Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

AT&T

Posted:    

they lied to get contract

Complaint Rating:  0 % with 0 votes
0% 0
1
Contact information:
AT&T
United States
att.com
May 2008 - Purchase an air card from AT&T wireless.

May 2008 - Receive air card. Doesn't work. Call customer service, they can't figure it out. Went to local store. Turns out it just wasn't activated. Thanks for wasting my time (3 days) and gas with ignorance.

May 2008 - Told I can suspend my card and only pay $10/mo instead of the full $60/mo. Accept the contract under the guise that this is true, because I travel overseas quite a bit.

June 2008 - Suspend card, travel overseas.

August 2008 - Did not receive $100 rebate for air card. Turns out, you can't receive the rebate while the card is suspended. Why does that rule exist? That's ok, I'll unsuspend later when back in the states, then get the rebate (instead of paying the $60/mo to have it unsuspended). Trying to save money like everyone else.

Late August 2008: Check bill. Realize I did not get the $10/mo suspension deal. Still charged $60/mo. Call to find out the problem. Keep getting disconnected when transferred. So, try to e-mail from my AT&T account. Turns out, you can't just send an email, but you go through an entire ordeal of identifying the subject of the email, etc. When you are done, it does not let you email, it says that your problem will be solved better if you call. 2 hours later, I finally get through on the phone.

Same day, the call: They tell me that I cannot get a reduction in price for a suspension. Apparently, I was either blatantly lied to in May in order for me to accept the original contract, or the representative had no idea what he was talking about. Either way, it was what I was told. Yet, they will not refund me the money I was told I would save. So, I ask to cancel. Well, then they charge me $125 for early termination. Then, the lady insinuates that I accepted the contract and that just because I was told one thing, doesn't mean I'm not at fault. So, I cancelled anyway and wish to fight it.

Logical Point: I would not have purchased the product if I couldn't save money suspending it. I am only in the states 3 months out of the year. I was told that suspending it would drop the price to $10/mo, so I accepted the contract. Either through ignorance or malice, I was told something that was not true, and I have to pay for it. Plus, I don't get a rebate. Total money that I should not have paid, but have to anyway because a representative told me wrong info:

- $50 for one pay period

- $50 for another pay period

- $100 rebate

- $125 cancellation fee

Total: $325 that AT&T steals from me all because they told me one thing that wasn't true.

How do you fight this? I have no record of the original conversation. Guess the only way is to post this wherever I can.
Complaint comments Comments (8) Complaint country United States Complaint category Other

Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
A  28th of Oct, 2008 by    0 Votes
AT&T trys to scam alot of people. I have two lines with them (family plan) that cost me $59 dollars per month with a 2 year agreement. The fine print states that I could add a third line for $9.99. So I called CS and to add a third line. They told me I have to sign a new 2year contract for the third line if I want a new phone from them for my third line. This is understandable...

So I bought a phone on ebay to save me the troubles of dealing with AT&T for another 2 years. Once the phone came, I called CS again and requested activation for the phone I bought on ebay. The CS lady told me I had to go buy a unactivated SIM card for $25 at one of their stores then call her back for activation.

I did some research and found out that AT&T goPhones have the same unactivated SIM cards provided in the package, cheaper. Bought one for $14 with phone and SIM

I called CS, thinking I now should have everything I need...
This time I was transferd to an odd pushy department... The CS lady had no clue what I was talking about and told me I had to sign up for at least one year contract with the third line even if I have my own phone. Strange... I asked her why? She Put me on hold and came back a few minutes later saying that's what I had to do. Oh, and now if I decided to sign up for a year add a third line, I would have to order a SIM from them for $5.

Ok, so now I'm offically an un happy AT&T customer. I went back to return the goPhone with the SIM card. Stoped over at an ATT store and spoke to a sales rep. The sales rep gave me a free SIM card and activated my ebay bought phone with out any service agreement.

AT&T is the same old phone company, they try to nickel and dime everyone!
It is strange that they say one thing over the phone when a customer calls, and does another in the store.
N  14th of Nov, 2008 by    0 Votes
Actually, I purchased an air card, It was OK. This week can't get on the internet sites that have graphics. It's slower than dial up. This only started to happen after my 30 day trial was up. I'm taking them to small claims court.
N  3rd of Dec, 2008 by    0 Votes
was told to get 100 dollars back for getting internet and modem and i didnt get my money that i badly need!!!
N  17th of Mar, 2009 by    0 Votes
I have a att air card bought 2/9/09 was not told that I have only 5gig cap on my 60 dollar charge a month : looked on bill online about 3/1/09 and there was not a bit usage amount so I kept using card continually: on today 3/17/09 in the morning I tried to connect was rejected code 718; called att cs this evening (Akram) said over 7 gig was used and will be charged well over a thousand dollar for next bill due ; I will keep you posted on outcome of this...
N  14th of Mar, 2010 by    0 Votes
Here are the phone #'s, Address, Email, of AT&T’s CEO. Maybe he can get something done because AT&T Customer Service surely will not.

AT&T Inc.
175 E. Houston
San Antonio, TX 78205

ATTN: Randall Stephenson, CEO, President & Chairman

Tel. 210-821-4105
Fax 210-351-3553

rs2982@att.com (direct)
randall.stephenson@att.com

Here is the web address if you wish to join in the class action law suite against AT&T. http://www.dslspeedsettlement.com/

That's right AT&T is being sued for advertising and charging us for one speed on their DSL service and intentionally providing a slower speed.. UH...HUH... that is AGAINST the LAW...
N  30th of Mar, 2010 by    0 Votes
A simple request to move an active DSL account from line A to line B at the same residence has resulted in no DSL for 5 days now with no sign of any fix in the future. When we checked why our DSL was down we were informed it was dropped and would be moved to the other line by 5PM. I guess 5PM could mean any day in the future to AT&T. After some cafeful investigation we determined the staff did not place an order for the DSL at line B so A was dropped and a nothing happened. A new order was placed with a 72 hour delay in installation, but it is now in "PENDING" status, whatever that means.

Don't email the CEO as the staff will get even with you and delay or stall any request you make.

As soon as Bellsouth was taken over by AT&T it all fell into the gutter.
N  28th of Feb, 2011 by    0 Votes
same here! i was supposed to get a 100 dollar mail in rebate and never recieved it!
N  15th of Aug, 2017 by    0 Votes
THEY TOLD ME 89.99 2 YEARS AND NOW THEY RAISED PHONE FROM 20 A MO. TO 32.00 AND THEY CHARGE A REGIONAL SPORTS FEE OF 7. 29 THEY DON.T TELL YOU ABOUT TILL YOU GET BILL THIS COMPANY ARE A BUNCH OF LYING CROOKS.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards Complaint Agree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

At&t Logo At&t
Customer Care Service
575 Morosgo Dr NE Rm 14f67
Atlanta
Georgia
United States - GA30324-3300
+1 800 331 XXXX
View Full Information
Contact Us
bdomains.com
     

Reply to

Send