logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
Rado
Watch glass came off
2. (3 mins ago)
Start Potty Training
carol cline
3. (13 mins ago)
ACK Group
Fake Job Consultancy
4. (15 mins ago)
Reliance Communications
Installation of Tower on the terrace of my building
5. (17 mins ago)
Tara <tara@tara-medium.com>
psychics and the like?!

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

Two Men and a Truck, Michigan Complaints & Reviews - LIED, STOLE, DAMAGED MY BELONGINGS

Two Men and a Truck Contacts & Informations

Two Men and a Truck

Posted:    JOHN PEOPLES

LIED, STOLE, DAMAGED MY BELONGINGS

Complaint Rating:  50 % with 4 votes
Contact information:
TWO MEN AND A TRUCK
Michigan
United States
TWOMEN.COM
DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE


THEY SPECIFICALY DID $3, 375.00 IN DAMAGE TO FURNATURE INCLUDING PRICELESS ANTIQUES, STOLE AT LEAST 3 FULL BOOK BOKES OF CLASSIC VYNAL RECORDS IN EXCELENT CONDITION FROM 1967 THROUGH 1993 BEATLES WOODSTOCK JIMI HENDRIX, ETC. STOLE A METAL BRIEF CASE OF HUNTING KNIVES AND SHARPINING STONES INCLUDING A ONE OF A KIND RANDALL KNIFE COSTING $575.OO, ESTIMATED MOVE AT LESS THAN $3, 800.00 CHARGED OVER $7.800.00 AND TOSSED MY BELONGINGS (4000 SQFT WORTH) IN A PUBLIC STORAGE UNIT WITHOUT ANY PADDING STACKING HEAVY ON LIGHT, NEVER DID AN INVENTORY UNTIL I WASNT THERE AND THEN MARKED EVERYTHING DAMAGED PRIOR TO MOVE, DID NOT USE INTERSTATE CONTRACTS REQUIRED BY LAW UNTIL AFTER MOVE AND MADE ME SIGN AFTER THE FACT UNDER TREAT. READ THIS LETTER TO THEIR CORPORATE OFFICE, CORPORATE OFFICE SUPPORTS LOCAL OFFICE AND REFUESES TO SETTLE WITH ME OVER A MEER $4, 110.00 i ASKED FOR!

HERE IS A LETTER TO THEIR CORPORATE OFFICE THAT SUPPORTS THE LOCAL OFFICE AFTER ALL THE PROOF I HAVE

Ms. Tonya Wilson
TWO MEN AND A TRUCK/INTERNATIONAL, INC.
3400 Belle Chase Way
Lansing, MI 48911

Dear Ms. Wilson:

I received and reviewed your correspondence of June 23, 2009 on June 28, 2009 and immediately called you leaving a message. Since then, I have left two (2) additional messages and have not heard from you. After such a pleasant start to our conversations, it now feels like I am dealing with the Chattanooga office all over again. I am not pleased.

After taking the time and effort to reproduce and fax some 40 pages of documents to you indicating just how bad one of your franchises has acted, It appears you made one phone call and are regurgitating your franchises’ position disregarding the actual documentation that I sent you. I have grave doubts whether or not you even took the time to review them considering your response. I have been polite in the past stating that the Chattanooga office has been deceitful; In fact, they have now lied to you as well as me in an effort to “make this go away”. Let me assure you it will not. To condone their actions is tantamount to approval, something I would hope a corporate franchise would not do.

First, They did not” arrive” on June 4, 2008 in Woodstock, GA expecting me to be at that location. We signed the initial limited paperwork on June 4, 2008 and they were placing my belongings in storage on that date. If you had reviewed the documentation you would have known that they were informed of my need for storage for a two (2) week period when I was given the estimate for services. They did not finish on June 4, 2009 until sometime around noon and specifically told me they were going to place my belongings in storage at their facility. This was all in the documentation, yet you chose to believe the very people who are responsible for this “mess”. Secondly, I should not have had to be present on June 18, 2008 when they removed my belongings from storage. They took legal possession of my belongings on June 4, 2008 and, by interstate moving regulations, should have presented me with the Inventory of goods and damage report on June 4, 2008 when they left the first residence and prior to the damage they inflicted.

All of the other points you make in your letter are miss-statements of facts, based on omissions, or flat out lies by your Chattanooga Franchise. I filed a claim in January of 2009, a copy of which you have, well before the March date you site. I added to it at the specific request of Mr. Tom Turner representing the Chattanooga office. He had been verbally informed at least three (3) times and told me “they would take care of it”. Several of the items on this list totaling approximately $2, 800.00 have not been addressed. In fact, one of the antique secretaries they severely damaged has not been totally repaired to date. The drop leaf front was dropped at my doorstep by Chris Locklear months after their furniture repairmen had taken it to Chattanooga for repair. It has not been replaced as of this date and is the responsibility of TWO MEN AND A TRUCK. The Microwave oven, on the June 22, 2008 list costing $528.00 has never been addressed. If indeed they paid their furniture repairmen $3, 375. 00, which I highly doubt, I was their own fault. They received an estimate from a Mr. Kenneth Sanders of Furniture Doctors in Atlanta for less than $1, 900.00. They chose not to use this local contractor, recommended by the Atlanta Franchise of TWO MEN AND A TRUCK, based on “the high cost”.

