Centennial Communications Corp. Logo

Centennial Communications Corp.

Having problems with Centennial Communications Corp.?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

3349 Route 138 Building A
Wall, New Jersey
United States - 7719

Complaints & Reviews

Centennial Calling Relatives From Call History

Yesterday, on my birthday, my AT&T cell phone (in my mother's name) rang waking me. Caller ID showed "Unknown" so I let it ring off. A few seconds later I got an email from Google Voice saying I had a voicemail.

It was Centennial calling for my mother. She had canceled her service and just received her final bill. My call history indicates they called my Google Voice number (which forwards to my AT&T phone) NOT my AT&T phone directly (one might assume they would call my AT&T phone since AT&T bought Centennial and both accounts are in her name, but this is not the case).

We have determined the only way for them to have gotten my phone number was to have looked at her phone records and "cold called" me. My Google Voice line is unlisted, in a different area code, and in my name. She called the number Centennial left and they claim they "have the right to do so".

As my Google Voice and my AT&T phone numbers are both on the FTC Do Not Call registry and I have had NO business dealings with Centennial Wireless within the last 8 month (technically never), I believe this company had no right to call me and I have filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission and the Better Business Bureau. It's in their hands now.

Furthermore, I am unsure if privacy laws permit this company to use these techniques, if so it's in my opinion bad business practice as they have enough information about my mother already to litigate if necessary. This has caused me and my wife to reconsider staying with AT&T for our wireless service (we had been considering switching carriers but hadn't because my wife owns an iPhone and didn't want to risk damaging it in the unlocking process).

After opening the bill, my mother says it incorrectly says she owes more money than she does. She has gone though the 30 day cancellation policy (even though I am not sure that was legal either as she was no longer contracted nor obligated to pay after immediate notification of cancellation).

  • Fo
    Former CENT Employee Feb 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A couple of things wrong with this.

    1- Collections attempts are exempt from the Do Not Call lists.
    2- A Cell phone company has a right to contact people that you frequently call if they are unsuccessful in reaching you as a way to get a message to that person that they need to be contacted.
    3- Centennial Collections would not start making the calls regarding such a thing until the account was past 60 days and in danger of going into "Write Off" status.

    As a former employee of Centennial Wireless, I can't say that I AGREE with them, however, they are perfectly within their rights as a collector, as long as it didn't/doesn't become a harassing issue.

    AT&T's acquisition of Centennial Wireless would not have been an overnight merge of systems, in some cases it may take 2 years or more, which is why there are still customers on Centennial Wireless to this day. To blame AT&T for Centennial's Collection calls is ridiculous.

    As far as your Mother and her 30 day cancellation that you seemingly disagree with. In the contract it states that after the contract length has been completed, the customer will continue under the same terms and conditions until the customer submits in writing a 30 day notice of cancellation, at which point the customer would be released from their service after those 30 days without early termination fees as the contract had already completed.

    Check your AT&T contract, I know for a fact that it has a similar clause in there regarding cancellation (though not as long as Centennial Wireless did).

    0 Votes

horrible service, workers, etc

My husband and I went to Centennial Wireless in Brookhaven, MS to upgrade our phones. We have been long term customers for a number of years. While we were being assisted, the sales rep's phone rang several times, in which he took time out to answer his personal phone! He told us about this "deal" that was going on to get a new phone. You could get a "companion" line for only 10 dollars a month and could get this phone for free. I decided upon this phone and my husband got just a simple phone.
The next day, I noticed that the sales rep had signed us up for two companion lines, not one. The store was closed at this time. That following Monday, we went back to the store to get everything situated. We asked to speak to the manager; he instructed that another sales rep help us. He was very nice and assured us that everything was straight. The manager meanwhile, was chatting it up and joking around with the other sales reps. Then, when he actually had to help us, he acted like we were bothering him.
When the bill came the next month, to my suprise, those two companion lines were still on there and my bill was over $200. I then contacted the main office, who in turn informed me that I would have to talk to the Brookhaven office. I then called them and spoke to the same sales rep that supposedly fixed everything. He was rude, told me it was all my fault. He then assured me that he would terminate those lines without a fee.
This month, I find out my bill is over $500!!! After all that, it's still not straight!! Really?!!! And of course, nobody can do anything about it!! Needless to say, after my contract is up, I will no longer be a Centennial Wireless customer!

