SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] Ancient Mariner Group of Companies / payment of contractors

Vancouver, BC, Canada Review updated:
Contact information:

Ken Meiklejohn, is President and CEO of the Ancient Mariner Group of Companies which include Ancient Mariner Sign Services, Ancient Mariner Exteriors, Ancient Mariner Retail Stores, Ancient Mariner Industries, Spectacular Sign Services, Spectacular Acquisitions. The Ancient Mariner Group of companies is a work of fiction that Ken Meiklejohn created in his own mind. He bought a failing awning company many years ago and did not do his homework. He ended up with a huge mess because he did not do any due diligence on the company or the owner. The Canada Revenue Agency is owed a large amount of money that he will never be able to pay because the companies MAKE NO MONEY. In addition, he does not pay his contractors. He will screw contractors out of small amounts of money because on top of being incompetent, he is dishonest. If you are a contractor for this guy, get your money up front, he will refuse to pay, not answer calls and not make any arrangements for payment. My fault entirely for trusting this guy. I am posting here so that other people won't end up in the same situation.

  • Resolution statement

    Ancient Mariner's customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the client have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where company image and it's services are concerned.

An
Aug 28, 2013

More Ancient Mariner Group of Companies Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ne
      Jul 31, 2014

    Ancient Mariner's non existant customer care service had a lawyer write one singular threatening letter advising that I retain a lawyer as I have defamed Mr. Meiklejohn - which i guess in this case is every effort. I imagine the efforts ceased after discovering that lawyers actually have to get paid for their time. For clarification - It is only defamatory if it is not true. I am not a client of Ancient Mariner - I was a contract worker. Intimidation doesn't work very well with me. My complaint stands.

    +6 Votes
  • Mg
      Aug 20, 2014

    Not only does he screw over contractors but employees as well. I worked for Ken Micklejohn and this guy is a low life. He doesn't pay his staff.
    I have been trying to get my pay from him and he is making every excuse in not paying me. I received one payment in cash without a tax receipt. He is a shady guy, wants to do everything under the table so he doesn't have to pay taxes which I reported it to Canada revenue. He has so many business that area all failing apart, now he is trying to start a video classified ad as well., which is crashing.If you are owed any money from this guy reply here because I am taking this to the media which I'm already in talks with and I want everyone to know what type of person he is and save people time and money and not only that stress.
    I'm sure Ken you will type to defend yourself but I have things that are recorded on what you stating in your email that you cant afford to pay me is one of them. But hold your breathe for the media to talk to you and if you want to get a lawyer please do because maybe I can get my pay and so can others.

    So if anyone had any problems with Ken Micklejohn in not paying you please contact me, I already have contractors that he owes money too.

    +6 Votes
  • Ke
      Dec 03, 2014

    To whom it may concern

    I have decided to reply to the 2 posts that have been made on this web site site: with respect to the angry contractor I know exactly who he is. He was not paid because his work was substandard. He does not have the balls to put his name on the post or even start a small claims action which is his right. His correct remedy is to file a small claim action. It is not to make negative comments about a company that he has never seen the financial statements of or negative comments about me.

    To clear up these issues Spectacular Acquisitions Inc. the parent company is incorporated in Nevada USA. This company owns many companies, all in various stages of development and growth. On its last year end of Nov 30th, 2013 it earned a net income of over $140, 000. Most of the profits were from the commercial awning subsidiaries.

    Spectacular Acquisitions Inc. is soon going to issue shares our of its treasury with goal being to raise approximately $2.8 in new equity. Capital raised will be utilized for working capital, retire all legitimate liabilities ( which most likely will not include the idiot that made the post), and for future business development and other items. There will a healthy cash surplus left over.


    I most likely will be starting a legal action against him for damages, costs and special costs.

    With respect to second post I also know who this person is. Her name is Maria Pucci. She was hired as a sales rep. She never sold anything, did not work 8 hours a day and was a drag on cash flow so I fired her. She then starts threatening me with all sorts of things, which never got her anywhere.

    She ended up making a formal complaint to employment standards, which is her right and I support. She then tried to get paid for mileage and a computer which she had bought. Employment standards told her that was not right and rejected this without me even having to speak to them about it. Guess they can spot a fraud attempt when they see one. In any case, just to get ride of her she was offered a settlement, which she accepted. She paid the settlement on Dec 3rd, 2014.

    I may start a legal action against her in B.C. Supreme Court for damages.

    Ken Meiklejohn - President - Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd.

    -4 Votes
  • @Kenneth Meiklejohn You are a liar, a con artist and a thief. you have been sued over 30 times and you're so well known for this that the courts and lawyers around town know you and warm people off.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Jan 15, 2015

    Complaints by consumers and trades are valid.
    Meiklejohn, Ancient Mariner, and Spectacular Acquisitions are con artists. Stay far away from them.

    +5 Votes
  • Rc
      Jan 25, 2015

    Ken Meiklejohn / Ancient Mariner Industries was contracted and paid in full to provide and install an awning cover for our company in October/2014. Once Ken cashed our cheque, all communication dissolved on his part. Weeks after the installation was to be completed, Ken finally returned a phone call, telling us they had not even started the project. Ken was notified at this time that our client was distraught over the lack of communication and delay, and would be contracting their awning elsewhere. At this point of our conversation, Ken acknowledged and stated he would refund us the fund we had paid..
    Here we stand over 3 months later, having emails deflected back and phone calls never returned and no refund.
    We have strong concerns regarding the lack of integrity & professionalism of Ken Meiklejohn and the validity of any of his business dealings he may be involved with.
    We hope this post can assist others in their awareness of business operators in this industry..

    +6 Votes
  • Ke
      Feb 05, 2015

    this customer ordered an awning fabric that was not available in Canada. A refund was sent to him - I have no idea why he is making this post
    Ken Meiklejohn

    -6 Votes
  • @Kenneth Meiklejohn He makes the posts because they are all true. You have screwed over so many people then threaten them with lawsuits, don't worry he has no money and no lawyer wants anything to do with him. people don't post their names when addressing Ken because he relentlessly harasses them and acts like a child. Stay away from Ken Meiklejohn

    0 Votes
  • Rc
      Feb 10, 2015

    The above comment forwarded by Kenneth Meiklejohn on Feb 5th have yet to be a reality.
    We have have not received any re-payments from him or his company.
    He was contacted by the RCMP today Feb 10 2015 upon our behalf, and disclosed that has yet to take care of this matter.
    We were advised to proceed through the court system with their assistance.
    Please note that the Awning project was completed in late November 2014 by a more reputable local company using the Fabric color originally requested on our Purchase Order and in his quote, in a time frame of 14 days.
    We look forward to receiving repayment, and moving forward, instead of proceeding through the court system, but will do what is necessary to have our moneys returned and to keep characters like this from unsuspecting future customers.
    I will keep this forum well informed, and will proceed through other Online Site as this, until we have resolution.

