The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Camerabox UKWarning, avoid Camerabox.co.uk : Failed to refund

T

Ordered a camera from camerabox.co.uk which they charged my card for straight away but later emailed to say that it was not in stock. I asked for a refund of the money paid but after a month there was no refund. I sent several more requests for a refund but have still not been refunded. Camerabox have stolen my money from me and do not reply to emails. Avoid this company and buy a camera from amazon.co.uk or another reputable company. Search Google for camerabox reviews and you will see that a lot of people have complaints about camerabox.

Responses

  • Re
    Reg Heath Jun 18, 2011

    Maybe we should all make an approach to the Office of fair trading ????...or we could all turn up at their office.
    Rogue Traders ??.
    Isn't time wasting a PAIN.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reg Heath Jun 18, 2011

    NEVER USE THIS COMPANY !!!
    A LOAD OF CROOKS.
    I AM NOW IN A VISA DISPUTE
    WILL GET MY MONEY BACK...EVENTUALLY.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reg Heath Jun 18, 2011

    They have done the same to me, it is now a Visa Dispute, so hopefully our card provider will sort it out.
    NEVER use this company...they are a load of CROOKS.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Fairdinkum2u Jun 18, 2011

    Google camerabox fined - tells you all you need to know...
    A CARMARTHENSHIRE resident was supplied with a camera with an unsafe electrical adaptor, Ammanford magistrates have been told.
    Camerabox Ltd pleaded guilty this week to two offences under the Electrical Equipment Safety Regulations.
    Robert Edgecombe, prosecuting on behalf of Carmarthenshire County Council, said that in February 2010 an Ammanford man bought a digital camera from a website owned by Oxfordshire-based Camerabox.
    He was concerned when he opened the box and discovered that the battery recharger was supplied with a two-pin plug which was not compatible with UK sockets and a three-pin UK travel adaptor. The customer was unhappy with the company’s response and contacted Trading Standards. The camera was sent to an electrical consultant who made several observations on compatibility. He said it did not have the CE mark to show it complied with requirements and the adaptor was unsafe.
    Sarah Taylor, for Camerabox, said it was the first time that the company had been before a court for Trading Standards matters. It was a family-run firm and employed 32 people.
    She said the firm admitted its shortcomings over the matter and had improved its quality control procedures.
    Camerabox was fined £200 for each offence, and ordered to pay £1, 694.21 prosecution costs.
    The council’s executive board member for public protection Cllr Pam Palmer said: “It is vital that companies supply products that are safe to use and our Trading Standards Service will take action to ensure that this is the case.”

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cameraboxRrude Jun 09, 2011

    Spoke to a rude bloke called Patrick Cotter who claimed to be a supervisor. Said company had too many orders and were trying to catch up. What an attitude. Completely shocking. When I remarked upon his attitude he said "It's the end of the day" as if that was enough to justify his appalling lack of customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nibor118 May 30, 2011

    Nothing's changed! I ordered a lens which never arrived; after several days and many attempts to contact them I was told the courier had 'mis-laid' it and a new one would be dispatched immediately. Several more days passed with no lens, so I checked my account on their website only to find no replacement lens had been sent. I demanded my money back (no response), and eventually complained to my local trading standards office and opened a dispute through Paypal's own procedures. After sending them a barrage of e-mails over the next week I eventually got my money back, but it seems I'm one of the lucky ones!
    Don't touch this one with a sterilized barge pole!

    0 Votes
  • Ku
    kurtxxx Apr 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    camerabox didnt even consider refunding me! lol, just said ( eventually after I'd already done it) to claim through my credit card. I'll never have anything to do with them again, They're crooks and liars.

    0 Votes
  • In
    IndyCindy Apr 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too wish I had found the website earlier. I ordered a lens which arrived unpackaged and turned out to be faulty. Sent it back (thankfully by recorded delivery) and it was received by them on March 15. Since then all I can get out of them is that it was 'in dispatch'. I cannot get to speak to anyone and cannot leave a message and no one responds to emails at all. Do not use these people. I will now have to try and get my money back...and I have no lens for my trip...Cindy.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NannaLyn Mar 22, 2011

    I wish I'd found this website before. I ordered a pink Canon Ixus 210 camera from CameraBox on 8 March as it was on offer. Website said there were 5 in stock. Payment was taken the same day - delivery was said to be 2 - 4 days. On 11 March had email to say camera had been picked up by courier. On 16 March I telephoned Camerabox to say I hadn't received my order. I hung on for over 10 minutes "your call is important to us etc" until man answered. Held on again until he came back and said I should have received it and he would have to chase courier and would get back to me. I asked him to phone me - "No, can only email" No reply so emailed them at midnight. Had reply next day saying they have to get on to courier. (Thought they should have done this after I phoned.) Emailed again on 17th and 18th but still no reply. Left request for them to "call back in 30 mins" 3 hours ago. Nothing. I just want my camera! Perhaps I should email OxfordshireTrading Standards? (see above.)

    1 Votes
  • Ku
    kurtxxx Mar 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    had my worse shopping experience ever with camerabox. They are crooks!

    1 Votes
  • Re
    Ree31 Feb 03, 2011

    SAY AWAY FROM Camerabox. They are crooks! Ordered a camera, money taken from card. Then received an email asking to get in touch. HOW? You call and just get 'Your call is important to us and will be answered shortly'. Only it NEVER gets answered. I requested a call back - nothing! Emailed - nothing! Finally got through to someone after over a dozen attempts to a VERY RUDE customer service bloke, who has said I will be refunded. Think I'll be informing my bank in the mean time as I very much doubt this will happen with ease! DO NOTBE FOOLED BY THE FLASHY WEBSITE - THEY'RE A CON!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    PatrickDA Jan 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Damn I wish I had seen this!! I have been done in as well, they send me a dead camera and I returned it only to be fobbed off by "Thomas" who was rude and obnoxious and said you can call returns only email and then been told by Linda it will take 14-30 days even though they are in stock. STAY AWAY!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    niceday Aug 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a fault with my camera and sent it back 5 weeks ago. I have telephoned 5 times, emailed 7 times, written in once and they have not responded to one attempt to communicate. I am unable to contact and no word of update, camera gone AWOL!

    1 Votes
  • Po
    p/off Aug 19, 2010

    aman333.
    You are right in what you say as long as you get what you want but if you want a refund they try every trick in the book to hang on to your money as I have found out

    1 Votes
  • Ww
    www.jasontwinn.com Jul 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    update - after threatening police and writing to canon europe and harassing them by email I eventually got a refund - but no communication, no apology

    I would still not recommend them and certainly would never deal witht hem again

    1 Votes
  • Ww
    www.jasontwinn.com Jul 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had smiliar dealings - make sure you complain to trading standards and to canon/nikon as well - otherwise nothing will change

    If the major players such as canon withdraw support it might make them change their ways

    if you dont get a refund after 30 days contact trading standards and i intent to contact the police

    Other than publicising their terrible dealings - its difficult to know how to protect others - they seem to have got away with this sort of practice for such a long time

    Please Please Please harrass them, inform everyone you can think of (as above)

    Jason

    1 Votes
  • Bl
    blackrat Jul 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Anyone having problems with camerabox.co.uk email trading standards on [email protected] Also include Watchdog !!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul A Gerrard May 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Camera box are ok if everything goes to plan. But god help you if you have a change of plan. I ordered the wrong camera in error and asked if they would change. They said no problem so I returned the camera and after much delay received the correct one but I have had a terrible problem getting a credit and the order completed - they still owe a spare battery after 8 weeks. I have given up e mailing as they simply stopped replying.Lesson:- don't change your mind.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    saadmughal Apr 17, 2010

    This company operating three websites is wasting a lot of consumer time and money. Please join the facebook group bellow and post your experiences on it so we can submit it to the authorities and bring these fraudsters down.