Poor customer service

I recently switched my service to AT&T which merged with Centennial wireless. All throughout my three year contract I have had problems getting text messages and calling. I once had no service for three days and had to call them several times before they were able to fix my service. I called and asked about leaving my contract early, but they would not let me without a $250.00 cancellation fee which they would not prorate even with six months left. All other providers I've heard of will. When I finally switched I had the last bill and a, ridiculous, disconnect fee outstanding with Centennial. Recently they decided it was alright to go through the numbers I have called when I had their service and start asking these people for my number. This was a very inappropriate move in my opinion, and embarrassing as well. Calling my friends and family to get a hold of me about an issue unrelated to them is ridiculous and harassing to them. Not only did they completely lose me and anybody I know as a customer, but everyone they called surely won't want the same thing to happen to them. This is extremely bad business practice and lost them a large number of customers as I will continue to post this on any and all sites possible as well as file a better business bureau complaint. When I called to complain about this, I was very rudely talked down to by an associate named Carrie. When I explained that legally I can tell them they must contact me by mail from now on, Carrie very rudely said well you have to mail this in writing. And I will be sending this letter out today. I have already complained about Centennial to everyone I know of who was called. I will continue to give the same advice to everyone I speak to about cellular service as well. I have had cellular service with Verizon and AT&T, and never had this sort of ridiculous and disrespectful treatment. Most businesses want you as a customer, not Centennial. Way to go Centennial. At this point I'm willing to spend a great deal of effort to let as many people as possible know about this and all other problems I've had with Centennial.

  • Fo
    Former CENT Employee Feb 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A couple of things wrong with this.

    1- A Cell phone company has a right to contact people that you frequently call if they are unsuccessful in reaching you as a way to get a message to that person that they need to be contacted.
    2- Centennial Collections would not start making the calls regarding such a thing until the account was past 60 days and in danger of going into "Write Off" status.

    As a former employee of Centennial Wireless, I can't say that I AGREE with them, however, they are perfectly within their rights as a collector, as long as it didn't/doesn't become a harassing issue. Let's face it, would you rather have "Barb" from Centennial Collections call you, or some deadbeat JDC call you instead? Yeah, I'd take a Centennial Collections call too.

    And what a way for you to stand up to a company who was bought out by another company a year prior to your posting! I'd certainly spread the word to all of my family and friends to not get service with a cellular carrier who no longer operates under that name. Here's a tip for ya, BUY ENRON! NOW! YOU'LL MAKE MILLIONS!

    It's customers like you who disgust me. I haven't worked at that abortion of a call center in nearly 5 years, but I still believe that a contract is a contract. You stand true to what you sign for. "Well, I didn't read it" That's just TFB for you, then.

    All other companies will spell out their early termination fees and the proration of them. Sprint (as of my contract ending with them in 08) wouldn't prorate an ETF either.

    Next time you decide to sign a contract, please read it word for word and ask questions. If the salesperson gets pushy and insists you sign without explaining what you have questions of, then he's just in it for the sale. You can find another salesperson to explain everything to you. Trust me, the new advancement in cell phone technology will still be there tomorrow and the next day, your "old and out dated" cell phone that you bought a year ago isn't going to stop working over night.

