The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Advanced Wellness Research Inc / Billed for free trial product

1 #3 17th Ave SouthNampa, ID, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 1-877-751-5333

I requested the Pure Acai Berry free trial supply which was supposed be shipping and handling only of 4.99 and then 14 days from ship date to cancel my trial without further product/charges. They shipped my trial product on 11/19/2008 and then debited my account on 11/26/2008 for $78.86. That was only 7 days, not 14. I have tried to call their toll free number several times and all I get is an auto answer, put on hold for several minutes and then a please leave a message. I've left 2 messages and now when I call I don't even get the auto greeting, it just states that the box is full. I am getting the impression that this company has no customer service only an automated answering machine that never gets answered. At this point I can not find a way to contact them via e-mail.

0
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

Ka
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I also had the same problem. I went to their website and sent numerous emails to their customer service. The responses were all the same like a form letter. I tried to access my account online to cancel it, but the password they sent me would not work. I called the number and I too got a full mail box when trying to leave a message. Finally I got a live person when I ask to be connected for an order. Then I proceeded to tell them I wanted to cancel. I was told that my account had been canceled and I got the representative's name. They could not give me a cancellation number nor did the rep. have an employee ID that he would reveal. I was told that I would receive an email shortly. That was 2 days ago and I have not received an email. I sent yet another email asking for a response to my cancellation, but nothing. I guess that my next step will be to have my credit card company dispute the charge. If anyone else has gotten a similar situation resolved I would appreciate hearing how.

Rh
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I have the exact same situation! I have gone the extra step and have had my bank file a dispute on this charge. There was nothing on the free trial process that said anything about a 14-day period, only that you could order the product free and pay only the shipping charge of 4.99! What a criminal company this appears to be! I have tried calling and calling and emailing and emailing with NO RESPONSE!

Vi
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I have also had the same problem. I had no idea the free trial offer would lead to charging my account for the product. I would like to send the product back and get my refund. I also do not know if they will continue to draft from my account. I am not sure whether to change my account. I have tried to cancel my account with them and that has not worked. If you can help in any way I would greatly appreciate it. Sincerely, Vicki Sammons

Re
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I am having the same problem, except I received the full 60 capsule bottle instead of the free trial, I received that on 11-28-08and on 12-1-08 my account was debited $78.86. Like all of you I have called them 20-30 times and e-mailed 5-6 times. My bank is stating that I have to file a dispute which I'm not sure how long it takes to do that or how long it would be to get my money back. Did you guys ever get your money back or do you have any suggestions?
Thanks,
Rebecca

Je
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I am also having the same problems. All I get when I called is a voicemail saying "This mailbox is full." I have been trying for days!! I guess I could cancel my credit card before they charge the monthly fee.

Cy
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

having the same problem. this looks like a ripoff.

Pa
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Uhh, ohhh. I am in the beginning stages of this nightmare and can't get a response from them either!

Be
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I am having the same problem and have to dispute it with my bank as well. I also get the voicemail right away and says that voicemail box is full.

Rh
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I was finally able to get through on the phone to an actual "live body" who spoke english with a very heavy and hard to understand accent who took my information and said that he would be sending me an email within 10 minutes with instructions on how to cancel and request a "Return Form". I have not received any email and it has been several hours. I too am concerned that my account will continue to be charged. Perhaps we need to contact Rachel Ray and Oprah Winfrey and alert them to this scam! I too am considering closing my account in order to prevent future charges by this fraudulent company!!

Pa
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Okay, I got a woman on the phone. She said systems were down and they would contact me. (Yeah, right). She said I couldn't return the product and she couldn't cancel my order. They sent me two bottles and said I signed up for 2 trials. I called my credit card company, and found out to immediately return them, asking UPS for a Return Receipt Request, and if they billed me, VISA could get my money back. Good luck.

St
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

My complaints is the same as everyone elses. Paid $4.99 for shipping only then got charged $78.81 for the product. When ever I call they say their mail box is full and they can't take another message.

I just got my "free" berrys and haven't even tried them.

Mybank has told me that since I used my credit card, they can stop payment by issuing me a new credit card.

According to their ad Oprah used their stuff to lose weight right? How about everyone write Oprah and find out? Maybe if she endorsed the berry's she can make them pay us back?

