Having problems with Auto Repair?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

Apperson Dr & Electric Rd
Salem, Virginia
United States - 24153

Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Auto Repairscam

I saw their commercial, called their number, and received a call-back from a jerk. I was told that it would cost almost $3000 and that in CA they could only cover "internal engine parts"...nothing else. When I said that was a rip-off, I was told that they could list me at a friend or family member's address in another state and I could get better coverage...FRAUD they wanted me to commit. I called back and talked to a "supervisor" who told me that none of his people would tell me that...I said "he did" and that it was fraud he was recommending, and the "supervisor" said that he would talk to the jerk who told me that. I was actually advised to commit a felony to get a better deal. Don't deal with this criminal bunch. If they told me this and I rejected their high-pressure pitch, how many people have actually done what they offer? Not worth it.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Auto RepairOVER CHARGING AFTER AGREEMENT HAS BEING MADE

    I FOUND THE ADVERT OF THE WORK IN THE GREEN SHEET WITH SEVERAL OTHER AUTO REPAIR WORKSHOP.
    CALLED AND WAS TOLD TO BRING IT IN FOR ASSESSMENT WHICH I DID ON THE DECEMBER 10, 2009.

    HE GOT INTO THE CAR AND DROVE IT AROUND FOR A WHILE AND TOLD ME THE TRANSMISSION IS FAULTY BUT IT IS NOT SO BAD AND THAT I WOULD NOT NEED TO CHANGE THE WHOLE TRANSMISSION JUST THAT I WOULD CHANGE THE BAD PARTS AND IT WOULD COST ME $350 TO FIX IT.

    AFTER CONSULTING WITH SEVERAL OTHER WORKSHOP I AGREED HIS ESTIMATE WAS THE CHEAPEST AND TOOK IT BACK THERE ON THE DECEMBER 13, 2009 TO HAVE IT FIX.

    I GOT TO THE AUTO REPAIR WORKSHOP AT ABOUT 9.15PM, HE SAID IT WAS GOING TO TAKE HIM A DAY TO GET THE CAR FIXED AND I REQUESTED THAT HE DROVE ME HOME WITH MY CAR SO THAT HE WILL BE ABLE TO UNDERSTAND BETTER WHAT WAS WRONG WITH THE CAR, HE SAID NO THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO DROP ME OFF AT MY HOME WITH HIS TRUCK.

    WHEN I GOT HOME I NOTICED HE HAD WRITTEN “TOW $ TEARDOW CHARGE $450 IFJOB IS NOT DONE AT A & B
    DISASSEMBLE ONLY” SOMETHING ON THE RECEIPT AND I IMMEDIATELY CALLED HIM. HE TOLD ME THAT DID NOT APPLY TO ME SINCE HE WAS GOING TO FIX MY CAR.

    CALLED HIM ON WEDNESDAY DECEMBER 16, 2009 AND HE TOLD ME HE WAS TEST DRIVING THE CAR AND WOULD LET ME KNOW WHEN TO PICK IT UP.
    CALLED HIM ON THURSDAY DECEMBER 17, 2009 AND HE TOLD ME MY TRANSMISSION IS OUT AND HE WOULD HAVE TO CHANGE IT.
    CALLED HIM ON FRIDAY DECEMBER 18, 2009 AND HE TOLD ME IT IS GOING TO COST ME $1300 TO GET ME CAR OUT OF HIS WORKSHOP. OR PAY HIM $450 FOR THE TEAR DOWN AND MY TRANSMISSION IS IN MY TRUNK I HAVE TO TOW IT OUT OF HIS WORKSHOP.


    [censored]BILE, OMOWUNMI

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      • Kd
        [email protected] Feb 19, 2009

        The guy that done the work on my car named Chris Tucker told me he was going to charge me 475.00 labor to work on my car.Then he called me when it was done and said it was going to be a extra 250.00 because he had to drive my car 20 miles to clear codes.And he never told me that before.I am a single mom and that cut into my grocery money for my children.If he had told me this at first I would have taken my car elsewhere.

        0 Votes
      • Op
        Opinionated1 Mar 08, 2009

        That isn't okay. You should always be informed if your repairs are going to run higher than your estimate. And what in the world is the hourly rate if an extra 20 min runs $250?! That doesn't sound like it makes any sense. I would file a complaint with your Better Business Bureau if they don't have a better explanation than that.

        0 Votes
      • Dr
        DRJB Jun 27, 2009

        I was not told that an estimate would cost anything, after walking around the car and shining under the hood while trying to locate a fuel leak the owner decided that there was no leak, but I was still to be charged 35 dollars. Never NEVER was I told about this charge, in fact the guy whom I gave my key to even said I didn't know it was going to cost him anything.

        0 Votes

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      Auto RepairHead gasket replacement

      I have an old sportscar. It is German. It had a blown head gasket, clouds of white smoke out the tailpipe. The son said no problem. $700. I have all parts already.
      Then when I talked to the owner, the dad: he told me he can't do it for $700 and quoted $1000.00.
      I had the head gasket replaced, water pump, timing belt and tentioner and the starter all replaced with new product.
      The bill was $1030.00.
      I went to pick up my car and they told me I need new plugs, as the engine was running on 5 out of 6 cylinders!
      The washer pump did not work now (I had to re solder the wires they tore out)They did not understand why I had wires running into my hood...(heated washer jets)and they lost the retaining nut for my washer tank and -get this... they crammed foam into the engine bay.
      Coolant was pouring out of one hose clamp...but I was told it was not leaking as they tested it.
      I picked up new plugs and had them install... no change. Then they claimed after "testing" that there was only 60 psi on cylinder #4 and that it was dead.
      Nothing they could do. I was told to buy an additive to free "stuck" rings.
      I took my car to another garage and they found the compression to be 165 psi across all 6 cylinders, and that the injector was plugged.I replaced it and all was good for about 3 days...
      The same thing happened.
      Replaced the injector again and 4 days later... back to square one.
      I inquired at many shops why my engine was doing this, and a main tech from my dealership told me there is only two likely reasons, first the head could be warped or cracked... or the gasket was improperly replaced. I am getting the engine inspected to find out the cause.
      Jim's Auto aslo did not bother to plane down the heads... Jim claimed he tested with a straight edge and it was only out .004" well within spec. So he decided not to send it out to be re surfaced.
      The mounting for the brand new water pump was also stripped and had to be re tapped at my expence.
      All in all I spent about $2000 in labour and parts to have the head gasket blow again only 3 months later!
      Jim said it is not his problem.
      He feels that he did his job right.

      Don't ever take anything to Jim's Auto.
      Not only could they not even diagnose a simple injector fouling but their workmanship is very poor!
      I heard from a neibour that they also scammed them.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Up
          Uptown Kid Nov 20, 2008
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          Had my SUV in for repair and paid over $2100 for repairs and in less then (1) month the vehicle overheated and the engine block was cracked. Took the vehicle back in for warranty repair and/or a refund and was told to leave the shop. Turns out the shop owner (m.p.) forgot to replace the thermostat (the brain of the cooling system). Uptown Auto Care will give you a warranty, but it is useless as a phony $3 bill.

          http://minneapolisuptown.blogspot.com/

          0 Votes
        • Di
          disturbed x emplyee Jun 16, 2009

          IVE WORKED FOR MIDAS FOR ALMOST TWO YEARS.I WAS THE ONLY CERTIFIED TECH THEY HAD.I GOT FIRED BECAUSE MY TRUCK BROKE DOWN HAD TO PUSH OF ROAD PULLED MY BACK HAD DOCTERS NOTE WELL ANYWAYS THEY HIRE MECHANICS THAT DONT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT CARS I THOUGHT U WERE ASE CERTIFIED TECHS APPEARS NOT.ITS PRETTY SAD U SAY ALL YOUR MECHANICS ARE THE BEST BUT IVE BEEN THERE FOR TWO YEARS AND NEVER HIRE EXPIERENCED EMPLYEES I HAVE SEEN IT FOR A WHILE NOW AND I WILL MAKE SURE I TELL ANYONE THAT ASKS ME.WILL HAVE MY OWN BLOGGS DISTURBED X EMPLYEE

          0 Votes
        • Em
          Em Eyevazi Oct 16, 2010

          My dad took his car to this shop with a minor ignition switch problem. The technician told my dad to purchase a new starter when my dad asked to replace it with a used one the technician told him its against company policy which is BS because you as an owner of anything are in charge of what kind of parts u put in your own car. with that said i would also like to say that my dad is not an american and does not speak english fluently and what waa going through that technicians head was probably hey ill charge him labor on a new starter and fix his ignition switch which would probably take 30 mins to do so and charge him 350 dollars for something that does not need to be replaced. basically he doesnt speak english lets tell him this and that so he can spend money for nothing. IF ANYONE KNOW OF THIS PLACE PLEASE DO NOT GO THERE FOR YOUR AUTO REPAIR NEEDS BECAUSE I DONT BELIEVE IN SUPPORTING A BUSINESS THAT SCAMS THOSE WHO DO NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT CARS .

          0 Votes
        • Ei
          Eileen Dec 16, 2014
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          Sunday, 12/14/14, my car lost power and had to be towed, 1st to Tire Kingdom, then the next day to Ferman Mazda of Countyside, due to computer issues. The 1st Tech asked me to put up my power windows and give him the mileage. The dashboard with hazard switch was intact! The 2nd Tech gave me a repair estimate, for computer sensor, radiator, and thermostat, not mentioning a hazard switch, totaling $588.55. Today, Tuesday, when I went to pick up my car, I found a hold in my dashboard, so asked the Tech. He said the hazard switch fell inside the dashboard, and wanted to charge me to fix it! He claims Mazda was not at fault, yet the hazard switch was not mentioned until I got the final bill, which reads, hazard switch broken in dash. All my AC vents next to the hazard switch were moved! The bottom line is that Mazda damaged my car, so need to fix it at no charge, or I will take legal action, as they are only good at making excuses! They need to be held responsible for all the damage they did to my car, as I need a hazard switch for emergencies!

          0 Votes
        • Ei
          Eileen Dec 16, 2014
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          Complaint should say hole in my dashboard, as it was misspelled.

          0 Votes