SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] Bernese Mountain Dogs / Horrible breeder!!

5 Stcroix falls, United States Review updated:

Denise bosak is the owner of this "business". She breeds bernese mountain dogs. After literally months of searching every state surrounding us for a bernese mountain dog puppy, we stumbled upon her. Now we have done a ton of research on finding reputable breeders. Denise is good at faking it. She is involved in dog shows or so it seems. From what we have s een, she only shows her other dog she breeds, Tibetan Mastiffs. First red flag right there, breeding multiple breeds. We go out to her "house" which looks more like a facility. There are rows of cages with large barking dogs everywhere. She had so many dogs I couldn't even begin to count. She brings us to look at the puppies who are kept in a tiny cold garage. She had multiple pens blocked off because that is how many Mommas she had pregnant with puppies. We ignore all the awful signs of PUPPY MILL jumping right at us and put a down payment on a puppy. Fast forward a few months. Long story short, she never told us our puppy was becoming sick not even a week before we are due to pick him up. I get a call a few days before it is time to go pick him up telling me he has suddenly died. Red flags are popping up everywhere but me being the dog lover I am, I was too emotional to see them. We were devastated. She offered our deposit back or to pick a puppy from the next litter. I told her we would probably get another puppy but that we needed to talk about it. After everyone telling us to get away from her due to her awful reputation, we decided not to get a puppy from her. From here, it was hell. She ignored phone calls, texts, messages time and time again. I couldn't believe this woman I thought was a good person was turning out to be so cruel and heartless. 4.5 months later, we finally received our money. Along the way, I was disgusted to see how she was breeding these poor puppies. Her constant excuse for not getting us the money was that she barky had enough money to feed her dogs. I could just puke knowing these dogs are in her care. She had roughly 7-8 Berners pregnant at the same time. Let alone who knows how many mastiffs. Her poor Berner mommas were putting out 10-18 puppies each, multiple puppies dying with each birth. It made me sick. I can't even imagine the life these dogs face each day, never knowing what comfort or love feels like. They are purely money to her. Some of Her Berners don't even look pure bred and she charges what REPUTABLE BREEDERS charge for carefully bred Berners. If you are looking for a bernese mountain dog, please do more research and stay far from this woman. It is women like her who are single handedly ruining this beautiful breed.

  • Resolution statement

    I am going to resolve this complaint because I did receive the money in mid January. She did follow through with her word of paying the deposit back.

Be
Jan 28, 2015
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Be
      28th of Jan, 2015

    Sorry I forgot to mention this is in St. Croix Falls WI

    -2 Votes
  • La
      21st of Feb, 2015

    This is not the breeder I have done business with for the last 8 years and have bought 5 dogs from. I have been to her kennels 4 times and yes she has numerous dogs but every thing is always clean and the adult & puppies are well taken care of. She doesn't work out side of the home and spends all her time taking care of her two breeds of dogs. She is honest and has always done what we have discussed, in fact she just fly us in a new puppy to AZ.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      21st of Feb, 2015
    Best Best Advice

    Reading this complaint completely disgust me and do not believe a word of it. I have known this breeder for 7 years and have bought 2 dogs from her. I have nothing but POSITIVE things to say about her and her facility. She does have allot of dogs but they are all very well cared for, have proper shelter, fed high quality dog food and proper vet care. She works very hard at running a wonderful breeding facility. She is very well educated and has spent allot of time answering any questions I have. I recently brought my female to her place for breeding and she was taken care of very well. She has touched base with several times about my dog that was bred and sent me home with prenatal pills for her. Sometimes animals die even with our best efforts and it sounds to me like she tried to accommodate you by offering two options for you. As far as how many puppies her berners were putting out...what does that even mean? She has not control of how many puppies one female has. Maybe you should walk a day in her shoes and then you would see how much love and time she puts into those dogs.

