SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Angel Investment Network / personal assistant ad

Austin, TX, United States Review updated:

I responded to a personal assistant ad on Craigslist (it's really becoming the scammers' favorite place). Sounded too good to be true and after I Googled Angel Investment Network + scam I got this site. Looks like I'm not the only one.

He's using the name Adam Martin Pozzi

Here's the e-mail:
Hello,

Thanks for applying for the post, I quite I appreciate it. I received and read your e-mail and it's reasonable and acceptable. So I will give this a go.
I'm looking for someone that can be trusted and reliable, someone with good understanding and working skills.

I am Adam Martin, 41 yrs of age, I'm a lawyer by profession and I have been pretty successful in a handful of ventures I get involved in; from the Angel Investment Network in Canada and United State to various welfare and community service programs. I most very often get my hands occupied, so it is imperative for me to have a worthy assistant who can monitor and keep me up to date with my activities.

This position is home-based and flexible, working with me is basically about instructions and following them. My only fear is that I may come at you impromptu sometimes, so i need someone who can be able to meet up with my irregular timings.

As my personal assistant, your activities among others will include:
*Create and modify documents using Microsoft Office
*Running personal errands, supervisions and monitoring.
*Scheduling programmes, flights and keeping me up to date with them.
*Acting as an alternative telephone correspondence while I'm away.
*Making regular contacts and drop-offs on my behalf.
*Handling and monitoring some of my financial activities..
*Basic wage is $600 a week

QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS:
*Good planning, communication and organization skills
*Must be honest, reliable & dependable
*Excellent verbal & written communication skills
*Must have strong problem solving skills
*Must be organized & extremely detail oriented
*Experience working with the internet, email, MS Excel and MS Word
*Ability to multi-task and self manage 24/7 mindset
*A willingness to do whatever needs to be done is a must

NOTE: The above qualification requirements can also be learnt if you are willing to take up the challenges.

I'm sure you'll understand I tend to have a very busy schedule at this point as I am presently in Iceland for a summit. I will be back in Three Weeks time.

I think you're the right person for this post, Please note that this position is not office based for now because of my frequent travels and tight schedules. It's a part-time, work from home basis and the flexibility means that there will be busier weeks than others. So it's a little difficult judging the exact number of hours you'll be doing per week. If you can manage your time properly, this job may even give you some extra while you do something else on the side. As I have said, I'd want us to get a head start with things as soon as possible. I do have a pile up of work and a number of unattended chores which you can immediately assist me with. I hope we can meet up with the workload eventually. Permit me to use the coming week to test your efficiency and diligence towards all this, also to work out your time schedule and fit it to mine. I really need to find the perfect person for this job and i am confident you can take up the challenges. On the long run we should have a relatively sound working relationship between us.

I'm online most of the time as I am hard of hearing so I prefer we contact each other through E-mails but if there is need for me to call, I will be glad to do that. I am glad you are willing to work with me and i promise to be a good boss. I am also glad on the commitment in working. I have been checking my files and what i would want you to do for me next week is to run some errands out to some of the orphanage home which I do every month. The funds will be in form of Cashier check, it will be sent over to you from one of my clients and i have some list to email you once you received the funds. You will make some arrangements by buying some stuff for the kids in the nearest store around you so you can mail them out. I will get you more information on that.

PLEASE FILL THE APPLICATION FORM BELOW;
First Name:
Middle Name:
Last Name
Full Street Address(not PO BOX)
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Age:
Sex: female
Cell Phone Number:
Email Address:

NOTE; Kindly send your application details to my private e-mail: (adam.[protected]@hotmail.com)

Once I have received your application form, I will get back to you with the task for next week. Please understand that you will also be paid as well as its important for me to make the necessary steps before i get back from my business trip. I hope i am clear with that?

NOTE: This position is home-based and flexible part time job, you can be in any location, work from your home doing all the activities

POSITION/AVAILABILITY:
Position Applied For :

How often do you check your email daily:

Please get back as soon as possible.

Adam Martin

Tx
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ya
      Jun 08, 2010

    OMG!!! I received the same exact e-mail, from " Mr Pozzi". Now i am scared because i sent him my-resume with basic info. I better go ahead and get a credit report right away. How could i have bee so naive, i should have known that this sounded too good to be true.

    Guys please be very careful who you share your personal information with, next thing you know, you are in some scam/trouble that you know nothing about.