I filed a claim for damages in the amount of $2, 800.00 in January of 2009 per their request. To date, it has been ignored. Since your Franchisee was remiss in their paperwork, did not comply with the Interstate moving guidelines, did not offer me damage insurance or a waiver prior to taking possession of my belongings, and transported them across state lines without the proper Interstate Moving and Tariffs contracts and Detailed Inventory and Prior Damage Report, They are liable for all of the damages they caused. It was noted on the June 19, 2008 paperwork that I was not satisfied, and I was told that the insurance was not retroactive since all of the damage by TWO MEN AND A TRUCK occurred prior to the protested signature of the contract dated January 19, 2008 which you sight. By the way, I was never asked to be present on June 18, 2008 when they removed my belongings from storage. If I had been present, I would have called the officials in Chattanooga and reported both theft and damage. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to determine why I wasn’t called.

Ms. Wilson, How would you feel if you had been treated as I have? The facts can not be disputed despite what the Chattanooga office tells you. They did not properly estimate the job ( Chris Locklear was aware of the extra packing requirements and the specific need for component boxes as shown on his estimate, he was also aware of the need for storage); did not execute the proper contracts in accordance with the Interstate Moving Guidelines, did not inventory my belongings at the point of origin as required, lied about storing my belongings at their facility and instead “tossed” them in a public storage facility without my knowledge, lost or stole items of value, and just about damaged every major Item I had them move. I just can not believe the corporate office condones this behavior by agreeing with their decision. You did not do your research but took the easy way out absolving yourself of the issue since they are a “franchise”.

Having been in business for twenty eight (28) years I know you have more power over your franchisee’s then you are acknowledging, In fact, you, as the corporate office of a company that touts “ Highest in Customer Satisfaction with Full Service Moving Companies” could resolve this issue yourself, but have chosen not to do so. I am sure this is not the first complaint against your Chattanooga office; I have heard several since my problems started. They acted as an inexperienced local “Joe Blow” moving company with a couple of straight frame trucks and inexperienced laborers. Initially they arrived and estimated they would be finished moving me by lunch. This was a 4000 square foot house with 18 years of accumulated items. They were still there at 7:00 pm and had to return the next day. Hardly “Highest in Customer Satisfaction”. I now know why they begged me not to call the corporate office on June 19, 2008, my mistake, But no one deserves the treatment I have been given because I did not call. No one could have made this up! It is larger than any fiction. If I had treated my customers in this manner, I would not have been in business for long. I expect that if you look closely, East Tennessee Moving does not deserve to represent TWO MEN AND A TRUCK

Based on your letter, I can see I will get no satisfaction from you. Therefore, I am formally requesting the name and number of your supervisor such that I may again explain how poorly one of your franchises has performed in customer satisfaction. I expect to hear from you shortly. Mean while, I will again explore my options with my attorney concerning TWO MEN AND A TRUCK, East Tennessee Moving, and TWO MEN AND A TRUCK INTERNATIONAL, no one, especially someone who is disabled, should be subjected to what I have been during a time of upheaval involving moving all of your possessions.

I will await your response prior to taking further action. I am sure both the BBB of Chattanooga and Lansing will take interest. Having been associated with several legal firms, I am also sure a judge will take interest in the fact that Interstate movement of goods took place without any contract as required by law, that you did not inventory the goods at origin but rather at a storage location without my presence or an invitation to be present, and the fact that TWO MEN AND A TRUCK has done the minimum to respond to this issue - which they created.

I apologize for the lengthy correspondence; however, based on your company’s track record, documentation is necessary. It seems that no one is actually reading my correspondence and recognizing the gravity of the situation concerning the lack of proper paperwork. Without an inventory at origin, and a contract prior to completing the job, you have grossly violated the very guidelines you sited. Only at the point of completion was I offered these documents, completed without my knowledge, after the fact, and signed under the threat of more cost to the tune of $210.00/hour while I did not sign. I was in shock that all of this should have been done and wasn’t. I am sure this would have been unacceptable to you as it was me.

I await a proper response by TWO MEN AND A TRUCK. Might I suggest that you have your legal department review the situation prior to responding, I am quite sure they will be interested in the lack of proper paperwork and your companies response to date.

Sincerely,


John R. Peoples
Comments United States Movement & Delivery
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 3rd of Jul, 2009 by   JOHN PEOPLES 0 Votes
HOW CAN YOU ALLOW GOOGLE TO POST ADVERTIZEMENTS FOR THE VERY COMPANY RECEIVING ALL THE COMPLAINTS, RIGHT UNDER THE COMPLAINTS?

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Testing Fuel Saving Tips

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?