    +4 Votes
  • Rc
      Feb 11, 2015

    WOW! It appears we finally have communication from Ancient Mariner Industries / Kenneth Meiklejohn via this forum after 4 months of hiding.
    There is no refund, as stated above. If there was a refund sent out, Kenneth would have mentioned it to the RCMP today, who are investigating this matter on our behalf.
    Regarding the "unavailable awning fabric " comment, this is not true. Our client was able to hire another local Awning Company to complete the project with the requested fabric within two weeks .
    How much longer should we wait for the arrival of our refund, ( that was apparently sent ) ?????

    +4 Votes
  • Ke
      Feb 11, 2015

    Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd. is Vancouver's oldest awning company. We always have hundreds of thousands of awning and signs under construction at times. We do not hide from anyone. The fabric that was requested was not available, despite what the poster states. If we could have located it we would have finished the project and earned a profit. A refund was sent to him, but because of the defamatory postings it may be best that he never received it. He may have turned this matter into a liability for himself.

    With respect to comment about the RCMP they called me. I immediately called back. This is a civil matter. They agreed that they are not will not be involved. If the poster feels that he has a refund coming perhaps he should file will small claims.
    Because of the defamatory postings and comments I have also discussed the matter with a lawyer that specializes in defamation. They will soon be in contact with the poster.
    Ken Meiklejohn
    President
    Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd.

    -5 Votes
  • Or
      Feb 12, 2015

    Yeah, so I am the original Angry Contractor. I got an email last week saying that I had disclosed information that was confidential and if I wanted to resolve this matter I should fax my invoices to him. Four things - 1 Hardly confidential, you told everyone of your difficulties in acquiring Ancient Mariner and about your money troubles. 2 Why resolve this now after so long? 3 Fax the invoices - what is this 1987? 4 Why threaten me with legal action so long ago? Bad move, very, very bad move. I couldn't sue because you refused to pay me which resulted in be being forced to move in with friends and unable to pay bills. I had no money, not even enough to file a court claim. Lost my phone and ability to communicate. I said in my posting that I was placing it here to warn other people - not to get Ken to pay, only to inform. Mission accomplished.

    +6 Votes
  • Ke
      Feb 21, 2015

    My response to angry contractor is that over the years I have bought and sold many businesses. I have also founded many and sold them for significant profits. Yes, Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd. was acquired on Dec 23rd, 2007. The cost was minimal.

    I had a company I am involved acquire it because it is the most well known awning and sign company in the lower mainland. It has been a challenge to turn it around. This has been accomplished. On our year end of Nov 30th, 2013 the Ancient Mariner companies earned on a consolidated basis a net income of $304, 047 US. We report in US currency because our parent company is incorporated in the United States. We are still doing our Nov 30th, 2014 year ends. Obviously all of our regular fabric and vinyl suppliers and other accounts payable's are in good standing or we would not be earning such profits. As well, like any other business the Ancient Mariner companies have accounts receivables.

    More importantly we have re-launched our web site www.ancientmarinerindustries.com and a Facebook and You Tube Channel. You will find links to these video channels on our web site. Videos have been taken show casing 27 awning projects we have completed in the last few years. They are posted on the Facebook and You Tube Channel. Some of them are the largest awning installation projects in the lower mainland.

    In the new few weeks about another 150 videos are going to be taken and posted. These sites will be continually updated with new videos as awnings and signs are fabricated and installed.

    I, and our accountants have been going though our past accounts payable's and we can not find any information on who the “anonymous”angry contractor poster is. We have come to the conclusion that the post is a scam. If it was a legitimate the post should contain their name and perhaps the amount owed.

    With respect to the other posters our address and phone numbers are on many web sites so we are not hiding from anyone. Posters should be aware that I am in serious conversations with lawyers in Canada and United States and statements of claim have been created and will soon be served on all of them for defamation. I will not tolerate being slandered.

    Ken Meiklejohn
    President

    -5 Votes
  • @Kenneth Meiklejohn liar and a cheat. everyone knows it

    0 Votes
  • Ex
      Oct 18, 2015
    Best Best Advice

    Ken Meiklejohn of Ancient Mariner was the ultimate flim-flam artist. He persuaded me to work for him but I quickly realized how he operated and left. Apparently like others before me I was not paid what I was owed after I left. I learned he had a number of outstanding claims against him by the BC Employment Standards Branch, but that there was nothing they could do about it. Meiklejohn protected himself very well against both employees and clients. His companies had no assets; no facilities, no equipment and kept no money in the bank. He put them in others names and registered them in foreign countries. He even rented his home and car. I don't believe any of his companies were really any more than him, a phone number and a website. For fun ask to meet him in his office or tour a shop.

    +7 Votes
  • Rc
      Oct 18, 2015

    Ancient Mariner continues to make false statement as to the resolution to this complaint. This company is no longer operating from the address on Creekside and has posted no current address so we and many others can serve them with our Small Cliams paperwork. We have been contacted by many other businesses whom are in the same situation, of having their money's taken by Ancient Mariner's president Ken Meiklejohn without providing services . If anyone was to proceed with doing business with Ancient Mariner I would recommend they do a reference check with anyl the Small Claims Court offices through out the lower mainland or have look on the BC Courts website showing the large list law suits against them.

    +4 Votes
  • @R Cronk I know where he lives if anyone want s that info please feel free to ask

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Oct 25, 2015

    The posters on this web site are full of nonsense, especially the former employee.

    The Ancient Mariner companies have been incorporated in the Province of British Columbia for decades. Their annual reports are renewed with the Register of Companies every year. The Ancient Mariner companies have most likely fabricated and installed more awnings in the lower mainland than all other companies combined. The companies have up to date financial statements, current with all fillings and the corporate minute books are accurate and up to date. This will continue. please visit our web site www.ancientmarinerindusties.ca and You Tube Channel. We have shot videos of some of the thousands of awnings that we have installed over the course of the past decades.

    Because of our size and we are engaged in the construction industry from time to time we have to take legal actions in various small claim courts to collect for work that was completed. As of today our receivables that we can not collect total will over $20, 000. Many times if the matter is small we just forget about it and take the write off.

    As well, from time to time, it seems that certain individuals have certain demands and wish to change contracts. Some times rather than bother with it the Ancient Mariner companies provided a full refund or a negotiated settlement..

    Unfortunately, from time to time certain individuals post information on certain websites that are highly defamatory. Thereby opening themselves up for a defamation legal action. I will soon be filing notices of civil claims against these individuals. Under no circumstances will Ancient Mariner provide them a refund as my position is that they owe both myself and the Ancient Mariner companies for defamation.

    Ken Meiklejohn
    President
    Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd.

    -5 Votes
  • Ke
      Feb 13, 2016

    Dear readers:
    The first negative comment about myself and the Ancient Mariner Group of companies was posted on complaint boards on August 28th, 2013. Since then a number of other complaints have appeared on this site. All of them are complete bogus. I am very surprised on how some folks can be so vicious and mean spirited.
    In any case, since the first post the Ancient Mariner companies have continued to install awnings all over the lower mainland. Some of completed installations are for the following companies and business:
    1. Long Table Distillery Ltd.
    2. Strata Plan VR 2383
    3. Anderson Animal Hospital
    4. Jily Enterprises Ltd.
    5. Pacific Restaurant
    6. 3787 Canada Way Developments Ltd.
    7. A & B Tool Rentals
    8. Hollyburn Eye Clinic
    9. Furman Construction Group – for remax on west boulevard
    10. Strata Plan 3024
    11. Sherman Instruments
    12. Reid Projects
    13. National Corporate Color
    14. My Planet Holidays and Cruises
    15. Leadfoot Consulting
    16. Lanostra Pizza
    17. Koko Productions INC
    18. Grouse Mountain Resorts
    19. Cove Tops Inc.
    20. Dye Lot
    21. Capilano University
    22. Charles Cook
    23. Don Fraser
    24. Experience Headphones Inc.
    25. GOH Ballet
    26. Hudson House
    27. John Elliot
    28. No Frills Grocery Store
    29. Robert Haber
    30. Trudy Hunt
    31. Windsure Adventure Watersports
    32. 8400 Granville Partnership – developers of the Canada Safeway at 72nd and Granville st
    33. Companion Construction
    34. Grieg Associates
    35. New West Bread
    36. Pazzo Chow
    37. Sign A Rama – Richmond
    38. Ulf Fishing
    39. La Caterina Taqueria

    There have been many more installations. At this point in time the companies have over $200, 000 worth of signed contacts and approximately $400, 00 in quotes out in the marketplace. Because of our long history in fabricating and installing quality products I am confident we will be awarded contracts to install most of them. As well, the phone continues to right for new quotes.
    I have been monitoring my and Ancient Mariner companies online profile and discussing with lawyers what to about them. They have advised me that to file a statement of claim and be successful I have to be able to prove damages.
    The negative posts are in my opinion outright lies, defamatory and slanderous. They have caused a serious drop in profits. In my opinion the company’s profits have been reduced by about $150, 000.
    Fortunately, I know the name, address and contact information of all posters. Today I contacted a lawyer about taking legal actions against the posters, so hang on to your hat. When statements of civil claims are filed, they will be posted online. The folks named in them will be forever have an online profile of being a defendant in a defamation legal action in British Columbia Supreme Court.
    As well, when it is said and done I am highly confident that I and the Ancient Mariner companies will be awarded over $150, 000 in damages, costs and special costs. As well, I will be seeking orders that the postings are removed by web sites that they are posted on or by the defendants themselves.
    Yours truly,
    Ken Meiklejohn
    President

    -6 Votes
  • Rc
      Feb 17, 2016

    If you would like to communicate, I can be reached at are company phone number or by email.
    Hiding behind these empty threats and continuing to show your cowardliness by relenting to meet face to face reinforces your questionable conduct.
    You have been requested multiple times to return the moneys paid to you for the project never completed, or even started for that matter 2 years ago.
    Pay us back, stop conducting business dishonestly, stop misrepresenting the industry and you may find yourself on better terms with clients, who would not be posting their negative ordeals regarding you taking so many peoples money. So many people can not be wrong!

    +6 Votes
  • Ke
      Feb 27, 2016

    Dear Viewers:

    Dear Viewers:
    About 2 years ago a person called Angry Contractor posted very defamatory comments on this web site. It was followed up with a couple more that are also very defamatory and untrue. Some of the posts were made by customers that breached contracts and were an attempt to have the Ancient Mariner companies provide a refund. Unfortunately, for them they never stuck to the facts. Several have also made posts on other sites that were untrue.
    It also seems that some other web sites have been posting our wrong address, phone numbers etc. For example, many list Franklin St. Vancouver as our address. We moved from there at least 6 years ago.
    A couple of weeks ago I started the process of cleaning up Ancient Mariner Awning and my digital online presence by contacting the web sites that have posted wrong address and phone number information. Several have changed or deleted the wrong information. One deleted information that did not meet their standards. If the remaining ones do not delete the wrong information immediately I will start posting on the internet that there sites and reviews are not to be trusted. The internet is there for all. Anyone that posts false and misleading information about myself and any companies I am involved with will be dealt with both in the courts and online.

    Which brings me to Mr. Russel Cronk. He has posted information online that is in my information that is untrue and defamatory. Following is a without prejudide offer to settle.


    Without Prejudice
    Offer to Settle
    Feb 27th, 2016
    Mr. Russ Cronk
    C/O Rusty Neon
    Shawinigan Lake, British Columbia
    Dear Sir,
    It has come to my attention that you have posted on the internet Defamatory statements about me that are in my opinion:
    (a) False, misleading and deceitful at the time they were made and remain untrue, inaccurate or deceptive in substance:
    (b) Made without regard to their truth or veracity, or alliteratively, were made recklessly as to their truthfulness or accuracy; and
    (c) Made with malicious and vindictive intent and were specifically calculated to disparage me in the minds of right thinking people generally and impugn the honesty, integrity and business character of my character.
    Due to your targeted and sustained campaign of defamation against me by posting my name on the internet, or any combination thereof into search results in an overwhelming majority of the top results being sites or postings featuring review statements I have suffered a significant loss of income and profits.
    I demand that you within 5 days of this post:
    1. Immediately take all such postings off the internet.
    2. Pay me $500, 000 in damages.
    Failure to pay me the aforementioned will leave me no other choice but to have my lawyer who is an expert in such matters edit the following notice of civil claim by adding in your postings and a few other legal requirements and file it with British Columbia Supreme Court.
    If it ends up that I have file the Notice of Civil Claim, when it stamped by the court I will be posting it online. You will forever be named as a defendant in a defamation legal action.

    GOVERN YOURSELF ACCORDINGLY,

    Ken Meiklejohn


    Form 1
    (Rule 3-1 (1)
    No:
    Reg: Vancouver
    In the Supreme Court of British Columbia
    Between: Ken Meiklejohn
    Plaintiffs
    And
    Russ Cronk, Rusty Neon
    Defendants
    Notice of Civil Claim
    This action has been started by the Plaintiff(s) for the relief set out in Part 2 below.
    If you intend to respond to this action, you or your lawyer must:
    (a) File a response to civil claim in Form 2 in the above registry of this court within the time frame for response to civil claim described below, and
    (b) Serve a copy of the filed response to civil claim on the plaintiff.
    If you intend to make a counterclaim, you or your lawyer must:
    (a) File a response to civil claim in Form 2 and a counterclaim in Form #3 in the above named registry of this court within the time for response to civil claim described below, and
    (b) Serve a copy of the filed response to civil claim and counterclaim on the plaintiff and on any new parties named in the counterclaim.
    JUDGEMENT MAY BE PRONOUNCED AGAINST YOU IF YOU FAIL to file the response to civil claim within the time for response and civil claim described below.
    Time for response to civil claim
    A response to civil claim must be filed and served on the plaintiff(s)
    (a) If you were served with the notice of civil claim anywhere in Canada, within 21 days after that service,
    (b) If you were served with the notice of civil claim anywhere in the United States of America, within 35 days after that service,
    (c) If you were served with the notice of civil claim anywhere else, within 49 days after that service, or
    (d) If the time for response to civil claim has been set by order of the court, within that time.