    Please search facebook for:
    STOP THE FRAUD ON CAMERABOX.CO.UK, DIGITALFIRST.CO.UK & DIGITAL-CAMERAS.COM

    1 Votes
  • 27
    27stan Mar 25, 2010

    I wish I had seen these reviews before I bought a camera from them. They also charged me for a memory stick which I never received and a case which I returned to them with their authorisation. That was October 2009. I couldn't get them to refund me for the memory stick and case, despite many e-mails and letters (all of which they ignored). I then phoned on 14th January 2010 when I also got "this cockney geezer" who left me holding for nearly 10 minutes...then came back to tell me he had "traced the two items" and that a refund will go through in the "next couple of days". No apology for their disgraceful lack of service. That was expecting too much! Did I get the credit? Heck, NO. So I finally wrote on 17th February, threatening that I would be reporting the matter to the Office of Fair Trading if I didn't receive the refund within 7 days and that at last resulted in me receiving a cheque by post. Never ever will I buy anything from them again. BE WARNED! From October to February to receive a credit!!...I am amazed that the big names, Sony, Panasonic, Fuji, etc. do business with them.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daitheboot Mar 24, 2010

    I know by now, that, I have been sold an un-warrantied camera. The box had been 'raided' of CD ROM, Software Solution Guide, Warranty Card, Operating Manual. All quite contrary to the sellers specication. Oh Yes, the serial number on the box, didn't agree with that on the camera!

    You get a 'feeling' about web companies, by their emails! In this case, where the response to the reported deficiencies was, quote, "strange ALL our cameras are new". Instead of offering to send the replacement missing bits, I was directed the the 'Returns Department Team' who provided a crude form for my completion, and a request to post my carefully packaged camera - back to their PO BOX! I would point-out that my purchase was sent in a thin walled plastic bag - hardly capable of keeping a 'Radio Times' dry, let alone preventing knocks and shocks affecting the consignment.

    By now, it was apparent, that, any return would not yield a recipients signature, so, the decision was made, to see if the camera worked, and, attempt to download drivers and manual from Canon UK . As an amateur, the photographs appear useable.

    Canon UK had to be contacted by telephone - the most un-helpful 'Yank' I have ever encountered - probably an ex camerabox employee. Serial number trace? Quote ' Not possible - you must talk to retailer'. Incidentally, the Canon email facility, just does not work. There you have it. The mighty Canon, not able to tell you from a serial number, what it is you have purchased. Camerabox must rejoice at this news. I have that uneasy feeling about high value Canon Optical products. The potential for fraud is enormous, and, the Canon UK support, literally enables the fraudsters to function.

    Only the professional people out there, really know how to evaluate their purchases. The newly qualified graduates rushing to buy 'the best' optical gear, will have a hard time in establishing the quality of what they buy. Canon will be of no help, whatsoever. Have you considered Zeiss?

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edwa Mar 24, 2010

    Thanks to everyone for their comments.
    They also sell refurbished cameras, which makes me
    suspicious as to why they have to open a sealed box
    that comes directly from the manufacturer.
    Checking for missing items? I shall pay the extra
    and go with a local supplier.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DavidL Feb 17, 2010

    Hello everyone, I bought a camera from camerabox.co.uk a few months ago, but found them fine to deal with, the camera came on time, and it was fine in full working order, no fraudulent activity or anything. But I guess I was just lucky, I think I used paypal too. I am just so suprised as I remember google shopping giving it a 5 star rating. But just to warn you all, Camerabox also trades under the names "Digital First" and "Digital Camera Company", so beware. I cannot believe this website has not been shut down after all this fraud, its awful.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jayhdee Feb 17, 2010

    Oh Dear!! I have ordered a "bundle" for delivery today, before noon! Guess what? No goods, won't answer telephone and sent email, result nothing.
    Having just found this site I am expecting the worst.
    Is it not possible for the Trading Standards people in Oxfordshire to do the job we as taxpayers pay them to do. They are supposed to act to protect the consumer!!
    Wake up somebody and close them down, Please.

    Jaydee

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chuck67ds Feb 02, 2010

    I wrote a review some weeks ago a very bad one. Before Christmas. As with all these other people the goods arrived late and after i cancelled the order. You can not get hold of these people. Do not use them they are the worst company i have delt with bar none. Have only just got them to collect the camara which they now say they have so waiting for refund now. Who knows may get one. Wish i had read the reviews. I also think they operate under the name digitalfirst.co.uk so be aware. I would give less than 1 star if i could. The website is ok draws you in with there next day (not) delivery. DO NOT GO THERE!!! And onlinefaithful (see below) If you are that stupid to believe they sold 100000 cameras last year because they say it on there website the you obviously work for the company or are just dumb . I write reviews if company's perform badly or well like many others .

