SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Aldo Shoesawful, awful, awful

1
T Review updated:

Aldo is awful! I thought it was simple - return a pair of unworn shoes in the original box with both the original receipt and a gift receipt in hand. Then the staff in the store said "company policy" was "even exchange only" and if the cost of the replacement shoes was less than the returned item we could "donate the difference for aids." she also said that we needed the original credit card to get a full refund or credit and, since the person who originally bought the shoes (As a gift) lives in another city, she should mail her amex card to us so we could bring it to the aldo store. This was an absurd response. When my wife asked why we needed the original credit card when we had both the original receipt and a gift receipt, she was told that "maybe the shoes were stolen." figuring this was an errant front-line employee, I called the 800 customer service line. The agent there listened and then said we could mail the shoes and receipts to their headquarters in canada and they would mail us a gift card (Refund) — but she could offer no explanation why the retail store couldn't do that (And never mind that their web site says that if we buy shoes on-line we could return them "to any retail store"). I asked to speak with a supervisor and was shuttled to voice mail — and no one has ever called us back (And it's been over a week). To back that up, the following day I submitted a complaint using aldo's on-line comment form — I left both an email address and a phone number. No response. Two days later, I tried sending another on-line complaint plus an email to their "comments at" mailbox — no response there either. Not even a form letter acknowledgement. Over the past week, I have followed up with another on-line complaint (Attaching the first) and another email. I even sent a copy of my earlier email to their "careers at" mailbox. No response. No call back. No email. No service. They have definitely lost my business for life.

Responses

  • B
      Feb 20, 2009
    Aldo - signage
    aldo
    6075 mavis road
    Mississauga
    Ontario
    Canada
    Phone: [protected]

    Their were boots on a clearance rack with shoes and boot that said $19.99 everything looked to be on sale when you when to purchase the price was not on sale it was full price... (in very small print not visible unless we got on the floor and looked very closely at the sign it said from) as you will see the photo shows.
    They were very rude about this... This really seemed like a bait and switch... I would not have even looked at the boot if they were not on sale (they were children's boots and it being the end of feb who would have not known they were not on sale when you see a sign like that)

    0 Votes
  • W
      Aug 05, 2009
    Aldo Shoes - Bad flip flops
    Aldo Shoes
    United States

    I own about 10 pairs of Aldo shoes ranging in different styles and i have to say that their leather is way stretchable after a couple of uses and thier flip flops fall apart. They are a discrace of a company and charge way too much for poor quality. They have lost a once great customer.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Dec 11, 2009

    you're an idiot.
    OBVIOUSLY you must have violated the terms of the exchange policy. Aldo will refund you your money if the shoes have not been worn and you have the original reciept, and in the ORIGINAL method of payment. This is ESPECIALLY important when paying my CREDIT CARD. To refund the shoes onto a different card is FRAUD. Any company that does this is FRAUDULENT. Aldo would give you an exchange for the amount you paid ( as shown on your reciept) or a gift card if you really push it.

    They MUST refund on the SAME credit card.

    people like you shouldn't be allowed to shop.

    -1 Votes
  • L
      Jun 11, 2018

    @reaper1 Whose Kool-Aid have you been drinking? My sister bought a pair of shoes from Aldo 5 days ago. When she tried them on at the store they felt a little big so the salesman tried different insoles to help her. Finally she bought them with the thought that wearing socks would help (per the salesman and manager). She was also told to take them home and try them out with socks and if that didn't work and she wanted to return them and get a full "refund no problem." She would have to bring them in the original box with the receipt, not wear them outside (only try them on in the house), and it would have to be within 60 days. So, 5 days later we make the trip to Las Vegas from Utah (118 miles each way) and when we get there the nastiest person ever (the store manager) says "no!" My sister explained the situation that she did NOT wear them and he called her a liar! While they were talking I went to look at some shoes and heard his big mouth and saw my sister's face. I said "won't he refund your money?" With that he looked at me and said "you should be quiet, we were negotiating a replacement until you riled her up!" My sister said they were not negotiating anything she just wanted her money back. He would not do it only a replacement for the shoes she can't wear. So Aldo employee, or whoever the heck you are, you are WRONG and you have no right to assume that people don't know what they're doing or returning used shoes! Shame on you for telling anyone they don't have the right or deserve to shop! Who made you the shopping Nazi? My sister did get her money back after calling the Aldo Customer service line and even they were appalled by that idiot of a manager's actions. I truly hope he loses his job as people like him should NEVER work with not only customer's but people in general! Let's all say LOSER!!!