    0 Votes

They don't honor their own agreement

A year ago I purchased two phones and was put on their Talk Easy Plan. I was told that once I made 12 months of on time payments, I could "upgrade" to a regular monthly plan. (Talk Easy is a weekly pay plan) So, here it is a year later, I have made all of my payments per my end of the agreement. I was told that I had to wait until the exact anniversary date in Feb. to be changed to a monthly plan. Lo and Behold, Centennial has merged with AT&T. I was told by Centennial (two weeks prior to merger) that once I called them to have my plan changed, I could then go to AT&T and switch to an AT&T monthly plan and even purchase new phones at a discounted rate. When I went into the AT&T store, I was told that since I was still on a prepaid plan, they would have to run my credit. The deposit for two phones with AT&T would have been around $1, 000! And, surprise, surprise, they had just gotten the memo the day before I showed up that AT&T would not honor this agreement that I had made with Centennial. So, I have three options, which I am upset about. 1) pay a $1000 and switch to AT&T 2) pay $500 and buy myself out of my original contract of which I still have 1 1/2 years or 3) continue with the Talk Easy plan which means continuing to make weekly payments. (This is one of the reasons that I was happy to be rid of Centennial, I am SICK to DEATH of the constant "reminder" texts and announcements when I get close to my spending limit! Not to mention the Nokia that I have is a piece of crap!) In my opinion, AT&T should take into consideration the fact that I MADE 12 on time payments and not simply go by my credit score! (Which I'll admit is poor) I am SICK and TIRED of these cell phone companies! They are robbing people blind! And are dishonest at best! I am in the process of posting this story everywhere I can to try and find someone with a similar issue! I feel that I should be let out of my contract early with no penalty, as the terms of my contract have changed by having to pay such a huge deposit!

legal action

So, my parent's gave me a jingle after an officer stopped out to their house looking for me. (I haven't lived there in years) Why? you ask. lemme tell ya...back in 2001, I had a cell phone through Centennial. It was stolen. I immediately called and reported it stolen. A giant bill was sent to me about a month later. All charges were made after it had been reported stolen. What do I do? I call them back, spent a couple hours on the phone. It was deemed that I should "no longer worry about it" and that it was "taken care of". guess what? They filed a lawsuit against me, did not inform me of said lawsuit, and received a judgement against me. Now guess what? Not one Sheriff's office or county courthouse has any record of this. And the best "Guess what?" of all...Centennial has NO record of any of this either. They gave me a number to contact their legal department. It's a disconnected number. So, I can't visit my parents in their state until this is resolved for fear of being arrested for their mistake. I'm a poverty level mother of three. I have been on the phone for 3 straight hours trying to figure out what the heck is going on.

  • Am
    Ambeur Jan 28, 2010

    me again, ran out of room. does anyone have a working number to contact their legal department? Can't find one anywhere, and obviously, they don't know their own legal department's number, or they do, and they're not telling. Can anyone help me?

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Ambeur Jan 28, 2010

    and it's me again. well, spoke with a customer care representative, she was nice and rude, recoreded every word. She told me that "Our attorneys don't speak to customers" . Then started to give me a number, you can hear on the tape right before I say, "lemme guess, 3121?" she starts to say 3121, but changes it, after I say that, to the correct number. Called the attorney, spoke to a super nice, completely helpful lady. She explained what was going on, and got the body attachment dropped. She said she can't explain why they told me not to worry about it. Not her fault, she's just doing her job. She was very upset for me. I still have to pay a bill I don't owe, but those are the kind of kicks the underdogs get. Originally, the smount was over one thousand dollars, for a bill that, if I remember correctly, was for between $600 and $700. After they get their cut, and the company gets their blood money, I'll have ended up paying about $950. Yeah, great, what a deal. I don't owe anything, and I still end up $950 poorer. Money that I don't have. I'm tickled pink to have $5. I've been off work for medical reasons. Probably won't be able to work at all anymore (they're thinking it fibromyalgia, yippee). My husband only makes minimum wage. We have three babies. What are we supposed to do? I don't live in the state anymore, because I'm a domestic violence case (I spent two years in therapy, and still have nightmares every night, it was an insanely horrifying situation). This is the last thing I need right now. Well, I suppose I could use a live grenade thrown at me less, but I digress...
    Just so this is able to be posted, I will put it this way...from me, to Centennial Wireless: !!!VITTU CENTENNIAL!!!THANKS FOR KICKING THE LITTLE GUY WHEN THEY'RE DOWN, THANKS FOR DESTROYING SOMEONE ELSE'S LIFE, I KNOW YOU WON'T LOSE ANY SLEEP OVER THIS...JUST SO YOU KNOW THAT YOU SENT A PERSON THAT WAS TORTURED FOR 6 YEARS INTO A COMPLETE PANIC ATTACK AND SENT THEM BACK TO THERAPY(ya gonna pay for it?), HURT SAID PERSON'S CHILDREN(ya gonna feed them, buy the clothes they need, and pay the rent?), AND JUST TO HIT ALL THE POINTS, COMPLETELY RUINED THE DAY OF SOMEONE THAT DOESN'T HAVE VERY MANY GOOD DAYS BECAUSE THEY ARE IN CONSTANT PHYSICAL AGONY FROM A DIBILITATING CONDITION...SO, AGAIN...VITTU CENTENNIAL...and remember, karma is a total b*tch...

