SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Auto One Warrantynon Refund of money paid

1 Review updated:

We took out this policy on July 10 2009 and we canceled it 30 days later. We were told we had 6o days to cancel. We received a letter from American Auto shield saying that our policy was canceled and to contact Auto One for a refund. We have called them in Aug and was told we would have a check in thirty days. No check. Talked to Lozan end of Sept we were to have a check two weeks. No check. Sent copies of letter requesting cancellation on Oct 9 2009. Oct 28 2009 called talked to michael. Said worst scenerio would have a check in two weeks. No check. Have called in Nov, Dec, and now its Jan we called and still no check! Is there a number for the Better Business Bureau that I can call? Would like to have my money back as we could use it.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jd
      Jan 20, 2010

    The company's response is further down. It's a lot to read through in chain e-mails, but here's my official BBB complaint:


    -----Original Message-----
    From:
    Sent: Wednesday, January 20, 2010 11:15 AM
    To: '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'
    Cc: 'Better Business Bureau'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; 'Better Business Bureau Dispatch'
    Subject: RE:

    It has now been 3 months since my last correspondence and the promises of a refund. I confirmed recently from Lozan (ext 378) that the refund should have been processed as it was annotated in my file. Once again, 3 months later from the date that was nearly a year and a half overdue for payment.

    Please provide the check back to me as you have indicated would be done not only by phone and regular mail, but the Better Business Bureau message below as well.

    I have not taken contentious measures as you asked because I wanted this done smoothly. As I've mentioned before, you stated on Aug 18 that I would be receiving a refund. Months upon months and me meeting your request has not proved fruitful.

    I am in active duty military and it does not look good upon your company take advantage of Soldiers, Sailors, Marines, and Airmen. I did not want to take this through the legal process, but inaction on your part after countless promises to follow through will do you a disservice not only to your reputation, but your current clients as well.


    -----Original Message-----
    From:
    Sent: Tuesday, October 20, 2009 8:17 AM
    To: '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'
    Cc: 'Better Business Bureau'; 'Better Business Bureau'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; '[protected]@autoonewarranty.com'; 'Better Business Bureau Dispatch'
    Subject:

    Good morning Mr. Gotor,

    You mentioned in the complaint below from the BBB that you would be refunding my money by the end of September. I have called and called and never had a returned call back. Please rectify this situation and refund the $XXXX


    Auto One Warranty Specialists
    310 Commerce, Suite 150
    Irvine, CA 92602
    Contact: Gotor, Tom
    Phone: [protected]


    Thank you for letting us know that you are dissatisfied with the company's response to your complaint. Although we forwarded your comments to the company, they have not responded further.

    Your complaint will remain in our files and will become part of the information we issue to the public about this company.

    Thank you for using the Better Business Bureau. Please contact us if we can assist you in the future.


    Complaint ID: 9843XXXX

    Complaint Classification:

    Complaint Description - Posted 8/3/2009 1:48:43 PM

    I was told by Ryan as of Sep, Nov, February, April, and by a new refund specialist in May and June that I would be receiving my $XXXX deposit and 3 months of $XXX refund in the mail. I have called them COUNTLESS times and I have been told each time I would be handled right away. I'm stationed in Lackland AFB while I'm on active duty and this company refuses to live up to their end of the bargain. My legal office recommended this action first before filing a lawsuit.

    Complaint Summary

    Promised 100% refund since Sept 08. Made many calls. Ryan promised check was in mail or would be out. Checked every month. Nothing yet-No call-backs

    Resolution Sought

    Refund $XXXX (XXX) as promised every time I have called. It is almost a year later and nothing but constant interest accruing on my credit card from a legitimate policy cancellation that is costing me $70 a month just in interest on a fraudulent company promise.

