The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Bata India / extremely poor quality footwear

1 India Review updated:

I bought a pair of footwear size 9 for my 17 year old son on 02/09/2017 by paying Rs.499 from Bata India Ltd Showroom, 115, Sampige Road, Malleswaram, Bangalore. My son used the same on 03/09/2017 and within 5 minutes of using the buckle, the thread, the velcro everything was out and he had to limp back home. I took the poor quality footwear to the showroom at 3 p.m. on the same day i.e. 03/09/2017. The salesperson Mr. Aiyyappa who attended to me was extremely sarcastic and arrogant. When I complained to him about the quality of the footwear he sarcastically laughed and showed me other display pieces of the same model in which the threads were already coming out. He refused to exchange the footwear and said that if I wanted then he could get it repaired but couldnot guarantee that the footwear would be fine after repair. He said that he didnot care if I complained to even the Divisional Manager. There was no responsible, well mannered person around to attend to me. Showroom Manager Mr. B.B. Mohan was not to be seen anywhere. On enquiry, I was told that he is expected in the showroom only after 5 p.m. I have made 5 calls to the showroom already and he is still not there. If this is the kind of service Bata India gives then I really feel sorry for the company.

Ref: Article No. 8616054 EDD
Cash memo no. 02/09/2017/1/0111

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sa
      29th of Sep, 2006
    0 Votes
    Bata India - Poor quality and no response
    India

    I had purchase one pair of shoes from bata india shop at 83 hazratganj,near gpo,lucknow-226001 in the month of july2006. After the few days of using this pair of shoes... The sole of shoes came out from different place for whcih i made my complain at the same shop.

    They ask me to give my shoes for repair.i gave those shoes pair to them.they return me the same shoes pair after a week. Whole sole is stitched in place of proper pasting...... Whcih is also looks bad.

    I had complain with them they told me they are helpless in this matter godwon people handle repair process.

    After the month time whole sole is get cut because of stitching for whcih i had already complain and also upper is destroyed in different place.

    I again visit and show my shoes at bata india shop and also write a email to bata india head office but no one ready to help me or response.

    I am really shocked with this working style and poor quality of products from such a old reputed company.

    We are customer from my school days for their product.may god help me and make them understand their management to realize about their faithful customers.

    Sanjeev, lucknow

  • Um
      19th of Oct, 2006
    0 Votes
    Bata India - Poor quality, arrogant people!
    India

    This is in reference to my purchase of a Bata Sports shoes form Company Operated Bata Outlet at 218-219, BAPU BAZAR, UDAIPUR - 313 001 on 15th June 2017 between 1300 hours-1500 hours for Rs 590.00.

    To the utter of my surprise the sole of the shoe cracked from various places within one month of my usage and the leather tore of from the weaving. This happened on my two month outstation visit. On 8th September 2017, when I reported this to the store manager at the above outlet, the responses given by him were quite shocking.

    Firstly, he said that the shoe is beyond the scope of repairing and nothing can be done. He said that it was my duty to report it at the first damage itself and not now. I am unable to understand, should I have left the trip in between and have come back to get the repairs done???

    Secondly, the store manager refused to agree that the shoe was bought two months back. On my repeated asking of the COMPANY GUARANTEE POLICY, his reply was ‘Depends’! I agree that I was not carrying the invoice of sale, but I told him of the precise date and time of Purchase that he can tally from their own records, but the shopkeeper again refused, saying that ‘We don’t do that”.

    Thirdly, the store manager was utter rude and arrogant despite of his old age and gray hair. His every answer was aimed at insulting me for coming to him. When I asked for the address of The Head Marketing Personnel for Rajasthan, he simply said, “ I am the concerned officer and my decision is the final”.

    I wrote the entire matter to the company on 22nd September 2017, but they didn't bother to reply.

    Therefore my advice to all the readers is to buy any footwear but BATA, because of its poor quality and arrogant people.

    Umang Garg
    Mobile: 9860381940
    Pune.

  • Pa
      6th of Nov, 2006
    0 Votes

    I have purchaced pair of bata appolo black chappal on dated 15.09.2017.
    Come out some defect in uper leather.
    But dealer says it is not under replacement condition on 06.11.2017.
    Only guarantte of shole. I have deaposited to dealer, he says that i will be send chappal. Then i will give report after 2 months.

    I am very unsatisfied.

  • Ma
      20th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    I understand the feeling of a bad experience of a purchase, when the expectations will not meet on our spending. Usually i feel it is better to select always a footwear especially shoes in the evening hours, because our foot size will be correct for the right fit of a shoe, and we should calculate always about our working nature, and usage of a pair of shoes. Many shoes will not be a multi use purpose, that too on indian road conditions. I strongly feel BATA shoes are good in tannery giving very less damage to our footwear problems, compared to any other footwear product.

    I used other brands but none has given the relaxed feeling, where as spending some rs. 1000 and i feel one cannot judge the life of it for wear and tear. It is always better to maintain min two pairs of footwear, and now brands purchase is a matter of prestige, one cannot judge or depend on the quality just by seeing its price, it may be fashion trend, comfort of the model, or just clearance sale to compete.

    Once or twice it happens about the arrogance of the sales people, as a marketing man i will say it will purely depends on the approach of the customer too. I agree this applies even to the sales staff.

