The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Acer Aspire 5570 laptop / Replace Screen

1 Australia Review updated:

I submit one complaint to Acer due to my notebook's screen appeared as broken from October 15. They pick my notebook up to the Repair Centre and 2 weeks later told me: I broke the screen and i have to pay $365 (this notebook was bought last May) that never happen.
Then, they argue on October 29 had pressure applied to the top of the casing of my laptop but this is speculation. I asked for it and on November 1st sent me a txt mssg indicating it was repaired. On November 6 i received my notebook at the same conditions.

I copy mails sent to know:




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: enzo200478@hotmail.com
To: customer_service@highpointaustralia.com.au
Subject: RE: Claim in process
Date: Tue, 6 Nov 2007 08:26:22 +0000


If you had acted accordingly with my solicitude. Where is the report of
physical damage that explain the features that evindence this when you shipped my unit?. Does all of this is the service that Acer offer to their clients? Please send me that report that i asked.

The history of this mail, your first answer (speculation) and the message sent to me will be presented as a complain to another entities.

Hope that report ASAP

Kindly Regards,
Enzo

> From: Customer_Service@highpointaustralia.com.au
> Subject: RE: Claim in process
> To: enzo200478@hotmail.com
> CC: customer.service@acer.com.au; customer_service@highpointaustralia.com.au
> Date: Tue, 6 Nov 2007 13:07:12 +1100
>
> Hi,
>
> Previously you have asked for the unit to be shipped back to you in an
> unrepaired state as the unit has been deemed a non-warranty repair. We have
> acted accordingly and had the unit shipped to you. The sms is an
> automatically generated response advising that the unit is to be shipped.
>
> Best Regards,
> HiGHPOINT
> Joshua Groenestein
> Customer Service
> Address: Unit 7/8 145 Arthur St Flemington NSW 2140
> Contact: [protected] DISCLAIMER:
> Highpoint Australia makes no warranties of any kind, including but not
> limited to noninfringement of third party rights, merchantability or
> fitness for a particular purpose, with respect to any items downloaded
> from, or uploaded to our ftp and web servers, also obtained via email. All
> programs are provided "AS IS", whether modified by Highpoint or not. In no
> event will Highpoint be liable for any damages arising from your use or
> your inability to use this information, documentation or software,
> including any lost profits, lost use, or other incidental or consequential
> damages, even if Highpoint has been advised of the possibility of such
> damages. We strongly suggest all BIOS updates be completed by an Highpoint
> Authorized Repair Center.
>
>
>
> |---------+---------------------------->
> | | enzo omar bellido|
> | | castaman |
> | | <enzo200478@hotma|
> | | il.com> |
> | | |
> | | 06/11/2007 12:51 |
> | | AM |
> |---------+---------------------------->
> >--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
> | |
> | To: <customer_service@highpointaustralia.com.au>, <customer.service@acer.com.au> |
> | cc: |
> | Subject: RE: Claim in process |
> >--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
>
>
>
>
>
>
> Joshua,
>
> Today i received my unit and it wasn't repaired despite of i received a
> text message last thursday 01/11 that said:
>
> "Dear customer we are pleased to let you know your unit with case number
> [protected] has been repaired and has dispatched via DHL on consignment
> number [protected], for any further enquiries please call DHL on 131406.
> Kind regards Highpoint Repair Centre Sydney"
>
> Are you joking with me?. This message i'll be showing to complain about the
> "bad service" of your company. Before i go to another entities i would like
> a response written of your company explaining this. Hope a solution as soon
> as possible.
>
> Enzo
>
> From: enzo200478@hotmail.com
> To: customer_service@highpointaustralia.com.au
> Subject: RE: Claim in process
> Date: Thu, 1 Nov 2007 08:45:11 +0000
>
>
> Joshua,
>
> The address is the same where was picked the unit up. This is Unit
> 6/350 Fairfield Road. Yeronga 4103 QLD and don't forget the report of
> physical damage and explaining the features that evindence this. I'll