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Let's get a class action law suite against these jerks!

Sept 2008 I went to my independent Centennial store to use my warranty on my currety destroyed phone. While I was there trying to get my new one the customer service guy was telling me about promotiona that they were offering. Something about an internet service thing. Really didn't pay much attention. At that point I told him I wasn't interested and that I just needed a new phone. He then proceeded to tell me that he did not have the same model phone to give me, but if I wanted the one he was showing me I had to pay him a $20.00 fee. I complied and he asked me to sign a receipt. I skimmed through it, since I could barely read it, I had seen the $20.00 and figured it was my receipt after all. Not knowing he for some reason set up a 2nd line on my broken phone, yes seriously, on my broken phone. I left happy not knowing what had just happened.

A couple weeks later I got billed for a second line. I immediately called customer service and asked them why? They told me they couldn't help me because this was an independent dealer and they had no control over it. In a years time I have spent 8 hours talking to this incompetent business and their people.

After contacting the manager of the local store and faxing her everything, she told me she would take care of everything. Next thing I know I am being served for over $1, 000.00.

Trying to communicate with their attorney's office (who hasn't got a clue and told me that this is Centennial's way of getting money for nothing) and Customer Service is still a nightmare. Today my fananical institution contacted me and said that they garnished my checking account. All for a mistake someone else made.

I am currently in the process of sueing them for Pain and Suffering and have all my ducks in a row. For all of you that have been treated unfairly and screwed by this company I suggest we get together and get a Class Action law suite in motion. They should not be allowed to ignore, change their contract whenever they want, offer no help services, and have ignorant liers for employees.

Stay away for Centennial Wireless. What a fricken joke!

  • Lr
    lrwtnj Nov 18, 2009

    I agree with you totally. Centennial Wireless is a bad place to due business. I recently went and signed up for their home phone service which was suppose to only be $14.00 a month. The catch is you can only use the phone that you purchase from them which is $100.00. It is not a cordless phone, so you can only stay in that one room and talk. I decided to cancel my service with them, because one: they sent my first bill and it was sixty dollars and every month after that it was still past $50.00. Two: my household did not feel like running to the kithchen to answer the phone every time it rang, nor did we like the fact of having to stand at the counter just to talk, (very uncomfortable). I decided to take the phone back last week, and low and behold the lady told me that I could not give them the phone back unless I paid a $250.oo cancellation fee. I was immediately upset, because I did not recall signing any contract. I would not dare sign a contract for a home phone service. I argued with the sales rep for thirty minutes and explained to her that the lady that signed us up for the service told us that there was not a contract. I am pissed off, because I know exactly what they did to scam us. While they are in the process of signing you up they tell you that there is no contract and they use a computer screen to show you the plan that you are getting. After that, they have you to sign the signature pad that's hooked to the computer saying that you agree to the selected plan. The only page that you see is the page with the plan. They don't show you the other pages. At the end they give you the phone and a receipt. When I tried to turn the phone in they printed out five pages from the computer and tried to tell me that it was my contract that I signed. I told them why wouldn't these papers be printed out in the beginning and given to me so that I could read them and them sign the paper itself? All the papers have a signature with my name but it is a signature from the computer pad. That is the scam. They did not give us a copy of these papers that have signatures at the time of signing up. If this was part of the contract, why did they not share this information by giving us a copy at that time? They tried to keep these papers to themselves because it was done without permission and done in a wrongful manner. They will not cancel our service so I think that maybe I will have to get an attorney because I will not pay $250.00 to a company that is scamming.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    geterdone Jan 28, 2010

