SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Backpage / social media and profile

Topeka, IN, United States Review updated:

On backpage ad format you added a space that asks the ad owner for social media or profile. If the space is left blank the ad wont post.. What info do you want in this space? There are many people who do not use social media to protect their privacy. You can not put potential baxkpage ad owners safety and pri vacy at risk by linking a backpage ad to their face book page. Thats a huge breach. Alternatives :-remove the secfion, make the info optional or print a generic social media site that ad users can enter if they donf have or want to use their social media page on a backpage ad. If people were brazen enough to link the two together they could just post a personal ad from tbeir facebook page for free. Then back page would become obsolete. I dont use social media. I have listed ads on backpage w no trouble. But now my ad. Womt post because I have no entry to fill in the blank for social media on the ad form. Please advise

Ka
Oct 23, 2017
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • St
      Nov 04, 2017

    Sweetie, just make a profile on Instagram with fake info and then put it on privacy.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Nov 08, 2017

    @StefanieStripwell whats up im trying to get some of my freinds some hookups i need some tips

    +2 Votes
  • Ya
      Nov 13, 2017

    @StefanieStripwell hi, Stefanie. how to fix the issue ? and what I need to fill out on the blank of media page? I feel like the BackPage do not care about the customers at all! we paid the money for good service. but not

    +1 Votes
  • Ya
      Nov 13, 2017

    @StefanieStripwell I have made a profile on Instagram and I dont know hot to put it on privacy? could you tell me ?

    0 Votes
  • Ya
      Nov 13, 2017

    @moneymakingganja Hi, Do you have the customer service phone number for backpage? we need to talk

    +2 Votes
  • St
      Nov 15, 2017

    @yangyangdeyi It's under the settings.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Jan 24, 2018

    @StefanieStripwell I attempted to do so with Facebook. it will not accept my made up account or my real one. I just keep getting that it is not valid. One has been my profile for 10= years! Any suggestions?

    0 Votes
  • Di
      Nov 08, 2017

    Backpages does not respond to email questions or calls. My guess is that they are raking in the money and laughing at everyone. I have the same problem with my ad. I can repost an existing ad, but I cannot edit or update it without including a social media account. And like the first comment, I do not have a social media account. I may take my advertising money elsewhere if they continue to ignore their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Jan 24, 2018

    @Dick Bartlett Where if I may question. I have tried both a newly created fb account and my !0 year old one and neither are accepted. With both it claims my page or profile is not valid. I use craigslist but do not get the same results as bp. Thanks, Di

    -2 Votes
  • Di
      Nov 08, 2017

    I have the same complaint. I tried editing an ad and also creating a new ad, and it requires this social media deal. I am not sure what they want. And I have sent emails and called Backpages. They simply do not respond to either. I am guessing the owners are raking in the money, lying on a beach someplace, and laughing at us for being so stupid. The one suggestion of creating a fake social media account makes not sense. Why should I do that just to post an ad that has nothing to do with this social media account. This field should be optional only. If Backpages does not change its way, I will take our advertising money elsewhere.

    -1 Votes
  • Ya
      Nov 13, 2017

    @Dick Bartlett Hi, Dick? I could not find the customer service phone Number, and it is seem like nobody work there, they play us like a fool

    -2 Votes
  • St
      Nov 15, 2017

    @Dick Bartlett Websites such as ESCORT Babylon and Erotic Monkey are stealing every single profile on Backpage and posting them, even going as far to post fake reviews with links to their other phony [censor] websites! I have been trying to get some removed. I [censor] hate these people. I hope they get into fiery crashes and live. They are also the ones flagging our ads because a few of my ads were not even up for 2 hours and yet they are posted on those websites and more that I've mentioned.

    0 Votes
  • St
      Nov 15, 2017

    @yangyangdeyi They won't answer anyway.

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 14, 2018

    @StefanieStripwell Hi i have seen this with my own ads! Its to the point that my old stage name as" britneyxo" was ran into the flippen ground! I had guys tell me that i was a [censored]n rat and a cop! So i googled myself and there it was ! My ads from listcrawler and backpage..but shown as that im a cop! Wtf?! I kinda laughed about it because clearly im not one and actually there was a picture of me in my naughty cop outfit ..with no pants i might ad and nothing but stockings and high heel slut boots...but then i kept getting more and more accusations that im a cop...and you know as much as i know being an escort that as soon as theres rumor that youve been busted or that you are a cop then your stock market plummets...and it did! ..this is my only job that i have right now they ruined me! And not only that..but if u click on my picture ..( as it says. "Click here for real licenced escorts " it takes you to a porn and webcam sex site..!!! And its not even free to access the website! You have to pay to be a member! So not only that they put my life at risk and my job at risk but they are making money off of my picture!!! Isnt that illegal??! I never signed or agreed to anything for my face to be used for a direct link to a porn site...i mean yes granted i post up on backpage ..but i have sugar daddies that donate to my grocery fund ...so each time someone clicks on me they make money...and i get sh** and i never alloed this!!