    1 Votes
  • St
    Stuartd Jan 27, 2010

    It would seem that that I am another sucker to add to the growing list of complaining Camerabox customers. They have my money but I do not have my camera. Why did I not read this forum before ordering from them? Are the suppliers to this company aware of their poor reputation. I will be contacting Fuji UK and with my credit card company in an attempt to get my money back. We live and learn or do I? Stuart

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    roaming_swede Dec 30, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi there!
    Do I need to say, the same thing has happened to me. Wish I had seen this forum before i placed the order. I must admit, they do have a very professional website.
    I ordered a camcorder, the credid card was instantly drawn, and a few days later they asked me to contact them since it was suddenly out of stock. 1 month later they cancelled my order. Luckily my credit card was refunded. I however lost over £30 on foreign exchange fees.

    Their customer services is non existing.
    I tried calling them at least 50 times as soon as they asked me to get in touch with them. Not once did I manage to get through.
    I have sent them at least 4 emails asking what they needed from me to proceed with the order. Not once did they get back to me.
    I am going to ask my credit card company to charge them for the excess fees. Also since I have MasterCard SecureCode activated on my card, it should have appeared when I placed the order, but didn't.

    1 Votes
  • Jd
    jdt Dec 29, 2009

    Hi. I am kicking myself that I didn't read this before purchasing my underwater housing. They took my money and I waited for a month. Nothing happened. When I rang up to enquire about when my product would arrive, they said that it was unlikely for them to get it back in stock. I wasnt offered a refund. So I went to check my bank statement which confirmed the money had been taken. So I rang back the next day, insisted on a refund which they promised they would process on the same day. Nearly 4 weeks later- still no money refunded.
    They are crooks! stay way from these cowboys!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Bangkok Brian Dec 14, 2009

    I too, bought a camera from Camera Box, was at a good price, and their web site promised a 2 year warranty, other pages on their site, tell you 'honesty is the best poilcy!' after scanning the site and comapring prices, I decided to buy from them. My camera did arrive next working day, but, it looked like a 'B' grade box, it had certainly been opened (several times?) it just didn't feel brand new, however, the camera appreared good. After a few tests, I discovered dead pixels in the actual sensor, I was cross, I emailed and sure enough got a returns number. I sent it back special delivery, I was promised a replacement for weekend, a Saturday delivery, it didn't arrive, but the address label had Saturday on, but, also a 'before 12' refering to 'standard' delivery. It might be a mix up, I don't know, surly with all the supposed 100's of camera a day sent out, a mistake like this? I don't know. Anyway, the replacement arrived on Monday after, another series of tests revealed several more dead pixels in different parts of the sensor this time, again in the sensor not on the LCD screen, yet again, the box looked 'B' grade and had certainly been opened a few times! Then, after this, I seached the web and found a whole series of complaints about Camera Box, and many people not getting their money back, so, I contacted Canon HQ and sent the camera there for repair. A brand new camera should not need repair, but, I wasn't going risk loosing camera, and/or money, hence my desicion to send to Canon. I'm still wating for the camera, it's over 2 weeks since I orderd and paid for it. Not a good experience this time. Probably next time, I'll pay more and use Amazon, they have been excelllent with me (so far)

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marmar Dec 09, 2009

    I`ve just come through the same mess up with this company and I have complained to AMAZON because their link was on the AMAZON website. I have asked AMAZON to remove their link because of the hundreds of complaints but AMAZON haven`t even bothered to reply. I have now reported both camerabox and AMAZON to the trading standards office and to WHICH.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Douglasthegreat Oct 26, 2009

    I have had a bad time in dealing with camera box.
    I bought a lens, lens cover and a case. The lens came wutin a week, but no lens cover or case!!
    I can never get hold of them when I phone up just answer machine, and emails don't seem much better either.
    This has been going on fir about four months but am determined to get what u gave paid for.
    I just wish I read this site first and paid that little extra at amazon.
    Please, please people don't buy from this company.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lady J Oct 21, 2009

