SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Advance Auto Partsill mannered service

Review updated:

I was in there shopping about three weeks ago, it was a Tuesday afternoon when I was in there shopping looking for parts for my vehicle. I had witnessed an altercation between some associates at this store.See the Top 10 Worst Companies in Laurel, MD A man proceeded to push a cart full of merchandise in to a young lady while she proceeded to stop the man. They went into the back room.Where I had heard something fall. I am not sure what happened after this but the lady was told to calm down outside. If this is a company that allows altercations like this I will no longer shop with your company.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Lg
      May 12, 2010
    Advance Auto Parts - Rebuilt engine
    ADVANCE AUTO PARTS
    Greenville
    Ohio
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    Bought a rebuilt crate motor from advance. Spartin engine from texas sole builder for advance (Built in mexico) . Anyway fired up engine lifters taped from day one, changed break in oil at 300 miles, magnet on oil plug had a inch of metal shavings on end, drove another 400 miles head started leaking. Called advance warrenty they wanted me to replace what was wrong myself, their resonce for lifter noise was to adjust note on a 4. 3 you tourqe to spec not adjust like old days, spartin tech ask if i readjusted them to says a lot for their techs. I felt that i should'nt have to work on a engine with less than 800 miles on it!!! I removed engine, they did send replacement. Checked tourqe of heads and lifters before installing 2 head bolts were loose as well as 1 lifter was not to tourqe. Got results today from builder they said its my fault that engine had metal in lifters, in main bearings bad enough that they were scuffed and water leaks were from my accessories installed. I had flushed all oil cooler lines before install. They claim it was the cooler that contaminated the motor (###) the advance tech said almost every engine they warrenty is result of installer not builder. I've probably redone / rebuilt over 50 engines in my time, done several drag engine, all they talk to you as your an idiot or ###ed. So their 3 year unlimited milage warrenty dos'nt stand good for much will only replace / repair or refund once then your screwed. Will never step foot in a advance store again, , buyer beware

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      May 13, 2010

    So this was the decision of Advance Auto or Engine Manufacture?
    Some of these places are at the mercy of their supplier and after so many instants of poor customer service they ditch the supplier Advance Auto Parts prides themselves on customer service . Honstley how was the service from the Advance Auto
    I could see not purchasing Spartan Engines but I always get good service from any Advance Autos that i went into
    seem to always bend over backwards helping customers

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Feb 28, 2011

    I have been hapy with Advance until now. I purchased an engine from them 4 weeks ago with issues. The rocker arms on both side located under the oil baffles were hitting. After resolving thst with new gaskets and valve covers after contacting Spartan, I found that the castings for the valve guides were shattered from too much pressure when installing the valve guides dumping large chunks of metal into the engine. After contacting Spartan, I was cussed and insulted. Spartan delivered another engine, but neither Spartan or Advance is considering a labor claim to reinstall the new engine. I will never buy again from them. One main beef I have is the manner Advance accepted me as their customer and as soon as I had a problem, handed off to Spartan and had me cussed and insulted.

    0 Votes
  • Nu
      Mar 02, 2011
    Advance Auto Parts - Poor service
    Advance auto Parts
    Gautier
    Mississippi
    United States

    It is 03 / 02 / 2011 11:45am and i just left the advance auto parts store on the gautier - vancleave rd in gautier ms. I went in to purchase some motor oil. I made my selection and went up to the counter to pay. There was a woman assisting a customer at one of the consoles. I have no issue with that. However, there were two others in and out of the stacks behind the register who apparently ignored the fact that there was a customer up front. While i was waiting another customer walked in and was obviously walking the isles unable to find what he was looking for. Finally the woman called to the back for some counter help. When the man she called answered the phone and began helping that customer before ringing me up, i left my intended purchases on the counter and exited. If they didn't need this purchase then they don't need any further purchases from me.

