logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
USBI/Teleuno Long Distance
Charges
2. (51 mins ago)
Supra Cleanse 350
Company charged me for $99.99 without my notice
3. (1 hr 0 mins ago)
Dandrew Capital Partners
Unauthorized charges
4. (1 hr 2 mins ago)
GSPAY
CANNOT DELIVER GOODS, WON'T REFUND MONEY
5. (1 hr 6 mins ago)
www.hotelbargains.com.au
Beware, scam, cheats, rude

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

US Cash Advance, North Dakota Complaints & Reviews - Scam

US Cash Advance Contacts & Informations

US Cash Advance

Posted: 2012-03-22 by    shortiesam

Scam

Complaint Rating:  100 % with 1 votes
Contact information:
North Dakota
United States
In have had calls from a Roy Miller on March 22, 2012 and still continuing. He says he is from a law firm. That there was a judgement on me for three counts. I had no idea what he was talking about. asked what it was for he said it was a loan for 4000 dollars I had never applied for a loan. He gave me a case number I didnt know what to do. I went and talk to my grandparents they also ask questions. My grandparents have been through some legal stuff before and it seemed legit. They read of my social security number, my address, phone number, my checking account and savings account number also the routing number for them, They have where I work and the number for them. They said if i pay 436.45 the judgement will drop. My grandparents told me ok it sounds like it is legit. so I did it. That was all the money me and my kids had to live on for two weeks. I started to call around about my personal information being stolen. I didn't get anywhere yesterday. I have been getting the run around. Today I called the police department and they came and explained what was going on he said it sounded like a scam. He tried to call them and they didnt answer for him. After he left I called that Roy and they did answer. I asked him for the address and for his manager he gave me his manager and I tried to get more information. I then had the police back at my house and i called the number again and the officer talked to them.
How are we as Americans suppose to have our freedom when we are getting scamed and tricked by people who don't respect how we are hard working people earning our living I have three kids also going to school fulltime plus working full time. I am scared everytime I go to the store and use my cards. I can't believe anyone would still from kids. That money they got was the only money that me and my kids have for two weeks and now I got none. These people need to be stopped. I shouldn't have to live every day haveing to look over my shoulder and worry for my safety and the safety of my children. At least fo something for the personal information that they have.
Comments United States Online Scams
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 31st of Jan, 2010 by   AMW88 0 Votes
On 01/29/2010 at 9:05AM I missed a call from: 954-486-7974. I called back this number, it was busy. I listened to a voicemail from this number, the man spoke in a strange accent that I have not heard here in Alaska, maybe Arabian?

It was a really strange voicemail. The man said his name was Jeff and he is an investigator from Cooper Law Firm. He claimed that I need to have my attorney give him a call regarding an outstanding payday loan or legal action would be taken.

He then left a phone number where I could reach him: 940-580-2385. I called him back at 11:01AM at was on the phone for 24 minutes arguing with him.

He claimed that this line is being recorded and anything I say can be used against me. He said his name is Jeff Scott and he is an investigator at Cooper Law Firm. He told me I owe $723.69 from a payday loan taken out in 2009, which was unpaid. He would not tell me from what company this loan was taken out, but did tell me that the mother company is US Cash Advance.

I told him I had a legal right to know which company this loan was taken out of. He proceeded to tell me that it is not his job to go and rummage around in his attorneys office looking for my file. I then asked him “Are you serious? Is this a joke?” He proceeded to get VERY angry and started yelling at me. Every time I tried to speak he told me not to interrupt him.

He then tried to “make a deal” with me. He told me that I could pay him $100 today and could pay the rest of the money on my next payday. I told him I couldn’t do that. He then told me to borrow money from my friends. I told him that was not possible. He told me that wasn’t his problem and that if I couldn’t pay, he was going to notify my current employer and I will lose my job, as I will be considered a felon.

It sounded ludicrous to me. I was extremely flustered and frustrated. I then asked him again, “Is this real? Because it sounds like a joke… you are EXTREMELY unprofessional!” He then began to yell and said, “Ma’am we don’t want your money, never mind! You are going to have legal action taken against you, good luck!” And he hung up on me.