    I'm feeling pretty gutted now that i have read all these complaints. I am going through the same thing, only they were really rude to me as well. I had a bad feeling from the start when i tride to msn them and they took half an hour to reply to my live message! I spoke to them over the phone because they said there was a problem with my order.
    When i phoned them, this cockney geezer is telling me that my address is wrong because i said that the county i live in is south east but i live in north london? haha! Not much you can say to that is there. We are dealing with uneducated rude tossers who bassically don't give a toss.
    Still don't have my camera, but after reading most of your post i am asking for a refund today.

    There is one women there who is always polite and very professional, i have spoken to her twice now and am very happy with her, lets just hope the money is on my card in a few days time like she said it would be. Further more to the guy who said that they are better than Amazon, are you delusional?
    I have never had a problem with Amazon in the 5 years that i have been using them, they are brilliant! I use camerbox for the first time and have problems from the very start. You cannot compare camerabox to Amazon they are in a league of their own.

    1 Votes
  • Nb
    NB Aug 19, 2009

    I suppose its likely that someone may be hacking their site but its also possible that they may have a rogue employee - i'll look forward to any news from thre credit card company...

    0 Votes
  • Nb
    NB Aug 19, 2009

    I recently ordered a camera from these people - It actually arrived the next day and everything seemed ok - until I got a call from my credit card company saying that someone has been using my details for o2 mobile phone top ups. I hardly ever use the credit card so its pretty easy to figure out who has stolen my details - the only new company to have them! A quick internet search revealed that a few other people had the same problem but the forum thread on moneysavingexpert.co.uk has now been taken off.

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

    2 Votes
  • Jr
    J Roberts Aug 07, 2009

    I have had and continue to have problems with Camerabox. I amended my order, followed by several emails and phone calls to confirm amendment. Although I was assured my amended order would be sent this was not the case. I returned goods not ordered and still awaiting payment. When I phoned re this matter the response was dismissive and agressive and told me that I was not listening to them!!!
    I also ordered a Panasonic battery to go with my camera and was sent an inferior battery but charged for the Panasonic.
    I am so disappointed and upsetwith the service and dont know what to do next.
    Can anyone help me sort out this mess of their making?? PLEASE
    J Roberts London

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andre Quintino Aug 04, 2009

    Made a purchase on the 27.07.2009, they promptly charged my credit card, then... there's a problem with my order.
    They ask me to call the sales reprentative (this is a first for a company that sells online!), but number is always unavailable!
    I emailed them over and over again saying I cannot reach that number... and they tell to call them!

    COMPLETE SCAM THIS COMPANY they have my money and I have no camera!
    Andre, Portugal

    0 Votes
  • Am
    aman333 Jul 27, 2009

    This is not unique to CameraBox. I placed an order with a company called Lilimay earlier this year, total con. They advertise stock at best available price, but it is invariably out of stock. So they have to refund your credit card but, as if by magic they forget to do so. Nice way to pocket their customers money. Theiving gypsy bas**ds!!

    0 Votes
  • On
    Onlinefaithful Jun 26, 2009

    I've bought from this company before and never had a problem. It seems only the unsatisfied ever write anything about companies. If as their website says, they sold 100, 000 cameras last year, even if you could find 100 people online who have had problems that's only 0.1% of their total sales that have not been successful. Image twice that actually had problems (but only half reported or wrote about it) and you're still only at 0.2%. I'd imagine well known retailers such as Amazon would struggle to match that sort of performance. If watchdog or trading standards haven't done anything about the problem, doesn't it suggest that there isn't a problem relative to other retailers around.

    -2 Votes
  • No
    Not again Jun 16, 2009

    Well I got my camera but a delay gave me cause to google them and if I could do it all again I would go elsewhere. Have you checked out their returns policy ? You have to jump through hoops. If it all works out for you then fine but for a few pounds more you can usually find a company that offers a no quibble guarantee. Think you will find their extended warranties are not worth the paper they are (not) written on.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuck Turner Mar 24, 2009

    Sounds like they are a scam:
    http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?t=116123

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.