    0 Votes
  • Gu
      Jun 21, 2011
    Advance Auto Parts - Rude manager
    ADVANCE AUTO PARTS
    2001-3 NE 163 ST
    North Miami Beach
    Florida
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    The manager chester gordon is the rudes person any business can have he has no respect for the costumers he realy make you feel you are so stupid when you ask for a part that you order over the phone. I would like some one to call me and tell me why he is so rude and descriminet latins too. My name is guillermo my number is [protected]

    Please do not go to that store he is realy rude and you will see.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      May 17, 2012

    I also bought a spartan engine and installed it and the same thing I had screwed up lifter and spartan blamed it on installer error six years later the engine is still in my truck with less than 100 miles on it I gave up on customer service.

    0 Votes
  • We
      Jun 22, 2012

    I purchased a spartan engine in November 2011 and am having the same problem now. There is a noise and after replacing a part hoping it would work, I now have a new engine on the way. My shop sais the engine is definately defective but the warranty will only cover labor up to $600. The engine is not even 6 months old. I'm so afraid they will do what they have done to everyone else and say it was the shop's fault and not even pay the $600. The labor is an 18 hour job according to the shop and cost me originally $1500. I feel so taken advantage of and can NOT believe they get away with this kind of service. I wish I had known before I spent $4500 to replace my old engine with a Spartan Engine. I was told it would be a full 3 year warranty. Also, the warranty specifies it covers repairs. I don't need a "repair, " I need the engine replaced due to faulty lifters and unusual wear on the engine.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Oct 27, 2012

    the manager from store 9277 in inverness john impellizi he is tollaty rude and he hate the latin people i dont now how he work in this good company he need gone.

    0 Votes
  • Au
      Feb 14, 2014

    Spartan Engines are junk, and Advance Auto Parts is bending over backwards to help me out. Installed a Reman. Engine from ATK, which has switched to Spartan a few months after I installed the engine. Engine ran fine when I installed it with no problems. Customer brought it back for his 500 mile oil change and check over. It was 2 quarts low on oil, and no oil leaks. Since then it use a quart of oil every 400 miles, and no leaks. Opened a claim with Spartan on this engine. They will not pay any diagnosis time, and your customer is responsible for that. They wanted me to check this and that, at my customers expense. Needles to say I never charged my customer. I called Spartans customer service back, about a year later, to see what they wanted me to waste my time on next. They said my warranty claim was closed, and listed as fixed. I asked them by who's authority? I never closed it, problem never went away. My customer used this truck for work, and I only had a certain time of the year it could be worked on, unless it broke down completely. Within the 1st year of oil consumption, the check engine light came on, with a cam sensor fault. Lab scoped the sensor, and found cam gear bad. No use replacing that, until we get something resolved on the oil consumption, which I was sure the engine was going to be replaced by their warranty. When I found out my 3 year unlimited mileage was out of warranty. I said no way! They said that was only good in trucks up to 1 ton, and I was working on a 5 ton. I explained that to their tech support guy, that before we purchased the engine, we hashed all this out. Advance Auto Parts and Spartan engines, both told me and my customer, 3 year unlimited mileage. The tech guy said it was in the copy of my warranty papers. My warranty papers, tell me to contact them for a copy of the engine warranty. I wanted to make absolutely sure, before I put this engine in, that this warranty covered commercial vehicles. I was assured it would be covered. So Spartan Engines mislead me, my customer and Advance Auto Parts. Advance Auto is going to supply parts to fix the check engine light, at no charge to me. They have always bent over backwards to take care of me. I will never buy a Spartan Engine again, even if they sell out and change their name. I would only purchase and install Jasper Engines for now on.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
      Mar 02, 2014

    i bought a reman spartan/atk motor from advance and hired a mechanic to install. the idea was to have short down time. the motor was making noise deep inside from the beginning and got worse. that was 30 days ago. spartan/atk has still not started process of sending another motor. my biggest fear now is if or when they send another will it also be a terd like the first one. what a bad experience so far and its not over yet.

    0 Votes
  • Au
      Mar 03, 2014

    I'd seriously think about getting my money back. Really this isn't worth your time or money to pursue. I as a company would not be a representative for Spartan Engines. I'm working with the Advance Auto Parts store to get a replacement engine. Of course it will be another Spartan Engine. I'm not happy about that, at all. Will get the replacement engine at no cost, but the customer has to pay labor to replace it. There is a shop in our town that replaced a head on a Spartan Engine, because it had bad valves in it. The truck had 300 miles on it. Spartan claimed it was the customers fault the head went bad. They wouldn't reimburse the customer his money back to replace their cylinder head. It was his fault, it went bad, according to Spartan. The shop told me when they took the head off that was bad, it had big valves in it for like a HP 350 engine. This was a 305 engine. I asked the guy if he pulled the other head, and he didn't because there was nothing wrong with it, yet. Seems to be the trend with Spartan engines, we'll send you replacement parts for your engine, and you pay the labor to repair their problem. I've done a lot of engine work over the years, and these remans. from Spartan, are the worst out there. Hopefully more complaints will pop up on this complaint site. Good luck getting it resolved.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Aug 05, 2014

    Bought a 3.4 V6 Spartan Reman from Advance Auto Parts in Tega Cay, SC. Great people, I do not hold them responsible for what Spartan calls a rebuilt engine. It idled for 2 hours then jumped time. I was told this was a hot run motor and was ready to drop and run. Probably because that is what Spartan told the people at Advance Auto Parts. It is at the dealership now getting a new 3.4 V6 Goodwrench engine put in now. $3, 000 up the pipe for a piece of crap. Now I am spending another $6, 000 to have everything I have already done done again.

    You people should be run out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Sep 19, 2014

    Here's one even better. Bought a Spartan 5.7L engine from advance here in St Augustine Fl. First 10 minutes of running, heard a clank, clank then sounds of a rod knock. Has great oil pressure but if you rev the engine to 1500rpm sounds like all the valves are floating. Call Advance, they pawn me off to Spartan engine tech support. He says hmm check to see what cylinder is missing and get back to them. Check out and seems like cyl. 2 or 4 have issues. Check compression and cylinder 1 has 70lbs. Call tech line back, he says okay we will send you a new engine. He calls me back 2 hrs later and says we need to send our guy out the see the issue first. Guy comes a few days later, takes pictures of hitch and tires listens to the engine and leaves. I call tech support 3 days later cause I hadn't heard from them and he says his guy thinks maybe an injector is bad causing the low compression. HAHAHA I had to laugh at that. I said no way, it has a knock in the engine, the valves seen like they are floating and it runs like crap with 0 miles on it. But I will ck injectors for him. Checked injectors and they are good when I command them on and off with my Tech2. So I got to thinking and decided to ck valves. NOT 1 but all of them were over tighten. Back them off to proper adjustment, engine runs fine.Test drove it for roughly 40 miles and gave it to customer to drive over the weekend, " per Spartan tech advice ". He brings it back Monday and in less then 100 miles, burns over 2 qts of oil, uses 1 gal coolant. Engine knocking again and running like crap. Check compression and every cylinder has 210 to 225lbs except cylinder 4 which has 75lbs. Call tech support and now he wants pictures of intake ports on heads and intake. Approaching a month and still waiting to see what the outcome will be. I have mass experience in engines and repairs over the last 30 years. This engine was junk in the first 10 minutes and at there request I have over 20 hrs chasing a dead dog. Instead of wasting mine and my customers time, they need to make things right. However, from these blogs and the way their tech is talking, I'm very confident that my customer is fixing to get the shaft ! And not to happy the way Advance was quick to pawn me off. I bought the engine from them...Not Spartan

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Jan 07, 2015

    Track It #
    Status STILL PENDING - Part Not Inspected
    Claim # 330060
    Claim Date 12/10/14
    Serial Number T012870
    Part Number 832B

    VIN Code JT2EL43A5N0222235

    Condition Reported Refer to previous claim 284392-using coolant
    Suggested Repair
    >
    shop$65.00 core-oil leaks retail purchase/shop install rad-new
    P H O T O S Click Here

