The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

AAA Auto Repair / Incompetent repairman

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

Hello took my Vehicle to AAA car care located 5617 Albemarle Rd charlotte north carolina and TECHNICIAN MIke was to have repaired my brakes I spent 385.00 on brakes and rotors that were not properly installed also my brake fluid was not bleeded nor flush nor was fresh fluid added to my vehicle this could have caused me to have damaged my vehicle running into a tree somewhere I got my brakes done in january 2009 middle of january so about a week later I had called already to make AAA aware of the brake issue just didn't have time to bring the vehicle in because I do work alot and I do drive a very expensive car which I keep serviced at the dealership just so happen to take the car and have brakes done at AAA in january because I needed them bad and rotors and AAA was the cheapest doing the time and they put on cheaper rotors so I had time to take my car on monday march 30th 2009 which is my day off to inform AAA of the repairs of the brakes not done properly so karl had TECH MIKE recheck my brakes and I listened to MIKE state that he was not going to pull the tires back off to check brakes again MIKE came back inside and stated that my master cynlinder was leaking and I knew that was not the case because once again I keep my car serviced at the infiniti dealership so karl stated that MIKE says it's the master cynlinder and the price would be around 500.00 something dollars I am not paying for something I do not need to be repaired that's false fraud business mike did not want to check my car so he thought he could just mentioned it was the master cynlinder so he could get paid for doing a job that did not need to be done and no reason should a TECH be working in anyone's shop that's not going to work on a customer's car correctly this is serious you do not play around with anyone's transportation at all this is a car I make car payments on not spending money on something that does not need to be fixed I want the issue resolved and fixed I spent 385.00 credit as well want my brake fluid bleeded and flush and new fresh fluid put back into my vehicle I am not to far from getting an attorney because this should have not happen and I am the only one that makes payments on my vehicle I took my car to infiniti dealership on tuesday march 31st 2009 to drop car off and make sure I did not need a master cynlinder also I was scheduled for a oil change as well so had them go ahead and check the issue that AAA TECH Mike stated when I picked my car up on Thursday april 2nd 2009 I never needed a master cynlider at all but the brake fluid was notated on the notes as needs attention as I stated MIKE did not change my fluid and I have cheap rotors on the vehicle as well I have my papers from the dealership as well where this is notated where they checked I spoke with a Kurt from AAA car care on Albermarle rd which stated he was the new manager at that location MIKE Does not need to be working at this location because you do not play around with anyone's vehicle 385.00 is not a little bit of money.

Ju
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ch
      6th of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    Subject: FYI: SCAM/FRAUD AAA ARIZONA
    Arizona Automobile Association–Ford Motor Co.
    1994 Mercury was towed to AAA Auto Repair, Peoria Arizona. on !2-22-06 and was there
    until I took it out on 1-2-07. Lorenzo Foster (Service Advisor) is the only contact I had
    during this time. We met in parking area on 12-22-06 had telephone conversations and
    met again when I picked up car on 1-2-07. The car was never seen by Randy Nowell
    (Business. Manager.). The only contact I had with Gary Bons (Ser. Mgr.) was on 1-3-07 with Lorenzo Foster
    and I questioned the need for radiator replacement. The conversation lasted less then
    three minutes The only decision made was I would receive refund of $201.98 overcharge
    on a gallon of coolant. I would have to wait 7-10 days for refund. On 1-8-07 I filed this complaint with Arizona Automobile Association.
    COMPLAINT:
    In my Inquiry # 18597 to AAA Arizona I said that parts were put on car that was not needed (Radiator).
    I was charged for a service that was not performed (Replace Manifold Gaskets).
    I can show why I believe that Radiator did not burst.
    I can prove gaskets were not installed as engine components were not removed in order to get intake manifold out ..
    I would like an honest, competent technician to inspect my engine compartment and I will demonstrate and prove my points. I would like monies refunded to me for these overcharged services.
    All I ever wanted from this Auto Repair was honest value and service.
    The car is on my carport to be viewed by any AAA Corporate Staff Rep at any time. I am available for any additional information you may want. I would like to expedite this matter as soon as possible so I can get needed services on power steering and engine ignition system.