    +4 Votes
  • Tx
      21st of Feb, 2015

    This is not the breeder I know as well. Denise came highly recommended to us.
    She is a wonderful person and cares for all of her dogs as if family. Nature happens and
    sometimes puppies get sick just like babies do. My husband drove 22 hours to pick
    up our Berner. He was very impressed with the care her dogs receive. She does show the Berners in addition to her other dogs. We will be getting our next Berner from Denise without any hesitation.

    +3 Votes
  • Tr
      21st of Feb, 2015

    As someone who got our Bernese from Denise and Northstar, I think you will be hard pressed to find a better, more reputable breeder. I have had the absolute best experience with Denise and I recommend her to EVERYTHING looks good for a Bernese breeder. I understand that situations arise that from time to time that are unfortunate, but it doesn't mean that it's the breeders fault or that a negative review needs to be left because things unfortunately didn't work out as planned. Denise is the type of person who always seems to do the right thing. I will be going back to her again for our next Bernese. If you are on the market for a Bernese, you can have100% confidence in going to Northstar.

    +2 Votes
  • Tr
      21st of Feb, 2015

    **sorry for the auto correct... My statement shod have read "I recommend her to EVERYONE looking for a Bernese beeder"

    +2 Votes
  • Be
      21st of Feb, 2015

    Regardless, she is a backyard breeder and tries to come off as reputable. In the Berner world, with ACTUAL reputable breeders, she has an awful reputation for many reasons. Any board member to any WI, MN, IL Bernese club could tell you that. I'm glad you all had good experiences with her because we did not. Ignoring your customer is a good way to show your character and land yourself negative reviews. And by ignore, I mean reading messages and taking WEEKS to respond. And how would anyone know what goes on there when you aren't there? It's not really a good sign when someone says they won't be able to return your 300 dollars for FIVE months because "I barely can feed my dogs". That statement doesn't really go with anything you've said about her care towards her dogs.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      21st of Feb, 2015

    There are many problems I have with the complaint. First of all I think if the puppy you had intended to purchase had not passed away, there would not have been any complaint here in the first place.You would have gratefully purchased your pup, loved it and moved on. Obviously you are not a breeder yourself so you can't possibly know what all goes into it.The reason the dogs are separated is for selection of breeding. You can't have all the dogs running around together if some of the ### are in heat. Or maybe she wanted to keep a female separated for a longer time between breeding. Maybe you should have asked?The fact that there were two breeds of dogs on site is not a red flag for a puppy mill. Especially considering the two breeds a somewhat similar. AND she is not cross breeding the two. When you have like five breeds of varying types then I would worry. Say poodles, labs and shepherds.I know this breeder has shown her Bernese Mountain Dogs as well as the Tibetan Mastiffs. What's the difference to you how recently or if she prefers showing one breed over the other? Were you looking for a show dog? Maybe you should have asked? One point you say the poor dogs are putting out 10-18 pups in a litter.Implying the breeder has something to do with the size of the litter. That is a ridiculous statement. Bernese Mountain Dogs have large litters. It has nothing to do with the breeder. That's biology 101.. With a large dog breed that has large litters (by nature) there is a 10-15% mortality rate. That doesn't include the sad fact that many large breed mothers lay on their pups and suffocate them accidentally.There are many things that can go wrong in any breed of dog delivering puppies. And if you had all these" warning signs" and are now such an expert on dog breeding, the signs of a puppy mill, and the reputation of this breeder, according to others.Then why were you there in the first place?! If like you said you did such great research in the first place?If you had all these red flags and questions going on in your mind, then maybe you should have voiced your concerns at the time, and likely you would have had some answers. If not, I think it's on you for not walking away in the first place, if this was not the breeder for you.