    This is Mr. Pozzi E-mail:


    Hello,

    Thanks for applying for the post, I quite I appreciate it. I received and read your e-mail and it's reasonable and acceptable. So I will give this a go.
    I'm looking for someone that can be trusted and reliable, someone with good understanding and working skills.

    I am Adam Martin, 41 yrs of age, I'm a lawyer by profession and I have been pretty successful in a handful of ventures I get involved in; from the Angel Investment Network in Canada and United State to various welfare and community service programs. I most very often get my hands occupied, so it is imperative for me to have a worthy assistant who can monitor and keep me up to date with my activities.

    This position is home-based and flexible, working with me is basically about instructions and following them. My only fear is that I may come at you impromptu sometimes, so i need someone who can be able to meet up with my irregular timings.

    As my personal assistant, your activities among others will include:
    *Create and modify documents using Microsoft Office *Running personal errands, supervisions and monitoring.
    *Scheduling programmes, flights and keeping me up to date with them.
    *Acting as an alternative telephone correspondence while I'm away.
    *Making regular contacts and drop-offs on my behalf.
    *Handling and monitoring some of my financial activities..
    *Basic wage is $600 a week

    QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS:
    *Good planning, communication and organization skills *Must be honest, reliable & dependable *Excellent verbal & written communication skills *Must have strong problem solving skills *Must be organized & extremely detail oriented *Experience working with the internet, email, MS Excel and MS Word *Ability to multi-task and self manage 24/7 mindset *A willingness to do whatever needs to be done is a must

    NOTE: The above qualification requirements can also be learnt if you are willing to take up the challenges.

    I'm sure you'll understand I tend to have a very busy schedule at this point as I am presently in Iceland for a summit. I will be back in Three Weeks time.

    I think you're the right person for this post, Please note that this position is not office based for now because of my frequent travels and tight schedules. It's a part-time, work from home basis and the flexibility means that there will be busier weeks than others. So it's a little difficult judging the exact number of hours you'll be doing per week. If you can manage your time properly, this job may even give you some extra while you do something else on the side. As I have said, I'd want us to get a head start with things as soon as possible. I do have a pile up of work and a number of unattended chores which you can immediately assist me with. I hope we can meet up with the workload eventually. Permit me to use the coming week to test your efficiency and diligence towards all this, also to work out your time schedule and fit it to mine. I really need to find the perfect person for this job and i am confident you can take up the challenges. On the long run we should have a relatively sound working relationship between us.

    I'm online most of the time as I am hard of hearing so I prefer we contact each other through E-mails but if there is need for me to call, I will be glad to do that. I am glad you are willing to work with me and i promise to be a good boss. I am also glad on the commitment in working. I have been checking my files and what i would want you to do for me next week is to run some errands out to some of the orphanage home which I do every month. The funds will be in form of Cashier check, it will be sent over to you from one of my clients and i have some list to email you once you received the funds. You will make some arrangements by buying some stuff for the kids in the nearest store around you so you can mail them out. I will get you more information on that.

    PLEASE FILL THE APPLICATION FORM BELOW;
    First Name:
    Middle Name:
    Last Name
    Full Street Address(not PO BOX)
    City:
    State:
    Zip Code:
    Age:
    Sex: female
    Cell Phone Number:
    Email Address:

    NOTE; Kindly send your application details to my private e-mail: (adam.[protected]@hotmail.com)

    Once I have received your application form, I will get back to you with the task for next week. Please understand that you will also be paid as well as its important for me to make the necessary steps before i get back from my business trip. I hope i am clear with that?

    NOTE: This position is home-based and flexible part time job, you can be in any location, work from your home doing all the activities

    POSITION/AVAILABILITY:
    Position Applied For :

    How often do you check your email daily:

    Please get back as soon as possible.

    Adam Martin


    After e-mailing him back, i received this reply e-mail from him:

    Good Morning PA

    These is to acknowledged that your information has been received, You have been accepted and employed as my Personal assistance .
    As you know this is a part-time home base job for now till i get back to the state, If you have any other job at the moment, you can still keep to your job .


    You will start work as from next week, I will keep you informed as soon as i make the list of what you have to do for me next week and email them to you, but the first on the list is the orphanage funding that i usually do every second week of every month, do this every month to 3 orphanage home, you will be helping me out in purchasing some items which will be donated to the orphanage home .


