The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
ATX Roofing & General ContractingPoor Workmanship/Professionalism

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

ATX Roofing did not show up on time, did not cover the landscaping, A/C units and the supervisor never showed up on the job. Job lasted two days. A day or two after the roof was replaced we had a huge roof leak that allowed water to pour in which damaged the ceiling in our sunroom.

When we called the supervisor on Saturday and let him know about the damage he said they would be there after the rain stopped and the roof dried up so they could survey the damage.

My wife and I mopped up the bulk of the water and put down buckets and applied fans to the area to minimize the damage. ATX Roofing tried to fix the damage but it was clear after four attempts which took several months of repeated no shows and no calls it was clear they did not have the experience needed to fix the damage they caused. They finally" repaired" the leak using several industrial size tube of caulking!

In addition, ATX representatives claimed their work was done and wanted to be paid the balance, however after a quick visual inspection (we have pictures) that not all the materials contracted for were replaced. It took several more trips and still everything was not done as contracted for.


At our expense we hired another roof inspector who confirmed the ridge vent was not installed correctly, nail heads not caulked and other missing roof components were still not installed at all.

There is more and we have pictures, but we are so disgusted with the workmanship and professionalism of the entire company.

Worse, one worker pooped in our yard!!! Use these guys at your own risk.

Poor Workmanship/Professionalism
Poor Workmanship/Professionalism

RESOLVED

Issue has been resolved.

Responses

  • Du
    DustinATX Feb 07, 2018

    Hello my name is Dustin with ATX Roofing. I personally remedied the issues for this homeowner who is now satisfied.Unfortunately this website does not allow the user to remove their comments and the Homeowner has personally tried to remove his post.

    0 Votes
  • We
    Welcome Home Leasing Jul 01, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have also had a terrible experience with ATX Roofing. I contracted them to replace the shingles on a duplex roof as part of a sale contract. The first time it rained, the garage roof leaked, causing damage to the garage ceiling. They were also supposed to replace some rotten exterior siding, but the subcontractor they used filled it with wood putty and painted over it- I was charged $1650 for that! i was able to push my finger right through the siding after their "repair".
    I have spent the last 2 months trying to get the work done properly. Although ATX Roofing DID repair the leaking new roof, they agreed to pay the TENANT to repair the garage ceiling. At this date, the work has still not be done properly on the exterior siding.
    Interestingly, the neighbor told me that they left a subcontractor on the roof to fix the leak and said they were going to Home Depot, and would be right back, and didnt come back for 4 hours. The poor guy about had a heat stroke, and the neighbor had to invite him in and give him some icewater and let him use the bathroom.
    I have used many roofers in Austin as i have been a realtor since the 80s here, and I have never felt so dissatisfied before!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim__Cheryl R. Mar 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The BBB is a private business funded by businesses only and therefore are bias towards the business. The BBB made it very difficult to file the complaint and for the most part ignored the photographic and professional evidence we provided and therefore I stopped responding to the BBB and started using this resource along with Angie's List and others.

    Lanette, your husband did not pay for the other contractors we had to hire to do the job correctly, we deducted the amount we paid from the final contract and sent that amount to him which is exactly what a court would have done. We sent copies of the receipts for everything we deducted and I suggest you challenge your husbands honesty in this matter or better yet READ the contract we signed yourself and align it with the facts and photographic evidence. Also, since you are not a part of this complaint, I highly recommend you become more informed by maybe calling us for our side of the story. You have our contact information should you want to hear the truth.

    1 Votes
  • At
    atx roofing &general contracting Mar 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I personally would have commented to this post if I had any idea it existed .this has been our only complaint in 20 years which I am very proud of along with my husband and boys who are the best at what they do, most polite, friendliest people you will ever meet !! if you are looking at this I hope you will give us consideration and not let this stop us from earning your business. please check us on the BBB.org thank you again, Lanette Leinen

    -1 Votes
  • At
    atx roofing &general contracting Mar 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    after speaking to my husband to refresh my memory about this job I was told that not only did ATX pay to have any inside damage fixed but homeowner was not satisfied again we paid another sub who has worked for us for 5 years to redo whatever homeowner wanted redone, so we paid twice for that. As far as honesty maybe jim should think about being honest since we requested receipts for all out of pocket expenses, but were never shown any for the out of pocket inspectors. thank you again Lanette Leinen/ ATX roofing

    -1 Votes
  • At
    atx roofing &general contracting Mar 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    our business is a family run business and we are proud of it!! We do not use day labors but as labor goes it is hard to keep roofers forever and our supervisor has been with us for 8 yrs now. we know that Jim had barker roofing look at their roof who are not inspectors but in competiton with ATX for business. As we always want 100% satisfaction for our customers we will and have always done everything possible to insure it. The BBB has a complete accounting of this complaint which was resolved in ATX favor, please go to BBB.org to view Thank You, Lanette Leinen / ATX roofing & general contracting inc.

    -1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim__Cheryl R. Jan 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'll bet you have not had the work they did inspected by a 3rd party roofing inspector (as we did). The roof inspector verified they had not done the work correctly or completely... You’re experience/comment maybe true or a friend trying to neutralize our complaint. I think most people would agree, if you rely on "several hard rains" to determine they did the work correctly, you might want to verify the workmanship before you offer an opinion.

    All I can speak to is our experience and how we were treated. We have photos and roof inspector documentation to prove our complaint. Additional facts: ATX has limited employees (mostly if not exclusively family members), extensively use day laborers which is not what they claim during the "sales" process… We let the facts speak for themselves. Use them or recommend them at your own risk, we gave them at least four opportunities to fix the issues and they did not. Honesty is everything in our opinion and ATX was not honest with us...

    1 Votes
  • Au
    austinorchids1000 Jan 14, 2011

    We used ATX Roofing and had no problems at all. We've had several hard rains since then and no leaks. We've had remodel jobs done on our home and the ATX Roofing crew was no different than any other crew we've had around the house. I thought their staff, from the owner who I spoke with several times, to the supervisor, who was one of his sons, provided great customer service.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.