    Schedule A- Claim of the Claimant(s)

    STATEMENT OF FACTS:
    The defendant Mr. Russ Cronk lives in Shawinigan Lake, British Columbia
    1. The defendant has committed libel with regards to the claimant
    2. The defendant has posted on the internet defamatory statements.
    3. The Defamatory statements attributed to the Defendant herein were to the knowledge of the defendant:
    (a) False, misleading and deceitful at the time they were made and remain untrue, inaccurate or deceptive in substance:
    (b) Made without regard to their truth or veracity, or alliteratively, were made recklessly as to their truthfulness or accuracy; and
    (c) Made with malicious and vindictive intent and were specifically calculated to disparage the Claimant in the minds of right thinking people generally and impugn the honesty, integrity and business character of the Claimant.
    (d) Due to the Defendants targeted and sustained campaign of defamation against the Claimant, posting the Claimants name on the internet, or any combination thereof into search results in an overwhelming majority of the top results being sites or postings featuring defamatory statements the Plaintiff has lost significant loss of income and profits.
    Relief Sought:
    1. That the Defendants remove forthwith any disparaging or false statements about the Claimants that are posted on the internet, whether published by themselves, or through their agents, servants or otherwise;
    2. An Order that the Defendant be permanently restrained, by themselves, or acting through their agents, servants or otherwise from making or publishing any disparaging or false statements about the Claimants
    3. Special Damages
    4. Punitive, aggravated or exemplary damages
    5. All costs related to this action
    6. Special Costs or alternatively, at the highest scale possible
    7. Interest pursuant to the Court Order Interest Act RSPC 1996C.79 and the amendments there to….

    NOTICE TO OTHER POSTERS:

    I know the name and address of every poster that has made comments. You will be next. so if I was you I would start removing your posts.

    -5 Votes
  • Ke
      Jul 08, 2017

    Attention –
    A copy of years ago a couple of people started posting on this web site defamatory and untrue inform about myself and several companies I am involved in. This has caused serious financial harm to myself and the companies. Well over $500, 000.
    I have always had the option of starting legal actions against these folks however this web site has a policy of not taking comments and statements down. So basically, we would have received damages, costs and special costs, however the posts would remain for all to see.
    My lawyer, who specializes in defamation cases advised me that there was a case pending in the Supreme Court with respect to obtaining a court order for Google to block access to a web site with respect to this matter. So, we decided to wait until the matter was heard and a decision made by the Supreme Court.
    On June 28th, 2017, the appeal was dismissed and the worldwide interlocutory injunction against Google was upheld. Please see below.
    https://www.canlii.org/en/ca/scc/doc/2017/2017scc34/2017scc34.pdf
    This is a major change. With this precedent now law we are going to be preparing and filing the following.
    1. Orders compelling certain parties to provide to us the IP address and owners of them. So, you won’t be hidden by anonymous email addresses for long.

    2. Statements of claim against each one of you for damages, costs and special costs.

    3. When this is done we will be launching a legal action against Google, which you will have to pay for compelling them block access to this site with respect to myself and companies on worldwide basis.

    -4 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 09, 2017

    ATTENTION PUBLIC:

    On August 28th, 2013 an individual using the alias - Angry Contractor posted on this web site highly defamatory and untrue information about myself and some of the companies I am a director of.

    Over the course of the next few years several more individuals have posted untrue and completely defamatory comments Despite this the companies still are operating and have excellent ratings with the Better Business Bureau ®

    SEARCH
    BBB Accredited

    Ancient Mariner Glass Ltd
    (604) 324-7446
    301 1440 Creekside Dr Vancouver, BC V6J 5B6
    A+

    Ancient Mariner Exteriors Inc
    (604) 566-9190
    301 1440 Creekside Dr Vancouver, BC V6J 5B6
    A-

    Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd
    (604) 736-1335
    301 1440 Creekside Dr Vancouver, BC V6J 5B6
    C

    Ancient Mariner Sign Services Inc
    (604) 324-7446
    301 1440 Creekside Dr Vancouver, BC V6J 5B6
    A+

    The posts have caused the awning companies to experience reduced revenues and profits. The individuals/posters are soon going be receiving a statement of claim for damages, costs, special costs. I and the companies are going to be seeking over $1 million.

    -4 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 17, 2017

    Notice to the public
    A few years ago, a few people made some posts on this web site that are completely defamatory and untrue. The true facts are Spectacular Acquisitions Inc. was incorporated in Nevada, USA on Nov 28th, 2001. It is in good standing with the Nevada Secretary of State.
    The company has several subsidiaries in various businesses. Our most profitable year was year ending Nov 13th, 2013. The net income on a consolidated basis was $304, 047.
    As of September 15th, 2017, the company has issued 51, 508, 143 common shares to 38 shareholders. The most recent subscription rate is $1.00 per share, giving it an implied market value of $51, 508, 143.
    We acquired the Ancient Mariner awning companies on Dec 23rd, 2005 by issuing at the time 200, 000 common shares to the former owner. A share certificate was issued and supplied to him.
    Because our plans to someday become a publicly trading company it is our policy that every transaction is recorded in our accounting systems and all corporate minute books are keep up to date. A review of the minute books would show this.
    The comments by the posters M. Gotti and Ex-Ancient Mariner employee are therefore false. As well, because M. Gotti was such a difficult individual I did not wish to deal with her except through Employment Standards. I encouraged her to file a claim, which she did.
    I then met with their officers and after her bogus claims were taken out she was paid in full. As for the Ex-Ancient Mariner employee, this person has never seen a financial report, bank statement etc. so his posts are false. Over the years I have hired hundreds of people. I consider these two a couple of the worst.

    The first post was made on Aug 28th, 2013 by someone called Angry contactor. It is obvious from the information that this person’s comments are false. This is coincidently the year we were the most profitable. Of course, since this person has never seen the financial statements they would not be aware of this.
    On Dec 3rd, 2015, a post appeared by Pro-filereg. The reason they were hired to serve some documents was I was in the states and therefore could not do it myself. A cheque was mailed to them, but for some reason beyond me they never received it. This person then made the false and defamatory post. A reasonable offer to settle for damages to my and the company’s reputation has been sent to this person, but they did not accept it.
    Since acquired the Ancient Mariner awning companies have fabricated and installed millions of dollars’ worth of awnings, but from time to time we unfortunately have difficult customers. The company does its best on all projects but it seems 4 customers have posted defamatory information on this web site, with comments like bad business, stealing deposits etc.
    The facts are every time a sale is made it is our policy that a sales contract is created and signed by both parties. It is our policy that a 50% deposit is paid before work begins. The poster that goes by the name bad business paid part of the deposit, $1, 000 on signing, then was to increase to it $1, 637.50 when artwork was approved. When the artwork was approved he was to provide the $637.50. He did not do this so the project never went ahead. He then made the defamatory post.
    Angry K paid the deposit, work was started, but he then cancelled. Our contracts, like all other signage and awning companies have cancellation penalties.
    On June 25th, 2015, a person by the name Ripped off by Ken made a post. This post is false.
    Then there is Russel Cronk. This post is also mostly false and defamatory.
    Over the course of the last 3 years I have very busy and have not had time to deal with these posters. I now have time. I have met with lawyers in both Canada and the United States that specialize in defamation.
    We are narrowing down the orders that we will be seeking in the Supreme Court of British Columbia – (see below)
    (Rule 3-1 (1)
    No:
    Reg: Vancouver
    In the Supreme Court of British Columbia
    Between: Ken Meiklejohn, Ancient Mariner Exterior Inc, Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd et al
    Plaintiffs
    And
    1. Angry Contractor- know who this is, but Need IP Address
    2. Russel Cronk,
    3. (M. Gotti) Maria Pucci- Confirm IP Address
    4. Ex-Ancient Mariner Employee – know who this is but Need IP Address
    5. Cara Echino – Pro-File Registry Services,
    6. Angry K - Kia – know who this person is but would like to confirm IP Address
    7. Ripped off by Ken – Need IP Address
    8. Bad Business – Joseph
    9. Google
    10. Complaints Board
    Defendants
    Notice of Civil Claim
    This action has been started by the Plaintiff(s) for the relief set out in Part 2 below.
    If you intend to respond to this action, you or your lawyer must:
    (a) File a response to civil claim in Form 2 in the above registry of this court within the time frame for response to civil claim described below, and
    (b) Serve a copy of the filed response to civil claim on the plaintiff.
    If you intend to make a counterclaim, you or your lawyer must:
    (a) File a response to civil claim in Form 2 and a counterclaim in Form #3 in the above-named registry of this court within the time for response to civil claim described below, and
    (b) Serve a copy of the filed response to civil claim and counterclaim on the plaintiff and on any new parties named in the counterclaim.
    JUDGEMENT MAY BE PRONOUNCED AGAINST YOU IF YOU FAIL to file the response to civil claim within the time for response and civil claim described below.
    Time for response to civil claim
    A response to civil claim must be filed and served on the plaintiff(s)
    (a) If you were served with the notice of civil claim anywhere in Canada, within 21 days after that service,
    (b) If you were served with the notice of civil claim anywhere in the United States of America, within 35 days after that service,
    (c) If you were served with the notice of civil claim anywhere else, within 49 days after that service, or
    (d) If the time for response to civil claim has been set by order of the court, within that time.

    Schedule A- Claim of the Claimant(s)

    STATEMENT OF FACTS:
    All defendants #1 to #8 live in British Columbia, with the exceptions being Google and Complaints Board
    1. The defendants have committed libel with regards to the claimants
    2. The defendants have posted on the internet defamatory statements.
    3. The Defamatory statements attributed to the Defendant herein were to the knowledge of the defendant:
    (a) False, misleading and deceitful at the time they were made and remain untrue, inaccurate or deceptive in substance:
    (b) Made without regard to their truth or veracity, or alliteratively, were made recklessly as to their truthfulness or accuracy; and
    (c) Made with malicious and vindictive intent and were specifically calculated to disparage the Claimant in the minds of right thinking people generally and impugn the honesty, integrity and business character of the Claimant.
    (d) Due to the Defendants targeted and sustained campaign of defamation against the Claimant, posting the Claimants name on the internet, or any combination thereof into search results in an overwhelming majority of the top results being sites or postings featuring defamatory statements the Plaintiff has lost significant loss of income and profits.
    Relief Sought:
    1. That the Defendants remove forthwith any disparaging or false statements about the Claimants that are posted on the internet, whether published by themselves, or through their agents, servants or otherwise;
    2. An Order that the Defendant be permanently restrained, by themselves, or acting through their agents, servants or otherwise from making or publishing any disparaging or false statements about the Claimants:
    3. That Google and Complaints Board provide and confirm IP address of all parties that are posted comments on Complaints Board web site and contact information and remove all content from their respective online platforms with respect to all Plaintiffs.
    4. Special Damages
    5. Punitive, aggravated or exemplary damages
    6. All costs related to this action
    7. Special Costs or alternatively, at the highest scale possible
    8. Interest pursuant to the Court Order Interest Act RSPC 1996C.79 and the amendments there to….
    In summary, the Ancient Mariner Awning companies have no accounts payables, and no bank debt. They have excellent ratings with the Better Business Bureau. They have a tremendous amount of work in progress and well over $300, 000 in pending sales.
    The company also hopes to be paid hundreds of thousands in damages, costs and special costs from the individuals that made the posts on this web site.
    It is also planned that when we have sorted out all legal issues with these 8 posters to perhaps sell Ancient Mariner for about $500, 000 to $800, 000. Since we only paid $200, 000 by the way of shares this will turn out to have been an excellent investment.

    -4 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 17, 2017

    NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC
    I am pleased to be able to inform you that Ancient Mariner Awnings Inc. has started searching for a 5, 000-sq. ft. retail space to open a new showroom. The showroom will feature dozens of awning and signage products so that shoppers can easily view different awning styles. Beside each awning fabric and vinyl samples will be displayed.
    Some of our sustainable competitive advantages are:

    1. Ancient Mariner has been a well-known brand name in the Province of British Columbia since 1903. We have most likely fabricated and installed more awnings than all other awning companies combined.

    2. Our logo is on thousands of awnings which provides a steady source of incoming calls as products wear out or need replacing.

    3. Our rates are very, very competitive.

    4. Ancient Mariner is known by most of the developers, architects etc. and has a history or taking on and completing large and complex projects – please view our web site www.ancientmarinerawnings.com – visit our You Tube Channel.

    This channel features videos of some major landmark projects that we have completed, plus many the past projects. We are in the process of shooting videos of dozens more past projects.

    -5 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 18, 2017

    NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC

    I am pleased to be able to inform you that Ancient Mariner Awnings Inc. has started searching for a 5, 000-sq. ft. retail space to open a new showroom. The showroom will feature dozens of awning and signage products so that shoppers can easily view different awning styles. Beside each awning fabric and vinyl samples will be displayed.
    Some of our sustainable competitive advantages are:

    1. Ancient Mariner has been a well-known brand name in the Province of British Columbia since 1903. We have most likely fabricated and installed more awnings than all other awning companies combined.

    2. Our logo is on thousands of awnings which provides a steady source of incoming calls as products wear out or need replacing.

    3. Our rates are very, very competitive.

    4. Ancient Mariner is known by most of the developers, architects etc. and has a history or taking on and completing large and complex projects – please view our web site www.ancientmarinerawnings.com – visit our You Tube Channel.

    This channel features videos of some major landmark projects that we have completed, plus many the past projects. We are in the process of shooting videos of dozens more past projects.