    I will email you the list of the items to purchased at the store and all the necessary information on how to get it mailed out to the orphanage .

    Ensure you check your emails daily so you can keep in contact with me because i will be communicating with you mostly through email, it Nice having you on board as my PA while am away in the iceland, I will be getting back to the state in the next two weeks, i hope to meet you face to face soon .

    Thanks and do have a great weekend

    Cheers.


    Adam Martin

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Jun 27, 2010

    I also received the same letter as your guys from Mr. Pozzi on June 1st. He requested me to cash a cashier check and then send the cash via Western Union to someone in NJ. Since I do not know the source of fund therefore I quit.
    Please, be very careful about this because maybe the check is fake.

    0 Votes
  • Hr
      Jul 23, 2010

    Here is the email I got from Mr. xxx. (I used a fake email address today hahaha this email was different than the one I had originally received. This guy is a ###ing blow job

    Hello,

    Hope you're having a pleasant day today You contacted me applying for the position which I advertised on Backpage. Do take time to go through this introductory mail and feel free to pass any questions on.

    My profile briefly:

    I'm James Makinwa, 62, and a father of 3 wonderful kids, a successful entrepreneur and investor, a member of the Angel Investment Network. I'm also a research journalist and I travel every now and then within and outside the US working on various independent projects, this is why I need someone who can help keep up to date with all of my activities especially when I'm away and amidst my busy schedule.

    I have had a previous PA who has been very commendable in her activities and who has been part of my life for the past 6 months, she has since moved on with her personal life and it has affected me in a way. I found her previously on the Backpage website and I sincerely hope I will be able to find someone again who will be as efficient as she has been. Please note that you are being hired only on a personal level. All correspondences would be made and promptly reported to me personally. The position is part time and home-based meaning you can work most times from your home as long as you have a regular internet access. You are also hired on a trial basis for now until we are able to see how well we fit in, this however does not affect your weekly wage.

    Most of your activities will be carried out locally and most official packages will be delivered via posts. You will be actively involved in my personal, business and financial life. In summary, your activities as my assistant amongst other things will include;

    * Acting as an alternative telephone correspondence;
    * Running personal errands, supervisions and monitoring;
    * Organizing and maintaining diaries, memos and making appointments;
    * Dealing with incoming email, faxes and post;
    * Carrying out background research and presenting findings;
    * A personal reminder for Schedules, programs, flights and keeping me up to date with them as they come up;
    * Arranging travel and accommodation
    * Carrying out specific projects and research;
    * Taking on some of the my responsibilities and working more closely with management and other staff related to me;
    * Making regular contacts and drop-offs on my behalf.
    * Handling and monitoring financial activities.
    * Processing and taking charge of weekly payments and purchases.
    * You will also be a part of my household and a helping hand to issues as they arise.
    * General clerical activities.

    Basic wage is $450 a week.

    Any extra personal expenses (transport, gas, etc) incurred by you while on an errand or otherwise will also be reimbursed by me at the end of each working week.

    This position is very flexible and it is difficult judging the exact number of hours you will be doing, just bear it in mind that there will be busier weeks than others with a steady pay. Working with me is basically about instructions and following them, my only fear is that I may come at you impromptu sometimes, so I need someone who can be able to meet up with my irregular timings. There is also a very sensitive issue on trust, dedication and accountability which I believe will resolve itself as time goes on.

    This is only an introductory e-mail, as time goes on we should be able to arrange a proper meeting to get things started officially. I'm currently in Thailand now for a project, however, I do have a number of things you could help me with immediately, prior to my arrival.

    Due to the excessive number of responses to my Ad, do provide the following details about yourself for my personal record update and to filter applicants;

    Full Names
    Full Contact Address
    City
    State
    Zip Code
    Phone Number (H)
    Phone Number (M)
    Occupation (if any)
    Age

    I hope you can be available for me immediately before I arrive, it certainly can act as a stable foundation to our impending working relationship.

    Hope to hear from you again.

    234-7056589931

    Regards
    James Makinwa

    0 Votes
  • Hr
      Aug 16, 2010

    These people are worthless ###s for sure. I have been on tons of websites and found that sooo many people have been scammed by these people! They have had so much money stolen from them!

