The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

AllSat / Huge hidden fees

1 United States Review updated:

AllSat - www.allsat.com

In November I switched to Satellite television. After what I thought careful research I decided to go with Dish Network because it was cheaper than the other satellite services. I used the Vendor AllSat as they came up as the Waterbury, CT vendor for Dish Network on a web search. They were offering $10 off/month for 10 months and a free portable DVD Player or mini Ipod. I called and set up an appointment and asked them about the free gift because they didn't ask which one I wanted. They told me I had to print out a separate form to get the gift. They showed up at my house and we signed the delivery forms all of which were Dish Network Forms I still have copies. The next week I printed out the forms AllSat said I needed to get the free gift. These forms said if I sent these in then I was agreeing to an 18 month contract so I never sent them in. Therefore not getting the free gift or agreeing to the 18 month contract. Well, my husband and I had to move in with my parents April 1st to save some money to buy a house because we have our first child due this November. We canceled our satellite Service by calling DishNetwork and they charged us $175 dollars for early termination. I argued with them because I didn't know of any such contract. 2 days ago we got a letter from AllSat saying we owed them $295 for early termination and if we didn't pay them they were going to report us to the credit bureaus and to collection at our cost. (1st notice with less then 30days to pay and threats?) I have this letter to if needed. $470 for canceling a service? Two fees for the same thing? Termination fee for use of satellite for less than 18 months? We sent an email to them asking them what this was about (I have this is my outbox) and they said that I didn't sign a contract that by calling the number from their website I agreed to their terms and conditions which are supposedly right next to the telephone number on the website (If you go to the homepage you will see that this is false.) Then they said they sent me an email confirming the Terms & Conditions. (I have this email too) What they actually sent me was a confirmation email, which they only told me was confirming the appointment but failed to disclose that there were terms also enclosed to review by following the link at the very bottom of the email hidden. (I can provide the email if needed.) I am at a loss of what to do. I don't feel this is fair. Cellular companies don't even charge this much for cancellation of services and their services are portable. A satellite is not. My parents are happy with their cable and don't want a satellite and they own the property. Had I known about the 2 termination fees I would have kept cable who has no termination fees or I would have signed the form for the free gift locking me into the 18 month contract that I supposedly entered by calling but I had no idea of the termination fees or the contract. Nor would anyone had they called to set up an appointment. Please help.

I am seeking for them to have to fully disclose their terms especially in the area of termination fees. I work in the securities industry and we must fully disclose everything. Cell phone services also tell you up front of their fees if you cancel early. No one deserves to go through what I am right now. I am also seeking that this be found as a void contract. I did not sign anything stating that I recieved this information and therefore it shouldn't be assumed that I did. I want my account cleared and not to have to worry about collection, negative reporting, or payment on this matter. I feel I have already paid once for terminating my service I shouldn't be charged twice for the same thing. If AllSat feels they're entitled to the termination fee DishNetwork should be passing on what was already collected for that fee.

06/22/2007 RECEIVE BUSINESS RESPONSE : Customer found our company by doing an online search for DISH Network. Customer went to our website, called our phone number and placed an order. They agreed to the terms of the order over the phone, and were also emailed a link to the terms in the order confirmation. One of the terms is the customer agrees to an 18 month commitment. Cusotmer disconnected after less than 5 months, and therefore was in full violation of that commitement and now owe the $295 cancellation fee. I will forward the exact email sent to the customer immediately following their order that has the link to the terms.

If you have any other questions, let us know!

AllSat Inc

www.allsat.com/terms

Customer confirmation email with link to terms for ...see

terms on bottom.

Jessica



-----Original Message-----

From: AllSat (mailto:support AT allsat.com)

Sent: Thursday, November 02, 2006 2:20 PM

Subject: Your Order From AllSat

Thank you for your order!

You placed an order on Thu Nov 2 13:20:01 2006 for the following DISH

Network system:

DVR Receiver (Dual Tuner),

DISH Network Subscriber Information:

Installation Date:

Your installation is scheduled for 11/04/2006.

If you need to re-schedule your installation:

Call: DISH Network

Phone: [protected]

Note: You must give 24-48 hours advance notice if re-scheduling

Thank you again for your order. Please let us know if you need any further assistance, we're glad to help!