    0 Votes
  • R
      Dec 11, 2009

    you're not a great customer if all you buy are flip flops.
    did you even check to see if they were made of leather? if not you're just paying for the brand. go to wal mart and buy some flip flops. you want high quality leather goods? go to aldo.

    -4 Votes
  • R
      Dec 11, 2009

    from 19.98

    read the sign. it's plain as day, they're not misleading you.

    go shop somewhere else.

    -1 Votes
  • L
      Jun 11, 2018

    @reaper1 You are truly and obviously truly delusional. Oh I get it, you're one of Aldo's lazy manager's.

    -1 Votes
  • R
      Dec 27, 2009

    If you've seen this for the first time at ALDO, you really need to shop more. Every store does this. Maybe the boots were placed there by a customer. It happens. It wouldn't have hurt you to ask, either. 'From' means the same thing as 'Starting At', or '19.98 and up'. You also could have asked them to honor the price since the boots were right there. Many stores will do that, or knock the original price down a bit. Just ask; you have nothing to lose.

    I have to ask, tho. After you found this out, did you take the boots back to the sign to take a pic, or is this complaint a scam?

    +1 Votes
  • G
      Jan 13, 2010

    It`s unfair to treat someone as an idiot for something you have not experiances.Obviously you work for Them.And you and i both know not THAT NOT ALL EMPLOYESS WORK with the high level of professionalisme you are exibiting.If you really want to hurt aldo...here is the secret...Pay by paypal...

    Why you ask...Because if there is any problems you can file a paypal dispute...paypal will freez ALL THEIR assets (Basically thir money in their paypal account, , , ps and in the holiday shopping season it`s quite a big amount)So yes aldo wants access to their moneyand they cannot get it from paypal as long as they have a complaint strike against them and YOU close that complaint being satisfied by their response to you...so basically paypal will not payup to them if you are not satisfies...now that`s customer service

    -1 Votes
  • A
      Jan 28, 2010

    As an employee of Aldo for more than a year, I'm well aware of the return policy. Based on what I see at my store all the time, and what I've heard from customers' experiences at other stores, Aldo is a greedy company and doesn't have the customers interest at heart. My own manager goes out of her way to sell anything to anybody. She once sold a pair of size 11 boots to a girl looking for a size 8, telling her to just wear thick socks and that "they run small anyway" ...

    The return policy is bogus. I wouldn't guarantee this, but if you really yell and cause a scene I'm sure they'll give you your money back. At least that's what happens at my store.

    By the way, Aldos everywhere have decided to stop giving all their part timers hours. I've been laid off for 3 weeks now... with no explanation. What a crummy company.

    Good luck with the shoes, I hope you'll get a response sometime soon :-/

    +3 Votes
  • P
      Apr 05, 2010

    NEVER BUY ALDO SHOES!!!
    I bought a pair of boots for $189.95 and wore them once for 100 metres but found out that they killed my feet so I went to return them, I had the reciept and it was all in its original box and packaging and they still wouldn't give me a refund the only thing they said they would do is exchange for a shoe that was MORE expensive. I am a 14 year old girl who payed it all with my own money and i felt VERY pressured by the sales lady who stood their being like "they look great, i need to get a pair, just say you bought them in Melbourne and everyone will love them, " and other pushy comments. To cap it off i never want the white pair but that was the only pair left and now i have lost nearly$200.00 and dont have a pair of shoes.
    Aldo is terrible don't buy from them.

    +4 Votes
  • F
      May 11, 2010
    Aldo Shoes - Aldo boots which costs over $100 literally fell apart after being worn only a few times
    Aldo Shoes
    United States
    aldoshoes.com

    ALDO review: My Aldo flip-flops strap peeled off after a couple of weeks. In addition, my Aldo boots which costs over $100 literally fell apart after being worn only a few times! I am SOOO disappointed & will NEVER buy anything else Aldo branded again!