> be lodging this problem to another entities.
>
> Regards,
> Enzo
>
> > From: Customer_Service@highpointaustralia.com.au
> > Subject: Re: FW: Claim in process
> > To: enzo200478@hotmail.com
> > CC: customer_service@highpointaustralia.com.au
> > Date: Thu, 1 Nov 2007 09:34:28 +1100
> >
> > Hi Enzo,
> >
> > Please confirm a delivery address and we will have the unit placed
> with a
> > courier today.
> >
> > Best Regards,
> > HiGHPOINT
> > Joshua Groenestein
> > Customer Service
> > Address: Unit 7/8 145 Arthur St Flemington NSW 2140
> > Contact: [protected] DISCLAIMER:
> > Highpoint Australia makes no warranties of any kind, including but
> not
> > limited to noninfringement of third party rights, merchantability
> or
> > fitness for a particular purpose, with respect to any items
> downloaded
> > from, or uploaded to our ftp and web servers, also obtained via
> email. All
> > programs are provided "AS IS", whether modified by Highpoint or
> not. In no
> > event will Highpoint be liable for any damages arising from your
> use or
> > your inability to use this information, documentation or software,
> > including any lost profits, lost use, or other incidental or
> consequential
> > damages, even if Highpoint has been advised of the possibility of
> such
> > damages. We strongly suggest all BIOS updates be completed by an
> Highpoint
> > Authorized Repair Center.
> >
> >
> >
> > |---------+---------------------------->
> > | | enzo omar bellido|
> > | | castaman |
> > | | <enzo200478@hotma|
> > | | il.com> |
> > | | |
> > | | 01/11/2007 01:46 |
> > | | AM |
> > |---------+---------------------------->
> >
> >--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
>
> > | |
> > | To: <customer_service@highpointaustralia.com.au> |
> > | cc: |
> > | Subject: FW: Claim in process |
> >
> >--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
>
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > Joshua,
> >
> > When will i receiving the notebook with the report of physical
> damage
> > and explaining the features that evindence this??
> >
> > Thanks
> > Enzo
> >
> > From: enzo200478@hotmail.com
> > To: customer_service@highpointaustralia.com.au
> > Subject: RE: Claim in process
> > Date: Tue, 30 Oct 2007 08:29:33 +0000
> >
> >
> >
> > Joshua
> >
> > As i said the notebook didn't have any pressure applied from
> > the top. I will submit this complain to another organisms, and
> > at the same time i required my notebook with a report that show
> > or says there is evident physical damage how you say.
> >
> > I hope a response as soon as possible
> >
> > Enzo
> >
> > > From: Customer_Service@highpointaustralia.com.au
> > > Subject: Re: Claim in process
> > > To: enzo200478@hotmail.com
> > > CC: cashback@acer.com.au; customer.service@acer.com.au
> > > Date: Mon, 29 Oct 2007 09:30:37 +1100
> > >
> > > Hi,
> > >
> > > I've had the chance to review the case and speak with the
> > technician
> > > involved and there are definite signs of physical damage to
> > the LCD panel.
> > > The technician claims that the unit may have had pressure
> > applied to the
> > > top of the casing but this is speculation. We are able to
> > supply evidence
> > > of the fault and we are also able to return the unit so that
> > you may get a
> > > second opinion if needed.
> > >
> > > Due to the circumstances the non-warranty decision that has
> > been made will
> > > stand.
> > >
> > > Best Regards,
> > > HiGHPOINT
> > > Joshua Groenestein
> > > Customer Service
> > > Address: Unit 7/8 145 Arthur St Flemington NSW 2140
> > > Contact: [protected] DISCLAIMER:
> > > Highpoint Australia makes no warranties of any kind,
> > including but not
> > > limited to noninfringement of third party rights,
> > merchantability or
> > > fitness for a particular purpose, with respect to any items
> > downloaded
> > > from, or uploaded to our ftp and web servers, also obtained
> > via email. All
> > > programs are provided "AS IS", whether modified by Highpoint
> > or not. In no
> > > event will Highpoint be liable for any damages arising from
> > your use or
> > > your inability to use this information, documentation or
> > software,
> > > including any lost profits, lost use, or other incidental or
> > consequential
> > > damages, even if Highpoint has been advised of the
> > possibility of such
