SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Amerigas / price-gouging

Lafayette, TN, United States Review updated:

I have just had an experience with Amerigas that I think everyone should know about. Our local company charges $3.10/ 9/10 per gallon for LP gas, but when you call them to ask the price, they tell you that it is $1.79 per gallon. When ask about the extra you have to pay, they say that it is to cover repairs, insurance, etc. in case you have any leaks and such. But when you have leaks, they call you a liar, and tell you they did not say that, and they are going to charge for the repairs. I believe that this practice should be called price-gouging and should be legally stopped. I believe that I might just be the one to call them on it.

Re
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Th
      May 11, 2009
    Amerigas - Rude/Do not return calls
    AmeriGas
    Anderson
    South Carolina
    United States

    I have dealt with AmeriGas for 6yrs.I left several messages to return my calls to have new lines put in. No one returned my calls until I ended my dealings with them. Ive since gone to a new company. I pay my bills immediately and am never late on anything I even have a credit with them, which I have told them to mail to me. This is a very undependably company and should rethink the people they employ!

    0 Votes
  • Sw
      Dec 10, 2009

    I would! I think that's ridiculous. They are like sharks watching minnows squirm even in tough times. I love how people who overprice are living the high life while the consumers are getting ripped off because they think they have to pay the price for supply and demand. That kind of greed disgusts me!!

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Dec 30, 2009
    Amerigas - Stay away
    Amerigas
    United States

    Amerigas is a ripoff! They charge excessive amounts of money for everything. Their customer services people are rude. They do not have the consumers interest at heart.

    Amerigas charges the consumer to come out, to read your meter to stay, and they penalize the consumer when we become smart enough to leave their monopoly!! They refill tanks when tanks don't need refills. I once paid $2017.00 in 11/2 months.

    Now that I want them to pick up their tank, they told me they might pick it up in the spring. I will seek counsel.

    Stay away from Amerigas!!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
      Jan 11, 2010
    Amerigas - Rotten customer service
    Amerigas
    United States

    We have been using Amerigas and were happy until we ran out of gas on a Saturday. Our gauge said we had 15% in our tank, but evidently we were out. We paid the $125 service charge for Saturday delivery, that was not the problem. The problem was that since we were paying the delivery charge anyway, we decided to let them fill the tank as we had gotten the best price from them in the past, not knowing that they were going to charge us well over $1 per gallon more than their competitors.

    In our emergency situation, Amerigas took the opportunity to take full advantage of us, costing us $470 more than we expected. When we tried to talk to the office about the problem, they wouldn't change the price and were rude.

    Amerigas lost the potential for tens of thousands of dollars of our future business by gouging us for the $470. How's that for smart business?

    0 Votes
  • Si
      Mar 30, 2010
    Amerigas - Stealing my hard earned money
    Amerigas
    United States

    I have been an AmeriGas customer for 5 years. I live in a mobile home and have all electric heat. I have a centrally located propane heater in my mobile home installed by the previous owner to offset the electric bill. The second year of using this heater I had a 200.00 dollar gas bill in one month. I stopped using the propane and shut the valve off. Well I continue to receive bills from AmeriGas. When I call and give them the meter reading which is 3704. The bill says beginning reading 3705. Ending reading 3709. I am now being charged late fees on propane that I have not used. This matter will go to the attorney general. I am tired of dealing with this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Aug 02, 2010
    Amerigas - Questionable rates & service
    Amerigas
    United States

    We initiated service with Amerigas for two unvented gas log fireplaces in our 1626 sq.ft. ranch home w/crawlspace. They installed a 100-gal. tank. Now that we've been in our home for two years and experienced from one extreme to the next, I have compared our cooling and heating consumption. Our home is all electric with a central ac/heat pump system currently in good working order. Home is well insulated (blown and blanket insulation) with rating of 34R. Last summer, with pool pump for 24' round above ground pool running 24/7 and interior thermostat set at 74-75, our monthly electric bill never went above $250.(Note: Last summer was an abnormally cool one.) Now, this summer, with interior thermostat set at a constant 75 and the pool pump running only 2-3 hours per day instead of 24/7, the electric consumption for May was billed at $139.14. The most recent bill for June consumption jumped to $212.54. This increase is in part due to many warm days exceeding 90 and 95 degrees and several triple-digit days, unlike last year's milder temps. This past winter, which was one of the coldest on record in recent years, with record snowfall, the average monthly cost for electricity over a four month period (November through February) only was $177.23/1, 600.75KWH. The total billed during the time period was $708.95/6, 403KWH. It was our thinking that we could keep costs down by supplementing some of the heat costs by using the gas log fireplaces. They produce way too much heat to run more than an hour or two at most. During the early fall days we turn on one gas log fireplace during the evening for 1-2 hours, long enough to knock off the chill for remainder of the night without having to turn on the central system. During the colder months, we typically turn on one of the fireplaces for 1 or 2 hrs in the evenings, and then several times throughout the day during the weekends when we are home. They are never left burning during the night or when we're not home. In the first year with Amerigas we received a bill for a service call to repair a gas leak. Well, this was a complete surprise to us and when I phoned them they could not confirm the phone call nor could they confirm the service repair, especially since we were not home at time the work was supposedly done. The only thing they had to go on was a service ticket filled out by the driver. We should have discontinued service with Amerigas right then and there but they immediately deleted the service call and all charges dropped. From that point forward, however, the gas consumption just doesn't add up. I have gone over the bills and during the winter months (09-10) we were billed a little over $590 after they knocked off $67 for what we perceived to be an excessive bill. Maybe our thinking that running a gas log fireplace for an hour or two to offset electricity consumption is not correct. Even then, the propane consumption for a gas log fireplace that's a little over 83% for the total cost for electricity during the same time does seem excessive.

