The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Big Break Oakley ,CACity Of Oakley Big Break

Looks Like the City of Oakley and Contra Costa County has a problem in the Big Break Marina Area

Looks like several boaters have sunk their boats in the area of Big Break, Just north east of the

entrance to the Big break marina it self . After repeated letters and complaints to goverment officials

such as the Mayor Of Oakey Mrs. Carol Rios was notified about the submerged pilings and other

underwater hazards and did nothing to prevent further injuries on Aug 7th 2008 two boaters hit

these hazards and were almost killed going threw the winshield of their boat and nearly escaped

death, on Aug 10th 2009 another family from out of town also hit the same object and was saved by

the Us Coast Guard, then just after the letter sent to the City of Oakley another boater hit the same

objects and lost his boat pulled to saftey by a passing boater on Labor Day weekend 2009 .


Just how many victims are their that hit the same underwater hazards at Big Break, ? My investgation

has uncovered (7 ) and the numbers are on the rise why will no won address this problem according to

The Us Coast Guard Legal Department the water ways with the hazards do belong to the City Of Oakley

and Contra Costa County So what are they waiting for maybe another injury or death .


I think the city of Oakley And the Contra Costa county both goverment agencies should be charged

criminaly for turning thier back on a known Hazard s, I see here that a group of people are taking

legal steps and seeking compensation for their loss against the City Of Oakley .


Sad to Say our City Officials have once again let us down .


I found this floating around on the net :


City Attorney Office CLAIM NOTICE
3231 Main Street DEMAND FOR PAYMENT
Oakley, Ca 94561
Sept, 20th 2009
SENT VIA TEL FAX
[protected]

Date of Loss : Aug 10 th 2009 Boat Accident Big Break Marina Area

While Boating in Oakley Ca on Aug 10th 2009 My boat struck under water pilings putting
three holes in the boat and was rescued by Us Coast Guard along with Contra Costa Sheriffs
Marine Unit Incident # ###### . My family and I almost were killed .

The city of Oakley had knowledge of this hazard and took no steps to prevent the loss of life
and property back on Aug 7th 2008 another boater also hit the same object destroying his boat as well making headline news, on labor day week end 2009 another boater also destroyed his boat at the same location .


The claim is as follows 1, 200 for out of pocket expense to have the boat towed off the piling
The Repair of 800.00 to fix the damaged caused by the piling in your water ways according to
public records you are the owners of the water in question and the Us Coast Guard verified that you are the owners of the under water hazards .


Total amount of claim 2, 000 Two Thousand Dollars

I will give your office 30 days from today to submit payment in full prior to taking further legal
steps at that point this offer will be void The city of Oakley will pay all court costs along with any legal fees along with pain and suffering to collect the amount owed .

I look forward to you anticipated cooperation in this matter . Please mail payment to the address
bellow .

Sincerely,

########## ############

######################### ####################


##################### #######################

Responses

  • taxman Sep 21, 2009

    Hey Good Work on uncovering this I was won of the victims and my boats trashed, can you give me a list of all the people you have found, are you a private investigator.? I also wrote a letter to the city and did not hear back yet . I hired a attorney this is not right, like you said what are they waiting for .? Hard to think that
    a number of people hit these underwater hazards, I am also looking in to maybe the owner of the marina may
    have some liability on this matter David Biron Corporation, Not sure yet don't want to start pointing fingers .

    Shoot me a email I would like to meet up with you and sit down to see what facts you have to offer in this case
    I just paid my attorney a 3, 500 retainer to move forward in the complaint that will be filed in court he said
    several does will also be named, on the compliant that way we can add others named in our actions .


    Thanks Again Good Work

    Tax Man

    0 Votes
  • taxman Oct 08, 2009

    Hey Boat Man Contra Costa County Times will be doing a story on this Sunday I also got a letter from a
    Victim Sent to Senator Feed Up with still nothing Done about Big Break Water Hazards .


    U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein
    San Francisco Office
    One Post Street, Suite 2450 SENT VIA TEL FAX
    San Francisco CA 94101


    Oct, 7th 2009


    Re : Boat Hazards Big Break Oakley, Ca

    Dear Senator : I hate to bother you however need help getting something done about hazards
    in the water On Aug 10th 2009 my family and I were out on the Delta Bay “ Big Break located
    In the City of Oakley, Ca . We hit a underwater object that sank our boat we almost died on
    that day I started investigating and found they are pilings left behind from a old barge that sank
    years ago .

    I also found five others that also lost their boat several others were taken to the hospital for their
    injuries . I contacted the Mayors Office by way of a letter along with the city manager and also
    typed a letter to Us Coast Guard . Just after my letter was sent another boater sank his boat on
    Labor day weekend 2009 . The Mayors office never responded back what so ever .

    The Us Coast Guard did and sated the hazards are not in the federal water channel and they can
    not mark the under water hazards however they notified Contra Costa County about the hazards
    I have traced the under water hazards back to East Bay Regional Parks And The County of
    Contra Costa I have contacted their legal department Still nothing done .

    If we don’t get these under water hazards marked some one is going to die out their in the waters
    at Big Break Can you please see why nobody wants to take action on this long over due hazard
    I was born and raised in Bay Area and have been a long time supporter of you and what stand
    for in Government Office . Please Find letter sent to the mayor and city attorney

    I look forward to your anticipated help in this matter .


    Sincerely,

    XXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXXX

    XXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXX

    XXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    XXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXX

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jimmy j jones Oct 14, 2010

    These Boaters should not have been Boating without the proper Nautical Charts. All of the Delta and Bay have areas that should be transited with caution. An experienced Boater would have checked the Charts and found out the proper course for navigation. These Boaters should repay Coast Guard, Sheriff, and all other costs for their dumb acts. It is easy to blame others for their mistakes. Why not just take a free Boating Safety Class and learn to enjoy the sport. He put his family at risk for his actions. He is to blame, not anything else! He did not have any safety equipment, Charts, Maps, Marine Radio, Knowledge, nothing. He put his family in Danger, not the Coast Guard, not The Mayor, not The City Manager, not Marinas, and not Boating and Waterways. He said "we almost died that day", well, that's what happens when you don't know what you are doing. I guess if he fell off a ladder, he would sue Home Depot? Give all of us Boaters a Break. Stay off the water! We are tired of your wimpy little complaining. Be a Man and stand up for your actions. Take responsibility for yourself! Just remember, SAFE BOATING IS NO ACCIDENT!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.