Sincerely,

AllSat

[protected]

http://www.allsat.com

ALL SALES ARE SUBJECT TO ALLSAT'S TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF SALE.

YOU CAN FIND THEM BY CLICKING HERE: http://www.allsat.com/terms


06/27/07 REBUTTAL TO BUSINESS RESPONSE : (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I do not agree because yes I found their number on the internet by doing a search. It is not clear that they are not Dish Network. I did not realize that there would be $470 in termination fees if I used their service because I would be charged by them and by Dish Network. When you buy a Sprint phone in a small booth in the mall you would not expect the booth to charge you their termination fee and Sprint would you? Would you sign up for a non portable service that has a $470 cancellation policy? No one would. My point being yes I called yes I signed up for Dish Network. However if you pull up the call they did not disclose that I would be locked into a contract with termination fees by them and Dish Network. They never even disclosed any contract. They told me they sent me an email confirmation of the "appointment" they did not state that I should look at the terms and conditions located at the very bottom of that email. So yes I opened the email verified the appointment and closed the email. I did not scroll down because nothing prompted me to do so. It is all very misleading. Also they threaten that in less than 30 days they will be taking me to collections at my cost. I have all of this proof. And nowhere did I sign any contract not even electronically. I called made and appointment confirmed that the time was correct and that is all. If I have to fully disclose fees and pricing in the securities industry there is no reason why the Communication industry has the right to not fully disclose and essentially rip people off. Honestly who would sign up for a service if they knew they were going to be charged the same fee twice? Would you pay $175 & $295 for termination fees on the same service? When that service can't just be carried around in your pocket and others may not accept it being attached to their house. This is a fraudulent contract. I would like to see my signature or hear the phone call disclosing the fee arrangement and the contract. I would also like this researched because they offer a "free gift" that states if you submit the separate form you are locking into an agreement, which I purposefully passed up the offer because I did not want to be in the contract. Had I known I was anyways I would have either signed the form for the free gift or I would have not even signed up for Dish Network. I have all of the documents and if the Better Business Bureau needs to see them I would be more than happy to provide them. I am still seeking honest resolution. I did not sign any contract and do not agree to this fee. I will take this as far as it must legally go to get this resolved. I work in client services and this is the most unprofessional business I have ever come in contact with.

07/11/2007 MORE INFO RECEIVED FROM THE BUSINESS : We disclosed the fees multiple times...and this was the customer's original complaint. We proved we disclosed the fees, therefore their complaint is invalid. They agreed to the terms, and agreed to the cancellation fees from both companies........if they don't agree, then they shouldn't have agreed back when they ordered, but they did and now they want to blame us. That's not the way it works.!If you need further info to resolve this case, just let me know. JessicaAllSat Inc

9/27/2007 In response to their closing statement I said I was aware of the fees only if I signed up for the free gift. Other than that I did not sign any contracts and nor was I aware of any early termination fees with Dish Network or Allsat. Because I did not sign up for the free gift I did not believe I was locked into any "terms and conditions." They refuse to pull the call showing me that they disclosed this information to me and the email was to confirm an appointment. Not to confirm my agreement of their terms and agreements.

Va
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ri
      22nd of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    I too just found out I am locked into an 18 month contract. I tried to cancel after I never received my free gift of an ipod or portable dvd player. I made calls to Allsat and dish tv, and each one told me to contact the other because they were not responsible.

    I had the hook up in June 07, and was never told I was in an 18 month contract. Now if I cancel I owe 178.00 disconnect fee.

  • Jo
      10th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    In Reference to the letter I received on dated 17 Dec 2007, I have sent a check for the $295 and have yet to hear anything from AllSat, in reference to order #J122253. Thank you

  • He
      22nd of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    I am also in a simillar kind of a situation. Last night I had received a call from collection agent. Initially the collection agent stated that the name of allsat is in terms of the agrement. After that I had gone through my service aggrement which I had signed with Dish network, I could not find the name of the allsat in that. Now Allsat is telling that by calling the toolfree number is equal to sign up of aggrement & they are not even willing to keep this on hold till I receive the bills & listen my voice from allsat. I will approcoate any advice or help in getting out of this situation.
    Thanks,
    Heman

  • Ma
      29th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    While I agree with the above complaints here is what is happening with me as we speak. I am in a slightly different boat.