    -3 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 19, 2017

    The search is on for a new company President
    The Ancient Mariner Awning & Sign Companies, a tradition in the awning business since 1903 has started interviewing individuals to take over management of our companies.
    The successful applicant must have at least 3 years’ experience in the construction industry, be a self-starter and have experience managing sales team members, installation crews and manufacturing facilities.
    We will be building on our sustainable competitive advantages of:
    1. Being the most well know brand name in the industry with a history of fabricating and installing the largest and most complex glass and fabric awning projects.

    2. Our excellent ratings with the Better Business Bureau.

    3. Having the most competitive pricing in the industry.

    4. Our products are constructed with the best materials. Our workmanship is excellent.

    For more information please view our web site www.ancientmarinerawnings.com

    -3 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 19, 2017

    Was walking down Burrard Steet today - happened to glance up - there was the Ancient Mariner logo on an awning we fabricated and installed years ago - plan on having our logo placed on thousands of new awnings as we continue our decades long business history

    -4 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 19, 2017

    Project we finished on the North West corner of Robson & Thurlow about 3 years ago - frames were steel, powder coated - Black Sunbrella fabric - ideally it should be cleaned about once a month with a brush and water. This was a $54, 000 sale - we also supplied the Channel letters for Jugo Juice and Cupcakes - very proud of this landmark awning system - one of a kind

    -4 Votes
  • Ke
      Sep 20, 2017

    NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC
    I am pleased to be able to inform you that Ancient Mariner Awnings Inc. has started searching for a 5, 000-sq. ft. retail space to open a new showroom. The showroom will feature dozens of awning and signage products so that shoppers can easily view different awning styles. Beside each awning fabric and vinyl samples will be displayed.
    Some of our sustainable competitive advantages are:

    1. Ancient Mariner has been a well-known brand name in the Province of British Columbia since 1903. We have most likely fabricated and installed more awnings than all other awning companies combined.

    2. Our logo is on thousands of awnings which provides a steady source of incoming calls as products wear out or need replacing.

    3. Our rates are very, very competitive.

    4. Ancient Mariner is known by most of the developers, architects etc. and has a history or taking on and completing large and complex projects – please view our web site www.ancientmarinerawnings.com – visit our You Tube Channel.

    This channel features videos of some major landmark projects that we have completed, plus many the past projects. We are in the process of shooting videos of dozens more past projects.

    Noticed logo on one of our past projects on Burrard St the other day - must have been installed at least 10 years ago

    -4 Votes
  • Mo
      Jan 28, 2018

    NOTICE TO EVERYONE!!!

    THIS "Ancient Mariner" CHAIN OF FRAUD COMPANIES WILL TAKE AWAY YOUR MONEY AND DELIVER NOTHING.

    If you don't believe us, come to 990 Denman St. Vancouver, BC.
    The guy in charge, who is definitely ancient looking too, has no respect for many true business owners who work hard to keep their work. This guy WILL STEAL your money with a contract that will never end on your side. Stay away from his fake identity, storY and fake youtube video.

    At some point when he has wasted a few months of your valuable time, he will text you crying and saying has a brain tumor, a heart disease and he is probably about to die or things like that. Lying will make you say anything to cover up right?

    I truly believe he is either homeless or something and he is making a living for a few more years like this. Please cancel any contract you currently have and don't let me him drag you more even for a single day.

    He has stolen our awning sign and will not replace it or bring it back. I have contacted local police about this and they will follow this up soon.
    Hopefully google will do it's thing, and his fake company name will hit the top results.

    Stay busy with your diseases Ken! Stay busy!

    +5 Votes
  • @Mo Moti You are absolutely correct and accurate of your assesment of Ken and his "company". He is a cheat and a liar, the business community in Vancouver should get together and run this clown out of town

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Jan 28, 2018

    Anyone who is interested to get after this guy come visit us at 990 Denman St. Vancouver. We are just looking for more supporters to remove this type of fraud from Vancouver's business community.

    +5 Votes
  • Re
      Feb 13, 2018

    @Mo Moti Ken Mieklejohn is a crook. We have been in the construction business for 38 years and have never met such a low life. He is more than a crook, he runs a massive scam. His business does not exist !, he has no company, there is no employees, there is no office ! Ken Meiklejohn has fake videos of work he did not do, Ken Meiklejohn has web site that is not real, its all [censor] ! He will take your deposit money and Run. He is a
    real scam artist. He must be stopped !!! Any help I can give to put this thief behind bars please contact me.
    We have signed phony contracts and wasted deposit receipts as evidence. [protected]@shaw.ca

    +4 Votes
  • Bi
      Feb 22, 2018

    I was a very brief employee of Ancient Mariner and my experience was not fantastic. I had thought we were actually building the signs but in reality it was positioned to be the middle person to generate a sale and coordinate an installation. Nothing really wrong with that but the company set up was odd. It was based in Nevada (no personal income tax) and the structure was convoluted with Spectacular Acquisitions Inc. I didn't get all the details but Ken told me about his grand plans to buy a Bentley and get an IPO for his company. He loved to pull out his wad of cash and I'm sure he took pride in counting the hundred dollar bills in front of me. I'm not sure that his intentions were entirely bad, but rather, he didn't know how to (or want to) get involved with the details (bidding, construction, subs, etc).

    I can say that he is known in the industry and any glazier that I have met is familiar with him. He is an excellent salesman which is only rivaled by his ego. In reading these posts (including the letters & legal interlocutory injunction - which isn't relevant as it relates to the sale of intellectual property through the Internet and not defamation), I am reminded of a similar personality of the U.S. President Trump.

    I wanted to offer my sympathies to those involved and to say that I'm glad you folks started the forum. Although I wish Ken Mieklejohn no harm, he needs to understand that people are more than just profit and using ill-written contracts as a crutch or technicality needs to stop.

    +6 Votes
  • Ke
      Jun 10, 2018

    @billymcguy You were a complete waste of time. I gave you a chance to earn a better than average living and you chose not to move forward - for some reason you have now decided to start posting negative and defamatory information about me and one of my businesses on the internet. I don't like it and will not tolerate it.

    I am filing a statement of claim in British Columbia Supreme Court for damages and costs. The internet is available for all to post on - if I see anymore negative posts anywhere on on the internet about me I will assume that is from you and will take appropriate actions for damages, costs and special costs.

