The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

ADT Security Services Canada, Inc. / bad billing, bad customer relations

1 Alberta, Canada Review updated:

Our contract was to expire in July 2009. In June, due to the system kicking into an annoying beep in the middle of the night, and otherwise sitting useless in the "Error" code (apparently, that meant no communication from the system in our house to the monitoring service), we called ADT to cancel the service and step us through manual disconnection of the beeping system.
We were instructed, over the phone, how to disconnect the system altogether (what does that mean? NO MONITORING from now on!) and we were told the contract will be over in July, as originally signed for by a person who did not longer reside at the house prior to July 2009, and has been deceased for several months now.

Well, today is January 05, 2010. We have checked some bank accounts and discovered we are still being billed the monthly fee and that our contract has NOT ended in July 2009, as we were told!
We were told that, since we did not inform ADT in writing, the contract has not expired.
We told them that we feel it is unlawful to bill us for services that were not delivered (the system was disconnected) and we want out money back. We also requested to be provided with a name and phone number of the representative at the ADT head office in Calgary but, we were told, this information will not be given to us because "the head office will just send us back to our local office" (presumably in Edmonton, AB).
"Felicia" told us she will submit our request to the head office in Calgary, but they can only refund us for 3 months. She said she will know in a "couple of days" (we will follow up on this) of the status of the refund request.

We feel contacting BBB is in order and we are seriously considering filing the case with the The Provincial Court of Alberta, Civil Division. Since we were billed for, I believe, 6 months (for the non-deliverable service), suing ADT would be a matter of principle, we would not get rich on this nor we care about getting rich on this. We do, however, feel that someone should seriously do something about ADT's antics. Class Action, anyone?
Post here if you feel this might be a good way to get justice.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • An
      12th of Feb, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Basically every alarm company in Canada requires service termination to be supplied VIA written letter, or at the very least an email. Its to create a proper paper trail, and avoid he said she said situations if something comes up as the result.
    Your system was unable to communicate so you cancelled? Get a service call, most of the time its a simple wiring issue due to something very much not related to the alarm system. The next service you go with will most likely end up having to fix it anyways.

  • Ra
      5th of Aug, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I have a similar experience with ADT. I had my service installed December 31st, 2009 - billed MONTHLY. Anyhow, first bill, they dipped into my account and took out over $300!

    After SEVERAL calls to the head office, they finally realized the mistake. Some genious apparently "hit the wrong button" according to ADT and charged me for the entire 2009. That being said, they said they would credit my account for the full amount and remove my direct payment method just in case I get charged again. The understanding was, my credit will take care of the service for 13 months.

    May 2010, I receive a "past due" notification. I immediately tried calling, but no answer. The answering machine clearly stated to email them and they will get back. June 6th sent and email - no reply for 2 months.

    August, get a call from my sales rep saying he received a cancellation notice from head office for non-payment.

    I don't know what to do now, its extremely fustrating. I must have called 4-6 times initially to have this resolved. My sales rep is tring to help, but he wants me to call again. At this point I'm fustrated and EXTREMELY disappointed in ADT's service. I agreed to pay $5 more a month compared to competitor pricing because I was sold on their value proposition of "High customer Service" - and during this moment of truth, they have failed.

  • Xi
      13th of Feb, 2011
    +2 Votes

    I signed a 2yrs contract with ADT. Since we moved after one year, we were told to re-sign a 3yrs contract to wave the installation fee for the new house. (Three different people called us to make appointments with us to re-sign the contract and told us just ignore the other two. We were confused and just picked one of them to sign) After 4months, there was an annoying beep and "Error" code (apparently, that meant no communication from the system in our house to the monitoring service), we called ADT. They told us that it was because we are using the internet phone. There was no signal to connect to the alarm service. So how come the first 4months worked? I continued calling ADT for the whole last year and paid with no service. Finally, We tried to cancel the service and wanted to pay the rest 2yrs penalty. The customer service wanted us to talk to the supervisor, Jennifer. We left a couple of messages to her since Aug 2010 and never got any response. (Right now she is a manager, how come?) I just can't believe the service from ADT is unbelievable awful. I don't know how long I have to continue these. I tried to find somewhere to make my complaint and found http://www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/adt.htm
    Apparently, US have even more problems with ADT than us.