    I called on Sunday 1/27/08 to sign up through Allsat. I was NOT made aware of the double early cancellation fees from the lady on the phone. She only mentioned the 1 fee. She set me all up and scheduled me for a 1/30/08 installation. I received a confirmation email that mentioned I must call and cancel the install within 48 hours (which I did) and there is a link to the terms and conditons on there with a mention of allsat's $295 early termination fee. Nothing more.

    On Monday 1/28/08 I switched to DTV (found a better deal) and called to cancel Allsat (even before the equipment was even installed) and the person I spoke to at Allsat said to email cancellation@allsat.com and that's it. So I emailed that address and asked to cancel. Never heard back. So about 6 hours later I take it upon myself to just call Dish directly. They still had me with an install scheduled for Wed 1/30/08 and I told them that I wanted to cancel. They sent me to the retention dept where they tried to get me to change my mind but to no avail I finally got the cancellation of the install. Then I emailed back cancellation@allsat.com and support@allsat.com and again asked them to cancel my setup and please VERIFY that your recevied the request and also that the cancellation has been completed. I have not heard anything back yet. I hope they don't try to pull any crap with me about early termination or I'll have to rought them up! :)

    Mark

  • Va
      11th of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes
    AllSat - Terrible service
    Allsat
    3040 W Republic Road Ste A
    Springfield
    Missouri
    United States
    www.allsat.com

    In July 2007, I called to set up Dish Network at our apartment in Tennessee. The phone call to set up our service was very hard to hear understand, due to the customer service agent's accent and there was a delay on the conversation.
    We were offered an incentive of a 'free' portable DVD player. I called Dish back to find out the particulars about getting the DVD player, and they said they had nothing to do with offer, Allsat was a separate company who was responsible for the DVD player. They did not have a phone number to give me. I was mailed a voucher after we were set-up with our service.
    The voucher came and still there was no phone number and the 'free' gift was going to cost us $25.00. We decided against the DVD player, because it all seemed very suspicious that there was no phone number and Dish couldn't or wouldn't give us any information about this Allsat company.

    In October 2007, my husband was offered a position in Virginia. He took the offer, so I called Dish Network to set-up for the 'easy move'. We were to take our equipment with us and then call for set-up when we arrived in Virginia, because all Dish offices are independent. When we arrived in Virginia October 24th, 2007, I called for an appointment to set-up our Dish Network in Virginia. Our appointment was set-up for early November, 2007. I cleared my schedule and no one called or showed by 5:30 pm. I called and they said that the technician was still coming. At 7:30pm, I received a call and said they would not be able to come that day and we would have to wait until the following Tuesday. I was not pleased, but we actually loved the features of Dish, so I agreed.

    I again cleared my schedule, and again, no one showed. I called Dish again and told them no one had showed. They told me that our appointment was canceled (they failed to inform me of this!!) because one of the managers came to our home over the weekend and there was no line of sight, so they could not provide service and nothing else could be done. (We were home all weekend and no one came to our door to tell us they were even there, nor did we see any strangers roaming our home or yard.) Dish offered to send someone else out in 7 days, but the results would be the same. So, they canceled on us. Our neighborhood has several homes with Direct TV satellites. I have since found out from Dish Network that their satellites are not as high up as Direct TV's satellites, so trees, etc. block the line of sight.

    After all of this, we received a cancellation fee notice from Dish Network. I called them up and told them that they were the ones who could not provide us service. We did not cancel, we wanted Dish Network and we were not paying their cancellation fee. They waived the fee. (I think the fee was $195.00).

    Then, we received a $295.00 cancellation fee notice from Allsat. Again, no telephone number to contact them, just a e-mail address and a physical address in Springfield, MO. I e-mailed them and told them that Dish was incapable of providing us service and they canceled us. We did not cancel them. We e-mailed back and forth a few times, and still no offer of a phone number to talk with someone and now they have sent me to a collection agency. I have filed a report with Consumer Affairs, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), and now with the Rip-off. Do not do business with Allsat/Dish network! Get your service from ANYONE else!!!

Post your comment