    Form 1
    (Rule 3-1 (1)
    No:
    Reg: Vancouver
    In the Supreme Court of British Columbia
    Between: Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd. - Ken Meiklejohn
    Plaintiffs
    And
    Jesse McCallum – 1506-2789 Shaughnessy St. Port Coquitlam, B.C. V3C 0C3
    Defendant
    Notice of Civil Claim
    This action has been started by the Plaintiff(s) for the relief set out in Part 2 below.
    If you intend to respond to this action, you or your lawyer must:
    (a) File a response to civil claim in Form 2 in the above registry of this court within the time frame for response to civil claim described below, and
    (b) Serve a copy of the filed response to civil claim on the plaintiff.
    If you intend to make a counterclaim, you or your lawyer must:
    (a) File a response to civil claim in Form 2 and a counterclaim in Form #3 in the above named registry of this court within the time for response to civil claim described below, and
    (b) Serve a copy of the filed response to civil claim and counterclaim on the plaintiff and on any new parties named in the counterclaim.
    JUDGEMENT MAY BE PRONOUNCED AGAINST YOU IF YOU FAIL to file the response to civil claim within the time for response and civil claim described below.
    Time for response to civil claim
    A response to civil claim must be filed and served on the plaintiff(s)
    (a) If you were served with the notice of civil claim anywhere in Canada, within 21 days after that service,
    (b) If you were served with the notice of civil claim anywhere in the United States of America, within 35 days after that service,
    (c) If you were served with the notice of civil claim anywhere else, within 49 days after that service, or
    (d) If the time for response to civil claim has been set by order of the court, within that time.

    STATEMENT OF FACTS:
    The first plaintiff Mr. Ken Meiklejohn lives in Vancouver, B.C.
    The second plaintiff Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd was incorporated in the Province of British Columbia on September 30th, 1999. The company’s manufacturing facility was located at 1112 Franklin St, Vancouver, B.C.
    The facility was equipped with industrial sewing machines, service and installation vehicles and a range of other equipment required to fabricate and install awnings and signs. The vehicles all featured the Ancient Mariner logo.
    The company employed approximately 15 people all with various responsibilities. Welders, sewers to sew vinyl and fabric awnings, sign and awning installers, graphic artists to design awnings and signs, a part – time booker, receptionist and a company President.
    The company also bought products from whole sellers that fabricated retractable awnings and had a host of other companies it sub-contacted certain work to.
    The company grew into the most well-known brand name in the awning and signage business in the Lower Mainland of British Columbia.
    Revenues for the year end Nov 30th, 2005 were $922, 952.
    On Dec 23rd, 2005 a company controlled by Mr. Ken Meiklejohn acquired 100% of the company shares of Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd. and the brand name. Mr. Meiklejohn became a director and the new President.
    In May 2007 Mr. Meiklejohn, who has an extensive construction background decided for several reasons with one of the most important being that it would be much more profitable closed the manufacturing plant and turned this well- known brand name into a semi-marketing company. This is a major sustainable competitive advantage over all other awning companies as our operating costs are far lower, thereby making us much more competitive.
    For the next 8 years the company’s administration office was located at 301-1440 Creekside Drive, Vancouver, B.C. V6B 5B6. All sign and awning fabrication and installation work was completed by some former employees that worked from their homes as sub-contractors. This continues to this day. Since then the company has located and buys products from many more approved suppliers. Some of these suppliers also do work for other awning companies from time to time.
    With the new business model, the company started earning record profits.
    Because of our competitive pricing, excellent products and exceptional delivery during over the course of the past eleven years the company has sold and had fabricated and installed millions of dollars’ worth of signage and awnings.
    In fact, many are landmark projects like the awnings installed on the North West corner of Robson and Thurlow street in downtown Vancouver. The picture is featured on the home page of our web site.
    The company, proud of its work hired a videographer during the period of Feb 11th, 2015 to March 15th, 2015 to shoot videos of many of the awning and sign projects.
    The cost was $3, 334.25. The company set up and developed a You Tube Channel. The link to the You Tube Channel is posted on our web site. www.ancientmarinerawnings.com
    On October 23rd, 2017 Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd entered into a signed and negotiated comprehensive sub-contractor’s agreement whereas the defendant was to join the company as a Vice-President. The defendant then didn’t show up for a week – he explained it as he was having a week from hell. He then took a drive down Davie St., guess he went up Denman, took a few pictures of potential sales opportunities and talked to a couple of people.
    During this period a call came from one of our past customers for some major work to be done. He was provided the sales lead to follow up on. He failed to do this. He then quit.
    He then posts on https://www.complaintsboard.com on Feb 22nd, 2018, under the name billymcguy despite clauses in the contract about confidentially - comments that he was a very brief employee of Ancient Mariner and his experience was not fantastic. We obviously feel the same way about him. In my opinion if there ever was a bad hire he is one. He also made some other comments that are in fact quite ignorant and not true.
    He states that the company was set up odd and was based in Nevada. This is a lie.
    He was aware of this as he signed a sub-contractors agreement with Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd., a British Columbia incorporated company. We are proud of being one of the most well- known awning companies in the Province of British Columbia.
    Schedule A- Claim of the Claimant(s)
    The defendant lives in British Columbia
    1. The defendant has committed libel with regards to the claimants
    2. The defendant has posted on the internet defamatory statements.
    3. The Defamatory statements attributed to the Defendant herein were to the knowledge of the defendant:
    (a) False, misleading and deceitful at the time they were made and remain untrue, inaccurate or deceptive in substance:
    (b) Made without regard to their truth or veracity, or alliteratively, were made recklessly as to their truthfulness or accuracy; and
    (c) Made with malicious and vindictive intent and were specifically calculated to disparage the Claimant in the minds of right thinking people generally and impugn the honesty, integrity and business character of the Claimant.
    (d) Due to the Defendants targeted and sustained campaign of defamation against the Claimant, posting the Claimants name on the internet, or any combination thereof into search results in an overwhelming majority of the top results being sites or postings featuring defamatory statements the Plaintiff has lost significant loss of income and profits.
    Relief Sought:
    1. That the Defendants remove forthwith any disparaging or false statements about the Claimants that are posted on the internet, whether published by themselves, or through their agents, servants or otherwise;
    2. An Order that the Defendant be permanently restrained, by themselves, or acting through their agents, servants or otherwise from making or publishing any disparaging or false statements about the Claimants
    3. Special Damages
    4. Punitive, aggravated or exemplary damages
    5. All costs related to this action
    6. Special Costs or alternatively, at the highest scale possible
    7. Interest pursuant to the Court Order Interest Act RSPC 1996C.79 and the amendments there to….

    -4 Votes
  • Re
      Jul 22, 2018

    @kenme Ken you silly man, I'm not Billy McGuy. I've never posted anything anywhere until now. I've just been enjoying all the complaints from afar after I met you and still wonder to this day if that was a strange warp hole into a twighlight zone episode. You're losing track of all the people complaining about you. BTW I believe every complaint on the internet from my mentally draining experience with you. If anybody is truly going to bizarro court with Ken, please contact me as I would be happy to be a character witness. So glad my spidey senses kicked in and I walked away from you Ken. If you're going to do the whole sue everybody thing, at least get it right. I will hire the videographer you duped to film it all, we'll pitch it to networks and make billions!! That's a free one Ken, the real money is getting you on camera as you are a walking TV show that should come on after the audience is warmed up from Jerry Springer

    +3 Votes
  • @realityTVshowanyone? you are bang on with your description of Ken and any company he is associated with. He is a def a reality show in waiting. This guy is the biggest loser in Vancouver

    0 Votes
  • @kenme you're so full of crap Ken. You don't file anything because no lawyer wants anything to do with you. In fact the law clerks at the courthouse all know you and warm people off. Just leave town you clown

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Mar 18, 2018

    What a bunch of crap - the Ancient Mariner companies have been in business in the Lower Mainland since 1903 - we have fabricated and installed more signs than all other awning companies combined.

    The true facts with respect to 990 Denman St. Vancouver, B.C are a contract was signed to fabricate and install a new awning projecting 60 inches, 160 inches wide, remove the old awning that was left by the previous tenant to make space so that the new awning can be installed, provide engineering drawings, create artwork for the new design.

    The engineering drawings were completed and stamped by the engineer on Jan 1st, 2018, as agreed the old awnings was removed and disposed of and a new design was created by our graphic artist and approved by the customer.

    On 1/26/18 in the morning I measured the building for the city of Vancouver permit application. At about 11:30 PM that night, (a Saturday night) Moe started calling my cell with some very foul language. This is unacceptable.

    With respect to Reiner, a contract was signed for the fabrication and installation of about 7 awnings on a building in Richmond. I went to Richmond, met with him and his partner, provided them a Sunbrella Fabric book, they selected the colors and we were starting the permit application process. They then cancelled without notice - As per the terms and conditions of the sales agreement the deposit is forfeited.

    With respect to the guy that said he is a former employee if it is who I think it is he was a complete waste of time.

    Ancient Mariner has been a tradition in Vancouver since 1903. Since them the Ancient Mariner has fabricated and installed millions of dollars worth of signs and awnings. We continue to do so.

    Our web site is www.ancientmarinerawnings.com

    We are very proud of our work and have at all times over $100, 000 worth of signs and awnings under construction.

    -4 Votes
  • @kenme You are a straight up liar and a loser Ken. Anyone that has been sued over 30 times is obviously a con man

    0 Votes
  • Un
      Jun 15, 2018

    Would you like outstanding invoices not paid with a million and one excuses. Would you like your full deposit taken but not have the work completed? Besides the various Ancient Mariner companies, he also operates under Spectacular Acquisitions in Vancouver.

    +4 Votes
  • Do
      Jul 09, 2018

    In the June 10th 2018 statement that was written by the owner of ancient mariner awnings he writes
    "The company, proud of its work hired a videographer during the period of Feb 11th, 2015 to March 15th, 2015 to shoot videos of many of the awning and sign projects.
    The cost was $3, 334.25. The company set up and developed a You Tube Channel. The link to the You Tube Channel is posted on our web site. www.ancientmarinerawnings.com

    I was the videographer that was hired to shoot and edit the video's that he has posted on his website. The amount that he states was the cost for these video's is the amount that he still owes me for this work. He has never paid me for this and other work done for his amvideoclassifieds website. I filed a claim in early 2016 for monies owed. He did not show up for the hearing and was awarded judgment for this, but still have not been paid by him. I have contacted him about this numerous times...and as others have stated - he has claimed he has a serious illness that almost killed him and so many other excuses. I have never worked with anyone as dishonest as this man and I hope others in the film industry in this city will steer clear of him.

    +3 Votes
  • Le
      Mar 01, 2019

    I also made the mistake of hiring Ken Ross Meiklejohn (Ancient Mariner Industries 604-500-2499) to fabricate and install something for me. It has been over a year and nothing has happened and he has stopped returning calls. Ken took a 50% deposit and for 8 months provided nothing but excuses then went silent. This guys is a total flake. Go on his website and call some of his so called references before hiring him. I did this after he disappeared and several of them are in my same position... paid a deposit and got nothing in return.
    Also note, if you do a search with the register of companies you will learn that his company was dissolved on September 26, 2017 for failure to file annual reports. The last annual report he filed for Ancient Mariner was September 30, 2012.

    +1 Votes
  • @Legoman1969 you are correct about Ken being a flake and liar. He has been sued over 30 times, that should tell you something right there

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Mar 01, 2019

    Notice to the public:

    The facts are with respect to this post is that Ancient Mariner Industries Ltd. was incorporated decades ago in the Province of British Columbia. I bought this company and many others with similar names that were incorporated over 12 years ago because of their long and successful history.

    Over the course of the decades the company has fabricated and installed millions of dollars worth of signage and awnings. One of my best acquisitions.

    I notice that the poster has not posted his name, so I am assuming this is a bogus post. Who knows maybe a competitor.

    The laws with respect to making defamatory posts are changing in both Canada and the United States and his identity may soon become known. If this happens all parties that have made bogus and defamatory posts on this web site will be held accountable.

    As for this particular company being dissolved it seems that our corporate lawyer for some reason failed to file the annual reports as they were due. The company ended up being dissolved, which was fine with me as I wanted the slim our operations down.

    The remaining Ancient Mariner companies are experiencing record sales and profits.

    Thanks and have a nice day.

    -1 Votes
  • @kenme You're a liar and a cheat. You don't actually have a company or crew that does any work for you. You hire out sub contractors from Richmond that do the work and you claim responsibility. Heres a tip for anyone wanting an awning, avoid Ken and his "company". He will screw you over

    0 Votes
  • De
      Apr 13, 2019

    THE NEW SCAM

    Job Description

    The ideal candidate for the Media Sales Consultant position with www.amvideoclassifiedsvancouver.ca a newly launched virtual home show has a proven track record of achieving sales targets, building relationships and delivering the best interests for clients.

    You relish new challenges and opportunities to develop your knowledge and expertise. You’re a multi-tasker, who is deal oriented, meets deadlines and knows how to prioritize tasks.

    You’re self-motivated, love to be part of a winning team, have a great work ethic.

    Because of your exceptional work ethics and confidence in your sales abilities you prefer to earn income on a performance - based program that features higher than normal commissions. You with therefore will not be requesting a draw or base wage, nor do we offer this. We only are interested in hiring top producers with confidence in their sales abilities.

    Sales Consultation
    • Actively seek and secure new advertisers for our unique advertising platform
    • Present to advertiser’s unique video story telling scripts
    • Effectively communicate and manage client’s expectations

    Media Knowledge and Expertise

    • Demonstrate a deep understanding of traditional media, digital advertising, social media, web presence and search marketing experiences
    • Knowledge of content marketing best practices and tactics
    • Demonstrated skills in executing successful digital marketing campaigns across various industries
    • A valid driver’s license and vehicle are required.

    We have openings for managers for over 20 platforms in British Columbia.

    Qualified individuals are invited to apply by sending resume and cover letter to us by email.

    0 Votes
  • @Derek Ford Yep, Ken is the biggest con man in Vancouver, stay away from him at all costs.

    0 Votes
  • If you check the dictionary for the definition of a con man, thief, liar, and horrible human being Ken Meiklejohn's picture will be right beside it. STAY AWAY from this guy.

    0 Votes
  • If anyone wants info on where Ken is living and how to contact him please send me a message and I will happily provide that info

    0 Votes

Post your comment