    Centennial Wireless are the next worldcom

    http://www.justice.gov/atr/contact/newcase.htm

    http://www.fcc.gov/commissioners/genachowski/mail.html

    0 Votes

Fraud...Liars...AWFUL SERVICE ...BUYERS BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Centennial wireless has awful service, I was a centennial customer for 4 years and after my contract expired they still tried to charge me $250.00 early termination fee, I spoke with over six representatives and they said my contract expired and I could terminate without fees, and then I get a bill with a 250 dollar fee on it, I called the customer service dept. and they have magically created some kind of new contract extension that I was not aware of from 1 year ago! This new contract extension just happened to magically show up, when only 3 weeks ago my contract was expired.

Then when I attempted to solve the situation I was transferred numerous times to a number of incompetent, rude, paid to lie representatives. Then I was told they have no control over what the store reps say or do! Are they not all the same company? Centennial has been one huge headache, if you need cellular service, I'm warning you, dont go with the blue shirt disadvantage!! Between all the misc. fees, rude and un-helpful reps, variations in information and facts depending on which incompetent person you talk to, you'll just end up with a headache and pocketbook ache, rather than a happy cellular service.

  • Ge
    geterdone Jan 28, 2010

    Centennial Wireless are the next worldcom

    http://www.justice.gov/atr/contact/newcase.htm

    http://www.fcc.gov/commissioners/genachowski/mail.html

    0 Votes

Overbilling

I had been with Centennial Wireless for two years as of 07/2008. The company knew we were looking at other...

Lied about bill

We went to Centennial to add a second line and buy a Blackberry Curve. After telling me how Sprint'...

Bad service

One of my friends and I had been long time centennial customers, both over 9 years with a total of 8 lines. Years ago Centennial offered professional service with not many issues but that has changed tremendously. The last 5 to 6 years have been terrible but I didn't want to change because of the free incoming minutes thinking that would make a huge difference (I switched 3 months ago and always have extra minutes so it was a bummer I didn't switch years ago, I have 5 phones on our plan too). When we go into the local offices the service is almost non-existant, when you call customer service they are usually unwilling to help and many times outright rude. I started testing different situations and acting ignorant of things and every time I would be lied to. I would then let the rep know I knew the situation or laws concerning the circumstances and they would try to turn it on me when they were lying. It is like they are trained to lie to the customer. My best friend who has been with them for 9 years is switching when her contract ends in 2 months, she has 5 phones too.

I have had many issues including charges for calls not made (that there is absolutely no use in trying to argue because you can't prove it), problems with service, and the 30 day cancellation notice they "require" but don't bother to tell you anything about it until you port your numbers. Now my main issue is that 2 of the 5 phones we had were still under contract, both had about 10 months left. I keep getting calls from Centennial but it is a recording everytime. I have called the local offices and the customer service letting them know I will not pay the $500 they want me to but I keep getting those calls. I consider Centennial to have broken contract long before me due to their lack of professionalism and terrible service. When you sign up you are guaranteed all this wonderful "blue shirt advisor" service and this was long ago lost so my contract should also be void. I have gone into the Beaumont, Texas office 3 times with my infant and have to wait in a line of 6 or more customers with ONE person at a desk helping so the wait was usually 30 minutes and more. Try that with your two year old. If I did call the customer service center they would tell me I had to go into the local branch so it was just an endless cycle.