    +3 Votes
  • Co
      21st of Feb, 2015

    I know her as well. She comes across as a really nice person, just like the original comment stated. Berners and TMs are not her only breed. She has also bred Poms and sold them. She is dishonest with her health testing, dishonest with AKC as to how many puppies she breeds. As a matter of fact, she has been dishonest with her dog show entries (or maybe it's just hard to keep it straight when you breed that many dogs). Because I have one of the particular breeds she breeds, I have had calls complaining to me about the health of the dogs they have purchased from her. I fell for it too...I have one of her dogs. I have no doubt due to her conformation that she will have health issues as she ages. And the first commenter is right, she does NOT have a good reputation in the Berner community. A couple of years ago she was giving older puppies away "free" to good homes...how nice of her. Can't sell 'em, give them away to get rid of them. And I have been to one of her locations...there is no way in hell she could possibly pay attention to and give the love needed to that many dogs. Of course she no longer works anywhere else, she makes her income off the backs of puppies. So, for the first commenter, you were exactly on point. She was and is everything you state. For the rest of you consider yourselves lucky.

    • Comment withdrawn.

    -1 Votes
  • Be
      21st of Feb, 2015

    Thank you! I'm not going to sit and argue with everyone about her. That's great that you have had good experiences but no matter how your experience is, she is not breeding to the standards that she claims she is. She tries to act like she's reputable but she puts no consideration in when breeding her dogs. She breeds for money. Period. It is people like her who are ruining this amazing breed. Their life span used to be a lot longer than it is now, but thanks to backyard breeders (Denise) the breeds lifespan is slowly going down. She also charges what reputable breeders do for very carefully bred dogs. I'm glad you all weren't screwed by her too but I just hope your puppies don't suffer countless health issues due to it.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      21st of Feb, 2015

    Oh and to the previous commenter- she tried giving me one of her older males too after the puppy passed away. Poor dogs.

    +2 Votes
  • Be
      21st of Feb, 2015

    And to the previous commenter- she did try to give me an older male pup of hers that she "wasn't going to breed much longer due to genetic health issues". I said no thanks we were waiting for a puppy and a month later she had a litter by him.

    +1 Votes
  • No
      22nd of Feb, 2015

    Contacted me July 15th to be exact asking when my next litter was due, and looking for a male pup? I let her know pregnancy was not yet confirmed, but the litter if due would be born the end of August. On August 16th she mentioned wanting a female pup instead, and wanted to be put on the waiting list, and asked if she should put down a deposit? I let her know it was her choice if she wanted to now, or wait until the litter arrived, the deposits are non-refundable. She opted to wait until the pups were born. August 31st she wrote asking me if the litters were born? I let her know that there were only boys available, no girls. I heard from Amy again on September 22nd asking about the two boys available, still no deposit received. When the pups were 4 weeks old, Amy and her fiance came to visit the pups, and meet the parents, and were awing and oh-ing over the sire stating how beautiful and big he is and wanted to know if the boys in the litter would be as big?
    Amy in her complaint writes that there were rows of cages when she drove in, when in fact there are no cages, there are side by side fenced off large area's with a house for the dogs to go in, and out of with two dogs in a fenced area. She could have easily counted how many dogs and fenced area's there were, if she tried, and yes, when people come to visit, dogs do bark!
    It is the end of September during their visit, and the first time I met them. It was approximately 85 degree's, Amy was wearing shorts. The building I took them into to see the puppies is insulated, and heated, the large pull up door, and entry door were open because of the nice warm sunny day, and sun shining and as she suggests that it was a tiny, cold, dark garage, when it is a 30 x 36 heated/insulated building. There are 4 x 12 ft welded wired kennels inside, there are partitions in between the kennels, the backs and fronts open viewed (no partitions to block view). The purpose of the partitions in between the 4 x 12 kennels are for the security, and safety of the pups/mom. Any one raising dogs will understand that. So the area's containing the puppies are huge with lots of room to move around, not tiny, dark, and cold, as Amy exaggerated. There was only 1 litter to see, and one litter in the building.
    As far as showing my dogs, I am very active in showing both breeds as is evident in the CH, GCH AKC certificates to verify anyone can view when visiting, or go on-line and research that themselves.
    At the time of their visit the end of September, they put down their deposit for a male pup. I posted pictures for the next two weeks. On October 15th it was noticed that their pup wasn't feeling good. I wrote Amy that day asking her to call me, and I let her know the scoop, and that I was getting him into the vets immediately, she told me to let her know what the Vet says? no cause was found, but he was sent home with antibiotics, When the pup passed there was an autopsy done and no known cause, and Amy was given permission to talk to my vet with any questions, and she did not make that call. I did notify Amy immediately in the situation.
    In my contract, on my website, and verbally it is and has been explained that deposits are non-refundable, no exception. The deposit can be moved to another litter in the future. That is the only option.
    However, I felt it was the right thing to do in offering them their deposit back, or give them the choice to move it to another litter? It was explained to her at that time if she choose my offer of the deposit back, it would come from the next litters going home, in which I could only give her an estimate time frame, as the other litter was not yet born.
    Amy's first decision and note sent to me was that they were going to wait for the next litter because her fiance really liked the sire CH Barbossa.
    A couple weeks later she contacted me and let me know that they changed their mind, and would like to go with the deposit back, and again, it was explained that would it come from the next litter going home. We are now at the end of October. Starting two weeks after that on my parent group she noticed the announcement of the next litter, and I get a note with her assuming that must mean she gets her deposit now. I had to explain that most everyone already had their deposits in for several months, and as long as up to a year advance, and I did not EVER tell her I could barely feed my dogs, I told her if there is anything coming in in between my puppies going home, my dogs get taken care of first, and reminded her again that my offer to give back the deposit as was explained if she choose to go with that option would be at the time of the next litters going home, in which she agreed to when the offer was made.