    This complaint was answered on 1-19-07 (10days) later after a brief phone call from Randy Nowell on 1-18-07, At that time I told him the MANIFOLD was never removed from car to install gaskets. ON 1-18-07 I TOOK OVER 40 PICTURES OF ENGINE COMPARTMENT TO PROVE TO ALL PARTIES
    THAT THE SERVICES WERE NOT PERFORMED. I STILL HAVE THIS EVIDENCE.
    This is Randy’s answer to my complaint–sent by E-mail on 1-19-07
    ANSWER:
    Dear Mr. McClung,
    Thank you for taking the time to talk with me yesterday. I have interviewed the technician who worked on your car and also the service manager at our Peoria shop and I have reviewed the associated documentation. I am confident that the work that you paid for was both needed, and performed correctly. I want to invite you to bring the car back to our Peoria facility so that the mechanic, Joe, and service manager, Gary, can review with you what was done and explain in detail the procedures used to complete the work. Joe, the mechanic who worked on your car is a very honest, competent, and skilled technician and I’m confident that you will agree with that assessment after meeting him and talking with him about the repairs.
    I am concerned that you still have an oil leak, and that you mentioned some other problems with the car and I would like to offer a free inspection and diagnosis of any additional concerns you have as a goodwill gesture. We would like you to be present while we inspect the car for any remaining leaks – that way the technician can also explain and show you what the problems are. You can call me at 602-650-2778, or Gary at 602-308-3017 to make an appointment
    On 1-19-07 I filed a complaint with Better Business Bureau asking for help in this matter.
    COMPLAINT:
    AAA AUTO REPAIR
    7422 W THUNDERBIRD PEORIA AZ
    PEORIA AZ 85381
    Complaint Description:
    Problem date 1-2-07, on this date I paid for repairs on my daughters car. After looking over invoice #0000751 I discovered an overcharge of $201.98. I returned on 1-3-07 to repair shop and demanded a refund of this overcharge.( I have documents detailing what transpired in my dealings with this Repair Shop from 12-22-06 to 1-3-07.) I will make these papers/documents available to any and all interested persons. As an AAA member filing a complaint against their employees, how can they honestly represent me? I believe this is a conflict of interests. I would like BBB to act as arbiter in this dispute. I would like to add other material, witnesses and documents as they become available. I will make car available to any and all interested parties and demonstrate my position on this matter.
    Your Desired Resolution:
    An honest and fair settlement as agreed to by parties after arbitration hearing.
    Not getting any help from BBB, I filed a complaint with Arizona Attorney Office asking for their help in this matter., 26Circumstances: Brief History: I have a complaint in writing with AAA Auto Repair that started on 1·3-07. Have met and discussed it with Gary, (Ser. Mgr.) and Lorenzo Foster (Service Advisor) Have letter from Randy Nowell, (Bus. Mgr.) who ignored my request. Filed complaint with BBB on 1-19-07. As of this date 1-29-07 there seems to be no response from this Auto Repair. My complaint is that a part (Radiator) was installed that was not needed. I was charged for a service that was not performed. (Install intake manifold gaskets) I can prove this service was never done. I am preparing documents and other evidence to present my case at BBB. (I will send these documents to you in a few days as I feel Auto repair will not appear for a hearing). I am 78 years old. I am credible and knowledgeable in the service, repair and manufacturing of automobiles. This complaint is serious as this is fraud on the part of the Auto Repair. You may reach me at XXXXXXXXX any time if you want more information. Thanks for any help you can give.
    After a letter from Arizona Attorney General stating they could not help, however I could pursue this matter in the Small Claims Court.
    I filed this matter on 5-1-07 with Manistee Justice Court Surprise Arizona.
    Manistee Justice Court
    Case # CC 2007081822SC
    Arizona Automobile Association (Defendant)
    AAA Auto Repair 7422 W Thunderbird Peoria Az.
    May 1 2007 Complaint I am suing the AAA Auto Repair for their failure to properly service the 1994 Mercury and return it to me in the condition that met all the terms and conditions of the service agreement (Invoice # 0000751)
    BACKGROUND:
    I have a complaint in writing with AAA Auto Repair that started on 1-3-07.