Ja
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Ditto on the BAD deal. Geeze. I feel like an idiot. Yes, I am all about contacting Oprah. I am ON it. Will post again if anyything comes from it.

Have tried berries...I wouldn't be surprised if they were powder in capsules with a berry sent infused.

With everything that is happening in the nation...people are still scamming people.

Well ...the Karma is THEIR issue

Money is just money but ripping people off with intent is bad ju ju. Calling my bank and then try to see if I can get in touch with Ophra

La
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I have had a similar problem, I tried to cancel 30 minutes after ordering their free trial product because I called my bank and realized that they were going to charge me the $78.81 in addition to the shipping and handling charge of $4.99. I wrote them an e-mail and got a response back that they were only authorizing the charge and that it wouldn't go through until after the 14 day trial period. Well they didn't even ship the product until after the 14 day trial period and then charged my account. The next day I received the product, but did not even get to try it or have a chance to cancel within the 14 day trial period. I have tried to call them as well and get the same message saying their mail box is full. I have also written them numerous e-mails and get a basic automated response that is not helpful at all. I'm fed up with this and am going to change my bank account number. I'm wondering how you can get your money back from filing a dispute with your bank since we gave them our credit card information in the first place? Can someone please tell me if we are able to file a dispute??

Be
  3rd of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

i got through and they are going to refund me. i was about to give up ihad left so many messages. then finally i spoke with someone. they even were willing to cut the price from 78dollars to 18 if they can sell it for that why charge so much to begin with. but i am not fully happy until i have the money in my hand. i wish the rest of good luck in getting yours.

Pa
  4th of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

still trying to get a live person. cancelled my debit card and getting a new one so they can't charge me again. God only knows what is in the pills. I am sitting here with a packagehaven't opened and I can't get info to send the darn thing back. Do I feel stupid or what. I only hope they go out of business soon.

Sh
  4th of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I thought I would be getting something good when I sent for the $4.99 free trial. Nothing was said then about charging me for a new order or sending the free trial back. I have tried calling and never can get to talk to anyone and just told to leave a message, but never a return. I will be calling the bank to see if they can do anything. This charge is a great hardship for me as I live on Social Security and don't have a lot of extra. I thought if this was a good product I would try to order more, but now don't know if I should even take it. These people should be ashamed of themselves!

De
  4th of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

you suck! Give me my money back

St
  8th of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I am still in the 14 day trial as of now and thanks you i have contacted my bank and will not be a victum of this disastor. I have also written the company and CC: my bank with my letter and documentation from you and CNN. If anyone else is a victum of this scam in the future CALL YOU BANK ASAP!! I tried calling the phone number 866-484-2863 and it is exactly what everyone has said.

Thanks again everyone!!

Al
  12th of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I am learning right now about this product that I have not even opened it yet I recieved it on thursday December 12, 2008 right now I want to send it back and cancel the trial period.But it looks like I may not be able to do this.according to all of the complaints. WOW I wish I would have seen this before I paid for the item. I'm going to keep trying to do somehting about this so wish me luck everyone. Sincerly, ALina from Battle Creek Michigan

Sa
  12th of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

It appears that we all have been riped off by this group of cons 2 minutes after the order order i sent e-mail and told them to cancel my order. here what they said

Dear Pat
First let me thank you for your order and confidence in Pure Acai Berry. Now, let me reassure you that you were NOT charged anything other than the shipping and handling today. The charge you are inquiring about is not a charge but only an authorization. Depending on your bank, it remains on your card for anywhere from 15-30 days. If after using our product during the trial period you decide to keep it, we will then convert that authorization into a charge. Right now it is only an authorization and is not a billed amount.

I hope this answers your question and we hope you enjoy your Pure Acai Berry.

Thank you and have a nice day,

Andrew Philips,
Customer Service

Original Message
----------------
Subject: PA - Customer Service
From: To:
Date: 2008-11-24 17:21:44

cancell that order it said free then you had 78.00 i do not wont it stop shipment now. just placed order pat

PURE ACAI BERRY 305-5341052 NY CHKCD PURCH $78.81 11-25-08

the next day i was charged on my card. these people are a joke and i'll e-mail every day with a complant

Post your comment

     

Reply to

close
Send