The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

American Telecom / Phone rebate is a fake!

1 United States Review updated:

My complaint is against American Telecom. That the customer service agent listed being in City of Industry, CA,90601 as the city and state. This company offered 4 phones ( land lines) with one base set that records voice mail. You can purchase long distance minutes that are added to the phone and use by using the green LDS menu button. Calls are often lost in the conversation while using the LDS. This offer that we had with the purchase of the phones was the 4 phones listed above with several hundred free minutes and rebates of 20 dollars and 50 dollars. We sent the rebates in Dec,2006. There was no notice to use the free minutes w/i 60 days . We had actually had the minutes about 76 days and they just expired without notice. One day I could use them and the next day I could not. I called the company and emailed them numerous times and was told they were suppose to expire w/i 60 days. I told them the story and they finally gave me more minutes , ( free) but again was told they would expire within 60 days. I have never received the rebates either and told them that as well. I had sent in the rebates in 12-06 and called the rebate company and was told the problem was with American Telecom. Of course American Telecom said it was the rebate company. The rebate company said I had sent in everything correctly , and to give them more time to resolve the issue with American. I have called the rebate company numerous times and are told each time to give them more time. They said they are just getting rebates paid from June '06 and sporadically at that. She said that American had an issue (would not elaborate) and when I asked if it was a legal issue, IE were they going bankrupt? She said she did not know, but if they did, I would not get the rebates. She also said this was a huge issue and they were getting calls everyday about this same issue. I would like to know who else is having this issue and hope to see it posted on the Internet complaint site so we could possibly know what is going on.

Ma
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • An
      28th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    I'm having similar problems with the same rebates with American Telecom. They had the wrong date in their system for when the rebate had to be postmarked by, so I received postcards on both rebates saying they were postmarked after the offer end date. The first person I spoke with on March 8--after receiving a postcard on the $50 rebate--said to re-send everything in. I said there's no way I'm sending it all in again. It's an error on their part. After then speaking with a supervisor, I was told it was going to be processed.

    Today is March 28 and I received another postcard--I guess on the $20 rebate. The person today said that both rebates are being processed and I should receive them in 4-6 weeks. I said I've already been waiting two months from the date I sent it in, and three weeks from when I last called, so I shouldn't be waiting another 4-6 weeks. She just kept repeating the 4-6 weeks. I'm so frustrated!

    I guess I need to file an official complaint against the company, but I'm not yet sure with which agency--maybe the State Attorney General's office.

  • Zh
      29th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am having exactly the same problem with this company. I have called and spoken with at least three supervisors and each of them gave me and assured me a different answer.

    The first one told me on 2/20/07 that I would receive my check in 1-2 weeks and I still haven't received it as of 3/29/07.

    The second one told me on 3/15/07 that their record indicated that I had not activated my account. After I told her that I did activate on 11/27/06. She asked me to send her proof. The activation was done by calling an 800 number, so how can I send her any proof? Even worse, this person hang up the phone in front of me.

    After the hang up, I called the customer service immediately again, and the third person told me that I had been given the wrong information -- my account was activated and I just need to wait 4 more weeks to receive the check. According to the rebate form, I should have received the check within 8 weeks after mailing. However, it has been almost 18 weeks and yet the online tracking still shows my rebate "pending approval".

    Never buy anything from American Telecom or Office Depot again!! Their services are terrible and they are habitual liars!

  • Br
      2nd of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    The name above is the American Telecom president. I've had the same problem (over 3 months and lots of calls Young America) and read a call to the CEO (another Bruce) Bruce Hahn may get rebates on the way. His toll free # is 1-866-661-2102.

    Email probably is a waste of time. Tie up THEIR (Amer Telecom) toll free business lines and tell him to make a call to Young America and get the checks out the door today! ER

  • Br
      2nd of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    Sorry, the toll free I listed above is for web-rebates.

    You can call Bruce Hahn direct 310-871-9904 or swamp the ATS customer service (1-888-928-7746) and just ask for Bruce Hahn. They'll get the message. ER

  • Al
      6th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I also am having same rebate problems with american telecom. The phones (4 phones w/ chargers and a base with ans. machine.) Product was purchased Feb. 12 and I immediately mailed all info in for a $20 and a $50 rebate. Now the rebate dept. can't find anything on it and wants me to fax info all over again. The expiration date is close or perhaps already expired.