I called the number back the next day. Someone answered, this is so and so. I can’t remember the name; in fact I couldn’t understand what he said, because of his accent. I then said, “This is a company?” And he replied, “Cooper Law Firm.” I could hear a lot of different voices in the background speaking. They all had the same strange accent.

I asked him where he was located. He said “Dallas, Texas”. I asked him for his address. He said: 1408 Bryan Tower, Jennifer Court, Texas, 76042.

The next day I received a missed call from: 954-485-4276 at 7:31AM – no voicemail, I called back, busy.

I googled this address… I couldn’t find anything.

I googled “Cooper Law Firm”, found a company in South Carolina, phone number: 1-800-356-0091. I called them, left a voicemail, letting them know that someone is claiming to be from their company trying to collect on a bogus payday loan. I googled “Cooper Law Office”, found a company based in California. Phone Number: 510-558-8400. I left the same message.

This was extremely frustrating to me. As in the past I have taken out payday loans. And have made payments to all of them.

This fraudulent team had my social security number, my past employer information, and my phone number.

I could ignore this and hope it goes away, but I am going to report this information to the FBI, and the Social Security Office, as these scammers have my information.

I advise anyone else going through this to do the same.
 30th of Sep, 2010 by   Shannont716 0 Votes
On 09/30/10 at 8:43 I was left a message on my cell phone that I or my attorney needed to call back and that it was imparative that we did it as soon as possible. When I called back I was being informed that I was being sued for $3200.00 for a $200.00 cash advance loan that I have never taken. They had informed me that this was an advance that I had supposedly taken at the beginning of the year and that I was being sued do to failure to reply. What scared me most of all was that they had ALL of my personal information. My social securty, adress, bank info, even my drivers license number. At first I was a little upset. Then as I was doing some reserch I had found I was not the only one being done to like this. All I can say after reporting this to the FTC it's ok to be upset, but DO NOT respond to them in any way. DO NOT answer the phone or call them back. Just report it and hopefully these people will get caught.
 2nd of Oct, 2010 by   PBorns 0 Votes
10/02/2010 I received a call from a Michael Potter at this company when i called him back i was told i was being sued for money i owed. I did not take any loan out when i ask him for more information he started yelling at me and hung up on me i tried calling him back several times and still hung up on me. He would not give me this court in California where this is suppose to happen and why. He said that he was going to send something to Social Security and Verizon to put a black mark against my record for something i know nothing about. The number they were calling from was 213 286 0291 and they are no hanging up on me be careful.
 10th of Nov, 2010 by   I kow my right 0 Votes
Today at about 12:30 I receive a 911 emergency phone call. Of course I thought something happened to a family member but when I answered the call it was a lady with an accent I could barely understanding telling me some company is taking legal action against me and to hold for a case # and to talk to a detective. I was on hold for about 10 minutes before this so-called officer came to the phone. I gave him my case # and he told me that US Cash Advance is filling legal actions against me for the amount of $300.00. He said they have tried to contact me via email and regular mail. I just checked my email and I go to my mail box almost everyday and I haven't received anything for US Cash Advance.

I asked the officer when was this so-called loan taken out? He said "a few months ago but that's not important. What's important is that you have only one hour to settle this, either get a lawyer and fight it in court or you will arrested and charged for not paying your debt." He also said I could pay the amount over the phone but never said how much and also tried to scare me by saying if you are found guilty you will go to jail for 6-8 years.

The fact that he couldn't give me an exact date that this "loan" was taken out nor could provide me with a phone number or account info to this loan company had me thinking that this was a fraud. I don't remember his name but his phone # is 321-745-2007 ext 941. This man was very rude and started to argue with me when I didn't understand what he was talking about. Like others said he knew my SS#, address and what bank I have an account at. I too have taken a payday loan before but the money was debt out of my account and I have proof of it on my account statements.

Even tho I know this is a fraud...now, I called my father and he called his lawyer and should anyone try to arrest me or walk up on me they will have trouble. I don't take lightly to threats, I know my rights.
 10th of Nov, 2010 by   Shannon36535 0 Votes
See my previous complaints about this kind of scam. claiming to be the fbi/ law enforcement and more. go to fbi.gov and file a complaint. also call your local police department and file a police report and get it to all 3 of the credit bureaus to put a red flag on your social security number.
 11th of Feb, 2011 by   lovefridays24 0 Votes
I received 2 calls saying that I took out a cash advance and didn't repay it. NOT TRUE!!! Never even took out a cash advance! They had all my info - SSN, Bank, previous employment. Scared me to death! I was told the same thing I have seen on here-I will be arrested, have to pay, etc. I was told that if I wanted to settle out of court, I would have to write an apology letter, pay immediately using my debit card and then I would receive all of the documentation that pertains to my "case." I called my attorney and filed a police report, they all said it was definitely a scam. I went to the Cash Advance website and it clearly states that this scam is taking place! I received another call a few minutes ago and told them that I had reported them and that what they are doing is fraudulent and then hung up. Two people have left messages on my voice mail (accents with American names) and said EXACTLY the same thing. It is definitely a script until you start asking questions. My question is did anything ever happen to anyone? Were you served with papers, taken to court, etc? The "law firms" that called me were American Law Services (831-531-4266) and Law Group of CA (760-935-3936). Thanks for all of this info! It has eased my mind!
 28th of Feb, 2011 by   nanczyz 0 Votes
I just recieved the very same phone call and they were very rude. They told me that they could not let common people like me speak directly to the attorney in charge. I was told that they would just go ahead and take me to court on fraud charges. I told him to go ahead and do that, he said that they have sent emails to my account asking for payment and that I did not need any further proof then what they have already sent out. Please be very carefully with these people make them give the info that they have on file do not give them back. I am going to wait and see if they do take me to court and I really hope they do because I have all of bank account statements to prove that I did not get any money.
 23rd of Mar, 2011 by   Sir Chas Young 0 Votes
On Tuesday 3/22/2011, I recieved a call from a Sean Clark stating that was a lawyer from the law firm of Stone and Roberts and that his firm was representing us cash advance. He stated that there was law suit against me for a unpaid loan in the amount of $712.00. I had two options to settle this debt either by paying $490.00 by April 22, 2011 by way of a walmart debit or going to court where I might have to pay $712.oo to $8, 000.oo. He wanted my lawyer to contact contact him. Things didnot sound right, so I ask for information that he would not give. I was given this number 9042709983 to us cash advance, I spoke with a man stating that he had been trying to contact about this unpaid loan. I advise him that I was not aware of any loan from them, which he inform that this loan was taken in May 2010 and deposit into my checking account. When I disputed the loan he became very irrate and refer me back to Sean Clark. I call him back to dispute the loan he became very irrate also making threats a lawyer I dont think he is. To buy time and expose them for who they really are, I agree to April 22, 2011 deadline. I went online and google us cash advance where I found that there was a scam in play. Well at this point I was very very heated, so called Sean Clark on Wednesday 3/23/2011 to advise of the shrunk (scam). He attempted to hold his ground, but right is right and wrong is wrong, so Sean Clark was advise that if I ever meet him face to face he has a whole can of whip a... coming to him. He hung up the so I call back and back and back and back and back you get the message. Next us cash advance and did the same thing until they wouldnot answer the phone eventually sending all calls to voicemail. These people talk with Indian accent, there is always alot of people talking in the background, and what really takes the cake is the transfering of calls that a joke, which is really them handling the phone from person to person. Just remember their the joke and the people they are trying to scam are punch line in the head or gut.
 25th of Mar, 2011 by   j man 0 Votes
Was called by an Officer Michelle Johnson, 3-25-2011, and then "transfered" to a Mr Johnson who said I recieved cash into an account. I stated there was no such loan and as described above an Indian accent became irate when I inquired to the validity. He kept saying I was interrupting when all I wanted for him to do was answer MY question first. This is scary because on the first message that was left for me, it sounded as if they had my SS# before the message was cut off and ended. He did have my address and asked that I confirm it. I explained to Mr Johnson that I had reason to believe I was a victim of identity theft and hung up. My blood was boiling after this call and I hope I don't recieve another. Thanks for the tips in regards to the reverse "harrasse call". With these economic times and the hardships people are facing these days it is sickening to think of people preying on others for their last dime. I wonder how these folks sleep at night if they even have a soul to begin with.
 6th of Jul, 2011 by   Not a victim any more 0 Votes
As many others, I was also contacted at home and at work by someone telling me of a legal matter.
Steven Mark - 877-516-9379 - caller with a thick foreign accent and broken English
They said I was sued and if I did not take care of the matter, law officials would come to my work and home.
When I called the number to promptly try to clear up the matter, I was told I had defaulted on a pay day loan with their parent company US Cash Advance. They said I was being sued for 3 counts of criminal fraud and if I make a payment they could work a settlement. He could not give any details about the debt. He had my name, work and cell number, my ssn, email address and bank account. I had a pay day loan but had paid it back some time ago. He seemed to insist on a payment while I was on the phone claiming the court fees would total up over $3000. The case was going to court tomorrow and the only way to stop it was to make a payment right then. I told him I needed to confirm with my husband, but he didn't seem satisifed with that.
Since then, I researched the company, found out it is a SCAM and reported it to the FTC - 877-382-4357. I have a fraud alert on my accounts thanks to Trans Union - 800-680-7289.

I will look for a place to post the wav file of the initial voice mail.
 7th of Jul, 2011 by   msoleils 0 Votes
This is great sharing. I received a similar call as well, and this info prompted me to call FTC.
FTC took my fraud report and advised me to call the Credit Bureau Number 1 800 525 6285 for the fraud alert.
Another number to call is 1 800 552 9963, Consumer Protection Hotline, to report the frauding agency.
Also, dont forget to call your banks where you have an account in case it gets breached. Be safe and be careful.
 15th of Jul, 2011 by   JuanitaDR 0 Votes
I recieved the following email today. Of course I reported it to all the reporting places. Do they think I'm going to just hand over my info like that? What stupid people they are. I have been dealing with this for the past several years. They used to call my daughter-in-laws grandmother, who I would never use as a reference. I told her how to look them up and report them as a scam. After she and I both told them we knew it was a scam they stopped calling her. This was several years ago. I don't think they have stopped calling me because I still get phone calls from every state in the union and no voice mails on any of them. I don't answer them because I figure if its legitimate business they will leave a message. Its funny how they all say I have to go to the court house of Texas and will be arrested. For one thing there are many court houses in Texas so which one are they talking about? Another thing is there is no way people get arrested any more for owing money, if that was the case the jails would be full of debtors and all the murderers and rapists would be walking free because there wouldn't be any room for them in jails. Don't fall for any of these idiots talk. They clearly don't know the law because they break it all the time, both the secular law and Gods laws, (thou shalt not steal).


Hello,


Greetings of the Day


Let me introduce myself. I am Senior Affidavit Processor Carole Williams from State Investigation Department. As we were trying to reach you since a couple of days regarding a very serious matter about a lawsuit filed on your name stating that you are doing some fraud and criminal activities.

I am really very sorry to say you that you are going to be legally prosecuted in the Court House within a days. Your SSN is put on hold by US Government, so before something goes wrong, I thought I shall call you and notify you about this matter, but as I was not able to reach you, I am sending you an Email. So please take a piece of paper and write down your case file SF49390 and second thing since it’s a legal matter you will be needed my help, so please write down my callback number is 315-507-8391 Ext 2003.


For the records your personal information including your Date of Birth, your SSN #, your DL #, your Bank Account number etc, is listed on the case file, but cannot disclosed to you until you reply me on this.


The Factual Basis for the complaints are as follows:-

1) You have ascertained an income advancement from US Cash Advance with your Bank Account Information as collateral for said advancement.
2) You also agreed to return the funds from the aforementioned income advancement as per contract.
3) As of today’s date the funds have yet to be returned and the collateral has proven to be null, that is to say, of no value.


At present, US Cash Advance is seeking either of the following remedies:-
1) All funds be returned as per terms of initial contract.
2) You might be proceeded against to the fullest extent permissible by current Federal Banking Law.

So, as I investigate your profile, I found you as a genuine person so it is my duty to help you out but for that I need some right answers from your side. Also want to know your intention. So you want to resolve this issue out of court, or you want to go to the court house.?

This was a final notification Email to you if you want to resolve the issue by paying out of Court Restitution Amount than you can do that, or do you want to face legal action? You have to give me a flat answer without any excuse.

Reply to me back on my phone number 315-507-8391 Ext 2003 or Email me.


Thank you


--

Carole Williams
Senior Affidavit Processor
State Investigation Department
Utica, NY
Contact:- 315-507-8391 Ext 2003
Fax:- 206-426-3556
 14th of Nov, 2011 by   dmv58 0 Votes
I WAS CALLED THAT I OWN US CASH ADVANCE $1002.00, I GOT THE CALL FROM VANCOUVER WA AND FROM BARTOW FL, TELL ME IF I DON"T PAY I WILL BE ARREST BY MONDAY.
 17th of Nov, 2011 by   K. Olejnik 0 Votes
I just received a phone call at work! from 310-933-0497. Someone with a heavy accent asked me to pay my loan I took from US Cash Advance. They wanted me to pay immediately because US Cash Advance filed a compliant against me. Incredible! I do not owe any money to US Cash Advance... Those people must be stopped!
 19th of Jun, 2012 by   waterhouse 0 Votes
I recieved a call from a guy yesterday saying he was calling from US Cash Advance and his name was Steward Miller he also stated that i took out a loan in the amount of $400 back in February and that he needed to speak with my attorney so a light immediately went off in my head because i dont deal with payday loans but i was still couriuos so i went on and asked some questions and this guy started to get very upset with me so at this time im thinking in the back of my mind when my grandmother used to tell me when i was a kid when u ask someone a question and they get upset somethings wrong but anyway he says i will be arrested at my place of employment if i dont pay the money so i hang up on his behind so i go to the website for US Cash Advance and i see all the complaints but one really caught my attention one guy says he had some fun with them so i decided to do the same so i want to thank the guy who posted how much fun he had with these idiots because i damn sure did lol!!! so if u recieve a call from a middle eastern jerk go ahead have some fun with him or her its worth it trust me just dont loose your cool God Bless America!!!
 20th of Aug, 2012 by   niecy goodson 0 Votes
got a call from this company stating that i got a loan in may of 2012 from cash advance in the amount of 300.00 and they asked how i want to handled this situation..they gave me to options either handled it now over the phone or take it to court and they re gonna suspend my license their number is 18054564276 indian man
 25th of Aug, 2012 by   th!sman 0 Votes
Hey STOP STOP STOP!!!

I hope you didn't pay and I hope you don't live in a hole undergound. This is the latest scam it's from India. They told the nigerians to move over. Some of their crooks are being pursued by FBI/FTC in courts but you have to protect yourself.

You don't owe anything. If you applied for a payday loan online that's how they get all your info. They threaten they are sending the sheriff to lock you up, take your kids etc. Ridiculous! Last i checked there are no jails in america for debtors. So far the have scammed $5 million from gullible americans. They are not a legitimate collection agency. they are scammers based in india playing dirty because they know the feds can't reach them or do anything to them. Again you have to protect yourself.

This is how you play dirty back. Be ready with a sports air horn next time the call. Tell them let me get the CC listen carefully, then blow the air horn and burst a scammer's ear. They never call again. If enough people did this this will force them to fear calling americans.
 27th of Mar, 2013 by   linda hunnicutt 0 Votes
I have been receiving calls from us cash bank, telling me I have not paid my loan back. I said what what loan and that when he said we deposited 300.00 in your banking account. you mean your not going to pay it back. I said I do not owe a pay day loan. he goes on tou will be arrested and you will spend 30 days in jail. he said for me to get a attorney, I said I do not have a pay day loan to pay back so I hung up then they started to call 7 or 8 times a day wanting me to pay.he has and accent could not hardly understand what he was saying so I told him I needed to talk to some one I could understand.it seems he handed the phone to some one he told me the same thing.so I call my bank and ask them did some one deposit 300.00 in my checking account they said no . then I new it was a scram he said he would call me back Friday .I told him I did not have 300.00 he said how much can you pay on it now I said nothing I am on a fixed income he said I can not help that you need to pay it our you will go to jail we will send the sheriff out their to get you . it scared me to death I have copd and I am on oxygen and I have heart trouble he said he could not help that, pay your loan back..so I knew something was funny about it cause I did not receive any thing in the mail about it.he wants a 100.00 dollars Friday he said he would call me back and tell me where to send the money..and how to pay the rest..

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Several Tips How to Avoid Internet Scams

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?