The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

billmelater.com & Domestications.com / awful customer service, bad business practices,

1 GA, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

what a joke. my husband purchased items back in Nov 2007. total amount for all (from two stores) was 350.00 and change. The items from one store arrived late but in okay shape. The items from Domestications.com came very late and it was short items and the most important item I'd been waiting for was chipped. So with not receiving items the bill now is 105.00 less the 350.00 total I orig had. And with my letter to domestications asking for reduced price on the chipped item (it was a mirrored night stand I needed to complete a redecorating of our home in time for guests and Christmas 2007.) I had guests already at my home three days when order (3 and a half weeks it took to get a broken night stand, and the bedding for the guest room lost-not not shipped as I first thought) finally arrived. The date it said I'd have items by came and went and tracking the order was difficult. It said the night stand left the warehouse 2 day's after my husband placed the order. Said nothing about the comforter set until week 3. It said it was in stock and was to be shipped to me ASAP. but that was all. but that's it. Well Domestications say's they never got my letters (funny they show a credit for the bed n a bag set on Jan 7, 2008. My letters dated and mailed Dec 14, 2007 & again Jan 2, 2008 about the damaged merchandise, was also the letters about the bed n a bag set not arriving in the order. I mean why write two letter's to the same company about items purchased together all in the same order?) My point is that they obviously did get my letter to know about the missing comforter set from my orig order, and they credited back the account. To make a long story shorter I was dinged late charges on the nightstand because I was waiting for a response back from them. But wait-my husband said we didn't have to pay till Feb 2008! Why are there late charges on my first statement that arrived two days after the order finally got to us if we don't have to sweat paying? Purchased item Nov 5, 2007, received order Dec 2 or 3, 2007. Bill arrived from BillMeLater on Dec 4 or 5 2007.
I finally talk to a live human early part of Feb 2008. They took 40 dollars off the 80.00 price tag of the nightstand, plus the late fees for Dec and January. so the total now is what? That's right, just 40 dollars according to my math. And I guess plus whatever else they want to charge for shipping, handling( bad handling is the word) bogus finance charges, & tax. Can't be more than 60.00 total. I mailed a payment in the amount of 60.00 on the 18th of Feb 2008. I didn't see any bill in the mail after that, so I assumed that my calculations were accurate. If anything they owed us a few bucks back for over payment on the 40 dollar account. In the mean time my husband is ill and isn't handling any of the bills and budgeting. He turned it over to me totally which is fine. But I'm still getting billed by billmelater.com.. The statements came in June, & now July 2008. The minimum payment due is 98.00. With total balance due of 169.22! These statements don't have any reference number's on them to tell me is going on. I don't see any history of account payments, credit, order placed, shipped, or the store name that BillMreLater.com is collecting for. And get this! I call them on their toll free number and I am not my husband so they won't talk to me. Even though they have letter's I've written and checks I given them with my name on it, same last name as my husbands, same shipping and billing address. We are married. This isn't the first time though this has happened to me when I'm handling account problems with merchants. Look if I sent you a check I'm probably going to call you too if there is a problem with the account down the road. I mean if I know my husbands birth date, social security number, driver's license number, place of birth, work place and work number, mother's maiden name, name of closest relative he gives in the event we flake on our obligations, the date of the purchase, the items purchased, the amount of the orig order, the account number, the date due, the problems with the order, bank he banks with (joint), . And if they took a minute to care about my issues with the billings, my husband heath problems, our credit getting dinged when we paid in full on time months before. And looked me up too, they'd see from my credit report/rating that indeed I do live at same address as my husband. And quit wearing me down with all this stressful "for security reason's we can't" bullsh_t. The criminals get the information they want anyway on someone's account despite all this precaution. I know because my own identity was stolen three times in 2000, 2002 & 2003. Listen, if my husband's credit score goes down because of this mess I am sure to be hurt by it too since our two report's are combined when creditors look at one of our credit ratings to Decide approval or not.
From now on I'm going to revert back to the simple rules of purchasing my parents and grandparents taught me. And that is if you want something save up for it, don't buy on credit or deferred billing. my advice DON'T USE BILLMELATER.COM AND NEVER SHOP DOMESTICATIONS.COM EITHER. But DO Shop Overstock.com if you want things to go smooth and be right, at a good price! I NEVER HAVE PROBLEMS WITH OVERSTOCK.COM AND MY ORDER'S IN 5 YEARS OF ORDERING ON LINE FROM THEIR SITE. That's my complaint. Have a great end of summer. thanks for listening.
MAD & FRUSTRATED IN VENTURA, CA

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ky
      2nd of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    I HAVE NEVER HAD A SINGLE TRANSACTION GO RIGHT WHEN BILLMELATER.COM IS INVOLVED. THEY ARE UNETHICAL . SOMEONE SHOULD PUT THEM OUT OF BUSINESS QUICKLY. AS FAR AS DOMESTICATIONS WEB SITE? I DON'T SHOP ON THE SITE BUT I ASKED A FEW ONLINE SHOPAHOLIC FRIENDS IF THEY HAD GOOD OR POOR INTERMINGLINGS WITH DOMESTICATIONS. THE VERDICT WAS;
    OF ALL THE SHOPPERS I ASKED
    ALL OF THEM SAID THE SAME
    AND THAT WAS;
    THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF BETTER PLACES TO SHOP ONLINE. THEIR AD'S ARE VERY MISLEADING, MERCHANDISE POOR QUALITY, ORDER'S NEVER COMPLETE WHEN ARRIVES, MOST ALWAYS IF SOMETHING IS BREAKABLE IT'S BROKEN, POORLY SHIPPED, BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

  • Ja
      2nd of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    Both those businesses make your shopping online a bad experience in my book.

  • He
      6th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    I work for Bill Me Later and came across your comments. I would be happy to help follow up on this situation with you. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience via email: heather.fields@billmelater.com

  • Bu
      12th of Nov, 2009
    0 Votes

    I agree with the complaints posted on this page about Domestications. We ordered a beautiful Christmas comforter from Domestications and while ordering we were upsold on a coupon discount program for $50.00. I was explained that they would send us a gift card or gas card for the same amount so the upsale was basicly free. We never received the card and roughloy a year later they hit me with a charge card bill in the amount of $149.99 from hdi*dom buyers edge. They bet on the fact that we all have buisy lives and will forget about having to cancel the savings membership program. The quilt looked great on line. Once we received the comforter and examined it in person it looked very cheaP...Along with all of the other bull@#@# we will never shop there again. Knowing the quality of the products were poor we probalby would have purchased an occasional item from time to time. NOT NOW..

Post your comment