> > > damages. We strongly suggest all BIOS updates be completed by
> > an Highpoint
> > > Authorized Repair Center.
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > |---------+---------------------------->
> > > | | enzo omar bellido|
> > > | | castaman |
> > > | | <enzo200478@hotma|
> > > | | il.com> |
> > > | | |
> > > | | 28/10/2007 08:24 |
> > > | | PM |
> > > |---------+---------------------------->
> > >
> >
> >--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
>
> >
> > > | |
> > > | To: <customer.service@acer.com.au>, <cashback@acer.com.au>
> > |
> > > | cc: |
> > > | Subject: Claim in process |
> > >
> >
> >--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
>
> >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > Mr. Customer Service:
> > >
> > > My name is Enzo Bellido and I wanted to show my claim due to
> > aproximately 2
> > > weeks ago my notebook had a problem inside the screen. I
> > bought this
> > > computer last May.07 and i was using this only 5 months, one
> > day suddenly i
> > > tried to log in and i realised that the screen had as a black
> > mark going
> > > from top to bottom in the middle. I keeped in touch with the
> > call repair
> > > center to know what was the problem? assuming it was a
> > problem of
> > > fabrication, and last tuesday 16 october you picked my
> > computer up to
> > > revision.
> > >
> > > This friday i was calling to know when you'll be leaving my
> > notebook at
> > > home and i received a surprised when you told me that this
> > had a problem
> > > that it will cost me aprox. $365. I m really dissapointed and
> > upset with
> > > your because the technic told me that you realised it was a
> > physical damage
> > > cause by myself. How i said before that's no possible due to
> > my notebook is
> > > always in the same place at my home and how is usually one
> > day I tried to
> > > log in and i found that problem. For that reasons, i won't
> > pay any to
> > > repair my notebook:
> > >
> > > 1.- First cause i bought this only 5 months ago and you'll
> > have to evidence
> > > that i damaged it, something that never happen (i'm totally
> > sure about
> > > that)
> > > 2.- And second i don't know what kind of service has the
> > company? i'm
> > > waiting for the famous cashback until now from May. That's
> > possible?? how
> > > you can see in the mail below you said that sent the cheque
> > to my last
> > > address but i never received it. I would like to receive a
> > favourable
> > > answer to my request as soon as possible.
> > >
> > > This problem is bring me back more problems that i thought
> > because i cann't
> > > use my laptop close to 2 weeks and i won't stopped until to
> > send this
> > > complain to the last instance or the media if that's
> > necesary.
> > >
> > > Your customer service attendant told me that I'll be
> > receiving an answer
> > > inside the 24 hours and i hope it will be soon.
> > >
> > > Regards,
> > >
> > > Enzo Bellido
> > > SNID Notebook: [protected]
> > > Reference: 1C1121007 / 714
> > >
> > > From: Cashback@acer.com.au
> > > To: enzo200478@hotmail.com
> > > Subject: RE: Acer Cashback claim in process (N07001139)
> > > Date: Mon, 17 Sep 2007 11:15:26 +1000
> > >
> > >
> > > Dear Customer,
> > >
> > > According to our system your cheque has been posted on the
> > 12/7/07 to
> > > Unit 1 - 319 Annerley Road, Dutton Park, QLD, 4103. If
> > customer
> > > don't receive cheque there is a RTS address, we have not
> > received
> > > anything back to our office.
> > >
> > > Thank you
> > >
> > > Regards,
> > >
> > > Tangi
> > >
> > > Acer Cashback Program
> > > Acer Computer Australia & New Zealand
> > > Australia: Ph: [protected] Web:
> > > www.acer.com.au/cashback
> > > New Zealand: Ph: [protected] Web: www.acer.co.nz/cashback
> > >
> > > This email contains information that is for the sole use of
> > the
> > > intended recipient and may be confidential or privileged. If
> > you are
> > > not the intended recipient, any further review, disclosure,
> > copying,
> > > distribution or use of this email, or the contents of this
> > email, is
> > > prohibited. Please notify the sender by replying to this
> > email and
> > > destroy the original email if your receipt of this email is
> > in error.
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > "enzo omar bellido castaman"
> > > <enzo200478@hotmail.com> 16/09/2007 10:25 AM
> > > To
> > > cashback@acer.com.a
> > > u
> > > cc
> > >
> > > Subject
> > > RE: Acer Cashback
> > > claim in process
> > > (N07001139)
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > Mr.
> > >
> > > I want to know when will i be receivng my cheque?. One friend
> > and I
> > > bought
> > > the notebooks the same day. But i never receive the cheque. I
> > ve been
> > >
> > > waiting for 5 months and i don t have any answer. Please,
> > When can i
> > > have
> > > it???.
> > >
> > > I hope an answer ASAP
> > >
> > > Enzo
> > > [protected]
> > >
> > > >From: Acer Cashback <cashback@acer.com.au>
> > > >To: enzo200478@hotmail.com
> > > >Subject: Acer Cashback claim in process (N07001139)
> > > >Date: Thu, 17 May 2007 12:04:58 +1000 (GMT+10:00)
> > > >
> > > >Dear Customer,
> > > >
> > > >Further to our email to you on 30 Apr 2007, we have now
> > received
> > > complete
> > > >supporting documentsfor your cashback claim (N07001139).
> > > >
> > > >We are now processing your claim and estimate the completion
> > date as
> > > 12 Jul
> > > >2007. Upon a successful verification, we will then issue a
> > cheque to
> > > the
> > > >name and address specified by you in the claim form.
> > > >
> > > >Should you have further queries, you may contact us at
> > > >cashback@acer.com.au; or call our enquiry line at (02) 8762
> > 3264.
> > > >
> > > >You can now track your cashback claim status online using
> > your email
> > > and
> > > >cashback claim number. Visit us at www.acer.com.au/cashback
> > for full
> > >
> > > >details.
> > > >
> > > >Should you decide to change the name of the payee or the
> > mailing
> > > address
> > > >for the cheque, a processing fee of $50 (AUD) will be
> > deducted from
> > > your
> > > >cashback amount. If you choose to register your claim
> > offline, a
> > > separate
> > > >handling fee of $20 (AUD) will be charged from the cashback
> > amount.
> > > Contact
> > > >the enquiry line for further details.
> > > >
> > > >Thank you.
> > > >
> > > >Acer Cashback Program
> > > >Acer Computer Australia & New Zealand
> > >
> > >
> > _________________________________________________________________
> >
> > > Charla con tus amigos en línea mediante MSN Messenger:
> > > http://messenger.latam.msn.com/
> > >
> > > --
> > > Message protected by MailGuard: e-mail anti-virus, anti-spam
> > and
> > > content filtering.
> > > http://www.mailguard.com.au
> > >
> > > Click here to report this message as spam:
> > >
> >
> https://login.mailguard.com.au/report/1tqMaDiwua/2OqI0nPuVbRlz9qlg0AClu/0
>
> >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > Message protected by MailGuard: e-mail anti-virus, anti-spam
> > and
> > > content filtering.
> > > http://www.mailguard.com.au
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > Get news, entertainment and everything you care about at
> > Live.com. Check it
> > > out!
> > >
> > > Message protected by MailGuard: e-mail anti-virus, anti-spam
> > and content
> > > filtering.
> > > http://www.mailguard.com.au
> > >
> > > Report this message as spam
> > >
> > >
> > > --
> > > Message protected by MailGuard: e-mail anti-virus, anti-spam
> > and content filtering.
> > > http://www.mailguard.com.au
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
> > Explore the seven wonders of the world Learn more!
> >
> > Connect to the next generation of MSN Messenger Get it now!
> >
> > Invite your mail contacts to join your friends list with Windows
> Live
> > Spaces. It's easy! Try it!
> >
> > Message protected by MailGuard: e-mail anti-virus, anti-spam and
> content
> > filtering.
> > http://www.mailguard.com.au
> >
> > Report this message as spam
> >
> >
> > --
> > Message protected by MailGuard: e-mail anti-virus, anti-spam and
> content filtering.
> > http://www.mailguard.com.au
> >
> >
>
>
> Discover the new Windows Vista Learn more!
>
>
>
> Invite your mail contacts to join your friends list with Windows Live
> Spaces. It's easy! Try it!
>
> Message protected by MailGuard: e-mail anti-virus, anti-spam and content
> filtering.
> http://www.mailguard.com.au
>
> Report this message as spam
>
>
> --
> Message protected by MailGuard: e-mail anti-virus, anti-spam and content filtering.
> http://www.mailguard.com.au
>

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Mr
      15th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    the cashback methord is not convenin.If a customer is doesnt have link with internet
    how is this person going to get the cashback.

  • Xy
      11th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    Hi there,

    Most computers brand have a policy of non-warranty if they find any evident of physical damage and the question on who did it is not relevant (eg: I didn't do it) or how long it has been possess because they only evident the type of damages once receive the machine and act accordingly to their policies.

    For most of the computer repair centres, if a machine is found to be non-warranty, there will be a fee involved (labour and time). Probably this is the reason why a report was not given to you because to do that, you need to agree to this fee first (not repair fee but for labour - time, checking on spare parts, report).

    Therefore, warranty is very very important. I think DELL computer offers warranty on physical damage - but I can't confirm though.

  • Gr
      21st of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    I am also still waiting on $29 ACER cashback offer cheque for a 22 inch monitor i purchased. It has been 2 months already and still nothing. TANGi was mentioned as well in my correspondence, she has a lot to answer for... try typing in "Acer cashback scam" in Google !!

  • Pa
      2nd of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes

    Acer have a reputation for dishonoring cash back offers, I purchased a laptop with a $149 cash back, I never received this there reason was they did not receive the paperwork within the set 30 days. I registered my cash back on line the day I purchased it and posted the documentation the following day. I have had nothing but trouble with this computer and would advise everyone not to buy Acer and do not believe the cash back offer. Many people have not got their money.

  • Le
      27th of Jan, 2010
    0 Votes

    I purchased an Acer Aspire 5542/5242 series notebook in Nov 2009.
    2 days after purchase when LIGHTLY pointing and touching the screen it CRACKED! Due to work I returned it to the place of purchase 10 days after purchase. I too was advised no waranty against damage.
    I requested to contact Acer by phone, to encounter the same advise of over $300 to repair the screen of a brand new notebook. My claim that no pressure was applied to the screen were dismissed. ( I work on computers daily!!!) My request to speak to a manager were denied, to speak with anyone else were denied, to get the workers name was denied, finally giving a first name only.
    So here I am about to start online University study in 3 days, no money to repair the computer and stuck with a LEMON!

  • Ro
      15th of Apr, 2013
    0 Votes

    I got my daughter a laptop for christmas. it was sent back to them just after christmas due to it not being able to connect to the internet. They sent it back without doing anything, it was sent back to them with the same issues, when we got it back it was the exact same issues. So once again we sent it back and said if it is not fixed this time give me the money back. It now connects to the internet and they had to replace basically everything inside the laptop. Now still issues with it, the screen flashes and it has turned it self off from time to time... You ring up to see if someone can help you and the first thing they say is set it back to default, that does not help. I rang up DELL and asked them what the issue can be and they actually went through stuff and gave me ways of fixing issues, not just telling me to set it back to default...
    ACER does not have a good service, its basically a non service... there is no such thing as customer service with ACER.

    If I ever get another laptop for my daughter it will be DELL all the way, they will come out and service your laptop.

Post your comment