I have written the president and let them know I would be willing to pay a pro-rated breach of contract fee but I will not pay what they are asking. I was with this company for over 10 years and they go enough of my money for service that wasn't worth one tenth of what they got. I got empty promises and they gots lots of dollars. That is just unacceptable int he business realm. They need to stick to their part too if they expect us to stick to ours.

I do realize it may affect my credit for not paying this but honestly I have zero negatives on my credit and this one won't hurt it enough to matter and it won't affect my husbands anyway. So, just consider all this if you are planning on Centennial as your carrier. The carrier I now have has been unbelievable. I have been with them 3 months and I just never knew issues could be so easy to resolve. I just call and the rep takes care of everything, I don't even have to wait to be transferred to another person or go into the office or any of that. They don't even question me like I am on trail, It is awesome!

Also, Centennial is the ONLY company to require the 30 day notice thing. Every other company doesn't do that. It is another way to rip off would be loyal customers. So, be careful and do the research first!

  • Valerie Aug 04, 2008

    UPDATE: California court ruled that it is unlawful for Sprint to charge early termination fees and ruled they must pay back the fees they charged in the past. GOOGLE it and you will find lots of info on it. It should be illegal. We should have a choice and if the customer service stinks we can leave and that way these companies would go back to the way it should be where they treat people like customers, NOT prisoners.

    If you are considering Centennial wireless as your carrier or if you are experiencing problems please read this. We need to work together to take companies like this down and get them to run an honorable business or close down. Businesses should not be allowed to operate dishonestly and unfairly no matter what kind of contract they think they have us under. It is unprofessional and unacceptable.

    I started using Centennial wireless as my carrier over 9 years ago. I learned early on to start asking questions because they are not going to volunteer any information that gives them an advantage of you not knowing. The "trusted blue shirt advisor" is a joke. The customer service is terrible. I have gone into the Beaumont, Texas location several times and had to wait, with my infant, for long periods of time with lots of people in line and one to two customer service reps available and they usually can't do much of anything except "put in a request" or "put in a service order" etc. I have been overcharged more then once with nothing I can do about it because I have no proof other then my knowledge that I didn't call someone 31 times in a row minute after minute consecutively to be charged extra minutes on my bill. So, mistakes happens and life goes on but lies and deception are NOT acceptable.

    I think we need to have them sign a contract with our contract to make them stick to the service they promise which is totally a joke. Once they have you under contract they really DON'T care, they think they have you under their control. People, don't fall for it. We have laws to protect us and this contract stuff isn't in blood. If they are not keeping their part then the contract is null and void. Let us fight this fight with integrity but fight we should. This company needs to have a class action suit filed against it. I am personally bringing mine to court if Centennial doesn't step up and take responsibility for their actions. I really don't even care about winning or losing, they cannot hurt my credit enough for it to be an issue, it is about what is right and a company should not be allowed to get away with the kind of lies they do, PERIOD!

    Years ago I asked my rep about all the surcharges we were paying. I was told they were a federal/government mandated charges and all phone companies charge them. So, stupid me trust my company. Lots of time goes by and I ask again this time asking for details about each of the three charges. They give me a long spill and let me know they are all Federally mandated or required fees. I again believe them. Then when talking to my sister about her phone bill for the same number of minutes and phones I wonder why hers is so much less then mine? We go over it and she tells me she doesn't have those kind of fees. Only a small amount not near the percentage of mine. HMM...I call again. This time calling and asking for a supervisor. They again inform me what I have always been told...same garbage...these are required BY LAW this time. They make it sound even better. My husband keeps telling me to get another carrier but I keep telling him they all have these kind of fees because that is what we have to pay due to government charges. I did try and call one of the carries but they told me they couldn't tell me what the fees were because they vary by state so I never could verify the cost difference. I cannot tell you how many times exactly I asked about these fees but it was at least 5 times over the years, probably more.

