SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

BBT Bank / stole my money

United States Review updated:

BB&T Bank in Fairfax, Virginia stole $10 from me for "checking account maintenance fees" after I opened a no fees account with them specifically for the reason of avoiding fees. They did this to me by switching the terms and conditions of my checking account without ensuring I knew they were doing so. My account at BB&T was only worth $84.00 so this $10 "maintenance fee" amounts to a 20% assessment!! I had left the account open at BB&T since they told me I had to to keep my Safe Deposit Box there.

Watch out, don't bank with BB&T. If they did this to me, they will do it to you!!

Ch
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Gl
      Nov 05, 2008
    BBT BANK - FEES
    BBT BANK
    1080 vicki ln
    King
    North Carolina
    United States
    Phone: 336 969 0401
    [protected]@AOL.COM

    I DEPOSITED 10, 000 IN A SAVINGS ACCOUNT THAT WAS TO BUFFER ANY OVERDRAFT CHARGES. I NOW HAVE 900.00 IN OVERDRAFT CHARGES BECAUSE THEY NOW TELL ME THAT I HAD A LIMIT OF 6 TRANSCATIONS. I WAS NOT TOLD THIS AND IT IS NOT IN ANY OF THE LITERATUE THEY GAVE ME. THIS IS A FAST WAY FOR THE BANKS TO MAKE THIER MONEY. BEWARE OF BBT BANK. THEY DO NOT CREDIT DEPOSITS EVEN IF THEY ARE IN BEFORE 2:00.

    0 Votes
  • Sq
      Apr 19, 2009
    BBT BANK - overdrafts
    Manassas
    Virginia
    United States

    I'm getting the same problem with the "overdrafts" at this bank also. It must be thier way of getting some of thier money back, to rip us off.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Jun 05, 2009
    BBT BANK - CHARGES FOR EVERYTHING
    BBT BANK
    CAMP LEJEUNE
    North Carolina
    United States
    bbtbank.com

    This bank is the worst bank I have ever dealt with.. I called the bank b/c I wanted to check on a charge on my account, well this morning when I woke up and checked my account, I had a two dollar charge on there. Come to find out, if you talk to a rep over the phone they will charge you!!! What kind of B******* is that!!! So to all the BBT BANKERS DO NOT CALL AND TALK TO A REP B/C THEY WILL CHARGE FOR IT. Just ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Jun 05, 2009

    I had the same problem. I placed money in the bank to cover something I bought but still was charged 35.00 DOLLARS!! When I called the bank I was told it does not matter if you can see the money on your account, b/c everything deposited after 2.00pm is processed the next day! Just STUPID

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Aug 12, 2009

    DO NOT USE THIS BANK, THEY TOOK MY MONEY AND LIED TO ME!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gp
      Nov 04, 2009
    BBT BANK - EXCESSIVE FEES
    BBT Bank
    Chestnut Ridge Rd
    Morgantown
    West Virginia
    United States

    I made a 1300.00 deposit at 8;23 am on 11/3/09 I asked when it would post and was told by teller right now. I went to my office and made three purchases on line at 11:30, 1:30 and after 3:00. imagine my suprise when today i am hit with105.00 in overdraft fees because they take out purchases at the beginning of the day even when they are made in the afternoon after a deposit. I guess BBT has their own time system? Its bad enough having to wait a few days if you don't get there before 2:00 on a Friday. Oh well after 20 plus years I guess change can be good. So anyone got a good bank in Morgantown or is it time to go back to burying it a mason jar in the yard?

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jul 31, 2011

    In your monthly statement it advises you of account changes and anyother pertinent information. You shouldn't blame a bank for your inability to ready your paperwork. BEFORE opening an account anywhere read the Bank Services Agreement - It will advise you that your account may be subject to change, it will advise you of any fees, and *shocker here* it will tell you how to be sure you know of changes in an account. No banks are not offering free checking accounts. That's a fact. Read the fine print on everything. Credit Unions will be changing in 2 years.

    0 Votes

Post your comment