SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

American Automobile Association / AAA.com / unethical behavior battery warranty not honored

Toms River, NJ, United States
Contact information:

Reference: Member Since 1991
Battery Service Call 01/19/16
Battery Service Call 11/16/16

AAA did not honor a battery warranty and incorrectly charged me for its replacement. I would like a refund, for the cost of the second battery purchased on 11/16/16 in the amount of $130.54.

On 11/16/16 a service call was placed to AAA for battery service, at my home in Toms River NJ 08757. I had left the door ajar on my garaged vehicle and with the dome light on, it drained the battery.

The AAA service technician arrived and jumped the battery, the car was started and he advised after a few minutes of the car running and charging the battery, that his tests indicated there were bad cells within the battery and it would not hold a charge. He stated the battery needed to be replaced and that no amount of charging would repair the failed battery.
The technician was advised that the battery was recently replaced by AAA on 01/19/16. He checked AAA service records, the current odometer reading and advised that AAA would not honor the battery warranty, due to low mileage on vehicle since the 01/19/16 battery replacement.
Concern about this AAA policy was expressed verbally to the technician while replacing the battery. Upon replacing the battery and paying the technician for the new battery, I thoroughly reviewed the warranty documentation, provided by AAA on the “Service Receipt” and “Mobile Battery Replacement” brochure. AAA’s documentation does not reference vehicle mileage as a condition of its limited battery warranty.

I placed a call to AAA and registered a complaint in writing. I called Delaware customer relations department and they would not respond in writing. They provided only a verbal explanation that is not reflected in the documentation. Delaware Customer Relations conveyed that AAA would not honor the battery warranty, due to low mileage on the vehicle, between 01/19/16 and 11/16/16. The explanation was expanded further to reference a specific line within the “Warranty Exclusions” section of the “Service Receipt”, letter d), which reads; the battery is damaged due to over or undercharging. AAA Customer relations, indicated the low mileage was indicative of undercharging the battery and therefore would not be covered. If there is a mileage requirement it should be in writing.

I disagree with the verbal determination made by AAA’s Customer Relations department representative. The AAA technician jumped the battery, tested and determined it would not hold a charge due to bad cell/s and that the battery needed to be replaced. A failed battery, within two service dates, is a warranty event under the terms of the limited warranty. Car mileage is not mentioned or relevant in the warranty terms.

It is troubling that there can be confusion, requiring so much effort on a member’s behalf to resolve this matter with AAA, regarding a straight forward basic service.

AAA should warranty the battery of 01/19/16, by refunding the battery purchase made on 11/16/16 for $130.54.

AAA is taking advantage of the elderly when they are vulnerable.

Gl
Jun 07, 2017

Post your comment