    Pasted below is the beginning of Amy asking after seeing my announcement on my puppy parent group:

    November 13, 2014 3:33 pm

    From Amy: Hi Denise!! I saw that puppies have started to arrive! How exciting! How are they doing? Wow is that mama big lol. I was wondering if you were able to send the deposit back yet? We were hoping to use of for Christmas presents this month. But no rush, just wondering! Thanks

    Denise: I called her and left a voice message, a few days after I get a message asking me if I got her message. I replied yes, I left you a voice message due to being at a dog show. Again, I had to explain when to expect the deposit at time of next litter going home.

    November 25th puppy selections were being made on my parent group, and I get a note from Amy. See below:

    November 26, 2014 3:12 pm

    Hi Denise! I see that you now have families that have picked lots of puppies, so I assume that means they have given their deposits? Do you know yet if I can get my deposit back soon?

    I wrote her back that same day explaining again that deposits for the litter were received months ago, and up to a year ago, and her reply was ok, thanks!

    On December 17th she writes again, see note below:

    December 17, 2014 5:15 pm

    Hi Denise, any news yet on the deposit? Was really hoping to be able to use it for last minute Christmas shopping... It's been quite a few months now so was hoping you would have it...

    Denise: * if you note the dates from when the deposit was originally made, to the time she wrote letting me know they decided to take the deposit option, it was just over a month at this time, not a few as she is claiming.

    I was at a Dog show and it did take me two days to get back to her on the message she wrote, and I answered her back saying the answer is still the same, and her reply back on December 18th to my answer reads, see below:

    Amy: I know it's not normal to make exceptions with deposits but our dog died and we were unable to bring a dog home at that time. And I know things happen and what happened was awful and by no means anyone's fault. I'm not trying to make you feel terrible or stressed, I'm trying to be patient just looking for a time frame that I can tell Elijah.

    I know you have a lot on your plate with puppies and I'm sorry if this is added stress. I am not trying to make it that way.