    0 Votes
  • Rb
      Aug 02, 2010

    Sorry to inform you that the main reason for your high utility costs are due to the inefficient (about 5%) insulation you have. You are using about 40-50% percent more energy than you would with a high efficiency (97%) insulation. The hotter it gets the more energy the insulation allows to pass through. This is one of the biggest ripoffs in America and is condoned by the government.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Aug 29, 2010
    Amerigas - Still tankless after a week
    Amerigas
    United States

    Last Monday, I went to Amerigas to have a propane tank delivered to our home. After setting up an account, and paying $320 in cash for installation and 100 gallons of propane, I set up an appointment for it to be delivered the following day. On Tuesday, they never showed up. I never recieved a phone call. At 5 pm I tried calling, but they were closed. At 8 am Wednesday morning, I called and was told there had been a gas leak, and that's why I didn't get my tank, but they would definitely be here by that evening. It is now the following Monday. I have called every two hours from Wednesday to today. My family and I have had to eat at restaurants all week. On Friday, I was refunded the installation fee, and ASSURED that I would have a tank delivered. I am Pissed, to say the least. I have requested the manager call me since last week, and he has YET to return my phone calls. I am told that the technician who does the installs is now on vacation. THIS IS NOT MY PROBLEM...PERHAPS THEY SHOULD FIND ANOTHER TECH THEN!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Sep 11, 2010
    Amerigas - Unsatisfied
    Mt Pleasant
    South Carolina
    United States

    I have been an Amerigas customer for 8 years. I had requested a small tank at the time. They brought me this big old tank that is an eye sore. I have been trying to get it changed out since and they keep telling me I have to pay for a new tank. Besides everything else you can smell gas and it is a safety hazard. Then they tell me they were going to change it out and that was suppose to happen 2 weeks ago...what a rip and yes they make it very hard to change companies.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      Sep 13, 2010

    Why do you want a small tank? If you go to a smaller tank, you need more deliveries. This costs $$. If you can't pay for a larger delivery, go on the budget plan and send them money every month. If they can deliver 2 times a year instead of 4. it will keep their costs and your price lower. If you suspect a leak, get a spray bottle with soapy water and spray it on all the fittings of the tank. If you have a leak, it will bubble. You can then call them and tell them exactly where the leak is.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Jan 15, 2011

    We are sorry to hear about your situation and apologize for your recent experience with AmeriGas. AmeriGas prides itself on providing our customers with the highest levels of customer service and we would like to help. At your convenience, please contact Fran directly via email at [protected]@amerigas.com so we can promptly assist you with this issue. To better assist you, please provide your AmeriGas customer number, phone number or the address and zip code where your propane tank is located. Thank-You. AmeriGas Customer Service.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Jan 15, 2011

    We are sorry to hear about your situation and apologize for your recent experience with AmeriGas. AmeriGas prides itself on providing our customers with the highest levels of customer service and we would like to help. At your convenience, please contact Fran directly via email at [protected]@amerigas.com so we can promptly assist you with this issue. To better assist you, please provide your AmeriGas customer number, phone number or the address and zip code where your propane tank is located. Thank-You. AmeriGas Customer Service.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Jan 15, 2011

    We are sorry to hear about your situation and apologize for your recent experience with AmeriGas. AmeriGas prides itself on providing our customers with the highest levels of customer service and we would like to help. At your convenience, please contact Fran directly via email at [protected]@amerigas.com so we can promptly assist you with this issue. To better assist you, please provide your AmeriGas customer number, phone number or the address and zip code where your propane tank is located. Thank-You. AmeriGas Customer Service.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Jan 15, 2011

    We are sorry to hear about your situation and apologize for your recent experience with AmeriGas. AmeriGas prides itself on providing our customers with the highest levels of customer service and we would like to help. At your convenience, please contact Fran directly via email at [protected]@amerigas.com so we can promptly assist you with this issue. To better assist you, please provide your AmeriGas customer number, phone number or the address and zip code where your propane tank is located. Thank-You. AmeriGas Customer Service.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Jan 15, 2011

    We are sorry to hear about your situation and apologize for your recent experience with AmeriGas. AmeriGas prides itself on providing our customers with the highest levels of customer service and we would like to help. At your convenience, please contact Fran directly via email at [protected]@amerigas.com so we can promptly assist you with this issue. To better assist you, please provide your AmeriGas customer number, phone number or the address and zip code where your propane tank is located. Thank-You. AmeriGas Customer Service.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Jan 15, 2011

    We are sorry to hear about your situation and apologize for your recent experience with AmeriGas. AmeriGas prides itself on providing our customers with the highest levels of customer service and we would like to help. At your convenience, please contact Fran directly via email at [protected]@amerigas.com so we can promptly assist you with this issue. To better assist you, please provide your AmeriGas customer number, phone number or the address and zip code where your propane tank is located. Thank-You. AmeriGas Customer Service.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Jan 15, 2011

    We are sorry to hear about your situation and apologize for your recent experience with AmeriGas. AmeriGas prides itself on providing our customers with the highest levels of customer service and we would like to help. At your convenience, please contact Fran directly via email at [protected]@amerigas.com so we can promptly assist you with this issue. To better assist you, please provide your AmeriGas customer number, phone number or the address and zip code where your propane tank is located. Thank-You. AmeriGas Customer Service.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Jan 15, 2011

    We are sorry to hear about your situation and apologize for your recent experience with AmeriGas. AmeriGas prides itself on providing our customers with the highest levels of customer service and we would like to help. At your convenience, please contact Fran directly via email at [protected]@amerigas.com so we can promptly assist you with this issue. To better assist you, please provide your AmeriGas customer number, phone number or the address and zip code where your propane tank is located. Thank-You. AmeriGas Customer Service.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Jan 25, 2011
    Amerigas - No propane
    Amerigas
    United States

    I call company and always busy or when answered goes directly to hold with music and no one picks up. Then flinch time it goes to national emergency line. I live in Hendersonville, NC and last year even though on continuous refill, ran out of propane. For WEEKS! I live on mountain and when snow, you think they would come in December. Same thing this year and I never get a hold of anyone at local office. Looks like space heaters it is and hope electricity does not go our They for sure can't make it up with all this snow now. Continuous refill is a joke in Amerigas jargon...my neighbors that have different companies all have propane refill and are all nice and warm. Blossman, Energy United...seemed to be able to take care of their customers up here before snow comes or on clear days, Amerigas can't do the job they are paid for and should be ashamed. Switch unhappy customers for free cause out of 9 years, there is almost problems every year and these past two have been the very worst.

    0 Votes
  • Fn
      Feb 02, 2011
    Amerigas - Denial of service
    Amerigas
    522 S Vermont St
    Palatine
    Illinois
    United States
    Phone: 847 359 6450

    Several months ago, I submitted a Request for Quote so that I could store and use bulk Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) on my industrial property. Since many of my applications are not demand heavy, I was having 20 lb. cylinders, 100 lb. cylinders, and the occasional lift truck cylinder filled at their plant while "waiting" for the plant manager to review the quotation that their salesman had written. I asked to purchase a grade 'T' hose to convey vapor to a handheld torch. The manager asked if I was going to leave the hose on the floor, or hang it on the wall. I have been consuming LPG, other fuel gasses, and many other compressed gasses for close to 20 years. I learn and practice multiple redundant safety precautions. Throughout my career, NOONE has sustained injury on my watch. When I explained that I would likely hang it on the wall as I do with my other hoses and cables, he told me that he "didn't even want to do business with me." Practically speaking, I don't know of a safer way to store such an item than to clean and inspect it as I neatly coil it before hanging it on the wall. I choose not to store hoses and cables on the floor, but perhaps it could be done safely under certain conditions.

    I left several messages for him to call me. The call never came. My installation will be 100% compliant with NFPA 58. My site is already set to accept a compliant installation.

    I am a disabled person. I sometimes use designated parking which requires either a placard or special license plate in the state where I live. Often, my placard sits upon the dashboard of whatever truck I drive. Some comments were made by the manager to various employees regarding the placard. There was some speculation expressed by him regarding what my disability may be comprised of. I had not used any durable medical equipment on his property or in his presence. I have all of my body parts and it has been said that I appear to be "normal." If he was curious about my disability, I'm not sure why he didn't simply ask me about it. It certainly does not compromise any safety factors as I use LPG or any other substance.

    When I escalated the situation to his superior after his lack of response, I was told that Dave, his superior, would look into it. When I called Dave two days later, I was told that not only would they not set bulk storage tanks on my property, but that they would no longer sell product to me in any capacity. When I inquired about the reason, I was told that there were "safety concerns surrounding the site and the way things were piped." I asked how they were able to garner this information without ever setting foot on my property. I also explained that since the installation had not yet occurred, there was no piping in place. He maintained his position without providing an explanation. When I asked if it had anything to do with my disability placard, he became furious and hung up on me.

    In summary, in order to avoid insult and injury, I would advise against ever using this company directly for any purpose. I have only ever used their LPG and I will continue to. They offer high quality product with a high level of purity. Over my career, it has worked well with my equipment. I have always purchased their product through distribution. I will continue to purchase in this manner.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Feb 04, 2011

    Hi, my name is Fran and I work for AmeriGas. I’m sorry to hear about your issues with contacting our office and we would like to help you. Please send your account details to me at [protected]@amerigas.com so we can promptly assist you. Thank you, Fran

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Feb 07, 2011
    Amerigas - Increased price by 50%
    Amerigas
    United States

    I have been a customer of Amerigas every since they took over Commonwealth Propane, around 12 years ago. I always paid my bill in full, and was never late. Every year, at least once, I would have to go to their local office, and argue with them over the price they were charging me for propane. This January was the final straw. My price went from $2.85 per gallon to $4.37 per gallon in one month. After arguing with them, and being informed the program I was on was no longer available, they did split the increase, and I "only" had to pay .75 per gallon increase. But they did not notify me about the program, or offer me another program in the middle of heating season. Bye-Bye Amerigas.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Feb 07, 2011

    My name is Fran and I work for AmeriGas. I am sorry to hear about your issues with billing and would like to help. At your convenience, please contact me directly via email at [protected]@amerigas.com so we can promptly assist you with this issue. To better assist you, please provide your AmeriGas customer number, phone number or the address and zip code where your propane tank is located. Thank-You, Fran

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Feb 19, 2011
    Amerigas - Overcharged and Do not Respond
    Amerigas
    United States

    Amerigas came out to clean my fire place.. After technician left... Fire place does not work... Then I called Amerigas right the way.. they reschedule for the technician to come out.then he tighten the wire.. did not tell me there is a charge.. receive a bill for $103.. after I paid $113 for the first visit within a week... Now I am on the phone with customer for >30 munites... still no customer pick up the phone to answer my question that I have a week...

    AMERIGAS ***... I HATE THEM and THEY WILL LET YOU FREEZ TO DEAD...

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Feb 21, 2011

    Hi, this is Fran from AmeriGas. I am sorry to read that you are having issues with billing. We would like to assist and help you as soon as possible – please email me at [protected]@amerigas.com with your account details so we can look into your situation. Thanks, Fran

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Jun 27, 2011

    Y'know what... I find this *form letter* response that I see on all the complaints about AmeriGas downright insulting. I don't know if *Fran* is a real person or just the name of the computer who is doing automatic responses but one thing I DO know... getting a computer response to a complaint is just plain poor customer service. Answer each complaint individually or don't answer it at all!

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Dec 16, 2011
    Amerigas - Their website doesn't work
    Amerigas
    United States

    I have been a long time customer, and have payed my bills on line.

    Amerigas has been installing a "new computer system" for over a year and still does not have it close to running. Last year they could not find my account because they changed all the accounts numbers on line and asked me to fine an old bill so they could 'help me find my account'. A year later They still do not know where I live, because their computer system gave everyone two account numbers and the people on line do not know which to use.

    Amerigas needs to fix this fast and hire some more people to replace the idiot who bought this 'new system'. A year is too long!

    0 Votes
  • Jh
      Feb 14, 2013

    Ameragas stinks. my furnace broke down 3 weeks ago in the night, I called Ameragas and was transferred to a lady out in California. who informed me that I needed to give her 2 hours to call a manager back in vermont. well 2 hours later I still hadnt received a call so i again called only to be told that she couldnt get hold of anyone and why dont I just go to walmarts to get heaters to get through the night. well we were having a snow storm and I informed her that walmarts is closed and of the storm. she replied well thats to bad just call in the morning and let them know about it. well the short of it a person came out and said it was sensors and go ahead use the furnace. well 3 days later in the middle of the night the furnace went out all together. and also at this point I also needed a delivery of gas. today is 3 weeks I have been waiting for a delivery and I'm completely out of gas so no heat, hot water, or cooking. my husband called and all the lady could say is oh sorry I'll give you a 25 credit on your account and we will try to get someone there by 2pm. Ya right what a nasty company to deal with and say nothing about being able to talk to a manager that person is never in the office.

    0 Votes
  • Kt
      Oct 28, 2015

    Having the same issue. Their employees are so incompetent that I can't can't pay over the phone. This is ridiculous. Now I'm late on a payment.

    0 Votes

Post your comment