    0 Votes
  • Hr
      Aug 16, 2010

    Oh and BTW THE CASHIERS CHECKS ARE ABSOLUTELY FAKE AND WHAT EVER THEY SEND TO YOUR HOUSE IS STOLEN PROPERTY AND YOU ARE HELD LIABLE FOR IT

    0 Votes
  • Vl
      Aug 25, 2010

    Today I received the exact same letter but he changed him name as follows:

    I am Alton Paul Burton, 41yrs of age, I'm a lawyer by profession and I have been pretty successful in a handful of ventures I get involved in; from the Angel Investment Network in Canada and United State to various welfare and community service programs. I most very often get my hands occupied, so it is imperative for me to have a worthy assistant who can monitor and keep me up to date with my activities.

    His email is: [protected]@myself.com

    0 Votes
  • 2d
      Sep 03, 2010

    I feel the exact same way and here is the copy I just receive yesterday and today. This is crazy. Enjoy the read

    Hello,

    Hope you're having a pleasant day today You contacted me applying for the position which I advertised on CareerBuilder. Do take time to go through this introductory mail and feel free to pass any questions on.

    My profile briefly:

    I'm GILBERT JONES, 52, and a father of 3 wonderful kids, a successful entrepreneur and investor, a member of the HERO SURVEY INC. I'm also a research journalist and I travel every now and then within and outside the US working on various independent projects, this is why I need someone who can help keep up to date with all of my activities especially when I'm away and amidst my busy schedule.

    I have had a previous ADMIN ASSISTANT who has been very commendable in her activities and who has been part of my life for the past 6 months, she has since moved on with her personal life and it has affected me in a way. I found her previously on the CareerBuilder website and I sincerely hope I will be able to find someone again who will be as efficient as she has been. Please note that you are being hired only on a personal level. All correspondences would be made and promptly reported to me personally. The position is part time and home-based meaning you can work most times from your home as long as you have a regular internet access. You are also hired on a trial basis for now until we are able to see how well we fit in, this however does not affect your weekly wage.

    Most of your activities will be carried out locally and most official packages will be delivered via posts. You will be actively involved in my personal, business and financial life. In summary, your activities as my assistant amongst other things will include;

    * Acting as an alternative telephone correspondence;
    * Running personal errands, supervisions and monitoring;
    * Organizing and maintaining diaries, memos and making appointments;
    * Dealing with incoming email, faxes and post;
    * Carrying out background research and presenting findings;
    * A personal reminder for Schedules, programs, flights and keeping me up to date with them as they come up;
    * Arranging travel and accommodation
    * Carrying out specific projects and research;
    * Taking on some of the my responsibilities and working more closely with management and other staff related to me;
    * Making regular contacts and drop-offs on my behalf.
    * Handling and monitoring financial activities.
    * Processing and taking charge of weekly payments and purchases.
    * You will also be a part of my household and a helping hand to issues as they arise.
    * General clerical activities.

    Basic wage is $400 a week.

    Any extra personal expenses (transport, gas, etc) incurred by you while on an errand or otherwise will also be reimbursed by me at the end of each working week.

    This position is very flexible and it is difficult judging the exact number of hours you will be doing, just bear it in mind that there will be busier weeks than others with a steady pay. Working with me is basically about instructions and following them, my only fear is that I may come at you impromptu sometimes, so I need someone who can be able to meet up with my irregular timings. There is also a very sensitive issue on trust, dedication and accountability which I believe will resolve itself as time goes on.

    This is only an introductory e-mail, as time goes on we should be able to arrange a proper meeting to get things started officially. I'm currently in Thailand now for a project, however, I do have a number of things you could help me with immediately, prior to my arrival.

    Due to the excessive number of responses to my Ad, do provide the following details about yourself for my personal record update and to filter applicants;

    Full Names
    Full Contact Address
    City
    State
    Zip Code
    Phone Number (H)
    Phone Number (M)
    Occupation (if any)
    Age

    I hope you can be available for me immediately before I arrive, it certainly can act as a stable foundation to our impending working relationship.
    Hope to hear from you again.
    +234-8125990344

    Regards
    GILBERT JONES...

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Sep 28, 2010

    I have one kind of the same. Here it is...