  • Gl
      6th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am having the same rebate issue as others. I am past the 12 week point and called Bruce Hahn on his private line 2 days ago. He asked me to email all details to his attention along with a CC to Bruce Layman. I received an email a short time later that said:

    "Bruce Y and A was rude to him why are we not paying this it is 8 weeks old please help me solve this for Glenn W."

    Bruce Hahn
    CEO
    American Telecom Services, Inc.
    Main Phone: 404-261-7466
    Direct Phone: 678-636-4388
    Cell 1: 404-234-0046
    Cell 2: 310-871-9904
    Fax: 678-636-4397
    Email: Bruce.Hahn@atsphone.com

  • Je
      12th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    Hi Bruce,

    I got your name and email address from the Complaints Board https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/american-telecom-c7109.html when I started searching for others that had the same problem as I at getting a rebate from American Telecom.

    I purchased one of your four phone systems at Office Depot on December 18, 2006. About a month ago I got two postcards from you company stating I did not satisfy the conditions required for a rebate and both stated I was declined. One card (id:131555566 (11889) – DHBH-5801-1986 M62024 PJ1:3-146-13:1441) stated I did not include the original qualifying UPC and that I needed to by April 9, 2007. The second card (id 129567603 (11868) M62199 PJ1:9-183-45:7905) that day stated that I had not activated “My Account Card” and that if I activated “My Account Card” my rebate would be accepted. About that same time I got an email that had several options to rectify the situation for different rebate denials. OK, I then again followed the rules and “activated “my Account Card” a second time. I have sent several emails to that email address but have not got a coherent answer yet.

    When will I get my $75 rebate? Do I need to go to Office Depot with this complaint?

    Thank You,
    Jerry

  • Jo
      13th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am having the same problems. I sent in the rebate 11/25/06. I forgot to include the UPC code and got a postcard asking to re-submit so I did just that. They confirm they have everything they need to process my rebate. However I get responses ranging from the check is in the mail to our system has been down and rebates cannot be processed. It has been two and a half months of bi-weekly calls. This must be a scam of some sort. Entice the customer to buy with a rebate, but no intention to honor the rebate.

    I am about to contact my attorney to see what legal action can be taken. Perhaps a class action suit can be filed.

  • Ju
      15th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    My name is July, and actually I work in the rebate center in Buenos Aires , Argentina...

    I have a lot of issues with the calls, but I always try to help you, but the customer doesn't understand that when you have to resubmit you have to do it, because actually it doesn't matter if you talk with a supervisor, anyway the system is not gonna allow him to do any type of payment, so what you should do is keep with the copies of all the papers like it says in the terms and conditions of the rebate...

    what I can advise you, guys, is that you are not gonna receive anything, american telecom is not paying... "I do apologize for that inconvenience, anyway thank 4 calling the american telecom rebate center and have a great day, goodbye!!!"

  • Gl
      16th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I received my 2 checks today (April 16, 2007) from American Telecom. My submission date was Jan. 11th, so it took 13.5 weeks. The rebate form said to allow 8 weeks, so this was 5.5 weeks overdue. I wish everyone here luck in receiving this rebate.

  • Da
      18th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I had to email officedepot and they gave me an email for American Telecom and their phone #. I talked to Mellisa and got my check on April 10 2007. I sent all rebate info on 12/30/2006....I also will not buy things from Officedepot without checking on who does rebates, ie Young America or web-rebates...

  • Ro
      19th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am quickly giving up hope on my rebates. Bought (3) different American Telecom phones and got the "Rebate Runaround" , but after three calls to their rebate line I did receive (2) of (5) rebates from American Telecom for a total of $30 with $120 outstanding.

    Now..., you can't talk to anyone like Deigo 54712 & Julia 53958 who both assured me that I would get my rebates. "Just call back in 14 business days", but now the 866 number only leaves a message for you to wait another 6-8 weeks. The 800 number that Office Depot (OD) provided is always busy.

    I am very disappointed with Office Depot. I've never had a problem with their rebates, and I do alot of rebates.