    One thing is know the maintenance after purchase of the footwear, it will give good results.

  • Da
      25th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    The same thing has happened with me too with main store in Hazaraganj, near Modern silk house.

  • Di
      29th of Jul, 2010
    0 Votes

    Ref No.20103075 Bata
    Dear Sir,
    I logde a complaint regardig poor qualitiy Power Bata shoe.After tha I receive this mail from Customer Services.
    Dear Mr. Singh,

    As per the information provided by you and the feedback taken from the store as a special case we extend to you a 100% replacement for the pair shoes being held by you. Please note the following with respect to the replacement


    1. If the same pair (article number / model) and size is available at the store we will provide you with the same pair at 100% of the cost


    2. If the same pair (article/model) is not available in the store (due to non availability of same model, size, color etc) you can avail the replacement (in this case also you will have to submit the damaged shoe to us) in value terms. It means that whatever value of the shoe was paid by you we will adjust 100% of the same value against your next purchase from the store.

    3. Please note that there is no cash refund.

    4. Damaged pair have to be submitted to Bata for replacement - mandatory

    5. THE ABOVE APPROVAL FOR 100% REPLACEMENT IS VALID TILL 31th July 2017.


    We would request if you could visit our BATA SHOE STORE at Rani Bagh, New Delhi and get in touch with the Store Manager Mr.Batra for the needful.

    Kindly carry that shoe submission slip of pitampura store with you.


    We would request you to please carry a printout of this mail & cash memo along with your shoes on any of the weekdays (Except Saturday & Sunday ) before Evening till 30th July 2017.

    Regards

    Customer Service Department
    Bata India Ltd.

    After that as per your instruction, When I visit the Respected Bata Store Rani Bagh (with print out of your mail and Shoe purchase and Submission slip). The Store Manager Mr. Naveen Batra told me I have not received any mail from Customer Services regarding your Bata Power Shoes 100% claim.So how can I provide your shoes claim.
    So plz mail Mr Naveen Batra (Store Manager of Bata Shoe Store) as soon as possible because, according to you my claim validity is on 30th july 2017.

    His name and address:-
    Bata Shoe Store
    1256-A, Rani Bagh Market, New Delhi-110034
    Contact Person Name:- Mr. Naveen Batra
    Tel.:- 011-27024452
    Cell:- 9873797699
    E-Mail:- navin.[protected]@yahoo.co.in

    So Plz tell me in that situation what I did...

    Thanks & Regards,
    Dipak Singh
    #9891940230

  • Di
      29th of Jul, 2010
    0 Votes

    Ref No.20103075 Bata
    Dear Sir,
    I logde a complaint regardig poor qualitiy Power Bata shoe.After tha I receive this mail from Customer Services.
    Dear Mr. Singh,

    As per the information provided by you and the feedback taken from the store as a special case we extend to you a 100% replacement for the pair shoes being held by you. Please note the following with respect to the replacement


    1. If the same pair (article number / model) and size is available at the store we will provide you with the same pair at 100% of the cost


    2. If the same pair (article/model) is not available in the store (due to non availability of same model, size, color etc) you can avail the replacement (in this case also you will have to submit the damaged shoe to us) in value terms. It means that whatever value of the shoe was paid by you we will adjust 100% of the same value against your next purchase from the store.

    3. Please note that there is no cash refund.

    4. Damaged pair have to be submitted to Bata for replacement - mandatory

    5. THE ABOVE APPROVAL FOR 100% REPLACEMENT IS VALID TILL 31th July 2017.


    We would request if you could visit our BATA SHOE STORE at Rani Bagh, New Delhi and get in touch with the Store Manager Mr.Batra for the needful.

    Kindly carry that shoe submission slip of pitampura store with you.


    We would request you to please carry a printout of this mail & cash memo along with your shoes on any of the weekdays (Except Saturday & Sunday ) before Evening till 30th July 2017.

    Regards

    Customer Service Department
    Bata India Ltd.

    After that as per your instruction, When I visit the Respected Bata Store Rani Bagh (with print out of your mail and Shoe purchase and Submission slip). The Store Manager Mr. Naveen Batra told me I have not received any mail from Customer Services regarding your Bata Power Shoes 100% claim.So how can I provide your shoes claim.
    So plz mail Mr Naveen Batra (Store Manager of Bata Shoe Store) as soon as possible because, according to you my claim validity is on 30th july 2017.

    His name and address:-
    Bata Shoe Store
    1256-A, Rani Bagh Market, New Delhi-110034
    Contact Person Name:- Mr. Naveen Batra
    Tel.:- 011-27024452
    Cell:- 9873797699
    E-Mail:- navin.[protected]@yahoo.co.in

    So Plz tell me in that situation what I did...

    Thanks & Regards,
    Dipak Singh
    #9891940230

  • De
      1st of Jan, 2012
    0 Votes
    Bata India - worst experience of footwear purchase
    bata india
    India

    I purchased footwear of N5 comfort from Bata India showroon at MGF mall Gurgaon for RS 3599.00 on dec 25'2017 . I wore it today for the first time and the footwear has started got torned.. The entire thread strands from the front have got damaged and the leather of the foorwear is torned...is this the quality of high branded costly footwer from one of the renowned brands...????

Post your comment