    Finally this weekend a friend comes down from upstate. They are telling us about their Sprint plans and how good they are. My husband gets me to call them and I ask them about their fees. They tell me it is Sprint's charges to recoup some of the Federal line charges they have to pay the government and that they are not mandatory but part of Sprint's fees they choose to charge. This info is even on their brochures. They were upfront and honest about these fees and not trying to lie to just get you to sign up. I am so angry at Centennial I call them again acting like I don't know that these charges are not law and ask about the fees and surcharges. They again tell me the same lies. EVEN when I come and ask "Are these Federally mandated charges required by law" and they state YES! They don't bother telling me the truth. I call again the next day another rep tells me the same info, I even got the names of the reps. I call my local office the next business day and ask for the district guy whose name is Robert or Bob Patterson. Of course, he is in a meeting, which is always the case when I call. So, I ask for the next to him as far as management. They go to get her and find out she is "in a meeting" HHMMM, how convenient.

    I then go on to explain my issue and the rep then tells me to look on the back of the billing page which states what these charges are. EVERY time I have called they have never pointed that out, NEVER. Only this time when I let him know I knew the truth. They could have pointed that out years ago, or whenever thy decided to finally disclose that on the bills which I know wasn't always there over the years. They could have told me that when I called instead of making up lies. I really don't care if it is on the bills. The truth is they will out and out lie to you if they think you don't know. It is a fact. I told him what I was doing and how I was going to handle it. IN COURT! I did give him the info that if they wanted to call and deal with this as an honorable company should I would not bring it to small claims, but they would have to start telling the truth to the customers. I am sick of companies thinking they have you in a corner if you sign your name, well what about thier agreement! They need to keep thier word! I have not heard back and don't think I will but I will do all I can to fight this injustice. It is not right and a company needs to act responsibly!

    So, I call the retentions department to ask them to cut off my phones and let them know that I am switching. They of course inform me that two of my lines have contracts, I of course let them know I don't care. They then go on to inform me (this is rep LYNN CC88 by the way) that I have to give them 30 days notice and will be billed for another month. YEAH right. She tells me that is in the contract. I tell her they don't inform anyone of that when you are signing and she informs me it is not their place to read it to you. BUT, they don't give you a chance to read it when I last signed for those on their little screen. I had to read it later. It wasn't in front of me and they are not idiots. They know we don't have time to sit there and read all the tiny legal stuff so we aren't going to bother, we are going to trust them to tell us the details. This is unknown by MOST Centennial customers. My friend who WAS with them for 11 years until today was told that and let them know they can jump in the lake in a nice way to put it. IT is their responsibility to let you know that when you sign up so you can be aware of that. OH, and by the way, you need to know that Centennial is the ONLY company who pulls this one. They take 2 minutes to turn on your phone and 30 days to turn it off! HHMM, try not paying your bill and see how fast they can turn it off. She also told me that the fees were mandated until I let her know I knew the truth and at that time she came up with reading it on your bill and told me I was trying to put words in her mouth when she stated it without me saying anything! It was such a joke!

    There is nothing about this company that represents any type of service. It is ridiculous that these cell phone companies think they don't have to stand by anything they tell you or even consider treating you like a customer. To them we are prisoners and that is what they treat you like. I refuse to pay the last bill and I refuse to pay the 2 contract amounts. They refused to keep their part of the bargain, I refuse mine. They broke theirs first so it made mine null and void! They will lie if you call them, they will not give you any kind of "blue shirt advisor promises" they advertise and they will rip you off!

    Here is a partial list of fees that NO other carries charge you for which Centennial adds to your bill as an option which none of the other companies do to this degree:

    Caller ID, Voice Mail, Detailed billing (all the other companies think this is a joke), Call waiting, Ridiculous Texting and Web charges, and the extra month of paying even when your phone is cut off or ported AND the list goes on!