    0 Votes
  • F
      May 26, 2010

    as a former manager of ALDO i would say that the employee that was doing the return was just following company policy but at the same time was inexperience as a manager. You should never stand behind a return policy. what should been done was return the credit into a gift card or in most cases, refund in cash but approve by a DM. This way, you keep the customer happy and have a repeated business.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jun 13, 2010

    I bought a pair of boots at Aldo online, received them only to notice that the seam was not sewed. I went to an Aldo store to see if they could be repaired, they took the boots and said it could take 1-2 weeks and they would call me. 2 weeks later no call, I call them, they haven't been sent out yet. Two more weeks go buy no call, I call again, oh now the boots can't be repaired! So a month goes by and no one tries to contact the customer to let the customer be aware of the situation, or send out merchandise to be repaired after 2 weeks. On top of that they didn't have that boot in stock and couldn't order me another pair and when I decided to get a different pair of boots they didn't have those either and also couldn't get them from another store. They couldn't refund my money so they gave me a gift card for the amount of the boots, only to use for in-store purchases only. The next day I look online to see the original boots I wanted in my size, that they said they couldn't order. Needless to say ALDO'S BOOTS ARE TRASH AND THE PLACE BLOWS. NOW I KNOW NOT TO WASTE MY TIME OR MONEY ON SUCH A [censor] PLACE WITH SERVICE THAT SUCKS. Thats ok cause I love to buy boots and most certainly give my business to such a rip off place. THANK YOU!! :)

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jun 22, 2011
    Aldo Shoes - Worst Customer Service
    Aldo Shoes
    United States

    I was offered a £20 gift voucher when both heels fell of the boots I purchased! I'd only had them 10 days! Terrible customer service, it's a joke!

    0 Votes
  • C
      May 31, 2012

    I purchased a cross body bag that I wore for a week and noticed the cross body straps being hooked from the bottom of the flap closure kept folding the flap over. This looked ridiculous and was creasing the flap. This is clearly an oversight in the design phase and I wouldn't have known this would happen unless I wore it. When I brought it back to the store for an exchange, the rude sales girl said that it was worn and she couldn't do anything for me said it was normal "wear and tear". The purse is clearly not designed for being used at all, and that is considered a design flawt. She said it didn't qualify as a defect and kept rolling her eyes at me. I usually would just let this go as the purse was $40, but I what got me was the treatment I got. These girls work in customer service and their job is to deal with people. I definitely will not be shopping there again because of their rude sales people and crappy return/exchange policy.

    0 Votes
  • I
      Jan 26, 2013

    I hate Aldo...I recently ordered one pair of shoes in-store because they didn't had that same style in stock. When I went to the store to get my order 1st they ordered the wrong colour. I told them to ordered it again and they did but stupid thing is when I went again I found out that they again ordered the wrong size. I told them can they reordered it and they said we are sorry but that is out of stock ...we are sold out that style. It just pissed me off because I told them clearly what colour and size I want and still they were doing this to me it's crazy.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Mar 07, 2013

    Purchase a pair of shoes. NEVER worn them . kept the receipt and had every intention on keeping them. SUre enough as i tried them again i realized my toes were hitting the end when i walked on my carpet. the next size up was to big. I went to return them and they wouldnt return them because i didnt have a box. So now i have Brand new shoes and a receipt and NO BOX. There fore NO REFUND. This store has Millions of boxes and couldnt even get a box from the back. Customers always leave boxes behind, are you kidding me. Who ever made that policy up need to go to hell cuz now i feel like ive been robbed. I will never buy from Aldo again even if it was the last shoe store on earth.

    -1 Votes
  • A
      Apr 22, 2014

    Worst customer service, as a woman that is Muslim, a customer service representative at ALDO in Nanaimo, BC was stereotyping me. Here name is Raqual and she assumed because I am Muslim that I am a terrorist. When I was about to buy a pair of shoes she said, "I hope we have your size I don't want you to blow me up." As a joke. Needless to say I did not purchase a pair of shoes and looked her up, her name is Raqual Dombowsky and I find out she is the assistant manager at the Woodgrove Mall location in Nanaimo, BC. How did she get a job???