    I am going to reiterate that Amy knew that deposits were non-refundable, I kindly made the offer to give it back with the explanation where it would come from, she is the one that was making assumptions off of my posting puppy pictures, and parents making their selections to continue asking even though it was explained to her that she would be given at the time of the pups going home.
    Because of the constant assumptions on Amy's part when seeing me post puppy pictures for my puppy parents to view I found it necessary to remove her from the group to stop the assumptions, and... as soon as I had a pick up date for the pups going home, I contacted her as I told her I would in the very beginning: See posting below:

    December 30, 2014 6:38 am
    Denise: Getting close to pups going home, what is your address, and I will get check in mail Friday that way it should work together.
    I followed through with exactly as I told her I would in the very beginning, then to find that she posted this wrongful complaint. It is sad when people have to be so mean heart-ed because their feelings are hurt over being removed from a group (that became necessary). Amy: You make false claims about me not being able to afford my dogs, when you didn't have the money in the end to get a pup, and were in desperate need of the deposit so you could get Christmas gifts. I guess that should have been a red flag for me as well that you were not a good candidate to adopt a puppy from me or anyone, how could you have taken care of a puppy being so limited as you were? If you had planned to pay for the pup at eight weeks of age, then there was those funds you were no longer spending on a puppy to use for Christmas presents, right? think about it!

    Denise

    -1 Votes
  • No
      22nd of Feb, 2015

    Dog Lover 02

    I know who you are, but please state for everyone your name, and the dog you are claiming poor health came from me with a Vet diagnoses that states after being healthy for years, that she is somehow going to be in poor health now? How old is she now? 6 or 7 years old?
    We innocently were having coffee one day, and you asked me what shows I was thinking about going to, I had a list of them on me, that I shared with you. Thinking about going is just that. The first couple of shows I informed you I was going to before registering, Then there was a show I couldn't make because of my mothers having cancer, and now needing full time care. You posted all over a group site bashing me for not going to that show, when I actually told you I didn't know if I would be able to go. You still signed up your dog, and then started a bashing session.
    I have all those messages I can post if you want to expose who you are? I also have all the private messages between me and you before and after that incident. It will show a different story if you want to continue forward with your complaint?

    Denise

    -3 Votes
  • Be
      23rd of Feb, 2015

    Actually Denise,

    Many of these things you are claiming are far from the truth or correct time line so these are either lies or you are confusing your people. I am not going to go into each little one because I would be here forever. Long story short, you never called me once so don't write that your responses were "voicemails" because that's a lie. You are just too afraid to actually post your responses, why can you copy mine but not yours? Oh that's right you rarely responded. You also never once said our puppy was sick, first we heard about his sickness was once he had already died.
    You left me a facebook message the morning of 10/15/14 at 0637 telling me to call you. I called you after work and you told me he died. Never knew he was even sick. As for the vet, you never "gave me permission" to talk to them or even tell me which vet, but I never asked you, so I don't know why you put that lie in there.

    I never said you "we're not able to afford your dogs". I said you made excuses that you didn't have the money for us because the small amounts of money you had were to feed the dogs. You also said you couldn't pay us because you couldn't pay for your dogs csection and had to do that first. Here are the messages :

    Nov 19th 2014 3:05
    "Unfortunately any money I had has been spent on vet visits, and ultimately a surgical c-section with Malibu, I actually didn't have enough to pay, so have to get that taken care of next, then you."

    "I don't get paid like everyone else. Sometimes I get small amounts in between pups going home, and it goes to feeding my dogs."

    And for me saying we needed the money, we wanted our money back because we deserved it back. I said it was for Christmas in hopes that would get you to pay us. It's pretty sad that you're saying that a family that can't afford to throw away an extra 300 dollars can't afford or give a dog a good home. It wasn't about the money to us, it was the fact that you were keeping our money. Our dog died and you didn't present us with a dog. You then weren't going to have puppies for 5 months. You also never presented us with any contract saying anything about the dog or the deposit. And I never saw your website or anything talking about deposits. We never signed anything. How are we not entitled to have our money back? I was nice, cooperative and extremely patient. Like your timeline says, September is when this started, puppy died in October. We received money in mid January. So that's not one month like you claim. You keep saying you explained that money would come from puppies going home which is a lie, you said when deposits come in you would be able to pay us.

    And you can't say anything at all about us being fit parents to our dogs, don't make me laugh! We are the best to our puppies and have plenty of money for them, thank you. Again, you don't know us or how we are with our puppies so that's a false claim. I was losing patience with you because it took so many months and we had a new puppy and wanted to just be done with you and not have to worry anymore.