    Have met and discussed it with Gary, (Ser. Mgr.) and Lorenzo Foster (Ser. Advisor).
    Have letter from Randy Nowell, (Bus. Mgr.) who ignored my request.
    My complaint is that a part (Radiator) was installed that was not needed. I was charged for a service that was not performed. (Install intake manifold gaskets) I can prove this service was never done.
    Any owner of a Ford product can fall victim to this scam that I encountered at AAA Auto Repair, Peoria, AZ. We are led to believe, (owners of Ford products with the V-8 281 4.6 L Engine) that the intake manifold must be removed to install heater pipe on this engine. The manifold is NOT removed as WAS this case on my daughter’s car, a 1994 Mercury Grand Marquis. They disguise this by showing on invoice as “Replace intake manifold gaskets”.
    Heater pipe is listed under parts. Invoice shows no labor charge to install. This pipe not visible to owners, so they do not know if it needs replaced. This scam is probably being used in service departments and repair shops all over the country. The removed pipe was replaced September 2005 at Thunderbird Automotive in Phoenix, AZ.
    Gary Bons, Lorenzo Foster, Joe W. did conspire and used fraudulent and deceptive methods to make repairs on the 1994 Mercury as I have stated above.
    CONCLUSION:
    I am asking this court to hold the AAA Auto Repair liable for willful failure to perform in an honest manner and charging me for services and parts not needed and enter a judgment against them.
    Therefore, I am asking for a judgment against AAA Auto Repair for the sum of 950.85 as well as the document preparation costs to file this complaint, as well as the court costs and fees, necessary to bring this matter before the court.
    A fair settlement from AAA Auto Repair. I would agree to receive all labor charges and price of the intake manifold gaskets not used. AAA Auto Repair would keep profit made on parts.
    Being under oath, I affirm I am one of the parties in this action. I have read the attached pleading and find that the statements are true to the best of my knowledge and belief.
    Dated this 30th day of April 2007.
    By: _Charles H McClung___________________________
    On 6-28-07 a hearing was held, this is the results of that hearing. Dismissed with Prejudice.
    Defendants perjured themselves in Small Claims Court. .Case was to be heard by JP. Volunteer Hearing Officer was substituted at hearing. I prepared a written statement to present to Court. I read a paragraph and was stopped, court would not accept my written statement when offered again at end of hearing.
    .Volunteer Hearing Officer dismissed case with prejudice. NO judgment awarded to either party. No appeal allowed in this Court. This case involves FRAUD. I presented many documents to Court prior to court date to prove my case. I feel my case was mishandled by the Court and I did not get due process. Court lasted about 20 minutes…This is not a frivolous matter.
    Either a Justice of the Peace or an appointed Volunteer Hearing Officer may hear your case. Any party may object to the use of a hearing officer prior to the hearing date. The court can provide you with a form to make this objection. The case will then be referred to and heard by the Justice of the Peace. ARS 22-506
    Letter from Court stated my case to be heard by JP. I had no way of knowing
    who was on bench. This was my first time in a courtroom.
    My case was # 2 on docket, When I was notified and went in Courtroom he was still working on #1 case.
    I did not know who was on bench until I received a copy of JUDGMENT.
    I have since found as to why I received no help from BBB.
    Date: Mon, 7 Jan 2008 21:01:13 -0700
    Principal: Randy Nowell
    Customer Contact: Randy Nowell – (602) 650-2778
    File Open Date: January 2007
    TOB Classification: Auto Repair & Service
    BBB Accreditation: This organization is not a BBB Accredited business.
    The BBB has requested basic information from this company but has not received a response. As a result, the BBB may not have current information about the company
    In Randy’s sworn statement to the COURT he states( Joe Wiley did in FACT remove and replace intake manifold). HOW CAN HE MAKE THIS STATEMENT WHEN NOT EVER SEEING THE CAR??
    He further states that RADIATOR was replaced as it was cracked. Again he never looked in ENGINE
    COMPARTMENT. (PERJURY?)
