The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
American Boat listingFalse Representation

B Review updated:

I was contacted by a saleperson from American Boat Listing. He said he had buyers for my boat. The entire sales pitch is a lie. They claim to attend over 40 boat shows and put your boat in a printed directory. This guy went so far as to tell me he had many couples interested in my boat. I signed up and never received one call even after dropping my price to half the value of others like it. Now when I call this guy has the balls to tell me he is getting offers but the prices are too low. I asked to speak directly to the buyers and obviously that is not possible. They get you to pay from 100 - 500 for a listing and its a scam!

Responses

  • Sv
    sven oars Mar 21, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Unbelievable, I also took a boat ad with ABLBOATS, they called and suggested I purchase a more expensive ad for better exposure and more responses. Well I just went on the website to edit my ad only to find out my boat is not listed anymore, I know at one time it was.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Titus McCoy Dec 14, 2018

    i have sold 2 boats on there very happy- perhaps you overpriced your boat

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    GAry Vann Mar 31, 2014

    Yes, I too was scammed. The guy said he saw my ad on CraigsList for a 33 Formula and said he had five buyers looking for one right now. He said give me your credit card number, it costs $299 and email me the pics and consider it sold. I gave him the number thought about it and decided not to email pics When I called him back on his voice mail I told him to cancel it. He never called me back and charged my VISA. My VISA statement shows he charged it.!! Gary Vann

    1 Votes
  • Se
    seaslicker Apr 23, 2011

    Yes, woman e-mailed me about my boat listing on craigslist said it will not work. When I called her she said her turnaround time is usually 2 weeks. She said my boat was nice and thought I was listing it too low. She said they list used boats at boat shows and in different boat sales magazines. Sounds like same rehearsed scam. I did not receive a single inquiry.

    1 Votes
  • Mb
    Mblclassics Feb 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here is another fact that ABL is a scam. After trying to adjust my ad I called for someone to call me back, made the adjustments I requested the representative wanted another $200 to feature my boat. I was born at night but not last night... They really have nerve.

    1 Votes
  • Se
    Sea Bandit Feb 01, 2011

    I also was an [censor] to fall for this. Paid $500.00 and not a call yet. They told me they had a client list looking for searays and also told me it would seel fast and not a damn call. Don't fall for this like i did

    1 Votes
  • Mb
    Mblclassics Jan 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Your not the only one. I got the same pitch and spent $500 with a guarantee my boat would sell in six weeks. The [censor] even told me to raise my price 10K as my asking price was too low. I am so damn stupid to fall to this predators lies. Boat has not sold and its been 2 years...

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    joeSeaRay Jul 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i recently sold a boat by using American Boat Listing 30 foot sea Ray was very happy- i called some people on their testinonial page before listing they were all happy

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maria.1206 Apr 27, 2010

    what came out of your suit please contact me i am looking into this company to sell my boat. do you have anymore information on them?

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Whac911 Mar 05, 2010

    I apparently was a victim of this scam. I will be contacting the New York State Attorney Generals office. A class action suit also seems to be in order.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.