The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Bank Of America / duplicate payment sent, not canceled as requested, caused significant overdraft and other returned payments!

1 United States Review updated:

Letter from bank of america:

Dear james stewart,

Payee: comcast-burlington
Scheduled payment date: 9/25/06
Amount: $120.00

Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding your payment to comcast-burlington made through online banking bill pay. This inquiry was already responded to on september 26. We are unable to cancel or change this payment because it has already processed. You may contact your payee directly to obtain a refund of this payment. If there was someone here who had the ability to honor your request we would, however, there is no one who has the capability to do so.

You may cancel or edit payment information online, without our assistance, as long as the payment status is "scheduled. "

We apologize if this creates an inconvenience.

You are entitled to receive a copy of any document that we relied upon during our investigation and/or processing of your request. To request documents, you can e-mail us anytime and we will send the appropriate documents by u. S. Mail.

Thank you for choosing bank of america. For further assistance, please contact us by e-mail or phone, 800.933.6262, online banking bill pay.
β€”
General e-mail

Date:09/27/2006 time:09:02:16 msg. Nbr:[protected]

From: [protected] stewart, james

To: customer service

Account: 0095074-xxxxx
Transaction date: 09/25/2006
Transaction type: online transaction
Amount: $120.00-
Reference no: [protected]
Transaction description/payee name: comcast-burlington bill payment
Payee account#:
Reason for inquiry: question about canceling a payment
Late fee: no
Late fee waived:
Late fee amount:
Fin charge: no
Fin charge waived:
Fin charge amount:
Select a payee type: cable television
Work phone number:
Home phone number:
Contact name:
Contact phone:
Contact date:
Customer message: reverse this duplicate transaction or direct me to someone who canβ€”

*note: for a bill payment you originated through online banking, we have provisionally made the payment on your behalf. You must deposit or transfer sufficient funds into your account by 5:00 p. M. (Eastern time) 1 business day after the date provided above to ensure the payment is completed. If you do not, the payment may be reversed.In either event, a fee may be assessed to your account.

β€”

Dear james stewart,

Payee: comcast - burlington
Scheduled payment date: september 25, 2006
Amount: $120

Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding your payment to comcast - burlington made through online banking bill pay.

We are unable to cancel or change this payment because it has already processed. You may wish to allow time for the payment to post, and then contact your payee to obtain a refund of this payment. You may cancel or edit payment information online, without our assistance, as long as the payment status is "scheduled. " we appreciate your patience and apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

You are entitled to receive a copy of any document that we relied upon during our investigation and/or processing of your request. To request documents, you can e-mail us anytime and we will send the appropriate documents by u. S. Mail.

Thank you for choosing bank of america. For further assistance, please contact us by e-mail or phone, 800.933.6262, online banking bill pay.
β€”
General e-mail

Date:09/26/2006 time:07:57:49 msg. Nbr:[protected]

From: [protected] stewart, james

To: customer service

Account: 0095074-xxxxx
Transaction date: 09/25/2006
Transaction type: online transaction
Amount: $120.00-
Reference no: [protected]
Transaction description/payee name: comcast-burlington bill payment
Payee account#:
Reason for inquiry: question about canceling a payment
Late fee: no
Late fee waived:
Late fee amount:
Fin charge: no
Fin charge waived:
Fin charge amount:
Select a payee type: cable television
Work phone number:
Home phone number:
Contact name:
Contact phone:
Contact date:
Customer message: already debited from my account at $113.00 please cancel duplicate payment which caused an overdraft.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ra
      4th of Apr, 2007
    +1 Votes

    Ever since MBNA was bought out by Bank of America, my credit card transactions has been a night mare. I am an involuntary victim of their poor customer service.

    On Oct 2006, someone cashed a promotional check for $8600 that was mailed to my old address. I called to report a fraudulent transaction and the Rep said that the check was used to pay-off a chase Credit Card balance. I was confused since I also had an account with chase that I had just paid in full. I told her it couldn't be me. Her reply was, You did the same thing a week ago so it must be you. I was furious, put on hold for ever. I tried arguing and asked to be transferred to the Manager. They finally found out it was a different chase account that belonged to somebody else. Had it not been to that stupid thief who left fingerprints all over the place, I was liable for their own clumsy service. Before the fraud happened, I was on a zero% promo which was taken away when this happened. I now call every month to get credit for the Fin charges which should be cleared at once. I can't wait to pay it off and Close my account with them.

  • Ha
      24th of Nov, 2007
    +1 Votes

    Bank of America’s "overdraft" system is a crafty positive cash-flow scam in my opinion. Here's why I feel this way:

    I have two accounts with BofA that I manage using the same Online Access ID (I see and manage both accounts after logging in). One account "A" is where I keep the majority of my funds and the other "B" is from where I write checks, make credit-card purchases (card has a Visa logo), etc.

    When I make a CREDIT purchase (not Debit) on a weekday (Monday-Thursday) using "B", I transfer funds from "A" to "B" using www.bankofamerica.com that same night. The snafu is, for my location, I need to make such a transfer BEFORE 10:45pm "cut off" for some unknown-to-me reason, or the funds will NOT hit the account in time to cover the credit transaction. In that scenario, BofA will charge me $35 PER transaction that it now considers in overdraft.

    On a side note, their transfer confirmation page does NOT bother to list their server's current time for your records (eg: a print out). I find that equally as frustrating, since you would have NO proof to refute a claim that you did indeed transfer before their "cut off" time.

    Why question is WHY would my transfer from "A" to "B" -- two BofA accounts BOTH managed by my one Online Access ID -- not be INSTANTANEOUS? The funds are MINE already (not from a recent deposit), so why not just consider the funds instantly moved when I do an online transfer (even if the physical funds still have to go thru a wire-transfer or similar process the next business day)??

    I firmly believe that this is a HUGE money maker for Bank of America; to scam extra cash from their customers who are less fortunate, living paycheck to paycheck thereby keeping a low average balance.

    Again I say, if the funds are already in my account "A" and I transfer them online to "B", why is that not immediate REGARDLESS of the transfer time?

    I am exploring other banks and their policies at this time.

Post your comment