    +1 Votes
  • K
      Jun 22, 2014

    Hi,
    I hope I am writing to the right website ... This complaint is regarding aldo shoes India ... I picked up a pair of wedges and ur staff just wants to sell whatever they have in store ... Obv when one is spending 11k on shoes spending another 400 rs is no big ###... They stuck this thing on my heel saying it ll make my shoe firm n prevent me from falling ... But honestly I fell so bad and it was because of that silly thing ...

    Pls teach ur staff what to sell whr .. A wedge heel ahldnt have any such thing.

    Thanks

    +3 Votes
  • K
      Jul 13, 2014

    I would like to comment on all of the comments on this board.
    I am an aldo employee myself and TRULY understand what every customer is going through.
    Yes, our company does pressure others to buy shoes just to make their sales quota.
    In terms of our return policy: shoes must be unworn, in the original packaging: which includes the box, with a receipt and original method of payment to any aldo retail store, any time.
    I cannot speak for every aldo store, but I know for mine, people do return 'worn' shoes. The problem with returning worn shoes is that the company will have to report the shoes damaged and it counts as a lost towards our lost prevention percentage. Plus, we cannot resell worn shoes because who would want them?
    Returning shoes without a box is against our return policy because all shoes must be returned in original packaging. We cannot return shoes without boxes because believe it or not, we do not have an extra box in the back that has the name of that shoe, with that specific size, and sku # unless its another box with a pair of shoes inside it already. However, sales associates and managers are at all fault because they should let customers know that if they do not take the box, the shoes are final sale.
    I am not trying to bad mouth the company I work for, but I do believe that many store associates and managers are not aware of how to approach certain situations when it comes down to customer complaints. The company needs to better train their employees as it can impact the company.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Aug 05, 2014

    Yes, the company should teach their employee good customer service. First time my daughter bought a pair of high heeled sandals in Aldo for her brother's wedding. She was accompanied by her future sister in law and she uses her credit card to pay for it. When my daughter showed the shoes to us at home, we noticed that it pretty obvious that the shoes looks old and used because some parts of the shoes are a little bit darker than it's usual color. The bad thing that we didn't do at that time is to check the sole of the shoes. She told us that it was a display and they cleaned it in store for they don't have new pair of her size. She also said that she wasn't given a discount for it when asked. It was in our living room for a while until she tried it on for fitting of the dress and when the dress was done to see how the whole outfit would look like. Since it was so expensive, around $93 including the shoe cushion they bought with the shoes, we don't want her future sister in law to spend that much on her and it doesn't really look good with the dress, we decided to return it 20 days after it was bought. Our fault that time was The 2 salesperson in that store don't want to accept it for they said it was worn and doesn't want to give my daughter a store credit. After I explained to them how she got it and why the shoes look that way, they tried to make it as if we are trying to cheat. I also told them that how can it be used because it was for the wedding and the wedding is not until 4 days from the day we are returning the shoes. I also point out some reason that it wasn't worn from the physical condition of the shoe, like the heel part still clean and unscratched. Then one employees started to give us attitude and inspect thoroughly the shoes as if trying to look for faults and pointed some imperfections in the shoe aeg slight discolored part in the inside of the heel which looks like a glue. The manager didn't even bother to intervene, she kept on doing what she was doing and just agreed with other employee with out really paying attention when she was asked about the thing they found in the heel of the shoe. We just want the money to be credited to future sister in law's credit card, it will not even given to us. I really, really swear to God that the shoes wasn't worn. I don't know what else to tell them that we are telling the truth because they don't want to believe us. Out despair and frustration, I left the shoes to the sales ladies and told them that they could keep the shoes coz I don't want to see it or their store ever again. It's give me a worst experience ever and I won't buy any aldo products. They make us feel as if we're trying to cheat wherein in fact they are the ones that's cheating. Never feels to insulted in my life.

    0 Votes
  • E
      Nov 04, 2014

    I am honestly so shocked for all the negative customer experiences with Aldo, and I apologize severely. I have been working for Aldo for about a year, and customer service has ALWAYS been our number 1 policy. I am deeply sorry for the negative experiences people have had, and I hope most of the issues finally got resolved. However I do have some explanation for some complaints that may explain things a little better:

    To everyone, yes unfortunately Aldo is strict on their return policy, HOWEVER, it does not give us the right to treat any of our customers unfairly. Our return policy goes as simple as this: If you have not worn the shoe, you may return it for full refund with original or gift receipt. If they have been worn out, you may exchange them for another shoe or store credit. Now I will address all the comments seperately. Although I do not condone the actions of the employees you have experiences, hopefully I will shine a new light onto the situation. Nonetheless, you were all treated badly and I am very very sorry.

