Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Apria Healthcare / medical

United States Review updated:
5
Apria charged me double for sleep apnea products that I could have bought online for half the price. Also, when I realized that the mask I was using was causing my eyes problems because of leaking air, I called Apria to let them know the product was defective and was hoping for a return and refund but since I had the product more than 30 days they wouldn't work with me! It took a long time and several doctor visits to figure out what the problem was with my eyes and told them that, but to no avail. I wouldn't work with them ever again.!
Ch
0

Comments

Sort by: UpDate | Rating
1b
  7th of Mar, 2009
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
The reason why your mask is so costly, is because of the cost your healthcare insurance decided on. See Apria has a national retail price of all there equip. What happens is every home medical supply comp that offers equip of the same, will show the same national retail price. It all depends on the contracted amount your insurance had decided was a decent amount for the type of equip your receiving. And what also plays a great factor is what kind of policy you have as well. weather you have an 80/20 policy. where you have to pay a 20% copay. Also do you have a year Deductible? for example if Apria says that the national retail price of a Cpap Headgear was $479.00 and the ins said our agreement is $250.00 Apria has to adjust off $229.99 and make that none billable to you. But $250.00 is. IF you have a 80/20 policy then you would owe a $50.00 copay. But if your insurance says you have a $500.00 year deductible that has not been met they may take there part they owe, and tell Apria to bill you it all. making you pay $250.00
De
  17th of Dec, 2009
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
The Manager of Apria
Kasier send me (Dennis Straily) to you for a RESP. Kasier would paid 80% for the RESP and I would have paid 20% for it. Apria sent me the wrong RESP. It was installed by William Devor, but he or Apria change is to rental without letting me know it was a rental . It was the wrong one so I didn't use it. But when I return it. Apria wouldn't take all of it back. Left me with a humidifier that will not work without RESP. Apria will not refund any money are take back the humidifier, Apria will not took to me. This is a poor way to run a company. Apria is still billing $89 dallors for service that I didn't use.

Dennis Straily
10314 Princess Joann Road Santee, Ca. 92071 (619) 5620618
Account # 0905clu097
Wi
  23rd of Jun, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have exactly the same problem with Apria. Rental? I didn't agree to a rental and they billed my insurance for the whole amount. The amount they billed is about 3X what the exact equipment costs at a CPAP company on the internet. THREE TIMES MORE, not "national retail price."

The amount they debited my bank account was different every month and I couldn't get a straight answer from them why. What kind of rent changes every month with no notice? Then they told me it was paid in full, but here comes another debit the next month. I tried to return the unit last month and the guy told me I should keep it because it's paid for. Then I got ANOTHER form from my insurance company saying "you may owe $1, 290" because they've denied the latest claim.

I canceled my card and called the state anti-fraud unit. Am still waiting for a call back from insurance - but Apria has sent so many duplicate claims that the insurance company denies every claim from them now. What a goofy way to do business!
Ri
  13th of Oct, 2016
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Here is a complaint I filed with my insurance against Apria. Basically I learned that my previous insurance had made considerable payments toward my BiPAP. At the supposed rate Apria is charging for a rental, their profit on the unit would exceed 600% over five years. I have since learned that Apria was bought by the hedge fund Blackstone, which is notorious for stripping assets from acquired businesses. In any event, why any healthcare insurance would agree to paying many times the wholesale cost of a medical device is fishy. My complaint in ongoing, and I have decided to stop wasting my time calling Apria's Manila phone banks and simply start a paper trail so that I'll have documentation to submit before a small claims court -- should it come to that. #########
Ricardo xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Sacramento, CA 95833
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pers Care Anthem Blue Cross
P.O. Box 60007
Los Angeles, CA 90060-0007
Calperscustomerservice@anthem.com
Attn: Ms. Xxxxxx xxxxx

September 18, 2016

Dear Ms. xxxxxx,

Thank you for taking my calls on September 15th and 16, 2016 and for examining my complaint against Apria Healthcare.

Summary of this Complaint

Up to December 31, 2015, I was using a BIPAP durable home medical device supplied by Apria Healthcare and paid for in full by my insurer at the time, Blue Shield of California (this insurance plan provided to me by the California Public Employees Retirement System [PERS]). Because Blue Shield of California was no longer available to PERS annuitants after 2015, my wife and I switched to Pers Care Anthem Blue Cross, beginning in January 1, 2016. I did not learn until May, 2016, that the conditions by which Apria provided my BIPAP had changed. I was told by Apria that I had to provide them direct access to my Golden 1 Visa card. Apria began making charges without notifying me. Getting Apria to respond was quite difficult, and the explanations for the charges made varied each time I called them.

On September 15th, I contacted Pers Care Anthem Blue Cross and spoke to Ms. Xxxxx xxxxxx. She informed me that the charges made by Apria Healthcare to my credit card account on the BIPAP, $616.24 to date, accrued no equity and were merely for a rental. This was a complete surprise to me. At the rate I was paying, my charges for the BIPAP rental would be $821.00 for the year. This last summer I checked online for the retail price of the BIPAP, ResMed Aircurve 10, and learned it costs about $1500.00 new. This means that my payments to Apria to rent my BIPAP over the five year expected life span would total $4108.00. This represents a nearly 300% profit for Apria (considering extra profits from accessories and buying bulk at a wholesale price from manufacturers). And of course, I would at no point own the BIPAP or have equity in it.

Had I been fully informed about the terms and conditions for my being supplied a BIPAP by Apria/Pers Care Anthem Blue Cross, I would never have agreed to such a contract and would have sought another supplier. Moreover, Apria’s terms and conditions have been
-2-

impossible for me to discover as I have been given multiple explanations for billing from multiple representatives from Apria.

