Having problems with Brake Team?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

2326 NE Broadway
Portland, Oregon
United States - 97232

Complaints & Reviews

Completely Inept

My Hyundai Elantra has been at your Brake Team - Tigard location off and on for 2 weeks now. To date, I have spent almost $650 and had my car "fixed" for the same issue four times (all at your Tigard store).

2/27: My car was towed to your shop ($62)
2/28: I picked up my car and paid for a new alternator belt & battery ($180.99)
3/07: My car was towed back to the shop with the same issue.
3/08: I picked up my car and paid for a new solenoid & starter ($447.98)
3/09: the Brake Team employees picked up my car (still with the same issues)
3/11: the Brake Team employees dropped off my car - having replaced the alternator
3/12: got stranded at work (same issue as before) & had the car towed to Brake Team

Meanwhile, my coworkers have had to rearrange their schedules every day to get me to and from work. Needless to say, they (and my Manager) are getting fed up with being asked to do this time and time again.

What I am asking is what I believe to be the most reasonable thing: I would like to get a loaner until they are certain they have my car fixed (once and for all). I asked about it and was told that they didn't have any loaners. But I swear they have signs up in the store saying that they do have loaners. Anyway, I believe that I shouldn't even have to ask for a loaner after 2 weeks. It's just ridiculous!
And now they are telling me that I have to pay for the tow to get it back to the shop - UNBELIEVABLE!

Ruined brakes

I entered Brake Team 2 pm September 7th 2010. I asked for a simple replacement of my brake pads. I was given...

worse service ever

Brake Brother / Brake team all the same! New management what a laugh!!! Nothing has changed! still scamming customers! 89.99 for brake is just a scam to get your business!!! Your total ends up 300.00 or more and after you pay that your are worse than when you went in ! Take by advice and stay away from all brake bros and brake team! Take your car to les Schwab! They only employee legal employees with ss and not illegal aliens who dont know what they are doing! They may cost a little more but you get what you pay for! Also there warranty is gauranteed! Unlike others! Dont get fooled like I did my "New Management"! The staff is rude and walks around smoking cigaretts in front of the customers! This was the worse service I ever got!

  • Ke
    Ken E. Mar 22, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Brake Team was ordered to pay a $65, 000 fine in Nevada after the Attorney generals office (and a few undercover news investigators) found Brake Team employees pulling a similar scam. Brake Team has been closed down for several months.

    My experience with them is the same as many others. After they told me that I needed new drums and rotors (because they claim they were able to measure the drums down to a thousandth of an inch) they installed new rotors, brake pads... etc.

    When I got the car back, one of the rear brakes made a heavy slapping/thumping noise. One of the two rear drums that they installed was the TOTALLY WRONG PART!!! I find it AMAZING that they claim my brakes were bad because the precise readings of their instruments determined they were bad... but couldn't see that an obvious noise and wrong part was installed.

    When I returned to the Brake Team location, they refused to repair it. I went to a second Brake Team location that also 'put me on hold' (repairing cars for paying customers that came in after me). I finally took it to a third Brake Team location that repaired the problem. The mechanic working at that location indicated to me that he was leaving the company because of their reputation for doing similar things.

    1 Votes

Worse Brake Service Ever

I went into Brake Team at 4pm to get new brakes on front and rear. Ofcourse they told me I needed more than just the standard brake service. I went in with a coupon and they increased the price even more to make up for the coupon. After spending over $300, I left with my brakes being worse then when I went in there. I thought I was going to get in an accident on my way home because I had to shove the pedal to the floor board. It took them less than an hour. When I went in, they said they close at 5pm rather than 6pm if they don't have any customers. Hmm, that might be why they got me out of there before 5pm. I would definately not recommend this place. I am going back in tomorrow to see what they can do for me...it better be nothing less than a full refund. I will see and post an update. I have requested to get my old parts tomorrow and will be taking them to a real mechanic to see if I needed everything they say that I did. I recommend spending the time and money at Les Schwab or somewhere else that knows what they are doing...these guys don't seem to know. I foresee lots of lawsuits in the future if all the cars that get driven away are done this bad.