    Good Day
    I'm very sorry for getting back to your message on time. This is to let you know that i have gone through your response. I am glad to tell you that everything is okay with me with your resume/interest as regards the Cleaner/House-help job position, also for accepting the offer. I have contacted my wife concerning the job and for other purpose which she might need you for, which she told me is okay by her, i believe you are fit for this position in as much you will prove yourself a Hardworking, reliable, good, honest & Trustworthy person.

    I'm Michael Jones and My wife's name is Patricia Jones, she's 5 months pregnant and this is her first baby. We are relocating to the City from Scotland, I will be coming there to work on contract basis with United States Environmental Protection Agency on a private research work So i need someone who could help me take care of house by doing some house work while am off to work. Someone that will also help in running some errands. I will be offering you $420 weekly, i will be needing your services for three hours at any suitable time of yours, Mondays through Fridays.

    I believe you are fit for this position in as much you will prove yourself to be a reliable and good person, We have a financier that based in the states and he will be handling the payment and some other expenses, so he will be the one that will be taking care of your payment, I will instruct him to pay for the first weeks before my arrival so as to secure your service, actually i should have paid for more weeks but i will extend the payment if am satisfy with your service after the first week.

    My financier will be making out a check payment to you before my arrival, you will be receiving a check out which you will deduct your pay for the first week and you will be using the remaining to buy foodstuffs and other things needed in the Apartment, you will be getting this foodstuff on the day of our arrival which is October 16Th 2010. Actually all flights from Scotland arrives at nights so you will be getting the foodstuff in the morning and making all other preparations. I will also instruct my estate agent to mail the keys of the apartment to you so you can do every necessary preparations concerning the general cleaning of the Apartment before we arrive, I will also email you the shopping list. You have to get all this shopping before our arrival so that we won't have to start running around when we arrive, So my financier would be

    Needing the following Information to make out the check

    Full Name to be on Check:...
    Address:...(NOT P.O BOX)
    City:...
    State:...
    Zip Code:...
    Phone(Both Home and Cell):...
    Did you accept my offer ?

    All i need from you is total honesty and sincerity. I know you will be committed to the work, You will also have a nice period of working with my wife.

    I will be waiting to hear from you.

    Thanks,
    Michael Jones.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
      Jan 25, 2011

    I also responded to this job posting on Craig's List . The scammer's new name is John Hill. Everything else in his e-mail response to me was almost exactly the same.
    Thanks for your interests in the PA position My name is John Hill, 40 years old, Originally from (Gerona)Spain, but I have spent my whole life here in United State. I'm a Business owner by profession and I have been pretty successful in a handful of ventures I get involved in, from the Angel Investment Network in Canada and United State to various welfare and community service programs, Presently I own PNL ltd so I' often get my hands occupied, so it is imperative for me to have a worthy assistant who can monitor and keep me up to date with my activities.As my assistant, your activities amongst other things will include;

    *Running personal errands, supervisions and monitorings.
    *Scheduling programmed, flights and keeping me up to date with them.
    *Acting as an alternative telephone correspondence when I'm away.
    *Making regular contacts and drop-offs on my behalf.
    *Handling and monitoring some of my financial activities.
    Basic wage is $400 a week

    Please note that this position is not an office based Job for now because of my frequent travels and tight schedules, it's a part-time, work from home basis and the flexibility means that there will be busier weeks than others, so it's a little difficult judging the exact number of hours you'll be doing per week.If you can manage your time properly, this job may even give you some extra while you do something else on the side.As I have said, I'd want us to get a head start with things as soon as possible. I do have a pile up of work and a number
    of unattended chores which you can immediately assist me with, I hope we can meet up with the workload eventually.

    I have been checking my files and what i would want you to do for me this week is to run some errands out to some of the orphanage home, I do that every month .The funds will be in form of Cashier's Check or United Postal Money Order and it will be sent over to you from one of my clients and i have some list to email you once you received the funds, You will make some arrangements by buying some stuff for the kids in the nearest store around you so you can mail them out...

    I will get you more information on that, I will like you to get back to me with your Contact Details such as:

    Full Name:
    Full Contact Address:
    Phone Number:
    Age:
    Email.


    Once i received your contact information i will get back to you with the task for this week, Understand you will also be paid as well as its important for me to make the necessary steps before i get to the state.I really need to find the perfect person for this job, I'm confident you can take up the challenge and on the long run we should have a relatively sound working relationship between us.
    Regards.
    John Hill

    0 Votes

Post your comment