Proposed Settlement

I would be willing to pay a reasonable monthly fee for use of the BIPAP provided by Apria, this determined by the price Apria paid for the item divided by its five year useful life and an additional REASONABLE profit. I would then either switch to a CPAP machine, which Ms. Garcia informs me is an installment program (my decision would depend on price and terms), or I would buy my own CPAP or BIPAP and discontinue utilizing Apria’s services. By my calculation, the $548.24 I have already paid to Apria this year is more than a reasonable rental value, hence I would be due a refund. (A medical device costing $1500.00 and lasting five years would yield a basic monthly rate of $25.00, or $300.00 for the year, not including a fair profit and interest.)

This does not mean I would be satisfied by having to pay for health benefits that were previously covered by available PERS plans, and I would pursue this matter further with PERS.

Chronology

In March, 2010, after an examination and follow-up sleep study, Axxx xxxx, D.O., with Dignity Health/Mercy Medical Group, gave me a prescription for a CPAP (continuous positive airway pressure) home medical device. My insurer at that time was Blue Shield of California, which directed me to Apria Healthcare, 1450 Expo Parkway, Sacramento, CA 95933 to pick up a CPAP machine. This device was effective in treating my sleep apnea and was provided at no charge. Similarly, associated accessories such as sleep masks, hoses and filters were provided to me at no charge.

I use the CPAP every night. In November, 2015, I noticed that my CPAP began making noises associated with mechanical wear, and the Apria representative at Expo Parkway advised me that it was time for a new device. According to Apria, my personal physician, Dxxxx xxxx, M.D. wrote a prescription for a BIPAP (an upgraded form of CPAP) on November 5, 2015.

I had made several calls to Apria for appointments and never received a return call. Since my machine was failing, I simply went to the Apria office on Expo Parkway in Sacramento on Friday, November 20, 2015. The situation at the Apria office was chaotic, and many customers were waiting for extended periods and disgruntled. After some time I was able to talk to the Apria clerk and turn in my old CPAP equipment. I was issued a BIPAP. I was told the technician was not available to calibrate my machine. I recall I was told that there were instructions for this “on the net”. I found a Web site that did have step by step instructions for calibrating the BIPAP, and I called Dr. xxxx for information on
-3-

recommended settings on the machine.

As of December 31, 2015, Blue Shield was no longer available to my wife and me, who are Public Employees Retirement System Annuitants, and we enrolled in PERS Care Anthem Blue Cross, beginning in 2016. We did not receive medical cards for several months. Some time in May, 2016, Apria informed me that I would now have to pay a $14.00 per month deductible fee for my BIPAP. Apria also insisted on being able to directly charge my Golden 1 Visa card in order for me to continue to use my BIPAP. Without a CPAP or BIPAP, I stop breathing 50-100 times per night, according to my sleep study. I had little choice in this matter and was told I had to pay for the months of Blue Cross coverage up to May, 2016, this reflected in a charge of $48.82 on May 17, 2016.

On May 21, 2016, I was charged an additional $14.00 by Apria, which I was told was the normal monthly charge. On June 21st, I was charged another $14.00, which I assumed would occur monthly for the duration of my using the BIPAP.

On June 22, 2016 Apria charged $443.18 to my credit card account. I was dismayed and upon inquiry was told this was the “yearly deductible” that was required by PERS Care Anthem Blue Cross. My understanding was that these payments would occur until my payments equaled the cost of the BIPAP. After a brief online search I found that my BIPAP, a ResMed AirCurve 10 sells for about $1500.

On July 21 and August 22, 2016, Apria charged me $14.00, a monthly fee I regarded as a usual co-pay. However, on August 22, I also received a bill from PERS Care Anthem for $864.00 for “Health Services” from Apria. Since I had received no services from Apria other than using the BIPAP they provided in November, 2015, I made a call to PERS Care Anthem and spoke to Ms. XXXX XXXX. She was very helpful and informed me that I did not have to pay $864.00 for Apria “Health Services”. Subsequently, my Visa card was charged $68.24 by Apria for reasons unknown. I had received no notification and no bill.

Because of this, I have contacted my credit union, Golden 1, and registered a dispute complaint with XXXX, teller #78709, dispute number 107465, pending a settlement with Apria over its billing practices and terms for my use of the BIPAP.

Appendix: Widespread Complaints about Apria Healthcare

A cursory search of the Web indicates that my complaint about Apria Healthcare is far from rare. Thousands of complaints about Apria Healthcare can be found on the Web at the following sites: The Better Business Bureau BBB.org (903 complaints in the last year alone); PissedConsumer.com (757); ConsumerAffairs.com (the top 666 complaints about Apria Healthcare are listed ); complaint board.com (7); [redacted].com (30);
-4-

Scambook.com (1);HissingKitty.com (5); Gripeo.com (8); Yelp.com (16); Trustlink.org (7); mrpulltabs@tripod.com (4); and one particularly bitter consumer created a website
dedicated to Apria: www.apriasucks.com. Again, this is far from a thorough search.

Additional Resources:

California Department of Insurance
California Department of Public Health, Home Medical Device Retail License Division
State Of California Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General
California Department of Consumer Affairs
Federal Trade Commission/Bureau of Consumer Protection

Sincerely,
Rxxxxx Xxxxxxx
XXXXXXXXXX@sbcglobal.net

Post your comment

Submit
Apria Healthcare Group Logo Apria Healthcare Group
Customer Service
Overall Satisfaction Rating

130 Reviews
26220 Enterprise Court Lake Forest
Lake Forest
CA
United States - 92630
+1 888 492 7742
View Full Information
     

Reply to

close
Send