    Gary Bons tells COURT that I took car to another place before bringing it to AAA AUTO REPAIR. (LIE)
    I never approved any of the repairs. Lorenzo Foster, only person I was in contact with at AAA REPAIR SHOP was not present at hearing.
    SUMMARY:
    SCAM/FRAUD
    Ford Motor Company is allowing the use of fraudulent and deceptive
    methods for making repairs on heater pipe/tube found on
    cars with the V-8 281 4.6L engines since 1992. Labor
    charges are based on the removal of INTAKE MANIFOLD.
    Pipe/tube is then installed by using method that takes
    less time.
    This scam is being used in service departments and
    repair shops all over the country. I have documents from Ford Techs. from around the country stating that this is the method for R&R of the HEATER PIPE on V8-281 4.6L engine on 1994 Mercury Grand Marquis. ( INTAKE MANIFOLD MUST BE REMOVED)
    AAA Auto Repair, Peoria, Arizona ( owned and operated by Arizona Automobile Association) replaced this pipe on the 1994 Mercury using the method that Ford Motor Company FAILED to put in Shop Repair Manuel in 1992. AAA Auto Repair (Randy Nowell) insists they used Ford method to perform this repair operation. I have PICTURES of the ENGINE COMPARTMENT and can prove the INTAKE MANIFOLD was never removed. The pipe was replaced in August 2005 by Thunderbird Automotive
    Phoenix, Arizona. AAA Auto Repair performed this repair to “PAD THE BILL”.
    It is time that Ford Motor Company addresses this matter and puts a stop to this fraudulent and
    deceptive method used in Ford Service Departments. Only then will it end in all other Automobile Repair
    Shops.
    Arizona Automobile Association (CEO/PRESIDENT) D James McDowell needs to investigate this matter on how AAA Members are treated, take corrective action and compensate me for the ORDEAL that I have been put thru.
    Update #264173 8-16-2008
    Having filed a complaint on 1-8-07 to expose dishonest employees it seems AAA Arizona
    Inc. is not willing to admit to any wrong doing. They keep trying to cover this dispute with
    a variety of tricks. This was my request to them on 1-8-07 when this dispute started.
    I would like an honest, competent technician to inspect my engine compartment and I will demonstrate and prove my points. I would like monies refunded to me for these overcharged services.
    The car is on my carport to be viewed by any AAA Corporate Staff Rep at any time. I am available for any additional information you may want. I would like to expedite this matter as soon as possible so I can get needed services on power steering and engine ignition system.
    Sincerely,
    Charles H McClung
    Member # 343092000 2
    This matter was handled by Randy Nowell who made no effort other than use delaying tactics as I sought
    to get help from independent third parties. This is not a frivolous matter.
    Phoenix, Ariz. March 17, 2008 – Today, chief executive officer (CEO) Jim McDowell of AAA Arizona, the state’s largest membership organization and advocate for motorists and travelers, announced that the board of directors has appointed Michael Tully the new president of the auto club.
    May 2008- Randy Nowell is no longer with AAA Arizona as Business Manager.
    June 16 2008
    Mr. Charles H. McClung
    5950 E Missouri Avenue
    Lot 31
    Glendale, AZ 85301
    Dear Mr. McClungWe have received notice from AAA National office that you have forwarded your
    complaint to them. This is to inform you we have closed this complaint after
    receiving a favorable ruling in the courts regarding this matter. We have notified the
    AAA National office that this case is closed.
    Thank you,
    Donald J. Nunnari
    Vice President Membership Products and Service
    CC: AAA National Office
    The above letter copied and retyped from original to fit this format. (signed copy on file)
    “favorable ruling in the courts” Randy Nowell did not file a counterclaim with the Court.
    I filed application for DEFAULT as required to keep this matter in the court.
    The document I received (JUDGMENT) plainly marked—Plaintiff awarded nothing—
    Defendant awarded nothing….
    Court record ( PUBLIC INFORMATION) I will share with AAA National and any other Interested parties It now seems that this matter will be handled by President Mike Tully and CEO Jim McDowell at the Corporate level….
    Reply

Post your comment