SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Banfield Pet Hospital / obscene price gouging

Spanish Fort, AL, United States Review updated:

Banfield Pet Hospital is the biggest rip off corporation! They prey on animals and their owners! Banfield literally rapes the wallets of people, who are concerned for their pets. They charged me eight times over what a pharmacy would for water pills for my pet. Banfield charged $49.00 and Target would have charged $14.95 FOR THE VERY SAME MEDICATION!! And even this web site charged less than Banfield...http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=9619 BANFIELD COULD USE GENERICS TO HELP SENIORS AND THE POOR...BUT THEY RIP OFF THE PUBLIC AND COST ANIMALS THEIR LIVES, DUE TO THE OBSCENE HIGH COST OF MEDICINE AND UNNECESSARY LAB WORK AND CARE! READ THE COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE AGAINST THIS SHYSTER CORPORATION.

Ma
Jan 29, 2013
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ra
      Jan 29, 2013

    Vets know whats in your wallet and appreciate greatly, the highly intensified dedication that such people as seniors, as well as nulliparous women, the usual dog or cat fancier, and those who have spent a grand or more for a pet have for that pet.. So what have they gotten into?

    Playing doctor... with no insurance company, no government agencies to look at what they charge, and for goodness sakes, no ObamaCare to get in the way! And man are they having a field day. Just think up a price and write it on the bill. God forbid, why did they stop at 8X the price when they could have just as easily charged ya 10X the price. Why stop at 8X? The average doofus wouldn't question it. Just have less to eat at the Bob Evans later that day.

    It's a perfect storm for vets...super expensive prices for purebred dogs, a population that emotes at any chance, and credit for days for everybody! Let's face it. Nobody who has bonded to their 1000 dollar pet is gonna stop short of MD Anderson treatment, It ain't gonna happen and they know it.

    In the old days, fido got old and eventually got sick. He found a corner to live out his final days in as inconspicuous a manner as possible. A courtesy that your friend reserved to ease your pain of his passing. He knew you'd miss him...but living as a handicap is not in their genes.

    So its all about vets who now have developed a business model that is an MBA's dream.

    I hope your pet isn't seriously ill. And I am encouraged that a store carries an OTC? remedy that can help him/her.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 29, 2013

    There needs to be a class action lawsuit for MALPRACTICE against this evil corporation. Contact me and we'll get the ball rolling. Read these complaints...OBSCENE, THAT THESE SHYSTERS HAVEN'T BEEN SUED!!

    +1 Votes
  • Ac
      Nov 17, 2017

    @Marcia VL Im in..please contact me of anything you know regarding this..they need to be shut down

    -1 Votes
  • Ra
      Feb 05, 2013

    Maybe the Federal Trade Commission should get off its butt and look into this area. Or, write your congressman. They jump at any and all chances to "regulate" business. Veterinary "medicine" is a business. I think it qualifies.

    +1 Votes
  •   Mar 06, 2013

    Walmart charges $4 for some antibiotics, Publix gives them for free. Walmart charges $25 for Humulin insulin, CVS charges $75. Get the picture? There is no law that says any two stores must charge the same or close for the same product. Price gouging, like bait and switch, is used often with no understanding what it is. If there was a natural disaster, and the store charged $10 for a bottle of water they normally charge a dollar for, THAT is gouging. Charging the same price for products they always charge is not.

    0 Votes
  • Me
      May 05, 2013

    i feel Banfield pet hospital is a rip off and they have inexperienced vets their, not confident at all, wouldn't neuter my pet due to a heart murmur that increased in number when my cat had a viral infection, brought Milo to a REAL vet he agreed Milo needed and ultrasound of heart but did not refuse to do the neutering, he said the vet at Banfield wanted to use waayyy to much anethesia where Dr Weed said he would gas him and would be in and out, he said that he has done this before and the survival rate was 99 percent, that showed me he was sooooo confiedent, i agreed to sign against medical advice form and the inexperienced vet still wouldn't do it. I will say Milo is neutered and very healthy thanks to Dr Weed, he is expensive but is knowledgable cofident and answers all questions fully where Dr Holmes was like a child out of her playground

    0 Votes
  •   May 06, 2013

    Melissa, if Banfield had neutered your dog and the stress of the anesthesia caused him to have a heart attack, you would be here accusing them of killing your dog and malpractice.

    +1 Votes
  •   May 06, 2013

    Also, what one vet, or doctor even, charges for services has no bearing on what another charges. If I visited a doctor or a vet that had the nerve to bad mouth another over price, I would leave. I would never give my money to someone who bad mouthed another's prices. One business has no idea what another business' costs are.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
      Nov 17, 2017

    Please someone give me any info in what to do i want to take action and get my money back..my dog was diagnose with allergies and it turned out to be thyroid for 1 and ahalf yr..i canceled my memebership immediately called the company and when i mention lawyer she got quiet...we need to get our money back..i left a message for the manager n still waiting for a call back

    0 Votes

Post your comment