    Customer # 999995 Virgina R Langhorne
    Po Box 6416
    Roanoke, VA 24017
    [protected] Garage Bart Automotive
    5135b Williamson Rd
    Roanoke, VA 24012

    Contact: Store Gearhead Inc
    1102 W N Carrier Pkwy
    Grand Prairie, TX 75050
    [protected]
    Contact: Vehicle Owner Virgina R Langhorne
    2118 10th St Nw.
    Roanoke, VA 24017

    Cell: [protected]
    Date Installed 01/30/13
    Date Failed 12/10/14
    Miles Installed 324800
    Miles Failed 338299
    Part Date Received
    Production Date 12/18/12
    Warranty Code
    Inspection Report N/A

    Confidential Information
    Claim Number
    282570
    Go Back
    Warranty Notes

    02/01/2013 1:06PM John Davis:
    left message for Bobby, shop, on company answering machine

    02/04/2013 11:27AM John Davis:
    s/w Blue, shop, at install white smoke out tail pipe. Ran fine, no noises, not
    missing. Pulled spark plugs, #1 white build up, all others clean. Compression:
    #1=100; 2-4=180. Not sure if wants to pull head to see if head gasket is
    problem or problem in head or block. Advises his cust is responsible to him
    for any diag and repair costs.

    02/04/2013 1:12PM John Davis:
    s/w Virginia, retail, Let her know that she is responsible to shop for any
    diag and repair costs. ONce mfg-def is found, we can reimbures her labor at
    $50.00 an hour using Mitchell time guide. Suggested having shop remove cyl
    head to see if can have head gasket replaced and get her back on the road
    quickly. She said no, if she wanted to have an engine repaired, would have
    repaired her old eng. She bought an engine that is supposed to be free of
    problems and that is what she wants.

    02/04/2013 1:16PM Greg Bowers:
    OK ENG

    02/04/2013 2:23PM John Davis:
    s/w virginia, retail, let her know ordering replacement eng and will have it
    shipped to shop. Remined her that once we get eng back and find mfg-def, we
    can reimburse her labor up to $50.00 an hour using Mitchell time guide.


    02/04/13 14:29:14 John Davis:
    Warranty Invoice: 162566

    02/04/2013 2:29PM John Davis:
    s/w Bobby. shop, let him know replacement eng being ordered, will ship to his
    shop. Reminded him that his customer is responsible to him for any diag and
    repair charges. Once eng returned to facotry and mfg-def is found, we can
    reimburse his cust per wty terms

    02/08/2013 10:29AM Kelly Heflin:
    S/w retail, wants to make sure that when we inspect the engine that there are
    pictures taken for documentation. Adv yes, pics are taken, and we will send
    her a full copy of the report and pics.

    02/13/2013 4:16PM Diana Rosas:
    virgina called missing oil pan gasket on this engine to, sales told her all
    gaskets come with the engine to install**drosas

    02/18/2013 9:51AM John Davis:
    s/w Virginia, retail, wondering cam/crank in time, Why timing marks not lined
    up to set in dist. Adivsed need to bring eng to TDC #1 cyl to still time dist.
    Eng has been spun to be tested after timing belt installed

    02/18/2013 12:19PM John Davis:
    s/w Bobby, shop, has eng installed, runs good. Customer saying the dist cap is
    wired differently than her other eng. Bobby says took dist, cap, wires, off of
    other eng. Installed same way

    02/18/2013 12:31PM John Davis:
    s/w Virginia, retail, went over conversation with shop. Engine running fine,
    would be no problem in way dist wired if eng runnnig smoothly

    02/19/2013 8:49AM Jayson Gatti:
    called and left vm for bobby to call back regarding wnty pikcup

    02/19/2013 8:53AM Kelly Heflin:
    S/w Virginia/retail, issued pickup of warranty engine from shop, per her
    request. Gave email to send in RO, will scan into system for her.

    02/20/2013 3:07AM Gary Crow
    FEDEX FRT PR BOL# [protected]

    02/25/2013 8:47AM Kelly Heflin:
    Receive following email including RO/receipts, scanned to diskat: I was
    informed that the engine was picked up on 2/20/2013. I had left message and
    instructed John of Warranty Dept to call me upon pick-up of engine no one did.
    I also left message that every step prior to taking thing off the returned
    engine is to be recorded which stating facts of findings to ensure fairness on
    both the company and mechanics' part. I still have not received my warranty as
    of yet as was promised to me I asked Bobby Steelman mechanic and owner of
    Afterhours Auto if it came with the engine he stated no. I was informed last
    week that one would be sent to me I've not received it as of date. Please see
    the following. The antifreeze 50/50 was returned and I got full strenght
    antifreeze in it's place. I also bought a new PVC valve which was not on the
    note Mr. Steelman signed. Any questions please call and keep me posted on the
    status of this issue from here on out I ask that all contact be made to me
    only as Mr. Steelmans' (Afterhours Auto) job is done thus no longer concerning
    him. The charges on invoice also include compression check, re-cleaning of oil
    pan which is not in total he forgot and put add beside it without total over
    it should be $703.25. This DOES NOT INCLUDE what I had paid for that had to be
    replaced. Only 1 of the Castrol motor oil I gave to
    Mr. Steelman

    Thank you,
    Virginia Langhorne
    cell phone- [protected]


    02/25/13 15:48:21 Sara Torres:
    Returning on R&L Carrier PRO# [protected] del 2/25 Grandprairie

    03/01/2013 9:03AM John Davis:
    emailed inspection report: [protected]@aol.com

    03/01/2013 11:02AM John Davis:
    s/w Virginia, went over inspection report. Emailed her inspection pics

    tatus NOT APPROVED - No Trouble Found. // Problema No Encontrado.
    Claim # 282570
    Claim Date 02/01/13
    Serial Number T012847
    Part Number 832B

    VIN Code JT2EL43A5N0222235

    Replacement
    Shipping Information Ship Date: 03/06/13
    Carrier: C4
    Tracking:N/A
    Condition Reported Refer to previous claim 282486...white smoke, coolant in #1 cyl.
    compression: 1=100. 2-4=180, missing oil pan gasket for replacement*diana
    Suggested Repair Retail does not want eng repaired, does not want to pay for any diag. wants
    engine.
    > Core-oil leaks rad-recently replaced vin-yes
    shop-$65.00 retail purcashe/shop install
    More Notes Click Here

    P H O T O S Click Here

    Customer # 999995 Virgina R Langhorne
    Po Box 6416
    Roanoke, VA 24017
    [protected] Garage After Hours Auto
    710 Centre Ave Nw
    Roanoke, VA 24016
    [protected]
    Contact: Bobby Store Gearhead Inc
    1102 W N Carrier Pkwy
    Grand Prairie, TX 75050
    [protected]
    Contact: Vehicle Owner Virgina R Langhorne
    2118 10th St Nw.
    Roanoke, VA 24017

    Cell: [protected]
    Date Installed 01/30/13
    Date Failed 02/01/13
    Miles Installed 324797
    Miles Failed 324797
    Part Date Received 02/25/13
    Production Date 12/13/12
    Warranty Code 415
    Inspection Report Failure Analysis and Conclusion for Claim Inspection February 26, 2013

    EXTERNAL VISUAL INSPECTION:
    Engine, serial tag is missing, received and examined with oil pump.
    There are no visible external damages found.

    INTERNAL VISUAL INSPECTION:
    Valve stem seals are intact, in place and their material remains pliable.
    Piston crowns and combustion chambers have an even burn condition with no signs
    of coolant in the cylinders.

    DIMENSIONAL, PARAMETERS AND OBSERVATIONS:
    Cylinder heads and block are not warped. Head gaskets are correct for the
    application, installed properly and sealing. Intake valve guide clearance
    is at .0015". Exhaust valve guide clearance is at .002". Engine was SIM
    tested and found all cylinders had 150+ compression.

    CONCLUSION:
    Cannot confirm customers complaint. This unit is correctly built and all
    components are within factory spec. No factory defects were found. Claim
    is denied. Still getting the run around nowhere in notes do they have the report of the inspector THEY paid to come check my car why? Because he recommended the engine be REPLACED

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Jan 07, 2015

    PLEASE POST YOUR COMPLAINTS TO BBB BECAUSE NO ONE HAS EVER MADE A COMPLAINT EXCEPT ME: COMPLAINT ACTIVITY REPORT Case # [protected] BBB Serving Dallas and Northeast Texas

    Consumer Info: LANGHORNE, VIRGINIA Business Info: Gearhead Engines
    3113 Stoneridge RD SW 1102 W North Carrier Pkwy
    Roanoke, VA 24014 Grand Prairie, TX [protected]
    [protected]-7735 [protected]
    [protected]@aol.com


    Location Involved: (Same as above)

    Consumer's Original Complaint :
    Failure to honor warranty
    I paid for a engine Jan 2013 with warranty for my 92 toyota tercel (T012847 serial)so I'd have a reliable car. First problem all parts were not with engine as promised so I had to purchase them. After install the engine smoked very badly I had installer to see what problem was exactly due to he stated something about compression wasn't right on engine so he checked while I was there and # 1 wasn't as it should. I called company they sent another on. I did in email state for them to RECORD their inspection they did not the took photo's. EMAIL: I was informed that the engine was picked up on 2/20/2013. I had left message and instructed John of Warranty Dept to call me upon pick-up of engine no one did. I also left message that every step prior to taking thing off the returned engine is to be recorded which stating facts of findings to ensure fairness on both the company and mechanics' part. I still have not received my warranty as of yet as was promised to me I asked Bobby Steelman mechanic and owner of Afterhours Auto if it came with the engine he stated no. I was informed last week that one would be sent to me I've not received it as of date. Please see the following. The antifreeze 50/50 was returned and I got full strenght antifreeze in it's place. I also bought a new PVC valve which was not on the note Mr. Steelman signed. Any questions please call and keep me posted on the status of this issue from here on out I ask that all contact be made to me only as Mr. Steelmans' (Afterhours Auto) job is done thus no longer concerning him. The charges on invoice also include compression check, re-cleaning of oil pan which is not in total he forgot and put add beside it without total over it should be $703.25. This DOES NOT INCLUDE what I had paid for that had to be replaced. Only 1 of the Castrol motor oil I gave to
    Mr. Steelman To sum this up I've had to put far more money into this engine pay for repairs/parts etc. I did what they ask me to to try to resolve the matter and the problem still exist. Russell Shiba said he was going to have someone inspect my engine and whatever the outcome that's what they would do. They paid a shop of my choice Jessie Smith Garage to use his shop so inspector could inspect my car, the inspector came took photos and video his recommendations: REPLACE ENGINE. They did not they sent me to Barts Auto. Richie Pointer agree last year in approx. November to refund me my money if after Barts auto couldn't fix problem which he did not that he give me full refund.I came upon personal problem and hardship I could not contact him til 12/2014 for him to honor his word he refuses and now being given yet more run arounds.

    Consumer's Desired Resolution:
    Due to the extreme stress, extra money, and time I've put into this matter being far more patient than I should have been I would like for them to pay to have engine removed out my car, replace the engine (they pay for re-install of new engine)reimburse me for having to pay Afterhours Auto to put the second engine in, reimburse for new distribtor which I did not need due to leak even after putting new one on still leaks, or settle paying me $5, 000

    BBB Processing

    01/07/2015 web BBB Case Received by BBB
    01/07/2015 BBB MORE INFO RECEIVED FROM THE CONSUMER : ***Document Attached***
    i have come into new information as to why Advance Auto no longer purchase engines from this company is because they do not honor their warranties.
    01/07/2015 BBB MORE INFO RECEIVED FROM THE CONSUMER : ***Document Attached***
    I would also like you to note that nowhere in the notes do they have any information about the company/business that they hired to inspect my car I believe it was because of the report stating REPLACE ENGINE
    PLEASE MAKE YOUR COMPLAINTS

    0 Votes

Post your comment