    To the very first lady that posted, that was all around wrong. If the shoes were truly not worn, the return should have been NO problem. However, the way we check to see if the shoe has been worn is the bottom sole of the shoe. We do not have a magic wand nor a six sense to determining these things, so if they shoes look beat up, we assume, they have been worn. Nonetheless, they could have at least offered to order you a new pair. Often times we have different people working on different days, so it is hard to tell whether shoes have been truly worn.

    To Paris28: I am sorry you feel pressured by the Sales Associate, in spite of this, that is what they are, a Sales Associate. Her comments at all did not seem demeaning in any way, comments like "they look great, i need to get a pair, just say you bought them in Melbourne and everyone will love them, " is I'm sorry to say, but not pushy at all. She is a Sales Associate, so much like car dealers, her main job is to sell shoes. Our sales matter to us as well, it shows we are doing a good job and keeps our job. I would understand if she would have said something like "Yeah that's the last pair. I'd get them now", is a little pushy. But just saying the shoes are cute? You have all right to respond with "No thank you" and hand the box back the Sales Associate. It has happened to me plenty of times, and I promise it is not the end of the world for us nor will we get catty with you. If anything like that does happen, please, PLEASE, call customer service. The hotline is great and they will resolve any mis-happening you may have happened at any store.

    To IHateAldo: What many people do not realize, is that whenever you order a shoe it is not sent from a big Aldo Warehouse. Aldo is one of many few companies that outsources their orders to the nearest store that has it, and the nearest store that has it SHOULD ship it that night. This is to sure the fastest delivery time possible. It could have been possible that the employees did in fact order the right color, however the store that sent it to them mixed it up. I can attest to this and say this happens very often, we are human and we make mistakes. Often times they send us the wrong color, mixed sizes, or just overall a different shoe. Many times when we have big sales, managers have to pull all-nighters at the store to finish the heaps of orders and ship them out. Although it may have been annoying, they should have given you a full refund. We can only do so much, and sometimes mistakes do happen.

    To ClubElite: This was definitely mis-treatment. If the shoes were in brand-new condition and you had the receipt, they should have taken the shoes back regardless. At least, my store does. However Aldo can sometimes be nit-picky because when we return them, we have no replacement box. When the shoe is returned, although it is brand new, we have to mark it as damaged without a box. What is supposed to happen is they should offer to order you a new size, exchange them for a new size, or overall just return them. I'm sorry that happened to you, I promise that does not represent Aldo Shoes as a whole.

    To SUX2BU: This was as well, a mis-treatment. She was truthful however when she told you repairing shoes takes awhile, because it definitely does. The shortest time I'd say is about 2 weeks. However if they shipped them to you damaged, that is absolutely the store's fault. The store needs to check all the shoes before they ship them out for any damaging, and if something like that does happen, they are responsible to either A) give you a full refund or B) order you a new pair. This situation just angers me, I feel for you and I am very sorry.

    I couldn't reply to all the comments, but I hope I cleared up some mis-confusion and gave a little hope to people who do still want to ship at Aldo. I promise you, this does not represent Aldo as a whole. Please come down to one of the DFW stores down in Texas, and I promise we will cater to you. I LOVE my job, and my favorite part about it is seeing the customer's face light up when they have found the perfect shoe because I know I did my job successfully that day. I am definitely not justifying any actions of bad employees any of you experienced, but hopefully I have given you new insight on how Aldo works, and our policies. It is often hard to meet the customer's needs, but also meet the needs of our bosses. Customer is always our main concern, and I again deeply apologize to all the mis-treatments you all experienced.

    0 Votes
  • F
      Dec 06, 2014

    I recently bought a pair of shoes from Aldo. After having worn them a total of four times, the zip on one of the shoes completely caught and i spent a long time attempting to unzip the side of the shoe. After having managed to get it unzipped low enough, I was forced to pull the shoe off my foot. Having it off of my foot I was able to unzip it, but at that point the inside lining was frayed and torn.
    By this logic, I was sold shoes that were not of good quality.

    Logically, my next step was to try and return them because why would I want to have faulty shoes in my possession. My confidence in the quality of Aldo shoes was also shot especially only having worn them 3 times.
    i went to an Aldo and explained the issue, but they said that since I had worn the shoes that I was not entitled to a refund. It would be one thing if I simply didn't like the shoes, but it's another thing having been sold shoes of poor quality.
    One employee made the incredulous decision of actually taking scissors and cutting off the inner lining of my shoe, which is the equivalent of putting on a bandaid.
    Here is an analogy for what this person offered. Let's say you bought an apple and in that apple was a worm so obviously you want to return that apple. The store clerk will not refund your for the apple but they offer to take the worm out. Is that reasonable? Not so much.

    I pose a few question to all Aldo employees. How many complaints do you get? How many people come in asking for a refund? How many people come in complain about something breaking? If you have few complaints, it's one thing. But if you have many complaints, it stands to reason that there's an issue.

    Objectively, is it fair to not refund an item of poor quality? Is it not fair to assume that a consumer's confidence in a poor item would be now a negative one? I don't really think so especially if we already know about the reputation Aldo has for its return policy and many complaints.

    0 Votes
  • E
      Jan 16, 2015
    Aldo Shoes - Customer Service
    Aldo Shoes
    Katy
    Texas
    United States

    I had to wait for more than 20 to get a response, and they do not accept PayPal to place order. Love the shoe, but their service SUCKS! I am shopping at their stores instead

    0 Votes
  • C
      Feb 17, 2015

    I buaght some aldo men's pointydress shoes. i wore them one
    time and when i took them off, i discovered four or 5
    missing sole pieces and a few other cracks and dings in the sole.
    then i found part of the leather off the sole on the side.
    result? I chucked them in the trash, same day as purchase.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Aug 19, 2016
    Aldo Shoes / Usa 600 - Hopefully they will change their customer service in the future
    Aldo Shoes
    United States
    aldoshoes.com

    DO NOT SHOP HERE! At least not the one on 5th Ave. This past weekend I went to the store on 97 5th Avenue and had the worst experience ever. We had terrible customer service but I decided to still buy a pair of boots. BIG MISTAKE. The salesperson was extremely rude and when I got home, there was only one shoe in the box. I did not get upset because everyone makes mistakes. When I called the store back, instead of apologizing, the salesgirl accused me of trying to steal a single shoe. She was very ### and kept saying she brought me both shoes. At every shoe store, the sales associate checks the box to make sure both shoes are in the box and are the proper size. I was getting very annoyed and asked if I could return the shoe and she said that I could not. I told her I did not appreciate her accusing me of stealing. If I wanted to steal, I would not have all the details of the transaction and one shoe. Five minutes later she found the shoe and said she would out it on hold. In all this time, she never once apologized or admitted she was wrong.

    Overall, Aldo has definitely lost a lot of customers because I definitely have told everyone to avoid shopping there. Hopefully they will change their customer service in the future.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Aug 19, 2016
    Aldo's Shoes - Aldo's Horrible Service with a Smile
    Aldo's Shoes
    United States

    I bought a pair of boots at Aldo online, received them only to notice that the seam was not sewed. I went to an Aldo store to see if they could be repaired, they took the boots and said it could take 1-2 weeks and they would call me. 2 weeks later no call, I call them, they haven't been sent out yet. Two more weeks go buy no call, I call again, oh now the boots can't be repaired! So a month goes by and no one tries to contact the customer to let the customer be aware of the situation, or send out merchandise to be repaired after 2 weeks. On top of that they didn't have that boot in stock and couldn't order me another pair and when I decided to get a different pair of boots they didn't have those either and also couldn't get them from another store. They couldn't refund my money so they gave me a gift card for the amount of the boots, only to use for in-store purchases only. The next day I look online to see the original boots I wanted in my size, that they said they couldn't order. Needless to say ALDO'S BOOTS ARE TRASH AND THE PLACE BLOWS. NOW I KNOW NOT TO WASTE MY TIME OR MONEY ON SUCH A ### PLACE WITH SERVICE THAT SUCKS. Thats ok cause I love to buy boots and most certainly give my business to such a rip off place. THANK YOU!! :)

    0 Votes

Post your comment