  • Je
      3rd of Jan, 2012
    0 Votes

    If 2012 has you thinking about an alarm system in your home, stay away from ADT! My STORE BOUGHT CO2 alarm went off Dec 2, while the ADT alarm CO2 stayed SILENT!! Had we counted on ADT ONLY, we would have been DEAD!!! But I learned in the 5th month of service that that the whole system was never connected properly (nothing worked even though the installer claimed to check it thoroughly! So we installed a store bought smoke and CO2 as well, and had three more techs come out to ensure the system worked! (as we were told we could NOT get out of our contract even though the sixth month had not begun, and they kept the guarantee info quiet! The $99 installation special turned out to be $800+ and the sixth month guarantee to cancel service was conveniently mailed to us on the 7th month!!! (after being told at 5 months we could not get out!!!) Thinking its already bad about the CO2 not working, (and the past history of NOTHING working) ADT still has not investigated why (now 32 days!) the CO2 alarm did not go off (from a water heater vent that shifted) and I'm still waiting for their Ontario office to return my calls, or even the complaint I filed with the BBB! NO after the sale service exists! Don't fall for the promos! You don't get the $250 money back, Checked and there are THOUSANDS OF UNRESOLVED COMPLAINTS AGAINST THIS COMPANY ALL OVER THE CONTINENT!! I have 7 months left and I will be choosing someone else! SMALL CLAIMS COURT NEXT!!! This company and its idiot employees have screwed up far to many times! Stay away from the London-Cambridge ADT corporate franchise!!!

  • Di
      26th of Oct, 2012
    0 Votes

    Had an ADT Security unit installed. The person installing put it on a wall without an electrical outlet, and used an extension cord (which was draped across my entrance) to give it electrical power. I nearly tripped (several times) over the cord. I contacted ADT numerous times. Finally, I got a call back from a technician, so I called him back and left a message. I never heard back from him. I had inspection done by someone from the Electrical Safety Association. He said if I plugged in the unit, I would be violating code, because the unit has to be plugged directly into an electrical socket, without the use of an extension cord. Therefore, ADT sold me something I cannot use unless I violate code, which is illegal. Contacted a lawyer and BBB. BBB contacted me back via e-mail (i've saved this) and advised me that someone from the company would be "willing" to discuss the issue. I had tried to contact them so often, to no avail. By this time, I had already seen a lawyer regarding this matter, who had advised me to never to pay any bill they send me (I also got this advice from the person from the Electrical Safety Association) because by selling me something that I would have to break "code" to use was illegal. Shared this info with the BBB also, but they don't seem to have acknowleged it. Just recieved ADT's second bill today, and am going to wait until they initiate court action against me, so I can go to court (armed with photos and witnesses) to end my contract with them, and have this unit moved out of my place. I have since learned that ADT is the biggest security company in Ontario, my advice is stay away from them - go with a smaller company who can manage their accounts and policies. Also, please be advised that based on my investigation, the people they send out to install the units aren't even electricians, they are uncertified. That means, "shawdy" work can be expected!

  • Go
      29th of Jun, 2013
    0 Votes

    2 months of being billed, with no service provided, and customer service no help. Completly dissapointed with service, and customer service. Would not recommened to anybody. Its bell canada that advised me that my alarm was not working.

  • Ad
      10th of Jul, 2014
    0 Votes

    I got a call awhile back from ADT security saying the alarm was going off at an old job I worked at.
    I told them I don't work there anymore and hadn't for 10 years and they needed to get ahold of the owners.
    She said that's not company procedures anymore and that I was the main contact. So I said, well then call the police. She said, no we don't call the police anymore...I'm thinking ok WTF??
    So I call ADT because I have their system and ask them what their procedures are and she told me they've changed and if the alarm is going off they call the contact person only.
    I asked her what if I was out of cell service you can't get ahold of me. She said well then we just reset the alarm. Ummm really??
    This is what I was paying $40 a month for??
    So I cut my services with them.
    Today the business owner downstairs was robbed. They smashed the glass door, got in and stole all their computers. I asked her while she was sitting outside waiting for the police to show up, did you have an alarm? She said yes, they called her 15 mins after her alarm was going off on her way into work and by the time she got there 15 mins later the damage was already done.
    Nice ADT nice...just letting you know ADT is a false sense of security scam

  • Ma
      3rd of Oct, 2014
    0 Votes

    I have had repeated issues with my pulse system I called over a month and half ago and I have still not been looked after. This is coupled with the fact it took them 3 weeks when the system was installed to get the cameras working! Today I put a stop payment on the account. If they want their money they know where I live!.
    This is a poorly managed company I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Wi
      22nd of Apr, 2015
    0 Votes

    I would definitely file a complaint. They were stealing from you, plain and simple. Good luck

  • Sa
      18th of Oct, 2018
    0 Votes

    BEING CHARGED BY ADT FOR NO EQUIPMENT/NO SERVICE

    HELP! Some 2.5 years ago when Carleton Security (Ottawa) was selling its monitoring accounts to a Calgary company, I decided to cancel service, so Carleton staff removed the equipment. So, there has been no service for going on 3 years. In spite of that, ADT which appears to have acquired the accounts continues to insist on payment. We have many times tried to explain that I have not had the equipment so there is no service. ADT recently sent what they consider arrears to a collection agency which is pressing for payment and affecting my credit rating. ADT has been impossible to reason with, insisting that they have provided service years after it was disconnected. I'm 89 years old and do not merit this pig-headed predatory approach. I live in the same building as other family members and am still independent. How can I get ADT off my back and my credit rating restored? Mrs. RM, Ottawa

Post your comment