    Please use wisdom. If you decide to start fighting for your rights keep logs of names and employee numbers, times, dates, and all info you can. Record conversations. I have the lies recorded but I really cannot be sure if I can use them in court of not yet. We will find out, but it couldn't hurt to try. If you have friends or know of names of past employees you can possibly have them as witnesses in court, at or against their will. There are many angles you can come from. Keep it clean and legal. You don't need loopholes, just truth.

    I am not lawsuit happy at all. I just believe companies should have to keep their word as we should keep ours but it can't be a one way street. If you need any help or more info I am willing to help out. I have gone to court against two companies in the past, one a smaller local company and one was First USA bank, I won both cases on my own without a lawyer. Don't fear. You have truth on your side and that is what matters. The web has huge amounts of info on how to handle a small claims suit and it is only around $20-$25 in most states. All companies also have to disclose any legal info like presidents of companies and addresses to send legal work to etc. I was told today that Centennial's president is Phil Mayberry and there is much more info on this company you can get for whatever you need legally, just do the homework.

    I have a lot more that has gone on in the years but I tried to condense it for sake of reading time. If you have any witnesses that were with you when you asked questions or were lied to that is really helpful. I have two times where I had a person with me who isn't a family member, and they witnessed what was told to me and one was lied to too. Keep that in mind. There are lots of complaints about Centennial and how many more that people don't take time to voice like this?

    The unhappy X-customer,

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angela Aug 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I looked this info up to see if anyone else got hit with this "30 day notice" charge. I called to complain and was told the same as you. It's in the contract. It's not their fault I didn't read it. My husband and I even complained about the phones offered (this was our main problem) and said (about 2 mos. prior to switching companies) that if they couldn't offer us a phone more suitable to our need, that we would switch. Because we didn't officially say we were switching, it didn't count (even though each complaint was registered on the computer). I was 2 years out of a contract and had been with Centennial for many years. I still got charged the final 30 days. I did speak with retention and the rep did bring my service down to minimal service (no extras) which did take about 40-60 off the bill. I just really felt betrayed by a company that I had faithfully done service with for many years.

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Oct 02, 2008

    Apparently in the 2- year contract we signed it stated that we needed to give a 30-day notice to cancel. Well our contract was fulfilled and we ported our numbers 2 days after it expired.

    Well now Centennial sends us a bill for Sept - Oct for services we can not even use becuase our numbers were ported to our new provider. And they won't remove the monthly charges becuase of thier 30 day notice. I think it's BS that you pay these companies so much money every month and then they won't even credit you one, especially since we can not even use it! And what peeves me the most is that I had done thier online chat and went to thier local office before we switched to inquire about switching since this was our 1st cell phone account and i was not sure if we needed to do anything special and not once did any one find it necessary/helpful to 'remind' me of this 30 day policy that's stated in a contract that the terms were up on anyways.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric S. Doeden per; Diane Smith Sep 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This isn't really your fault as to what happened with my phone from Samsung but I would like you to send them an activity sheet about how often or how long that it has been since I used their phone. When I first received it, the phone worked well enough but after a while it would no longer charge and I couldn't use it anymore. However I have photographs on the phone that I want downloaded and I can't do that when the phone won't charge. TELL THEM THAT I WILL EXPECT THEM TO REMEDY THE PROBLEM SO I CAN DOWNLOAD MY PHOTOS.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric S. Doeden per; Diane Smith Sep 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is Eric S Doeden again because I told you the wrong phone number of the phone that won't charge. This other number is 260-466-4608 AND IS the Samsung that I told you wouldn't charge. Again I'm informing you of this per Diane Smith of Westminster, South Carolina.

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    ihateliers Nov 06, 2009

    We all need to just sue Centennial! Let me know if you are interested.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    geterdone Jan 28, 2010

    Centennial Wireless are the next worldcom

    http://www.justice.gov/atr/contact/newcase.htm

    http://www.fcc.gov/commissioners/genachowski/mail.html

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem