logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
Bell Mobility
FRAUD
2. (3 mins ago)
McDonalds
manager
3. (10 mins ago)
Usell.com
So far not so good
4. (13 mins ago)
M&I Bank
Terrible customer service
5. (17 mins ago)
Coca Cola Notification Winning Funds
Cheating

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

united acceptance inc, Smyrna, Georgia Complaints & Reviews - THEIFS

united acceptance inc Contacts & Informations

united acceptance inc

Posted:    CLEOPATRA

THEIFS

Complaint Rating:  76 % with 21 votes
Contact information:
UNITED ACCEPTANCE INC
Smyrna, Georgia
United States
Phone: 1=770-799-1800
OUR TRUCK LOAN WAS SOLD TO THEM AND AS THE ECONAMY HAS BEEN SLOW WE HAVE BEEN MAKING PAYMENTS AS WE COULD. WE HAVE NEVER NOT PAID THEM SOMETHING. SOME MONTHS WE WOULD SEND 600.00 AND THIS MONTH WE SENT THE 280-.00. OUR PAYMENTS ARE USUALLY 357.00. THEY WON'T EVEN TELL US HOW MUCH WE ARE BEHIND IF ANY BUT THAT DID NOT STOP THEM FROM STEALING OUR TRUCK TONIGHT. EVEN THOUGH WE SENT THEM A 200.00 DOLLAR MONEY ORDER. THEY DID THIS NOW BECAUSE THEY KNOW THAT WE WON'T BE ABLE TO GET HOLD OF THEM UNTIL AFTER THE HOLIDAYS. NOW MY HUSBAND HAS NO WAY TO WORK AND I CAN'T MAKE IT TO MY DOCTORS APPOINTMENTS. I AM DISABLED AND WE DON'T LIVE INSIDE THE CITY AND HAVE NO BUS SERVICE AND THE TAXIS DON'T COME OUT THIS FAR.SO, THESE THIEFS CAME AND TOOK OUR ONLY MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION NOW I'M NOT SURE HOW LONG MY HUSBAND WILL BE ABLE TO KEEP HIS JOB. THAT IS THE ONLY MONEY WE GET, AS NOW I WON'T EVEN BE ABLE TO MAKE IT TO MY SOCIAL SECURITY HEARING. THESE SELF CENTERED B----------S HAVE MADE OUR LIFE A REAL HELL. THEY DON'T CARE HOW HARD YOU WORK OR WHAT YOU HAVE TO SACRIFICE FOR THEM. WE GOT 3 MONTHS BEHIND ON OUR RENT JUST TO SEND THEM THE 600.00, SO OF COURSE WE HAD TO PAY AT LEAST SOME OF THE RENT AND COULD ONLY SEND THEM 280.00 THIS MONTH. WE EVEN TOLD ALL OUR CHILDREN AND GRAND CHILDREN THAT WE WON'T BE ABLE TO DO CHRISTMAS THIS YEAR AS ALL WE HAVE IS GOING TO THE TRUCK. THAT WAS NOT ENOUGH FOR THEM. THEY STOLE THE TRUCK 10 MINUTES BEFORE MY HUSBAND HAD TO GO TO WORK SO HE WAS LATE. I PRAY THAT EVERY EVIL THING THAT CAN GO WRONG IN ALL TRIER LIVES DOES AND I PRAY THAT THEY GET TO EXPERIENCE ALL THE PAIN THEY ARE PUTTING US THROUGH TIMES TEN.
Comments United States Cars, Parts & Vehicles
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 31st of Dec, 2008 by   United Acceptance, Inc Complaince 0 Votes
United Acceptance, Inc. has review the facts surrounding this customer’s complaint. This customer stated that UAI stole her automobile and this was incorrect. Although this situation has placed this customer in a seemingly difficult position, UAI did what was reasonable to resolve this problem prior to the decision made. Based on the privacy rules we cannot disclose the specifics regarding balances and amounts that are owing. However, we can clearly state that this customer has misrepresented the facts and overstated their position. There is a clear difference between a theft and a repossession. United Acceptance, Inc., categorically denies any wrong doing in this matter and has offered to resolve this matter with the customer on 2 occasions. On 12/24/08 and 12/29/08 we explained to the customer the circumstances and provided a equitable resolution. This resolution was rejected by the complainants and therefore remains unresolved by the customer’s choice and not by UAI’s unwillingness to render assistance. Whenever a customer advises us of a potential problem, United Acceptance, Inc. attempts to work with the customer to resolve the issue within reason.

Call Center Manager
770-799-1809
 27th of Mar, 2009 by   BEE 0 Votes
THEY ARE LIARS (UAI) AND THIEVES!! THEY ARE TRYING TO REPO MY FRIENDS CAR NOW. SHE MADE HER PAYMENT VIA WIRE TRANSFER AND THEY RECEIVED THE MONEY TWO DAYS PRIOR TO THE DUE DATE. BECAUSE THEIR INCOMPETENT STAFF ENTERED THE WRONG CONFIRMATION NUMBER IN THEIR SYSTEM THEY ARE TRYING TO REPO HER CAR. EVERYTIME SHE CALLS SHE GETS DIFFERENT INFORMATION AND NOW THEY WANT HER TO PAY $125.00 TO CALL OFF THE REPO WHEN IT WAS THEIR FAULT!!! BUT THEY ARE TRYING TO BLAME HER. REGARDLESS OF A CONFIRMATION THE MONEY WAS DEPOSITED IN THEIR BANK ACCOUNT TWO DAYS EARLY!!! DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE.
 23rd of Jun, 2009 by   Getting tired of it +1 Votes
I agree that this company is aggressive wiith their phone calls and persistance. I too had my account sold to them after purchasing a vechile from a dealer. I made a payment to the dealer on the 12th of August and I recieved my packet from UAI on the 14th telling me how tomake payments to them. You guessed it on the 20th I started getting phone calls saying I was late, I settled the situation with a phone call explaining I made the payments . I then made a payment through Western Union to UAI and when prompted It said my payment due was doubled what I usually paid. Now to me their is something dishonest about having the system set up to ask for the double payment. Just this week I recieved a receipt in the mail for my June payment, and they come every now and then after a payment is made. It stated that my next payment was due on July 12th and the amount due was again a double payment amount. Today is June 23rd and you got it, I had a message on my machine from them asking them to please call them back. Now to me this company has a complete lack of communication between the people that handle account payments. I plan to give them a call in the morning to see what they want this time. This is a company that I wouldn't do business with if I had had a choice but since my account was sold to them I guess I have two choices, deal with it until the vechile is paid off or stop paying on the vechile and let them take it. In both cases I end up with a losing hand.
 29th of Jun, 2009 by   Gods Little Gurl 0 Votes
united acceptance is nothing more than a joke. we purchased a vehicle from a "buy here pay here" dealer and within a month our account was sold to united acceptance. due to my husband being laid off and my having to have emergency surgery, i was unable to make a full payment. i only could offer them a partial payment and they told me i would have to drive to the atlanta area to make that payment however it would not guarantee that my vehicle wouldnt be repossesed. i told the person they were stupid and that i would keep my money to feed my kids and they could come get my vehicle. that has been about 3 yrs ago. now i rcvd a letter re: a garnishment. the letter was postmarked 6/8/09 and begining on 6/25/09 my husbands paycheck was garnished. according to the letter, we have 45 days to file a traverse. whats wrong with this whole picture? number one the garnishment is for about 28, 000 and the vehicle did not even sale for that amount brand new. come on people, cant you just make your liveing honestly and not take honest, hard working people's money? it is all good though, i am not afraid to file bankruptcy and i will get all of the money that they take from my family back...guess we will put it toward a vacation...or groceries for the family! i guess the joke is on them. and i know that my God will place these people where they belong when thier day comes...God Bless!
 18th of Aug, 2009 by   United Acceptance, Inc Complaince 0 Votes
An anonymous response like this put us at a disadvantage because since we do not know who this customer, is it is impossible for us to us to research their specific allegations. Please understand that repossession is always a last resort for United Acceptance, Inc because on average we lose when we pick up cars and sell them at the auction. As a result we will always work with the customer. However when we feel that the customer is not going to pay, based on broken promises or they just get too far behind we have no choice but to put the vehicle out for repossession. We also do not trick customers. If they are behind and even if they have a promise to pay we always tell them up front that their account will remain in default which could mean possible repossession until the payment is actually received by our office. Finally, we always send a redemption letter after the repossession which gives the customer the legal amount of time to redeem their vehicle per the statue for that particular state. We will even extend that period if the customer can make a partial payment during the initial redemption period. Again since this customer did not identify themselves it is hard to say exactly what happened but it would appear they redeemed after the redemption period had expired which is probably why we came close to selling their vehicle.

Call Center Manager
United Acceptance, Inc
770-799-1809
 22nd of Sep, 2009 by   K. LARKS 0 Votes
We have help a client Mr. Hernandez relocated and mailed payment to payoff loan on 09/11/2009. NO ONE NO WHERE PAYMENT IS: I as the title company was suppose to get a call back on Monday 09/21/2009. Instead they call the client staing nothings there no fax, But yet Mr. M. L WATSON sent a fax dated 08/26/5009, With Follow up calls to him 4 his first repsonse was he had it, NOW NO ONE KNOWS ANYTHING.
After auditing his loan with our own legal department they have ebven over charged this client on the fees. pRINCESS CACERES SPOKE WITH HTEM.JENIFFER FROM THE TITLE COMPANY WAS THE FIRST PERSON TO SPEAK WITH TERESA.

PROPERTY MORTGAGE SERVICES

PROPERTYMORTGAGESERVICES.AUDIT@LIVE.COM

K. LARKS
 3rd of Nov, 2009 by   THIS IS THE WORST COMPANY EVER!!!!!!!!! 0 Votes
I totally agree this company displays the worst customer service to their cutomers!!! It is unbelievable that they are still in business!!! I recently had an auto loan with them, not by choice but because my original dealership sold my account to them, that was the worst thing they could have ever did!!! But anyway my payments were always on time and as soon as I was laid off due to economic woes I started sending whatever I could but always sending something and they absolutely showed no mercy! And I wasnt asking for a hand out, or a favor, or even a pity party but they talked to me as if I were dirt!!! My payments were like 266.00 monthly and I was sending between 180.00-200.00 at the time and they still repoed my car and told me that I needed to pay the entire remaining balance of what was owed on my plus repo fees to get my car back!!! My car was initially 9999.99 and at that time my car was 2300.00!!! Unbelievable that they would treat a customer that way!!! I would never, never, never recommend anyone!!!
 29th of Dec, 2009 by   temporarily indifferent 0 Votes
I have been having some issues with UAI. However, they have been working with me. I had lost my job back in 9/09. I paid a full payment early October. I lost my phone service so the only time I was able to contact was when I had a chance to go to my parents house. I made a partial payment in November. I finally got a job that starts right after the new year in 2010. The company has honestly been open and helpful with me in my situation. They did tell me the car could be repossessed but that was up to the dealer if they actually wanted to pursue that option. I am sorry to hear so many people have had issues with them. My payments have never changed nor have the due dates from my original dealers contract. I pay the same amount on the same dates. UAI told me they can not change that information. If I wanted it changed I would have to talk to the actual dealer about it.
 14th of Jan, 2010 by   p. gizzi +1 Votes
I have been with UAI now since this summer, I have had nothing but good experiences with the company. I have been behind on payments, and they were always friendly and willing to help. They have never been harrasing or rude in the few calls they have made to me.

All accounting of payments have been accurate and I am completely happy with both the service they have provided as well as there response to my situation.

The difference between myself and many of the others here is I recognize that it is not UAI who cant pay the bill, I accepted responsibility for my truck, I agreed to make the payments, and when I am unable to, it is MY not UAI's fault.

UAI did not make the "economy bad" UAI did not send you to the hospital, UAI did not make it so that your cat needs braces. You accepted responsibility for the auto loan, its your obligation to pay it. SO your life got tough and UAI did not just give you your car and forgive your payments? Wake up. Go get a damm job, put down the crack pipe and pay your bills.

Lastly... Its not as if people get to choose what company their loan is sold to... so getting onto the interwebs and blasting UAI with a ton of dramatized lies about how sick you were when they "STOLE" your car does nothing to hurt them and only makes you look like the broke liar that cant pay his bills that you are. Let me guess, your credit is shot becasue other companys stole your cars when you were on your way to the hospital to treat ass cancer that you got working in the Mill before it closed?

Those of us who work and dont blame others for their problems and pay our bills on time never seem to bitch about UAI... why is that?

P. Gizzi
Myrtle Beach SC
 23rd of Jan, 2010 by   R. Moore -1 Votes
How is this company getting away with this? They should have to go into a written contract with the buyer, before they receive any monies from the buyers. Just like when you sell or switch mortgage companies.


rulerroy@yahoo.com
 11th of Mar, 2010 by   kdumas 0 Votes
I have been with United Acceptance since Oct 09, I always make payments on time, sometimes paying more than whats due, I have never had any problems with them. My car war in the shop because it needed a motor(crappy buy here pay here dealer) but united acceptance was great, I called them to explain the situation, told them I couldnt make the payment, and they moved that payment too the end of the loan. Of course they asked me if I would catch up on the next cycle, I just explained to them I couldnt because I had to pay $2000 to the dealer to fix my car, and they were more than willing to help. To all the people who thinks they are evil, you cant expect people not to collect money that is owed to them, if you always pay late and never pay at all, they will repo your car. Thanks for helping me repair my credit United Acceptance!!
 6th of Aug, 2011 by   tmac33 0 Votes
i was way behind in my payment due to engine failure plus i lost my job and uai worked with me and still is working with me . their not bad at all. thanks uai.
 24th of Jul, 2012 by   Madmother-in-lawinTexas 0 Votes
UAI repossessed my son-in-laws car and it was badly torn by the towing company. Before sending in the payoff to redeem the vehicle, I specifically asked about seeing the car to verify that it was not damaged. A very rude representative informed me that he only hires reputable companies and that if there was any damage, we could file a claim. This was a lie. Between my son-in-law, my daughter and myself, we made dozens of calls to try to file a claim. The UAI representative laughed at me and ridiculed me and said it was not there problem. Now we are filing a claim in small claims court against them to recover the money for the damage to his vehicle.
Lesson learned, don't trust United Acceptance, Inc. personnel.
Mad in Texas
 27th of Aug, 2012 by   Latonya broadnax 0 Votes
UAI I really wish the dealer told me about this company cause i wouldnt have kept my truck but anyways..i got the truck (2002 ford escape)in 2011 iam almost done paying for it just $1500 away from owning it so I got a lil behind in rent and got asked to move on top of that iam pregnant so iam in a shelter just until I get back on my feet I still have a job iam sending whatever I can just to keep my truck just to let you know the truck has 2 recalls on it the the one recall they had on and I put a lot of money in to it getting repairs done so ours I get a lil behind but to come this close to paying it off and you come take it way it's just sad...Every time I call someone always told me something different rude costumer service just not right
 27th of Sep, 2012 by   Father of soldier 0 Votes
UAI says my son has no money in his account. But when checking with the Credit Union They say he more the enough 7Xs to make the payment and no attempt was made to withdraw the payment. So UAI must be trying to establish a late payment claim. So they Definitely are liers. Just have to wait and see if they are a thief.
 3rd of Mar, 2013 by   Clark124 0 Votes
My account was sold to United Acceptance in 2010. I have never had a problem with this company. When I would call to make arrangements, the agents were always nice. My car was just paid off February 2013. Overall, my experience was great! #167766
 10th of Jun, 2013 by   castillo-paulina 0 Votes
United Acceptance is nothing but a scam! My husband's loan was sold to these scam artist by the dealer, these without his consent, the dealer washed their hands by arguing that the contract says " they can sell the loan." Can they do these without an written agreement? Yes, like the person before wondered am asking the same thing? Due to the fact that am not named on his account I can't argue anything concerning his account. Our problem started when we wanted to pay off the loan early to avoid the outrageous interest rate these thefts charge my husband. When my husband called to ask the amount owed the representative gave him certain amount & told him how much he could save if he paid it off. The next day when he called to get the payoff they changed the amount arguing that the lady with whom he had spoken to made a mistake. From there we have to deal with their arrogance & even insults! They told my husband he knows nothing about finances, they hang up the phone when we call. Needless to say am going to read every word on that contract & take legal matters if I have to!
 7th of Jul, 2013 by   K. Wares 0 Votes
UAA, is aggressive but that is to be expected. However, I must be honest that they are very good with working with you. They will send a letter stating that you are behind by a month and give you an EXTRA 10 business days to pay the past due amount. I find that to be honorable to say the least. My previous car loan place, just came and picked up our previous vehicle, no notice. These last few months have been very hard on us financially and they are good to not just "steal" (as some have said) our car. We have a disabled child in the home and the last thing we need is for a middle of the night repo. So, I praise United Auto for their willingness to give people a heads up about an impending doom. We have never been more than 45 days late, and when we are close to that time frame we scramble to get it together, because of their willingness to warn us, of what they will have to do. So, I am sorry others feel cheated but we have no complaints over here.
 15th of Nov, 2013 by   stop scamming us 0 Votes
i was also upset that my loan was switched to this company. they are such a scam. on top of your finance charge...they charge an additional fee. i thought by paying double the car payment. that i would be paying my car note early which means. less towards the interest rate and more towards the principal balance. can you believe i actually paided more towards the interest rate. the amount of interest didn't add up. they claim they were talking less but my record states more...then on hold for 30 minutes...they find a manager who clearly had thr correct dates...so when you find things wrong...DON'T NOT TELL THEM...ALWAYS MAKE UP A FALSE NUMBER AND SEE WHAT FIGURE THEY HAVE SO YOU CAN BUILD UP YOUR EVIDENCE CORRECTLY...BIG MISTAKE I MAKE...BUT GREEDILY PEOPLE TEND TO KEEP MAKING THEM...NOTICE HOW THEY HAVE NO CORPORATE OFFICE NUMBER EVERY THING BEING PROCESSED THROUGH THEM...MY MAIN COMPLAINT...IS WHEN Y OoU PAY A PAYMENT FOR EXAMPLE...01/01/12 FOR THE AMOUT OF 300 WITH A 24% interest rate. on a balance of 3330.30... 40 dollars goes towards interest and 260 goes towards the principal...so that next payment on time should drop that interest rate...because you have a lower principal to apply to...the next payment 300 dollars interest 24% ..now look at your paperwork they take 70 interest because your 7 days late..and 230 goes to principal...which makes no since if the principal overall balance is lower...less bill less charge...even when late it should be late...we need a lawyer and do a class action suite...they have too much paperwork for tha lies and fraudulent ways not to show...for now all i can do is take this up with the better business bureau...if you have a problem contract them soon someone will do something about it
 17th of Apr, 2014 by   United Acceptance, Inc Complaince 0 Votes
We have responded back directly to some of the customers who have lodged complaints on this website. We encourage anyone else who has a complaint to call our complaint line at 1-877-281-2354.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Beware of Fake Websites and Phishing Scams

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?