to assist please?

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Aug 21, 2018
    Capitec Bank - Pathetic service
    South Africa

    An unauthorized debit order was added to my account. Now I receive incompetent, useless, pathetic service. No body can remove that debit order. I just have to pay.

    0 Votes
  • No
      Aug 28, 2018
    Capitec Bank - Credit Facility
    Johannesburg- Newtown
    South Africa

    I have a loan and credit card with Capitec, and at first they offered to give me credit facility which ended up not happening, but its showing on all credit listings.

    Kindly remove and update the system as it shows that I haven't made any paymet to Capitec for a loan and credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Sep 10, 2018
    Capitec Bank - unauthorised debit orders
    Caledon
    South Africa

    Date: 2017/09/29

    Contact Number : [protected]

    Unauthorised Debit orders that do not stop after cancelling it

    Ave went to the branch and got the money back and after a while I saw on my cellophane another unauthorised deduction has been made .

    Can you please assist me asp

    I am very disappointed

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Sep 19, 2018
    Capitec Bank - CARD FEES ON ACCOUNT [protected]
    KIMBERLEY
    South Africa

    i am very discapponted in capitec kimberley, i have to pay R55 for a new card and there was nothing wrong with my card..the branch told me the atm is not working 100%and that there is more clients that have probleme.fix the probleme or close the atm, but instead you love to make many out of it..really i want my card back or my R 55

    0 Votes
  • No
      Sep 19, 2018
    Capitec Bank - Fica
    Ogies
    South Africa

    I went to update my information at Ogies, and since I live in a complex so all my letters goes to a Post box number even the municipal 1, so I have a letter from Hr confirming my residence. But I was turned back so it means I won't Fica until then

    0 Votes
  • Gu
      Sep 19, 2018
    Capitec Bank - unauthorized debits
    Winchendon
    Massachusetts
    South Africa

    Why can't I reverse my debits Evan those I have. Haven't been refunded. If you will allow who ever to debit Willy nilly il just switch banks.
    I'm so pissed off I want my money back all 297 as I can't reverse on the app!!!

    FIX THIS bill [censored] now

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Oct 15, 2018
    Capitec Bank - service
    johansburg
    South Africa

    After making aranchmints mony keeps being deductet from my account this is steeling and the north gate branch is usles whats the point of making aranchments if they keep deducting money and not even speekenig about te money that is being taken from transfering between accounts [protected] ...

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Oct 21, 2018
    Capitec Bank - I paid for 1 product twice
    Pretoria
    South Africa

    I paid for shoes with my capitec card on tuesday on 18 july at footgear pretoria, on 23 july at 01:20 they take money out of my account again please help

    0 Votes
  • Ya
      Oct 28, 2018
    Capitec Bank - ATM at Devland Metro Cash and Carry
    Soweto
    South Africa

    I made a withdrawal and this ATM took hours to complete the transaction. I even had to leave it will it was processing and I don't know whether or not my money came out. I had to rush to my branch to get my money back, but the consultant told me I should come back after 7 days! What will I eat?

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Nov 14, 2018
    Capitec Bank - Receive voice calls from [protected]
    Clanwilliam or South Africa
    South Africa

    I received at least 15 calls per day on my switchboard from the above number.. And if I do answer then it is the recorder says "Please contact Capitec Bank on this number [protected].. This is harassing... any help here.. Please...

    0 Votes

Post your comment