    So yes, our frustration stemmed from how you treated us. Ignoring a customer? That's awful business.
    And I will retract my statements about your facility and care towards your dogs because I am not there everyday and don't see you. I explained what your facility looked like and none of that was exaggerated. You say the dogs are raised in your home with love, which we saw none in your home, but that very well could be the case. So as for my complaint here, it is for how you treated me and blew me off. $300 is $300, whatever money isn't the issue it is the principle of it. That's why I put resolved, because you did pay us eventually. It is just not someone I would ever want to do business with and I wish I would have known the things I know now about you and your business before getting involved.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      23rd of Feb, 2015

    You kept saying you told us we weren't getting our deposit until puppies went home which is again a lie. You never said that, you claimed once you got any money you would pay us. Here is one message after I asked you for a timeline.

    Nov 19th 2014
    "It is in the hands of those wanting to pay ahead for their puppies. I wish I had a better answer for you."

    This is why I continued to message you every 2-3 weeks. Because you weren't able to give me a timeline. I simply was doing as you said "let's keep in close contact and remind me every so often". My messages were ignored for days and sometimes completely ignored. How is a customer supposed to feel? Like they are being ripped off!

    +2 Votes
  • No
      23rd of Feb, 2015

    You were explained that when I made this offer to you, and as you have no written messages on that offer, but you obviously make it clear and certain that I did make the offer by your written acknowledgement is because is it was a delicate situation it needed to be told to you in person over a phone call (which is also noted in the messages me asking for your number to call you). You knowing it was not usual for me to give back deposits (also in your statement), and that I didn't have to make the offer, and I could have easily said I'm sorry as it is in my contract, on my website, and has you have been explained to you I have a no refund, no exception policy that I don't understand your mean intentions here, when I was the one making the offer in the first place, and instead of being appreciative as I would have been knowing that offer didn't have to be made, you get impatient, you make assumptions with every picture posted, every puppy picked, and I would have to explain that the deposits were given months in advance, and it would come out of the puppies going home. I couldn't give you a time until dates were set for pick up. You either forgot what was explained to you at the time of the offer, or you were desperately needing the funds for Christmas gifts as you mentioned a couple times?
    It became necessary to remove you from my Group not because I was upset, but because you were making assumptions with every picture, every post. I did write or call you back each time, it was not weeks in between. At one point it was a few days before I wrote, I never blocked you. the Group is private so no one outside of the Group can view members postings. You wrote me by fb messaging afterwards, and if I had blocked you, you would not have been able to write me. You also had other options of getting a hold of me via e-mail or phone call, and I would have answered you.
    The keeping in touch was a comment after you stated that you might get a pup in the Spring time, and you also stated that you planned to come back to me for your Berner pup. You took that statement out of it's context.

    Also since you are continuing in responding...
    From the time of you actually putting a deposit down to the time of you deciding on a refund (which again, I didn't have to offer), and then from the time you decided the refund option back, to the time I sent it out in the mail was NOT EVEN close to the 4.5 months you stated.
    I am sorry you are upset about being removed from the Group, and the cause of your anger.

    By the date noted of this complaint you are making, you had already recieved the deposit back by a month, which was already resolved.
    I don't wish to continue going back and forth on this matter, and you can most certainly feel anyway you wish concerning me, that is your right and your privilege. If you don't like me you can state you don't like me, and go with that, but you took your anger and made statements that are false, and that I will continue to fight if you want to continue posting.

    I wish you the best, honestly I do. I hope that you find the puppy you are wanting, and have years of wonderful memories.

    0 Votes
  • No
      23rd of Feb, 2015

    Yes, that was one of my response to yet another one of your asking. It didn't change the fact that you were told on the phone when I made the offer that it would be at the time of the next litter going home, it didn't change the fact that the offer did not have to be made in the first place. It was a true statement in light of you continuously asking that is was indeed in the hands of the families should they decide pay in advance for their puppy. and that was the best answer I could give.

    Your "let's keep in close contact and remind me every so often". Really??

    First of all there is no message on November 19th that EVEN says that comment.

    Secondly the closest comment I can find to that is on October 23rd. See below:

    October 23, 2014 4:41 pm

    Amy: Hi Denise.

    And again, thanks so much for everything. We will definitely be buying our Berner from you, you really seem to care a lot about your puppies. I'm really thinking next spring we will be ready again.

    I will let you know if anything changes and we decide on one from the best litter. Thanks again
    Denise: That sounds good. We will keep in touch and let each other know whats going on.

    As you read above this was in response to your waiting until Spring.

    -2 Votes
  • Be
      23rd of Feb, 2015

    You keep saying the offer didn't need to be made in the first place, like you did such a favor by giving us OUR money because our dog died in your possession? There was NO agreement presented to us or signed. So if you are that kind of person that would keep someone's money when you couldn't even give us a puppy, then you should have a contract to be signed.

    But I am not going to argue any further. We have a beautiful puppy from a wonderful, reputable breeder. I wish you well in your future.

    0 Votes
  • No
      23rd of Feb, 2015

    All breeders have their own policies, most of them have a non-refundable deposit. Some have stipulations that must be met when buying a puppy from them. Again, I could have went with my policy in the no refund, no exception, and just moved your deposit to the next litter, so yes the offer did not have to be made, but it was because it was what I felt was the right thing to do in the situation. I know we talked about my contract and one year guarantee at the time of your visit, it the same talk I go over with every one, plus it is easily located on my website stating that fact, and directing you to read the contract, and you did state that you did do your research. The minute you put a deposit that is a contract, I am sure you are aware of that fact. I know exactly what I said to you about your choice, and where it would come from. You demonstrated you understood by at first going with taking the option of moving your deposit to the next litter, and a couple weeks later changed your mind, which was perfectly fine. The problem is...you were not truthful, and in the time you claim you waited. There were no weeks in between responses, which I have posted above, a few days at most which you were given explanation when I was able to respond.
    You did not wait 2 - 3 weeks in between asking each time, as is also evident above. You were pretty incessant, and each time I told you I would let you know, and several times had to also reassure you I was not going to forget about you.
    I don't want to continue arguing with you, I just want to wish you well and stop here, but I will continue to counter what is not factual or statements that don't exist, or were taken out of context. I did let you know when the time came, as I said many times that I would. I did honor my word, which is the point I am making here. This matter was resolved but yet this complaint was written by you a month AFTER you got the refund back. You were not correct in the time table of when you gave your deposit to when it was sent out in the mail, that was a false statement, and off by several months.
    Either stop replying...
    or we can continue to go back and forth, and I can post more e-mails, texts, and messaging communications.

    I am truly glad you were able to find your new Berner family member, and wish you lots of years of special memories.

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
      24th of Feb, 2015

    Dear Denise/Northstar...

    For anyone reading this exchange, well, I don't know how to say it any differently other than you're not the one who looks like you're stretching the truth. I'm glad you posted the messages you did. Those emails are very telling as to the spirit of the relationship between the two of you. People should know it's legal to talk about something someone did to you as long as it's 100% true. What you can't do is write things that can be proven false. That's called liable. And it's actionable. I hope everyone can just go and enjoy their puppies now no matter where they got it from.

    -2 Votes
  • Be
      24th of Feb, 2015

    I remained very civil with her and was very nice for the simple fact of wanting my money back and not wanting to fight. The messages from me are just that, nice. I was nice and said all I could to not get screwed. Because I wanted to keep it that way. So because I wasn't mean and sent rude messages, I'm lying and have no reason to be upset for the way she treated me? My nice messages to her were even one sided which is probably why Denise isn't posting her messages. That was NOT our relationship, she ignored most of those messages or responded with short answers but I continued to play nice. When she says she called me to respond to them and left messages, is a complete lie. Denise never called me once. After our puppy died, I did not want a dog from her. The main point of this complaint was her ignoring a customer continuously, which she absolutely 100% did.

    +2 Votes
  • Be
      24th of Feb, 2015

    Denise, I absolutely don't want to argue with you. It gets nowhere. We can both say what the other is saying is untruthful back and forth. I wish you and your puppies well.

    +2 Votes
  • No
      24th of Feb, 2015

    You know that it does look really bad on your part the more you keep saying in making claim that the only reason you said all those nice things "lies" (just now by your admittance) was so that you could get your money back, money that had already been offered to you in the first place, and that was followed through way before you posted this complaint, and not close to the time line you claimed it took, being you did not put your deposit down for months after you first wrote me. Another words you were the one doing the deceiving with all those nice lies you were writing me so you wouldn't get screwed? Now tell me who is good at faking nice? I gave you options, you went with waiting for a puppy originally, which if you had not changed your mind you would have had your puppy, but you did ultimately decide to get your deposit back, with a message to me "lie" saying maybe the Spring time is the right time, and we will be definitely coming to you for our next Berner. When you recieved the deposit back, that should have been the end. I can understand your being sore about being removed from a group that you were in fact misusing the information, and making assumptions "words you used".
    I know in my heart I did the right thing by you, and I wish you could see that instead of being so angry. Just enjoy the new puppy you do have, and focus your time and energy in that sweet pup.

    To stop this back and forth, and to really show what kind of person you want to be is totally your choice, you can either withdraw this complaint, stop with continued false replies that I told you I would have to counter. I can and will request a copy of my phone bill and prove your last statement false by posting here.. At this point if you don't stop! or remove this complaint I will be looking into legal action for defamation.

    This is now several times that I have asked you to stop, you have not, and I would like to bring this argument to an end by wishing you well. Can we leave it at that?
    The ball is in your court on what happens from here.

    -1 Votes
  • No
      24th of Feb, 2015

    Here are pictures of my Adult Bernese Mountain dogs over the years, and the Northstar's puppies produced.
    A lot of those puppies are grown now, and are living with their families.
    They are AKC registered, and they do look purebred.

    -3 Votes
  • Sl
      27th of Feb, 2015

    To the author of this, it is obvious by her other customers that she is no way a puppy mill owner, and it is your anger that fueled that. It is wrong to make false allegation against a business because you are upset about their business practices. Your complaint would have been more validate if you had not pirsued claiming she ran a puppy mill, which makes you seem petty.

    As for the breeder, if I was thinking of buying a dog, and found this dialogue between the two of you, I would choose another breeder. You should have immediately return her deposit since the puppy your client reserved died. That was not her fault, and it is bad business not to return money when the puppy no longer exists. Why should she incur costs of a puppy that is dead? It is quite another issue if she made the choice to buy a dog from another breeder while the puppy was still alive, then I would understand your reluctance to refund the deposit.

    The exchange is just immature! Author you got your deposit back, and breeder you should have refunded it right away since the dog died. End of story! You both should grow the hell up! Clients will possibly see this exchange and cost you clients! I could care how wonderful your dogs are, who wants to deal with this type of drama! Ladies, move on!

    -4 Votes
  • Be
      28th of Jun, 2015

    No reputable breeder would ever ship a puppy. Please do your research before contacting a breeder.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      16th of Sep, 2015

    To Bernerlover: I agree with you totally that after your puppy died you should have gotten your deposit back immediately. I also agree with slynn1 that this exchange was completely immature and reflects badly on both the original complainant and the breeder!

    +2 Votes
  • Jo
      15th of Feb, 2016

    This is a terrible place! Our pure bread had to have a $3500 TPO to keep him out of pain, his eyes turned lazy and he died of kidney failure after just six years. She was also selling a worthless sublimely to further give you false hopes. Such a fraud and sick person to try and make money selling inbred genetically damaged dogs. She reminds me of Dr. Mendula from Nazi Germany,

    +3 Votes

Post your comment