Almost Heaven Realty Logo

Almost Heaven Realty

Having problems with Almost Heaven Realty?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Almost Heaven Realty reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Oct 25, 2010. The latest review Refund was posted on Oct 25, 2010. The latest complaint Refund was resolved on Oct 25, 2010. Almost Heaven Realty has an average consumer rating of 5 stars from 1 reviews. Almost Heaven Realty has resolved 1 complaints.

Almost Heaven Realty Customer Service Contacts

6404 Main Street, State Route 9
Chestertown, New York
United States - 12817

Almost Heaven Realty Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
almost heaven realtyRefund

I am writing to dispute Joy of Almost Heaven Realty decision to withhold $130 of our security deposit.


The summers of 2009 and 2010 I rented 2 vacation homes from Almost Heaven Realty. Both times were unpleasant. This year the owner of Almost Heaven Realty; Joy Geidel has refused to refund $130 of my security deposit.


On Saturday, August 21, 2010 when my family and I left the rental house it was immaculately clean: all beds were made, no dirty dishes were left, no dirty laundry was left, and no garbage was left at the home. Yet, before even reaching my home I was sent an e-mail stating that “dirty dishes were left in the dishwasher” and further stating that someone had smoked in the family room downstairs. In fact, we left the dishwasher running with a few cups, plates and silverware. Also, no one ever smoked inside that home.


We then received a second e-mail stating that we had left laundry to be done. In fact, I was generous enough to wash the bath mats which I left on top of the dryer. No laundry was left to be done.


Next, we received a third e-mail stating that we had left two (later three) bags of garbage at the house. In fact, we had one bag of garbage which I took out of the house and gave to her cleaning lady at the home my sister had rented. When I asked if it would be a problem for her to take the bag she assured me it would not. This transpired in front of my entire family who can attest to these facts as well as to all of the facts I have mentioned.

I replied to all three of her e-mails that all of these claims were untrue. Joy's reply was “do you think I make this stuff up.” I can only assure you that I am not “making up” any of my statements and take offense to her suggestion that I am.


Quite frankly the issue of personal offense is one that I can no longer ignore in my communication with Almost Heaven. I say this because to this point we have been treated with utter disrespect, distrust and distain. The addresses directed to us have been laced with hostile overtones. In August 2010, I inadvertently missed the 30 day period to send the balance of the rent to Almost Heaven Realty. Recognizing the error I sent her an email apologizing before sending my check. Her response was to insist on receiving a Certified Check or Money Order. This demand regardless of the fact that I was a repeat renter which I would assume that some deference would be afforded to us under those circumstances. However, be that as it may, I sent a Certified Check. When my family posed a question about the rental rate at one of the properties it became apparent that going forward Joy had taken some form of personal offense. This was first demonstrated in the offensive 4 page letter she left for me and my family to start our vacation. She specifically requested that I “humble myself and apologize to her, ” for what I am not certain, but I can only assume it was because of our perfectly legitimate inquiry about the advertised rental rate. The letter and the demand for humility was unsettling, inappropriate and, simply stated, unnecessary. Despite the fact that her letter upset each of us we decided to basically go forward to make the best of our family vacation. Her decision now to withhold funds from our security deposit appears to be more grounded in this continued bitterness than based on actual facts.


In August of 2009 we rented a different house from Almost Heaven Realty website. Upon our arrival we found the house in a filthy condition. It smelled of mildew. The bathrooms were appalling. My sister and I cleaned the bathrooms, vacuumed the entire house, cleaned the loft on the 2nd floor of cobwebs and dust and swept the porch, which was also covered with cobwebs, leaves and dirt, within the first 3 hours upon arrival. After many phone calls you consented to send in a cleaning service. The BBQ was broken and it took 2 days for a replacement. Then the water system broke and we were unable to shower or cook for 24 hours. Yet no compensation or even apologies were offered. Even the staff in her office agreed that the house needed an update, because the conditions were unacceptable. It begs the question why did we rent again from her agency. However, we overlooked those difficulties only to be rewarded with this current treatment.

In conclusion, I would never recommend this woman or her agency to anyone. She is mean spirited, a liar and unscrupulous.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Ca
      Cathie V Nov 12, 2010
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      I have rented 2 houses from Joy Giedel in 2009 & 2010. Joy has refused to refund me $130 of my deposit. She refuses to discuss the issue with me, though numerous attempts have been made; via emails, phone calls or certified mail. The issue of personal offense is the sole reason for her behavior. I say this because I have been treated with utter disrespect, distrust and distain. The addresses directed to us have been laced with hostile overtones. In August 2010, I inadvertently missed the 30 day period to send the balance of the rent to Almost Heaven Realty. Recognizing the error I sent her an email apologizing before sending my check. Her response was to insist on receiving a Certified Check or Money Order. This demand regardless of the fact that I was a repeat renter. However, I sent a Certified Check. When my family posed a question about the rental rate at one of the properties it became apparent that going forward Joy had taken some form of personal offense. This was first demonstrated in the offensive 4 page letter she left for me and my family to start our vacation. She specifically requested that I “humble myself and apologize to her, ” for what I am not certain, but I can only assume it was because of our perfectly legitimate inquiry about the advertised rental rate. The letter and the demand for humility was unsettling, inappropriate and, simply stated, unnecessary. Despite the fact that her letter upset each of us we decided to basically go forward to make the best of our family vacation. Her decision now to withhold funds from our security deposit appears to be more grounded in this continued bitterness than based on actual facts. Joy and her agency are unscrupulous and liars. Do not under any circumstances do business with her!

      0 Votes

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.