    My thing is if you are going to advertise the offer in OD ads..., set up prominent displays for the product and its rebates at the OD store..., print the offer on your OD cash register receipt paper..., get the money for the sale, but then say "...it's a manufacturer rebate... and we have no information on their rebates" is very dishonest.

    The management has to know about this and are willing to sacrifice there name and reputation for a relatively small cost item. Just amazes me.

    I'll keep you informed if there is any progress.

  • Ko
      23rd of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I' have the same problem, ... so I'm waiting. Customer service gave me this phone number: 1866 818 8964 and they can not process my rebate because they only process the end of January 07 rebates: amazing , I'm trying to fix the problem but think this will only time waisting...

  • Tr
      23rd of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    Does anyone know who i can contact about this rebate thing? I have been waiting for it for 3 months now and i did not get any rebate from them... I tried to call telecom but it's just a voice mail... Any help?

  • Na
      25th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I submitted American Telecom rebate for $20, yet only received $10, after having to resubmit the paperwork and explaining this to the "customer service" person who was barely understandable. When I finally received this check (after more than four months) and tried to call their 866 number, now there is just a recording on it, so you can't even talk to anyone! I'll NEVER purchase another item from them.

  • Ma
      25th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    MY complaint finally resolved with the company. After 15 emails, threats, phone calls etc American Telecom resolved my complaint I posted: 007-03-23 by Marie

    this person who name is below helped me to resolve my complaints, maybe she can help everyone else with their problems with this company as well . It took a lot of persistence. ALOT -- I now am satisfied -- however. Her name is:

    Kathie Mendez
    Customer Service Agent
    American Telecom Services Inc.
    2466 North Peck Road
    City of Industry, CA 90601
    (562) 908-1287 Phone
    (562) 908-5116 Fax
    GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE.

  • Br
      26th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    If you're not receiving the customer service (or rebates) you expect, contact Bruce Hahn, the CEO. Leave a phone message - his office vm, IMO is best. He is ultimately responsible.

    Bruce Hahn
    CEO
    American Telecom Services, Inc.
    Main Phone: 404-261-7466
    Direct Phone: 678-636-4388
    Cell 1: 404-234-0046
    Cell 2: 310-871-9904
    Fax: 678-636-4397
    Email: Bruce.Hahn@atsphone.com

    Once I shared the horrible rebate track record by email with others in my co., I know hundreds of phones were returned and this may have gotten their attention. It certainly will not encourage OD or Staples to buy any more of his phones. Maybe they will figure out why they aren't selling!

    It's been almost 18 weeks and I"m still waiting. The online info still says "no errors' , "still processing". Bruce, are you listening?

  • Ja
      27th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    Do not buy products from American Telecom. The rebates that are offered are fake. I bought the 4 cordless set with rebates of $50 & $20. The $20 rebate never made it to them. The $50 one did make it but after few weeks I received the non-compliance letter saying postmark date was after the offer date. Their online system did indicate that they received it before the expiry date. When I called them they accepted that they did receive it on-time & I was told to callback in 2 weeks to check back if the cheque has been issued. I have so far called them 3 times at an interval of 2 weeks & every time I get the same answer. Today when I called, now it goes directly to automated voice message system & phone gets disconnected. I have re-submitted the $20 rebate. Hoping that at least it will be received by them.

    There seems to be a major issue/scam going on with this company. I am planning to report them if I do not get my money back soon.

  • Ga
      30th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    In late 2006, I purchased a four phone set with a $20 rebate and a $50 rebate. I mailed in all the required paperwork only to receive postcards saying I did not mail in the required paperwork.

    As I bought the phones at Sears, I called them. Despite repeated follow ups, I still have not received any rebate checks.

  • Sh
      2nd of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    AAAhhh! This is sooo frustrating reading all these emails! I also bought these phones in February and have not received anything!!!! Not even the green postcards i was supposed to receive. I NEED the money, it was a big thing that i even attempted this because we hardly have money to pay the bills! Stupid me! NEVER AGAIN!!! I have emailed a few times, but no answer from anyone! So now that i see you all posting #'s i might try that, but could anyone give advise as THE person to call? I have 2 little ones and am pregnant, so not alot of time on my hands! Is there anyone out there who will help me, since you've been through it? Thank you!

Post your comment