    Additional Information

    Date Problem First Occurred:

    9/15/2008

    Product or Service:

    Worst I have ever dealt with. Great salesmen, worst souls

    Model Name or Number:

    XXXXXXX

    Date Purchased:

    8/22/2008

    Order Number:

    WFC-XXXXX

    Amount In Dispute:

    $X, XXX.00


    Company's Response

    Company's Initial Response - Posted 08/18/2009

    Like many of us, our company is feeling the effects of the economic condition in our country. Fewer sales and unpaid premiums have left us in financial difficulty. As a result, we are not in a position to make this refund immediately. And for that, we apologize. However, we have contracted with a business group with years of experience in this industry to assist our finances and help us in setting up reserves. These reserves will be built through sales. By the end of September, we anticipate being in a position to begin refunding again. We are asking our customers to be patient just a while longer. Give us an opportunity to make these refunds. Taking contentious action will simply serve to slow our progress and place us in a position where refunding you will become impossible. Being up front and honest is always the best approach. We expect that the business model we have in place will be successful. Thank you again for your patience and understand.

    Initial Response Summary

    Thank you again for your patience and understand.


    Consumer's Rebuttal

    Consumer's Rebuttal - Posted 08/20/2009

    This is contrary to what I was told a week ago on the phone. After confirming twice on different occassions that my refund was being processed, I receive this notice telling me another 6 weeks before you can start refunding--and who's to say I'll be in the beginning stages of the refunds. I have called to speak with "George" 4 different times in two weeks and after being continuously promised a call-back, I am yet to receive one. Luckily, the phone reps are allowed to let me know some status as to if the paperwork has been processed or not...but that's it. This is the first I have been informed of an economic condition for AutoOne. Though I understand this as I am going through it myself; hence the reason why I have been requesting this refund. What AutoOne has failed to recognize is that I purchased this warranty through their credit card option, and though I opted out within the required time, they did not refund it and I have had to pay X% interest on this $XXXX product I returned. I have since paid $XXX.67 in interest on this and the longer it takes to get refunded, the more I pay in interest. AutoOne should refund the interest paid as well for not meeting their obligation.


    Company's Final Response

    Company's Final Response - Posted 08/21/2009

    As previously stated our intentions are to refund the customer by the end of September.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
      Feb 02, 2010

    WARNING: AUTO ONE WARRANTY IS FULL OF IT. BE CAREFUL. DON'T GET CAUGHT IN THEIR RACKET
    I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR MY REFUND FOR THE PAST EIGHT MONTHS. CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS. WITH THE SAME ANSWER "YOUR REFUND IS IN PROCESS, CALL BACK IN TWO WEEKS." LET'S EXPOSE AUTO ONE WARRANTY DECEPTIVE WAY OF COMDUCTING BUSINESS WITH THE PUBLIC, THE BBB, THE FTC AND ALL AGENCIES THAT CAN PUT A STOP TO THEIR UN-ETHICAL WAY OF DOING BUSINESS.

    0 Votes
  • Ps
      Mar 22, 2010

    File a complaint with the Attorney General's office, I did. I have also spoken with the FBI. Auto One was sued by the State of MO. The following is from the LA BBB.

    Agency: Attorney Generals where no BBB (AG)
    Description: On December 14, 2009, the Missouri Attorney General’s office filed a complaint alleging this company made solicitation calls to Missourians who had previously placed their names on the state's No-Call list. According to the Attorney General’s office, telemarketing calls were made to Missouri residents in an attempt to sell products described as automobile warranties.

    The State is seeking maximum civil penalties for each violation of the law, investigative costs, court costs, and a court order to stop the company from making calls to Missourians on the No-Call list that have no established business relationship with the company. The case is currently pending.


    Date of Action: 12/14/2009

    Agency: Attorney Generals where no BBB (AG)
    Description: On December 23, 2009 the Missouri Attornry General's office entered into an assurance of voluntary compliance agreement with this company to settle previous charges filed earlier in the month.

    The agreement requires the company to comply with all state and federal laws regarding telemarketing and telephone solicitations or sales, to obtain the Missouri No-Call List, and pay $75, 000 to the State. Any violation of the agreement will result civil penalties.

    Date of Action: 12/23/2009

    The only way you can stop these people is to get criminal charges filed against them.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Nov 04, 2010

    I am the CFO and Operations Manager for American Auto Shield. Let me say first that we are not Auto One. They did sell some of our contracts, but not many in terms of their total sales numbers. Anyone that has a contract of ours is being refunded. I cannot speak for other administrators. If you have not received your refund on one of our contracts you should contact me directly at p.[protected]@americanautoshield.com. If you do not have one of our contracts you should still be refunded. You just need to contact the administrator of the contract.

    0 Votes

Post your comment