    0 Votes
  • Cu
      Dec 11, 2017

    I feel what you guys are. They're [censor] who can't answer one simple question but they can take your money. We never even had to fill it out until those [censor] changed it.

    +1 Votes
  • Na
      Dec 20, 2017

    I spend over 300 per week on back page ads over a your yr period and noticed that I'm having same issues related to posting this is deffently breach of personal information .I notice looking on a sight that I've been bad mouth saying comments reguarding squirtting which I've never done and my full name exposed as mentioting my children ..I'm concerned of my safty for my family ..I spend a lot of money over so many yrs never to receive a paper trail for taxes either this social med [censor] needs to draw some attaction before someone's killed cause some creeper knows our idenity..we need some answers before trouble hits...please someone give us answers maybe we need to call the papers draw attention maybe to get a responce

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 14, 2018

    @Nancy davey I have been on the [censor] list too! with a picture of me and my 2 little ones! this is invasion of privacy and puts my liitle kids in prime extreme danger of fckn pédophilies!! and to mention about pediphiles. I had a man who consistantly harassed me and was telling me what he wanted me to help him to do to sexually rape a little girl in the bath tub... I thoight that maybe he was some punk kid... but he kept calling and kept explaining in detail what he does to this little girl... I finally reached out to the police and I was told that this is a god dam real person who they have been looking for!... its still a cold case and it freaks me out that my kids picture is posted up linked with my name and links to backpage! this is [censor]. a huge safety violation for my babies and i... and whats worse... is that they havent caught the guy... or even have a picture of him!... watch out please..! he doesnt tell u his name but he says his daughter is 9 and her name is stephanie... ive reported it to bp but got nothing!!. from edmonton alberta canada... scared [censor]

    0 Votes
  • Cu
      Dec 20, 2017

    I totally agree with all of you. I have tried repeatedly trying to contact them to ask exactly what the heck they want exactly in there. Because I have tried so many times to ask them and never once received a reply. I think it's pathetic because a couple months ago you could have left it blank but now you have to fill it in. But nobody from Backpage can ever answer you. They should actually get in trouble for doing it in my opinion.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Jan 24, 2018

    @Cuddlebaby912 I feel likewise. Are you able to post once you ad the social media info? I cannot! It claims its not valid! One is my fb pg for 10 years. It foolish of me to even be willing to ad it however the customers from craigslist are sparse and often scary!

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Dec 20, 2017

    Thank God that I had assisting ads but could change anything I had to lose $130 dollars today for a hotel in kitchener as I couldn't post once I arrived I'm posses I ended up attending an area where I was able to post and made nothing all day cause noticing after my ad said tomorrow arriving which I had posted it yesterday informing my clients ..this shot is frigging up a lot of working ladies ..please rectify the issue back page ..as you don't mind taking thousands of dollars daily ..do you job and get things fix..up and running so we don't have to hot the welfare offices to live ..so of us need to survive we have families ..to provide for

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Dec 31, 2017

    New Cougar in town !!! Looking for a good time well that makes two of us . So give me a call, I aim to please and promise you will come see me again.😍

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Jan 12, 2018

    I have a social media account but how do I get it on my ad what information do I need to put in that space please somebody help so I can post an ad

    +1 Votes
  • Bl
      Jan 24, 2018

    @Lilly-ann Same here. I can't even use my legit social sites. I keep getting it's not valid. If you found any solution please let me know. Thank you and hope it works out.

    -1 Votes
  • Bl
      Jan 24, 2018

    I too cannot post even with my legit fb and twitter accounts! I created new ones as well but get a message in red that does not allow me to post and always says my social m, edia page is not valid when I attempt to post. Any info or help? Either on how to post or new places aside from bp and cl that are used. Thank you, I appreciate any help.

    -1 Votes
  • To
      Feb 03, 2018

    Cannot post an ad because of the social media space always comes up not valid

    -1 Votes
  • Tl
      Mar 06, 2018

    I just want to learn how to get back on Backpage for the social media I can't do it it doesn't allow me how do you do it I want to get back on

    -1 Votes

Post your comment