  • St
    stephon0913 Sep 15, 2009

    i had almost the same expierience with brake team i went in for the 88 dollar special they had going and of course after the inspection they quoted me $550 for new rotors calipers and pads i then took a minute to call les schwab and see what they would charge they quoted me $360 for the same service without brake team knowing i called les schwab i told them i would be in later they pushed the price all the way down to $385 i still decided to go with les schwab so they put everything back together and told me to give them a call tomorrow no more than a half mile away from brake team i was stopping and the brake pad fell off of the car and i had no braking power luckily enough to stop the car eventually and not hit anyone else or anything else i called brake team back to see if they could do anything and they said i need to find a way to get the car back in even though it had no brakes now so they could "correct the problem" i told them they have worked on my car far too much already. i was able to get the car to les schwab that was a block away and have them do the job right. BRAKE TEAM SUCKS!!!

    1 Votes
  • Gw
    G-white Mar 17, 2010

    Man, I had almost the EXACT SAME EXPERIENCE. Brake Team quoted me $519 when I came into their store off the $88 special. I said I wanted to go somewhere else and they put my car "back together." Immediately, my breaks were acting funny. I drove directly to Les Schwab where they said that the pads were incorrectly put on. I called Brake Team to complain and they said they would lower their quote by $100. First of all, why would I trust them after that? Secondly, Les Schwab quoted me $320 for the same service. Don't go to Brake Team... save your money and your brakes!

    0 Votes
  • Xb
    x braketeam Jan 12, 2011

    I had the unfortune of working for these people. I came to work for them as a manger and walked in to run my store for the first day and had to deal with four warranties from a single shop in one day. the mechanics i had in my shop had literally never been a mechanic before they started at this cfompany only a couple months before. I was shocked and needed the job so i got them to get me atleasty one differant mechanic. i had ran several shops in my life and i would see more warranties at there shops in a week then I would see at a reputible company i had worked for in the past in six months. It was embarrassing to be apart of that company. They hire elegal immagrints for a fraction of what a normal shop would pay. a majority of the mechanics in all there shop i would not rate as a level c mechanic and only three a ase cetified in 11 stores. I go out of my way to warn people brakes save lives and they are the most umperfessional company I have ever seen. They just give alot of stuff away to shut up customers cuase there company goal is to get car count for buisness resale look at what the owners now have done before. my experciences as a employee were almost comical. I had mangers cover my store on my day of that they hired that had never worked on a car or ever been in the automotive field before but hes a full service shop manger? if you got a pulse and a screw driver you can work at brake team. It will be only a matter of time before this new brake team burns like the last.

    0 Votes
  • Xb
    x braketeam Jan 12, 2011

    Sorry for the poor grammer and misspells.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    YouWishYouKneww Nov 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also was an employee for Brake Team. This company was run by a bunch of used car sales men. The owners knew nothing about fixing cars. The regional store manager and lead mechanic is from Mexico, is not ASE certified and has no management training. He also does all the hiring, so that’s why all his friends and friends work there. Sometimes I would be the only person at a store that could speak English. If a car is taking too long to fix and the store is busy the managers would pull the so-called mechanic off the job and put them on other cars. This is why some people’s cars would be there for days if not weeks. I have a whole lot more deep dark info I could share but I’ll leave it at this. Even though I had bills to pay and not much money saved I was too embarrassed to keep working there and had to walk. I feel sorry for anyone who walks into that place as a customer or employee.

    0 Votes
  • Is
    ISeek Mar 17, 2014

    I left my car with Brake team for changing front brakes. They said that they will call me after they assess. I didn't receive any for the nexst 4 hours. I called their multiple time and no one was picking up. I called their main office and they said that he will have the manager call you. No call for another hour. And when I finally recieved the call, the manager was so rude as if he doesn't care and rather than aplogizing for the situation, said if I don't want it then he will put the old pads back.

    This is not the kind of service one expects. If the manager of the store is insane, I don't know what the employees do there.

    0 Votes

Fraud and cheating

June 2, 2008, I went to a Brake Team business at 1134 82nd Ave., Portland, OR 97216 to get their $99.00 brake special. Within an hour they told me my rotor's were shot and who ever did the last brake job didn't know what they were doing. So, I forked out $412.24 for Brakes, Rotors, Caliper Hardware(Front), Grease Seals and Labor.

Right out of the gate my brakes were squeaking. I was told they would squeak a bit to adjust. The squeaking did end a short time later. It was about October when we started to get the rain here in Portland. I was quite angry and didn't know what to do. My thoughts were how could someone I thought I could trust giving me a crappy brake job. One day as I applied the brakes, the brakes grabbed and locked up.

I had boughten tires from a local company down the street from my home. So, when I went to pay on my new tires I told the company I got the tires from I was having issues with my brakes. They took the pickup for test drive, then when they got it back to the shop they told me they would take the wheels off, but not take the brakes off since it was still under warranty. I was told that the new ASB Toner Rings were not put on when the old Rotor was replaced. Since the two parts are not compatible, the computer isn't allowing the anti-lock brakes to work properly. They told me to go back to Brake Team and have them fix it or replace it for free since I had a 36, 000 mile warranty. If they refused, then if I found a new ASB Toner Ring they would replace the ring.

I finely was able to get over to the Brake Team Business on 1134 S.E. 82nd Ave., only to find out that that business location has been closed.

January 5, 2009, I drove to Gresham Brake Team business. I showed the Manager my warranty and explained what was done and what was wrong. He told me, 'We could do a free brake inspection but can't replace any part for free since your warranty is voided under the new management.

How on earth can a business be allowed to buy another business with out honoring existing customer warranties. I am very angry.

I have since quit driving my pickup, only under emergency situations. I do not have another $412.00 to spend on Brakes.

  • Da
    Dawn Feb 17, 2009

    Kim, you don't say what type of truck you have-whether it is, for example, front or four wheel drive, but it sounds as if you were charged for front and rear brakes. I read a book by a mechanic a couple years ago and got some good pointers from it, as well as some help learning about maintaining my car from friends with experience. Anyone that has an "offer" that goes way up after they inspect your vehicle-that is the signal to GET OUT of there, in most cases. When they badmouth the previous work the way they did, it sounds another alarm. Could be true, but scare tactics are common and it's a way of building a "friendly" relationship with the "customer". To make a long story short, I change my own brakes these days. Good pads run about $40 a pair. You might need to take the rotors off and take them to a shop to have them turned, but if maintenance is done reasonably, they should be ok. I've never had to change my rear brakes; I have front wheel drive and the majority of braking is done by the front brakes (if I let them go, the rears would have to pick up slack, and they do some of the work, they just don't wear as fast). Add some money for brake fluid, lubricants and minor incidentals and really, you shouldn't pay more than say, $300 AT THE MAXIMUM for a professional to do fronts and rears, with new rotors. You could do the job yourself for around $50 - 150, depending on parts or work you need done. I've been through what you have-but I now have a Haynes manual for my car, and you can check labor time at the library. I learned to do my oil and fluids, tires, brakes, belts and a few other things. It's a bit hard sometimes, but very well worth it. Find a mechanic you TRUST and stick with them. Also, most reputable shops or mechanics won't charge (or much) for looking the vehichle over to get an idea of what needs to be done. If you get a high estimate and your car is drivable, get out and check it elsewhere. Tell them you have to wait 'til you get paid, if you're a pushover. Don't let anyone talk you into signing up for in-house credit or leaving the vehicle (believe me!!). Hope this helps for the future.

    0 Votes
  • To
    tom Feb 19, 2009

    I paid about $11 for some very good quality brake pads for a Dodge Dakota pickup. You got ripped off big time. Their cost was very low. They sound just like the Brake Chek chain in Houston. Before you know it, you've spent hundreds of dollars and you're still driving a dangerous vehicle. You can hardly trust anyone anymore.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JoohnAllen Feb 09, 2010

    Same thing happen to me! DO NO GO TO BRAKE TEAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cam Forrester Mar 25, 2010

    They are lying to you. This company did not change ownership. The "owners" have been shut down by the Attorney General in both California and Nevada. Contact the Attorney General and ask them to shut Brake Team DOWN!!!

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem